Virtual Tour
USA Texas Texas Hill Country New Braunfels Listing #5851

Hillside Retreat - New Braunfels , TX

30 reviews
Max occupancy: 12 2 King Bed, 2 Double Bed, 1 Futon, 1 Sofa Bed, 1 Crib 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 2 dog max  (40 lb weight limit) 
1331 Hinch Drive , New Braunfels , TX 78132

Perfectly secluded dog-friendly home with majestic covered deck!

****PLEASE NOTE: No fireworks of any kind are permitted on the property, due to the dry conditions in the area. Thank you.****

Whether you're looking to escape to the country for a quiet getaway with loved ones or searching for the perfect intimate venue for your wedding, this wonderful New Braunfels vacation home is just the place for your family or group of friends. Days will be filled with time spent in the great outdoors taking in the views, enjoying the one-of-a-kind covered deck, and watching the kids and dogs run and play.

The main hub of New Braunfels is about 15 miles away and views of Canyon Lake can be seen around the property, making this home a fantastic location to feel far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the lake or big city, but close enough to make quick trips to shopping, eateries, and attractions.

This house is open and feels extra spacious in the main living area. Stone accents, tile floors, and nice furnishings round out this home to ensure everyone feels at home in style.

Gather the group in the living room to catch a movie on the flatscreen TV (cable, WiFi, and Netflix streaming included), or take a nice nap on the leather sofa after a fun-filled morning outdoors. A wood fireplace creates warmth and ambiance for late-nights catching up with loved ones over a glass of wine. But nothing really compares to spending time out on the amazing covered deck. Lounge in the hammock, play games around the patio sofa, watch the game on the flatscreen TV while mixing drinks at the wet bar, and watch the goats wandering around the five-acre property.

When bellies are beginning to rumble, head inside to whip up a delicious meal for the whole family in the full kitchen. Between the expansive island and the counters lining the walls, there is plenty of space for helpers to chop veggies while you start on the main course. Major appliances are paired with smaller appliances like a dishwasher, microwave, coffeemaker, blender, toaster, and mixer, so all you have to bring along are fresh ingredients.

This home has two bathrooms and can sleep up to 12 guests in four beds, a futon, and a sofabed. And up to two dogs can join in, but please keep in mind there is a nightly pet fee.

Drive three and a half miles to Comal Park to play in the cool water, sunbathe, and even enjoy a picnic. Cranes Mill Marina offers kayak, paddleboard, and boat rentals so you can explore the lake by water. Spend the day in the main hub of New Braunfels browsing local shops, trying tasty food at places like the Buttermilk Cafe and Gristmill River Restaurant and Bar, and take the whole group for a thrilling day at Schlitterbahn Waterpark. Whitewater Amphitheater (seven miles) and Gruene Hall (15 miles) are home to fantastic concert venues, so check out what's playing while you're here!

Find a new kind of relaxation when you book this charming Texas Hill Country home.

Permit # is L1372

Please note: owners live on-site, in a separate downstairs residence.

Read more Read less 



Board games

Children's games





Washer/dryer : Private

Wood-burning fireplace

Central AC








Cable : DirecTV

Netflix streaming


Wireless router





Enclosed yard



Water view

30 reviews

Sabrina W. Jul 2017
It was perfect for all of us. My only two complaints are there are so many light switches, and no water pressure for the showers. Beautiful views, secluded, beautiful drive and plenty of room.
Bhanu A. Jul 2017
We were a group of 11 who spent the 4th of July 2017 weekend at this place. Here is my complete review.
Location: The house is located on top of a small hill that has a beautiful view on the neighborhood and canyon lake at a distance. A quick 5 minute drive would take you to the nearest cvs, grocery store, gas station, a few restaurants. It is a 10 minute drive to the canyon lake's Comal park swimming area.
Parking: covered parking for 2 cars and many more cars could fit in the drive way.
Outside: A nice patio, an amazing deck, a fire pit which we did not use, lots of space around the house for kids to run around and play. The deck also has a television, a sound system, a refrigerator, a huge sectional sifa with cushions, a grill, a hammock and a kids play table. The deck was huge.
Inside: A spacious living room with tv, couple of sofas, a dining table for 6. A kitchen island counter with space enough for another 6 to sit at. 2 large bedrooms, for 4 people. Another large bedroom at the end. This bedroom is at a lower level than the entire house and at the same level as the deck on the outside. So you have an entrance to the deck from here.
Restrooms: 2 restrooms only. Kinda gets tough for all the 11 people that this house accommodates to use only 2 restrooms.
Other: overall the entire house has a lot of cupboards, everywhere in every room. Too much space available to tuck things in.
Negatives: the entire house seems to have less ceiling clearance and the worst in the lower level bedroom. I guess this was just designed for kids. If you raise your hand in the room by acccident where the ceiling fan is, its guaranteed your hand would be hit by the fan. This happened with a couple of us, not because we wanted to test if we could get hurt, but because we can raise our hands into the air for any number of reasons like get up from your bed and strech your hands, remove your tshirt over your head etc. One of us ended up getting hurt real bad when his hand got hit by a wing and the wing broke and fell. We did report this to our rental agency.
Cleanliness: The grill was never cleaned from the previous rental i believe. We had to clean it all up. The cushions on the sectional sofa on the deck were so dirty with all kinds of marks on them, they are a complete turm off for anyone who wants to sit on the them, we covered them up with sime plastic sheets we had and then sat on the sofa. Everything else in the house was clean though. We just had these few complains.
Overall, it was a nice house for a large group to stay and have fun. I would definitely consider visiting this house again. Some of the other reviewers pointed that someone else could be living downstairs or at the lower level in this house. We did see the downstairs entrance but did not see any people coming in or out of the house during our visit. I guess that's the owner of the property and may be they were away for the weekend.
Gate: Sometimes the gate wouldn't open even with the right combination. Try a couple if times with enough time between your attempts and it worked for us.
Amberlee S. Jun 2017
Our family completely enjoyed our stay at Vacasa! It was in the perfect centralized location: close enough to so many attractions that will keep everybody happy. The set-up at the house was spread out enough that the whole family had room for privacy, but perfect gathering rooms to allow for fun together. The big back porch is where we spent most of our time on the property: watching the big screen TV, playing corn hole (which we brought from home), the kids played and colored, we cooked out and enjoyed the nice breeze. Watch out for poison oak - my graddaughter picked some up on her feet on the wall in the yard. We pulled it down, but we noticed more running up a tree.
Jennifer R. Jun 2017
It is a beautiful place to stay. The back deck is the best! Would stay there again.
Nesly A. Jun 2017
We very much enjoyed our stay at this property. Me and a group of 10 others spent My birthday weekend the first week of May. It slept all of us comfortably. The views where amazing! The owners (live downstairs) where very polite and gave us privacy we completely forgot they were even there. We spent most of our time outside and that wet at definitely came in handy. Will definitely be booking this place next summer.
Kyle B. May 2017
The house was very spacious.
Larry V. May 2017
Very nice place to stay.
Julie A. May 2017
Pretty views. Very quiet. Large enough for lots of guests. Back patio was awesome!
Melissa G. Mar 2017
We stayed here with another family over Spring break for 3 nights. The house was plenty large enough for our group. The layout of the house seemed unusual at first, but in the end we really enjoyed it. Plenty of room to spread out. The owner needs to fix the gate because when entering the property the keypad does not work consistently. We had to call for help for that and one other thing, but the property manager Lee Anne was amazing and her customer service could not be beat! One note that should probably be known is that the owners live on the first floor or the rental unit. They were not there for most of our trip, but returned the last night and it did feel a little awkward to know we were sharing what we thought was a private rental property. Overall a very nice place to stay. Views were beautiful off the back deck and we spent most of our time outdoors!
Kristina D. Jan 2017
This was a great place to stay. We really enjoyed spending a weekend away near the lake.
Kevin B. Dec 2016
Loved staying here. My family and I enjoyed this retreat. Loved the fire pit and the Patio is perfect. Watched the Houston Texans clinch the AFC South out there with a cool breeze coming up through the breeze way. Beds were perfect. Lot of space to spread out on the property. Would stay here again.
Charles H. Dec 2016
Great location, just make sure the repairs are up to date.
Probably wouldn't rent again, as there are way too many other options in the area where you could fare better.
Manager response:
We are disappointed to see this guest would not return and will look at what can be done to improve the home.
Kathy M. Nov 2016
We really enjoyed the great patio with great seating, TV and grill.
Our small dogs loved being out there and we were happy to not worry about them with the chicken wire.
Susan C. Oct 2016
Beautiful, but cleanliness and maintenance marred our stay. Pretty views, very roomie with nice furnishings and comfortable. But took 2 days of the 4 we stayed there to fix a shower control. Mice droppings in drawers, on towels and on pillows. Coffee pot and ice maker hardly worked due to hard water. Kitchenware not as complete as advertised. But there is hope if owners get their act together on maintenance and cleaning. It really is a beautiful place!
Manager response:
We apologize for the issues that occurred during this guest's reservation. The mice issue has been resolved, and the mentioned kitchenware has been replaced.
Leslie T. Oct 2016
Great clean large house. Great location. Really nice back porch. We had one little issue and Heather the property manager was right on it and fixed it immediately. Would stay again.
Kristin K. Aug 2016
This was a nice place for our family of 6, although even with just 6 we had one child sleeping on a mattress on the floor (easier than messing with the pull out couch). There were a few things we would've expected it to have (a roll of paper towels to get by before we went to the store), but it wasn't too big of a deal. The location was nice, outside of New Braunfels, but not far, and quiet, even though it was not far from one of the main roads through the area.
Theresa W. Aug 2016
This was the perfect place for getaway with friends. we will definitely stay here again.
Andrea J. Aug 2016
Very beautiful home..
Cynthia H. Aug 2016
Lots of room. Really liked the back porch.
Jennifer Y. Jul 2016
Very nice home. Had everything you needed. Short drive to the river and lake for activities. We were visited on the first night following a bad storm from the gentleman downstairs. Just to check on us. Then had the cable repaired the next day while we were out. Some good weather, some bad while we were there. But a nice time all around. The covered porch, music and games kept the vacation positive - and lightening storms over the hills, beautiful.
Christopher A. Jul 2016
We had a great time relaxing and hanging out with our family. Enjoyed the secluded location tucked away in the beautiful hills near Canyon Lake. Short drive to New Braunfels to enjoy the water park as well.
Brent P. Jul 2016
This is a great property for a relaxing getaway with family or friends. The place is very spacious on the inside and outside, especially 2 of the bedrooms. It was very clean and had plenty of linens for guests. I would say that 9 people in this property is pushing it a little bit as far as bed space, so I would suggest bringing an air mattress if you have that number. Overall a 5-star place and a property my friends and I will be looking into staying at again this time next year!
Flor D. Jun 2016
Privacy at its best.. its a 2 level home without neighbors however, someone lives on first level that can help you if anything is needed... but never saw them ... its as if you are there alone which is so nice...
Edwin E. Jun 2016
Felt like you did not left home (the house is clean and spacious with wifi, netflex and three TVs) except for lake view, and nearby attractions - Comal Park for swimming ( nice clean beach ), Picnic (with picnic tables), boating, etc., Cranes Mill Marina for many sorts of water recreations, grocery is just a mile away, you can inflate your inflatables in the Comal Park at the gate (they allow you to use there Elect. outlet. Just get a $15 elect air pump from local Grocery if you don't have one). We drove down to River Hufbrau in New Braunfels on one dinner night. If you like to hang out around a campfire, you can easily start fire in the fire pit with some fibrous cedar bark and small twigs which were also among the file of fire-woods. Grabbed a bag of marshmallow, chocolate, graham cracker, and a skewer, and we had s'more. There were some fenced baby goats my kiddos enjoyed, probably there were some chickens too. If you decide to stay in this house, make sure you get instruction on how to open the gate from inside and outside, in addition to main door access code. If you plan to stay longer, ask for extra trash bags so that you can take out your trash before it starts to become uncomfortable.
Kay P. Jun 2016
The Hillside Retreat was just the right place for our family to meet, visit, and enjoy each other. The views are wonderful. You can see the lake in the distance one way and a beautiful sunset the other way. We liked the privacy. We had a fire in the firepit every night and enjoyed being outside on the back porch. There was plenty of space inside and outside to move around and be comfortable!
Nakita?? B. Jun 2016
Perfectly slept 9 ppl , the beds and pillows were magic and we lit both a fire in the pit and the fireplace. Our weekend was great. The back patio had a tv and place to entertain with a bar. Highly recommended