USA Coastal South Carolina South Carolina Kiawah Island Listing #15714

Bufflehead 3 - Kiawah Island, SC

Take a Virtual Tour
41 reviews
Max. occupancy: 12 2 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed, 1 Crib 5 bedrooms 5.5 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Upscale house with private pool, lagoon views - near beach & tennis

This spacious, well-appointed Vanderhorst Plantation home has a sunroom, deck, and a new private pool that can be heated (for an additional fee) that allows you to enjoy the outdoors and take in the views of the lagoon behind the house. This home has hardwood floors, granite counters, and painted cabinets within an upscale full kitchen on the first floor. There is an extra refrigerator in the office area, the perfect place to store cold drinks for the warm weather! The home has recently been renovated with a new couch, chairs, sunroom furniture, and grill and is just a short walk or bike ride (about 700 yards) to the beach, which is virtually around the corner.

When you enter the home and take the staircase on your left to the second story, you'll find four bedrooms. Taking two immediate lefts at the top of the stairs will bring you to a bedroom with a flatscreen TV. From there, just down a short hall is a bedroom with a flatscreen TV and an en suite bathroom with a standalone shower with a removable showerhead. Moving past the staircase and a small sitting room, the bedroom on your left has a flatscreen TV. Across the hall is another bedroom with an en suite bathroom with a shower/ tub combination. The primary bedroom is on the main level, just past the foyer on the left. It has access to a furnished private deck, dual walk-in closets, and a huge en suite bathroom featuring two separate sinks with counter space, a vanity area, a jetted garden tub, and a standalone walk-in shower.

Things to Know
Free WiFi and cable
Outdoor shower
The home is equipped with a home mosquito spray system.

This property is managed by Vacasa South Carolina LLC.

Kiawah Island Business License #BL010680-06-2018

City/town permit number: RBL19-006742

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Bathrooms

Jetted tub

Bedrooms

Crib

Children

Children's games

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Lake view

Water view

Beach access

Media

Internet

TV

Cable : Comcast

DVD player

Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf on-site

Playground

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Pool : Private

Heated pool

Board games

Tennis court : Shared

Basketball court : Shared

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Patio

Deck

Theme

Snowbird-friendly

41 reviews

Carol K. Jan 2023
BH3 is a well-appointed home. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook delicious meals- including large seafood pots, plenty of good knives, cutting boards, and serving pieces. ❤️ The teens loved the bunk room. The sun porch was quickly made their domain and they stopped their video games long enough to assemble a puzzle and play rumikub on the game table out there. We also liked that there was a large recycle bin outside. We were planning on taking our recycles home. Thanks to the owners for sharing their lovely spot in Kiawah.
Carol B. Oct 2022
Wonderful time at Bufflehead 3!
Robin N. Sep 2022
Large and comfortable home. Loved that each bedroom has its own bathroom. Most well appointed kitchen we have ever seen! We would definitely rent this home again.
Wendy R. Aug 2022
Bufflehead 3 was the perfect house for our family vacation. Our two sons and their families and my husband and I loved the spacious house. There was plenty of room for the ten of us. The grandkids loved the pool every day and the beach was a short bike ride from the house. The house has a kitchen that is stocked with everything you can imagine which was great for the meals we decided to stay in and cook. We definitely took advantage of the second refrigerator which was a plus. The only small appliance I would suggest they add is a blender. I missed my daily smoothies!
The house has a beautiful mostly glass sunroom on the first floor with a large TV which was a good babysitter for the "early rising grandkids" to play in until the rest of the family woke up. We also found games, puzzles and books in a cabinet as well as loads of beach toys which the kids enjoyed.
We would definitely stay here again as we all had a great time!
Manager response:
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, Wendy. Please accept our apologies for the missing blender. This will be replaced. Thank you!
Donna S. Jun 2022
Very spacious and accommodating for our family. Nice deck and pool. Parking was a little irritating. Elderly may have problems using the steps to the front door.
Diana T. Jun 2022
Great house, great location, and well stocked. Only one complaint: during the two weeks we stayed there, four different smoke detectors went off during the middle of several nights. Fortunately there was a step ladder available so that we could take them down and deactivate them. Maintenance came out twice, but perhaps all the detectors should have been replaced, since one more went off after the second maintenance visit.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Diana, we are glad you enjoyed our lovely home. We apologize for the issues you experienced with the smoke detectors, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. The smoke detectors have been replaced. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
John Mark D D. Apr 2022
This gorgeous and updated house was great for our big family! We had grandparents, cousins, aunts and uncles and the space was perfect with each room having a separate bath. We had the pool warmed, which was such a treat for the kids each day. The stove is gas, and a little finicky, but literally that is the only criticism I have. Such a great location too, walking distance from the beach! The local Vacasa team was so responsive to all of our questions and concerns. Definitely booking through them again!
Brian G. Apr 2022
Beautiful, spacious home. Great lay out for larger family or even multiple families. 1) Beach proximity - 5-8 minute beach walk, and very close via bike. 2) Bedrooms - The rooms are large and spacious with each containing their own bathroom. Master bedroom is on the main floor and has its own balcony, and large bathroom. The bunk room has 3 large bunkbeds that can sleep up to six kids, the bunk room is even larger in person than seen from the pictures and has its own bath/shower. Bathrooms - All showers were nice with great water pressure. Additional bonus is the half bath near the entry, and within the common area. Only recommend that you bring your own pillows for comfort. The kitchen is very large and nicely decorated, with multiple areas for eating either at the large dining table, the sunroom dining area, or at the island in the kitchen. The pool is also great, seems small at first glance but plenty big enough for multiple kids, and also has a great view of the lagoon, and feels like you swimming in nature. The sunroom located off the living room was also amazing for naps, and has its own television for additional sitting/viewing area. Between location, fixtures/appointments, and size, this was a great rental for our family and guests. Would look to book this exact house if/when returning to Kiawah Island.
Freida J. Nov 2021
This home was perfect for the weekend!!! It was stocked with everything that we needed...the decor was absolutely beautifuly..the space, the pool and overall upkeep of this property was beyond our expectations! We will be back :-)
Vickie H. Sep 2021
We spent 4 days and 3 nights in this beautiful home. My only issue was the a/c. We could not get the main floor cool. But, I would definitely rent this home again.
Manager response:
Hello vickie, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the issues you had during your stay getting the AC to cool. Our local staff is available to assist you if you have items that need attention or explanation. We hope to host you again in the future.
Mary D. Aug 2021
This is the first time we stayed at this home, and hope to be able to return. The house is spacious, well-decorated, comfortable and has an amazing array of kitchen tools, which is important to me. The two refrigerators and ice machine were an extra bonus.

There are plenty of rooms for those who want to congregate and for those who need a bit of alone time.

The deck pool was a big hit with our crew, as was the grill. And the beach is fairly close. We had a fabulous time!
Charles Q. Jun 2021
Outstanding stay. Five bedrooms with individual baths plus a half bath. Very close and convenient to beach. Private pool with outside hot and cold running water for shower after a time at the beach. Many reviewers of this location comment on the kitchen. All the many positive reviews do not come close to truly describing everything available (all clearly marked). Even after a weeks stay, we located new items every time we opened a cabinet or drawer. We had 11 people, including 3, and we prepared every meal in the house except the last night (we picked up pizza). All of our nightly meals were theme nights, and the two refrigerators proved to be essential. Plenty of room to separate or gather. We rented 8 bikes on the Island which everyone used daily. Highly recommend this location.
Brian R. Apr 2021
House in great condition. Well stocked kitchen. Extra fridge was helpful with multiple families.
Rebecca Y. Dec 2020
We just spent our second Christmas vacation in a row at this wonderful home. We love so much about this house. My favorite thing about this house is that the kitchen is well stocked and super organized. There are two refrigerators, so it's great for a big family, and for cooking a holiday meal. This year we opted to have the pool heated, and that was a hit with the kids. I highly recommend that if you are staying at this house during the winter months. I feel sure we will book this house again!
Margaret B. Sep 2020
This was a great house for a reunion of old college friends! Everyone could have their own space with plenty of comfortable areas to mingle!
William B. Jul 2020
Very nice location with short walk to beach and plenty of room for more than one family. Pool is an added bonus.
Rebecca Y. Dec 2019
The whole house was very nice, but the best part was the kitchen. Everything was nicely labeled, and it was fully stocked for cooking for a larger family. Bedrooms and living spaces were great as well!
Doug M. Nov 2019
Great place, well equipped
Brandi B. Aug 2019
Perfect home for our group of 13. Well stocked kitchen with plenty of room to cook for a crowd. Short walk or bike ride to beach. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.
steve g. Jun 2019
Great house for our family vacation. Loved Kiawah.
Deise T. May 2019
WOW!!! What an amazing experience... the house is beautiful and plenty of space for everyone! We loved the decor and serene back deck! The entire island is like being in a giant treehouse! The beach is also breathtaking! Love, love, loved everything! I miss it already 😭
Sneha P. Apr 2019
The house had everything we needed. The kitchen was well equipped, the pool and deck was a great space with a grill, and the house was spacious, we had 6 adults, 5 kids in our group. I would definitely come here again.
Wendy G. Nov 2018
clean, well stocked kitchen(!), spacious great room, comfortable beds, tasteful décor.
Kimberly s. Apr 2018
The location, amenities, layout of home and everything else involved could not have been more convenient and perfect for our stay!! Thank you!!
Anonymous . Apr 2018
Our stay at 3 Bufflehead was very nice. The property was clean with updated amenities. The property has quite a bit of space if you’re traveling with a big family. Our kids certainly enjoyed the bunkbeds. The pool is a great addition and we paid extra to have it heated for the week. If I had one critique it would be the pool did not heat to a temperature high enough for a week in which the high temperatures stayed in the mid 60's. Other than that, I would say 3 Bufflehead was on point!
Anonymous . Oct 2016
House was perfect for our group - extended family in town for a wedding. The house was very clean upon arrival. House is a quick bike ride or 10 minute walk from the beach. It was a great fit for our group! So nice that each bedroom has a bathroom and there are two refrigerators on property!
Anonymous . Jul 2016
Terrific house and great vacation; 1- Big bedrooms 2- All had bathes 3- Cousins bunk room for 8 kids 4-Close to the beach 5-Functional sum room for games-TV- kids eating 6-Kitchen up to dat plus an extra frog. 7- Nice new TV
Diana T. Jun 2016
As usual, comfortable, clean, good location, and well appointed.
Anonymous . Apr 2016
Open floor plan in private area of the island, good location, everything went as plan, kudos to Beachwalker for ease of lease process.
Erika D. Aug 2015
My husband and I traveled with a 1 year old, my mother and father and 2 18year old boys. This home was the perfect place for a 5 day family vacation. Bedrooms were perfect. Location to beach was a 10 minute walk and 5 minute bike ride. Renting bikes was great to get around the resort, do so before you get there! I wish I was still there!
Anonymous . Aug 2015
This is my third stay in this beautiful house. It is close to the path to the beach located near a lagoon with plenty of wildlife activity, including 'gators, deer, many "exotic" birds and more. Home is spacious with many upgrades. Fight for the downstairs master BR. It is great! Beach Walker folks are experienced, knowlegable and friendly. I have rented through them many times in my 20+ years of visiting Kiawah."
Anonymous . Jul 2015
This was a last minute rental for us. Beachwalker Rental was wonderful and really helped everything go smoothly! We had a great vacation!