USA California Shaver Lake Ockenden - Shaver Lake Listing #13453

Hilltop Hideout - Shaver Lake, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
41 reviews
Max. occupancy: 12 2 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 3 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 4 bedrooms 3.5 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Deluxe Alpine Retreat with WiFi, Gas Grill, Pool Table, Jetted Tub & Fireplace

Loaded with fine workmanship and lots of room for the whole family, this charming Shaver Lake home has it all! From the local pine flooring and glass sinks to the private pool table, this is the ideal spot for group getaways or family retreat!

Perched on a hilltop overlooking the majestic pines, this home gives you plenty of privacy while still having easy access to all of the outdoor fun. Around four miles from the shores of Shaver Lake, you'll be able to cast a line or paddle through the clear blue waters in no time. And when the snow is falling, make the quick 20-mile drive to China Peak Mountain Resort to shred the downhill runs.

Start the day with a cup of coffee by the warmth of the gas fireplace, then toss in a load of laundry in the private washer/dryer. Break out the provided board games or have a billiards tournament on the private table (the game room also has its own kitchenette, so grabbing a snack is easy).

Later, get your s'mores ingredients ready and head out to the outdoor firepit to watch the stars come out and tell stories. Free WiFi is also available throughout this home so you can check the forecast before you plan your next adventure.

Boasting a long list of amenities and room for the whole group to spread out, this family-friendly Shaver Lake home is the ideal spot for your next vacation. Book today!

Things to Know

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Jetted tub


Baby gates

Children's games

Common areas

Game room



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

Kitchen & dining









DVD player

Wireless router

Sound dock


On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games

Pool table : Private


Gas grill : Private




41 reviews

Alfonso V. Mar 2022
We loved how spacious the area was.. The pool table and poker table can in real handy had lots of fun.. the jacuzzi worked great with no problems.. they supplied popcorn for the popcorn machine.. Wish there would of been wood for the fireplace but we made use with what we had.. The master bathtub was also amazing. The beds were also really comfortable
Michael D. Mar 2022
Loved everything about the place but as is the case with most rentals, there were a number of amenities that were in need of repair, upgrade, etc. Most of it was small stuff and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend highly.
Deborah D. Feb 2022
The home was beautiful, spacious, comfortable and well appointed with amenities. Our kids absolutely loved the game room and the hot tub! We would love to rent again:-).
MAI LIA L. Dec 2021
My family and I enjoyed our stay, this place is beautiful, spacious and clean. The kitchen has everything you need, all the restrooms and bedrooms are clean, I will definitely book again.
Dao V. Nov 2021
Plenty of space for guest to sleep. Nice scenery from inside and outside of the place. Many entertainment system and games to keep your vacation fun.
Michael M. Sep 2021
Let me start by saying when we travel, we usually are let down by the quality of the beds as they compare to our own mattress at home. This cabin was the exception as our beds were very comfortable and we had excellent sleep after each day of fun and a soak in the jacuzzi.

The cabin layout is terrific with the entry floor on top allowing us to unpack with ease. There are three bedrooms on the floor below and the bottom (third floor) below that has a game room, bunk bedroom, living room and large kitchenette. This is also the floor that has the jacuzzi on the deck. The game room will keep you entertained at all times. Would have been good if the classic video arcade game worked, but it didn't stop us from enjoying ourselves with the pool table, shuffleboard table, darts or card table.

Jennifer M. Aug 2021
It was beautiful inside and out! Our first cabin stay and it did not disappoint. It was a perfect setting to celebrate my husbands birthday with close family and friends. Everyone fell in love with the cabin. And close to the marina for our boat rental. I definitely recommend staying here. We loved it.
Shelley B. Aug 2021
It was clean, well kept and stocked with everything, including a view! The game room was fun, the beds really comfortable, and the kitchen had everything we needed. Would love to go back!!
Jason W. Aug 2021
We had a really nice vacation. Great location, we had a couple of small issues, but they were taken care of immediately by Jeremiah. The game room needs a little attention, specifically the pool table and Equipmemt associated with it. Also it probably could use a good deep clean. Probably from lack of use with Covid etc…? Other than that we really enjoyed our stay!!
Murugesan K. Jul 2021
Had a very relaxing stay and the house is loaded with lot of good things. I will give a 4+ star review if it had a Air condition, Living area was hot when temperature is 90+ degrees. Kids enjoyed the Game room.
Manager response:
Hi Murugesan, we are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Deena H. May 2021
House is great size and location for large families. Beds are comfy and water pressure is great. A few issues: direct tv did not work, grill was out of propane (we refilled) and the house could use a deep cleaning., lot next door was being cleared of all trees starting every morning ( morning wake up call) and did not realize house was close to main road. Overall we had a great trip and would stay again.
Manager response:
We appreciate you staying with us, Deena. There is no cable for this cabin; we apologize if you were expecting that. There is going to be some tree work happening for the next bit due to the fire from last year. We are grateful for guest understanding in this matter. Thank you!
Sally C. Mar 2021
Beautiful vacation house, Great location very spacious, When we got to the property we realized there was no hot water and my husband was able to locate the leak which was in playroom under the sink and was leaking out on the floor, the hot water valve was broken and the main hot water was turned off for the whole house, it needs to be fixed as soon as possible . Mold is under cabinet so we didn’t play down stairs . Games are not in order pac man machine not working pool table scratched and scuffed up .Cleanliness needs to be addressed several things were not done , vacuuming, dirty dishes , coffee pot and toaster dirty , so I washed everything we used . This is a beautiful property it really could use some TLC. We could not get the WIFI to work could not use TV . There is no shovels to clear pathway to front door we had to buy 2 shovels . We would stay here again if issues are fixed .
Manager response:
Hi, Sally! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and do apologize for the several inconveniences you encountered. The hot water, leak, and WiFi have all been fixed. The mold under the cabinet has been removed and the drywall replaced. We are struggling to find a tech that can take care of the PacMan machine, but we will continue to look. Thank you!
Melissa C. Feb 2021
The house accommodated our family comfortably as it was very spacious. The snow was steps away from us. However, I question the cleanliness of the house as we noted the following: spiderwebs in two of the bedrooms, several dishes appeared to have been used by prior visitors and placed back in the cabinets, trash behind the nightstands in the queen bedroom such as a used q-tip, dishes were already in the dishwasher (we never used), dirty kitchen counter and microwave. We also found trash on the porch. In the time of covid, it doesn’t appear they took the necessary cleaning precautions. We wiped down EVERYTHING and had to clean someone else’s mess, and still were required to pay cleaning fees and check out on time.
The wifi did not work the entire trip. Those who had school and work were not able to do so. Unfortunately for us, management couldn’t get a hold of the owner of the house. We came with the assumption that we’d have wifi, as advertised.
We were not provided with a full, new roll of toilet paper. The one provided was more than halfway used, leaving us to purchase our own.
Be weary that none of the bathrooms had window coverings. Two of the bathroom windows have a clear view of the shower.
The game room was a bonus and great way for entertainment. But it is very evident the games are not maintained. The darts didn’t work. We purchased our own. And the arcade didn’t work properly. Also, the first picture on the site is of a jacuzzi, yet there was no water in it.
The pictures and description are deceiving as we were led to believe there were perks with the house. Perks that were non functioning.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Melissa. We have gone room by room to fix any issues you experienced and refunded your cleaning fee. The owner will be looking into the PacMan game and WiFi so we can get those addressed. We apologize for the disappointments you experienced and hope to be able to host you again.
Jennifer C. Aug 2020
Beautifully remodeled and decorated. The bottom level playroom was a home in itself with a kitchen and living area. Spacious main kitchen with all the amenities. I really appreciated three and a half baths, all clean and remodeled. Three outside decks completed the home, as well as a fire pit area large enough to seat all guests. Fun stay!
Harry A. Jul 2020
Perfect for our group of 10.
Everything in top shape, And all beds very comfortable!
Crystal T. Jun 2020
It was a beautiful home with lots of activities to do as a family in the game room. We had plenty of towels and the kitchen is fully stocked with pans we had plenty of space that with a big party you don't feel crowded. Its right off the main road so you can hear a little traffic but not bad at all. Over all it was a great experience we would rent it again.
Evelida A. Mar 2020
We had a great stay in this home! The views are amazing. The home is decorated beautifully, the game room is great! We had everything we needed as far as dishes, pots, pans, utensils, blankets, pillows. The game room was great! And to top it off we got lots of snow (oh and there’s sleds and shovels)! This place was just amazing!
Brandy H. Sep 2019
Lots of room! Perfect for a large group! Cozy home like environment!
Christine H. Jul 2019
Great cabin to rent with kids as the house has many amenities for them and a separate room on the bottom level. Kitchen was well equipped with everything you need to cook. My husband raved about how well the BBQ grilled. Definitely would rent this cabin again.
Robert L. May 2019
The home was well maintained and clean. The home had ample options and alternatives for entertainment and relaxation. The home also had easy access to walking trails.
Nicholas H. Mar 2019
This is a great house in a quiet neighborhood.
Vanessa Z. Jan 2019
We checked in Sunday @ 4:00 PM upon arrival home looked great children, family and friends were excited! As we toured the home it had a very musky smell like nothing had been washed? That evening went to take a nice hot shower but we had NO HOT water our intier stay! Also the sinks began to clog making them hard to use while brushing our teeth or even washing hands. Out second day we woke up started making breakfast kids are up watching cartoons power goes out no TV no lights no heat nothing I’m half way done with breakfast! I thought oh a breaker tripped it will pop back on in a few. NOPE come to find out the entire town was notified for a scheduled routine power outage from 9AM to 2PM you would think we would have got a discounted rate or reimbursement for the hours ? They came up with 92.00 for 5 hours. The management company was absolutely no help didn’t call us back I had to make several phone calls to optain some answers. Very disappointing time
Manager response:
We apologize for the issues during your stay. We were unaware this neighborhood would be affected by the power outage or we certainly would have provided advanced notification. We have scheduled our maintenance team to address the issues you experienced. We hope to have another chance to impress you!
Kim A. Jan 2019
My family and I had a great time though we went with out power for over 10 hours . The cabin was very well stocked with any necessities you would need. Thank goodness lots of candles and flashlights. We made the best of it and had a great time!
Josh S. Jan 2019
The space, the location, the decorations!
Marisol C. Jan 2019
This home was perfect! Everyone was very comfortable and all of the amenities were perfect. The family just kept going on and on about how much they liked it. The beds were comfy, the bathrooms were beautiful and clean and there were plenty of towels- minor thing but it’s important. The game room was great. We spent plenty of time playing poker and shuffleboard. We had a minor issue with a leaky sink the bathroom by the kitchen- but we reported it immediately and a maintenance ticket was created. The neighborhood is great. We took some nice walks and had plenty of snow as well. It was a beautiful time all around. Highly recommend this home!
Nick B. Dec 2018
A very beautiful and spacious house. Great for families to entertain kids no matter what there age. We will be back soon. Thank you.
Samantha D M. Jul 2018
This three level home was more than we could have imagined. Super plush amenities, gorgeous kitchen, exquisite decor, dreamy beds and super cozy. Perfect for multiple family vacations. Loved the downstairs game room and ALL that it had to offer. Good location, very quite and peaceful. Had everything we needed plus so much more. We had an issue on the second evening of our stay and within minutes the Shaver Lake Vacasa Team was there to help fix the issue and make sure we were taken care of. Huge shoutout to Trish (manager) and Nick (maintenance) for their caring and prompt response. If you are looking for a wonderful cozy stay nestled in the pines of Shaver no need to look any further. I highly recommend this property as you will not be disappointed!