USA Maryland Deep Creek Lake Oakland Listing #10509

Great Escape - Oakland, MD

Take a Virtual Tour
41 reviews
Max. occupancy: 10 2 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 2 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms 4 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly Lakefront Log Home on a Quiet Cove with Front Deck & Private Dock

Please note: There is a 13 night limit on reservations per local regulations. Reservations over 13 nights are prohibited and cannot be honored.

Head to Deep Creek Lake for a quiet vacation with family and friends, complete with all the conveniences that come with being close to town. Your group will have ready access to the lake and the slopes, as well as in-town convenience. And to make your getaway complete, you can bring the family dog along for a small nightly fee!

This two-bedroom (three, if you count the loft with extra sleeping options) home is located on a quiet cove and offers endless possibilities for summer fun on the water. You'll be 10 miles from Wisp Resort, so you can hit the slopes whenever you like for skiing and boarding. Other activities include horseback riding, hiking, fishing, kayaking, mountain biking, jet skiing, whitewater rafting, and tubing. And the real bonus is when you feel like heading into town for dining, shopping, and cinemas, they're all a short drive from your front door.

This home abounds in amenities both outside and in. Note the charming and delightful lawn and two stone patios, along with a private dock, outdoor firepit, and front deck with lake views. Inside, revel in the cozy convenience you'll get with two wood fireplaces made of stone, free WiFi, three cable TVs, and DVD/VCR/CD players. In addition, guests of the master bedroom will be treated to a restful night's sleep on the brand new mattress.

Have the time of your life in this beautiful forested setting and make lasting memories with your family and friends. Book this lovely home today!

Things to know:
Fully-equipped kitchen with brand new refrigerator
Private dock available Memorial Day - Labor Day
No A/C
The twin beds in the loft offer trundle beds underneath for more sleeping space

4WD/traction is required in winter.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Lake view


Water view



Internet : Comcast


Cable : Comcast

DVD player

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player



Nearby activities & attractions



Gas grill : Private




41 reviews

Laurie H. May 2022
Another great Mother’s Day weekend spent here. Love how it’s quiet and almost nobody around at all. Although it rained the majority of our trip it was still very relaxing . We were able to use the grill 3 out of the 4 days. The dog loved the yard. Only thing was the grass was very long. Maybe just cut a couple days prior to guests? We will come back!
Tom F. Feb 2022
The house has a great location - true lakefront (most in the neighborhood are across the street from the lake). Master bedroom is quite large, Kitchen is reasonably sized and outfitted with enough pots/pans/etc. if you want to cook a substantial meal. House is close to the town of Deep Creek Lake, and a short drive south to the cute town of Oakland.
Kathleen Z. Oct 2021
True feel of a lake house. Loaded with charm and rustic details. Beautiful setting and lake front! Second time we have stayed here-we’ll be back
Athena L. Aug 2021
We loved the Private dock
Sitting on the porch
Renee P. Aug 2021
We have stayed in a lot of VACASA homes and we have never given a one star review, but this is well deserving. While Great Escape has a very nice level yard and rustic cabin atmosphere, the home is not maintained and the furniture and household items were the lowest quality available. The owners do not put any money into this place. When something breaks, such as the A/C unit or ice maker, the home owners don't fix it. The carpets are probaby 30 years old soaked with stains and were just disgusting. The sofa also had stains all over and never been cleaned. The house has not been painted in 20+ years and there were holes in the walls and other drywall patches that were never painted over. In the kitchen, the butcher block counter had black mold, the dishes were very old and chipped, there were no actual drinking glasses but a mishmash of old plastic cups with stress crazing, no large mixing bowls - we had to make our pancake mix in a pot. In the bedrooms, you can feel the springs in the mattresses, bedding and draperies were probably 40 years old, one TV was a CRT and the other was a small LCD and the wallpaper was peeling off the walls in both baths. The dock was lopsided, rotting and unstable. It actually collapsed about 6 inches while we sat on it. If you want a well appointed and equipped home on the lake, stay away from Great Escape.
Manager response:
Thank you for telling us about your visit, Renee. We are sorry to read Great Escape was a disappointment to you. The carpets and couch are scheduled for replacement, the needed parts to repair the dock are on order, and a deep clean is scheduled during which time we will do an inspection for needed maintenance. We hope you will return to see the difference.
Patty B. Jun 2021
We loved the location. Plenty of lawn to play with kids and great for kayaking. The house was ok but only one TV worked and limited channels. That would have been an issue if the weather would have been bad. Also house was dark needed better lighting. Would definitely book again if more TV channels.
Michael b. Jun 2021
Laurie H. May 2021
Our first time at the lake. PERFECT setting for a relaxing quiet Mother’s Day weekend. The dog loved it too. We will return next year for sure. Wonderful house, lovely property right on the lake.
Colleen M. Dec 2020
This place is absolutely adorable and we would LOVE to visit again when it is warmer! Beautiful and unique place to cherish quality family time with our dog.
Charles H. Oct 2020
View,awesome setting and great cabin.
Lori D. Aug 2020
We loved the private wooded lot and the home was warm and cozy, it reminded us of Wisconsin where we spent every summer as kids!
Dottie B. Jul 2020
Swimming around dock area and sunbathing on land
Kathryn C. Jun 2020
The cabin is so welcoming and cozy. It was fairly more rustic than expected, a true cabin in a fantastic location. The yard was wonderful for the kids to play and we spent the afternoon fishing and grilling out. The kitchen was fantastic with a lot of space.
Jennifer B. Jun 2020
I really enjoyed our trip and the cabin was well..... okay. The main areas (living room, dining room and kitchen) were updated and very clean. The bedrooms need some updating but weren’t too bad. But the bathrooms weren’t that clean :( and the one place I couldn’t wait to relax on was the outside patio which we ended up cleaning all the spiderwebs and cushions before we could even sit out there. And don’t even think of using the grille. Was covered in so much dirt/dust we did t even bother. Oh, and the house said AC but the only AC is in the bedroom and it was broken (sign on it said not to use so the owners are aware it’s broken) Was glad the weather was nice bc we did open some windows but some of the windows won’t open/damaged/ or the screens are broken. I loved the privacy!!! And the dock was nice to have right next to the cabin. But bc of the damages, no ac, broke screens, and dirty bathrooms we are giving it a 3 star rating.
Manager response:
Hi, Jennifer! We appreciate you sharing your review with us and apologize for the shortcomings you experienced. Housekeeping has been asked to do a thorough outdoor amenities cleaning. We do not advertise air conditioning for this home as it is not available. Thank you!
Carol G. Jun 2020
This place was fantastic! The kitchen had literally everything you have at home, the beds were comfy and it was secluded enough to have a quiet family weekend. Will be back for sure!
Milena R. May 2020
Location and access to the lake were two things that we liked the most. If you need a quiet place during the day you may not find it here over the weekend with all the boats jetskis etc., passing by your dock. Kitchen has very old cookware, plates, utensils and small appliances. The house is old but clean. Overall it was a nice family weekend.
Marisa S. Mar 2020
Great space for our MOMS WEEKEND- 6 moms without a care in the world! The home was exactly as pictured. The kitchen was fully stocked with dishes, cookware, and even bar ware!! We had an awesome weekend with no issues- except the cable was VERY limited in channel availability, but that just made us engage more with each other. WiFi worked great!!! And it seemed to be the only home on the street with direct lake access (right in the backyard). Will definitely rent again.
Laura B. Mar 2020
This is such a cozy nice charming and private cabin. IDEAL for a “reboot” to relax enjoy all that deep creek has to offer and yet feel completely removed. We will be back and didn’t want to leave.
Dottie B. Jul 2019
Very quiet area
Victoria G. Jul 2019
Loved the house and setting. Mattresses were very uncomfortable but otherwise loved it
Kristina P. Jun 2019
Beautiful house and location
Robyn C. Feb 2019
This beautiful, rustic lake home provided the perfect setting and environment for a relaxing getaway for my husband and I, and our two pups. It has a spacious layout with a cozy cabin feel. We had a snow storm during our stay which was great! The driveway and sidewalk were cleared off for us the following morning so we had no issue getting out. On a side note, the beds are not very comfortable but the master bedroom has a foam cushion padding that helps some. Other than the beds, the home is beautiful and clean, and in a quiet private location with gorgeous lake front views. We would definetly stay here again!
Kim G. Jan 2019
The cabin was quant, cozy and quiet. Lots of character.
Barbara R. Oct 2018
Stayed at Great Escape Oct 2018. Love the house, it has a lot of Charm. It was clean and had everything we needed. The house is right on the lake, so I loved that. Quite area. Close to town and Wisp. I did not like the beds, it was like sleeping on a box spring and there were only about 7 channels on the TV to watch. We got stuck inside because of the rain, so more TV channels would have been great. Overall great stay!!
Kim J. Aug 2018
Loved the location and privacy of this quaint cabin.
Leah C. May 2018
6 of us came to spend Memorial Day weekend on the lake and we had a blast! This was all of ours first time at Deep Creek! The house was secluded, lake front, and in the perfect location!! The house had so much charm and we had everything we needed for a relaxing weekend full of cooking and laughing and kayaking! Totally recommend!
Steven D. Apr 2018
Bryan H. Mar 2018
Great spot to get direct lake access. Just be advised home has original older finishes, equipment, furnishings, and only a few cable tv channels. Sleeps 4-6comfortably. Not a lot of amenities or updates ... but great for a quiet place to enjoy the lake in a rustic setting.
Dustin S. Mar 2018
My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend getaway at the cabin! The coziness of the place allowed us to relax and enjoy our time together along with our dog. We would definitely stay here again!
Kathleen K. Feb 2018
The House was quirky, but cute. I would definitely return.
D P. Jan 2018
This property is located in a perfect location. A couple minor updates (heat in master bedroom and second bedroom's bathroom window seal) and this would have received 5 stars without question. Lots of wildlife on the property and surrounding areas. My kids loved watching the deer and rabbits! I would love to return here in the summer and enjoy the water! Highly recommend.
Manager response:
The property manager has improved the window seals, and the home will be open for bookings once more when the new furnace is in place. Thanks!
Joseph C. Nov 2017
Out third trip to the cabin. It is really a peaceful place to hang for a long fall/winter weekend. Be careful on the stairs going up to the loft - treacherous. Otherwise, great ambiance and feel of the old time cabin.
So great you accept dogs. Please never change that!!
Greg G. Oct 2017
We like it so much we'd like to buy the place.