USA Hawaii Kauai Kilauea Listing #16690

Hale La'Au Pohaku - Kilauea, HI

Take a Virtual Tour
29 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Spacious tropical getaway with lanais - just steps from the ocean

As one of the more spacious homes on Anini Beach, ’Hale La'Au Pohaku' (House of Wood and Rock) offers 2,300 square feet of indoor floor space, plus 500 square feet of two covered lanais. This home sits just 75 steps from the ocean with a private path to the beach right out the front door. The large open great room comes with Koa wood floors, doors, and cabinets, as well as a 24-foot-high, custom Hawaiian wood, cathedral ceiling with skylights, plus marble and granite finishes.

Each bedroom has a therapeutic mattress, high-quality linens, and pillow options. With ceiling fans in every room, you’ll fall asleep to the ocean breeze with ease. Custom lighting throughout the home contributes to amazing vacation pictures. The front and rear lanais have beautiful, partial ocean and mountain views while the landscaping features an abundance of tropical plants and flowers that attract birds and wildlife. The large master suite has a king-size bed and a marble bathroom with twin vanities and a luxurious shower. Each of the two over-sized bedrooms has direct access to separate lanais through screened doors. Each includes a queen-size bed and a daybed with an additional twin mattress, and they share a large marble bathroom and shower.

The large, fully-equipped kitchen has Koa wood cabinets, stainless appliances, granite counter-tops, and top amenities for intimate meal prepping and cooking. With a six-seat bar and eight-seat dining table, there is ample dining room inside. On the front lanai, you can dine and feel the ocean breeze while watching the palm trees and ocean waves or enjoy a private lanai in the back.

Whether a group of couples, friends or a larger family group, this home provides all the amenities after a long day at the beach or exploring. As you venture out, feel free to use the home’s coolers, beach towels, beach wagon, paddle boards, or snorkel gear on the calm waters of Anini beach, the only swimmable beach year-round. An outdoor shower, multiple spots to rinse, and free laundry make it easy to keep clean. The home is fully-equipped with on-premise parking, bamboo linens, beach towels, barbecue, games, sightseeing and other books, DVD players and select videos, cable TVs and free WiFi allows for AppleTV, Netflix, or Hulu downloads for late night movies.

This rental is managed by Vacasa Vacation Rentals of Hawaii, LLC.

Other permit number: TVNCU # 4255
Other permit number: TMK 530040200000

State/province tax number: GE-150-286-9504-01
State/province tax number: TA-150-286-9504-01

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Kitchen & dining






Beach access

Mountain view





DVD player

Wireless router

Netflix streaming


Gas grill : Private


Beach chairs

Beach towels



29 reviews

Shawna M. Apr 2022
Walking across the street to the beach was amazing, especially since the beach is pretty secluded and we always found a shady spot to hang out. The house was beautiful and spacious, just had several quirks. Would have been nice to be told of these ahead of time instead of trial and error. Washer and dryer only worked on certain settings, no cold water at kitchen sink, screen door doesn’t close properly (mosquitoes everywhere) and bathtub jets don’t work. We also had a few other issues that were resolved, but communication was difficult since you have to go through Vacasa and not the local team. Also just a heads up there is limited to no cell phone service depending on your carrier. Wifi worked great though and we really enjoyed all the amenities the house had to offer. Vitamix, rice cooker, SUP and surf board, tons of beach chairs and snorkel gear. We were lucky to have courteous renters in the house directly behind this one so noise was not an issue. For the price, we expected a more flawless experience but that being said, we’d stay here again in a heartbeat.
Sophie G. Nov 2021
The house has a fantastic location: steps from the beach!! 2 great lanais. Inside, everything you need. It is very Spacious. One problem we encountered was with the dishwasher: first time we use it, the dishes aren’t cleaned. I contact Vacasa team: very professional and I’m told someone will be there the next day and to expect a call or text message. Well nobody came, called or ever texted. So no dishwasher for us for the whole week. Upon leaving, we talked to cleaning crew who told us we would get some kind of refund, but we havent received any news of that. So bottom line, be prepared to be on your own on this one. Once again the place is super well located, is very nice, well appointed but if you have a problem, good luck. Be aware, there is no a/c. It did not really cause a problem, we were there in late October.
Manager response:
Hi, Sophie! We're so glad you stayed with us and sincerely apologize for not getting back to you about the dishwasher. We did end up replacing the entire thing. You should see the refund for that inconvenience and lack of service very soon. Thank you!
Lisa T. Nov 2021
Awesome house. Perfect location. We had a wonderful time!
Rick R. Nov 2021
The house is beautiful and really well kept. There's lots of space and they have well appointed amenities. The jacuzzi tub wasn't working when we were there and that would have been a great extra benefit. However, everything else there was terrific.
April E. Sep 2021
Best part of our stay at this house was the convenience of the beach access right across the street.
George D. Aug 2021
Perfect location, ample supple of beach gear. Can't ask for anything better.
Suzanne S. Jul 2021
The location on Anini Beach was perfect. A short walk to the beach and short drive to Princeville and Hanalei.
The house is incredibly hot from Noon to 10 pm even with a decent wind outside and the windows and doors fully opened the home does not enjoy the benefits of the “trade winds. It becomes so hot you need to be outside. The snorkeling equipment wasn’t any good so you need to buy or bring your own. The pillow cases in the master bedroom did not fit the pillows. No sponges or dishcloths were available to wash the dishes and the dishwasher would run for hours. We were unable to get the Sonos system to work despite 2 calls to Vacasa. The neighbors next door in the blue house woke us up at 7 am whike using their lanai as a remote office on one occasion and at night we could hear them washing and putting away dishes in the kitchen at 11 pm while trying to sleep in the master bedroom. We were told trash pick up was Tuesday mornings and twice our trash was not collected.
The home was stocked with plenty of towels and the beds were comfortable. The house would cool off after 10 pm so it was not impossible to sleep. There are numerous portable fans which we used constantly.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Suzanne! are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and coziness of the beds at the home. We apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay, and truly appreciate you reaching out to us right away for a resolution. We also thank you for allowing our local staff the opportunity to promptly address these issues during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future!
Thomas h. Jul 2021
Great location, lovely house, appreciated the stand-up paddle boards, beach chairs, etc. provided, Wi-fi super fast. The kitchen, however, needs an upgrade - dish washer can't wash to save it's life (we had to do it by hand), oven can't cook a thing (we relied on the BBQ), sink faucet was stuck on the pull-out sprayer and trash and recycling bins too small. We had fun.
Manager response:
Hi Thomas,Thank you for providing your valuable feedback. We are sorry for any issues you encountered during your stay. Local staff are always available to assist if there are amenities in the home that fall short. We hope to have a chance to host you next time. Thank you.
Michael K. Jun 2021
The home was beautiful and very spacious. The bedrooms were all good sized and the beds and futons were comfortable. There was plenty of room for a large family and the dual patios made for a great outdoor space. The access to the beach was incredible. Having relaxing mornings and evenings was so nice; couldn't have been more than a 3 minute walk back and forth to the calmest beach around.

The only negative as others have pointed out is the lack of A/C. This is common in the area, but as this house has a skylight, the heat gets a bit rough in the afternoon and the nights are a bit warm. There are many fans which helped, but A/C would make this one of the best stays in Hawaii. The parking is also very tight so if you have a large vehicle it may be difficult to get in and out.

Overall, this was a beautiful house with great Hawaiian style touches and the beach was amazing.
Yutaka I. Jun 2021
The house is comfortable and spacious and the Anini Beach location while a bit busy with traffic is lovely with convenient access to the beach itself. The location is also convenient for both East shore and North shore exploring.
Jeff W. May 2021
This was a fun place! It was secluded and so close to the beach that you never have to drive. It was a short walk along a sandy shaded path to a perfect beach location outside of the water. Lot of snorkeling but the kids can't just run and jump into the water without hitting the reef.
Like others said, no A/C but ceiling fans and not being there in the middle of the day helped. Note that the home allows for a lot of airflow, which means minimal privacy. All the bedroom doors are a fixed shutter style and while you can't see in, noise travels right through.
All-in-all it was a great place and we'd stay there again because of location and size. Oh, and the beds are amazing! Slept like a baby.
Thanks for a fun place in a beautiful part of the world!!!
Valerie P. Apr 2021
We love Anini beach and this home was the perfect way to enjoy it. We had plenty of room to relax, dine, play, and refresh. The home was equipped with all of the necessities plus some very special amenities like music, movies, beach chairs, towels, and boogie boards. It was clean and comfortable. Thank you!
Autumn W. Nov 2019
Our family loved staying at the house! The location can’t be beat directly across the street from Anini Beach. We saw tons of turtles and some fish snorkeling. The 2 SUPs were awesome to use on the calm waters - perfect way to start the day. The house is well-stocked with everything you need. The 3 bedrooms were spacious and fit us comfortably. There is a 2 bedroom back house - no one stayed there during our visit. If someone were staying there privacy would be impacted. Be prepared for the roosters to wake you up starting at 4am but that’s the Kaua’i life. The only downside of the house is the main room gets unbearably hot from about noon to 8pm. We couldn’t spend much time inside during that time. Usually we were out adventuring so it was fine but we arrived home to an oven even with the overhead fans on. When we arrived on Sunday at 4pm the whole house was roasting. The bedrooms at night were comfortable with fans blazing - we requested more fans - that helped. We were surprised to find no AC units given the previous renters’ and owner’s comments that 5 AC units had been installed. We eventually were told by the management company via text that the owner tried to install units but the electrical panel won’t support it. So as of 10/25 there are no AC units. Hoping the owner can find a way to upgrade so that the whole house can be enjoyed. With all that said, we would absolutely stay at the house again especially during cooler months. Enjoy the turtles!
Juli B. Oct 2019
Worked really well for our family of six. Amazing location across the street from public access for Anini Beach. Beach was calm and great for kids, paddle boarding and swimming. Water was clear and scenery stunning. Kitchen was well stocked for cooking. There is a second separate guest house being rented behind this house that shares a driveway so was not as private as we expected. It was a huge deal but good for people to know, especially with little kids because we felt we all had to be quiet and they were not able to play outside as anticipated. This house would be a five star if not for privacy and a few items in home that need to be fixed for full functionality.
Trevor B. Sep 2019
Spacious, well equipped house with a wonderful location right next to Anini beach. It was a hot week and the a/c was not adequate (could not get main room beneath 85deg during the day) but was told the owner is looking to upgrade. Despite this we had a great time. Thank you
Soeren Atrup N. Jul 2019
A very well equipped and cosy house! Enjoyed every minute of it. Super clean.
Only one suggestion: the airconditioning needs an upgrade. The house deserves it!
Jon P. May 2019
We were looking for a place for ourselves, our two adult children, and one of their significant others across from Anini Beach - this place is PERFECT! Lots of space in the main room of the house, with plenty of privacy in the rest. We're all foodies, and the kitchen was well-appointed with everything we needed - very nice appliances (including a rice cooker), lots of utensils/grilling tools, ample serving items - a quick stop at Costco right off the plane was all it took to be move-in ready! For the beach, there were several sets of mask/snorkel/fins in both child and adult sizes (we added an adult set to the collection, along with some extra snorkel keepers), folding chairs, mats, umbrellas, toys, a paddle board, and even a wagon to haul it all out and back. The ceiling fans and spare electric fans help keep things cooler at night, and between the speedy WiFi and an AppleTV in every room (each bedroom and the main family room) there was plenty of entertainment if it rained - just remember to sign out of iCloud and remove your email address(es) when you leave. Fortunately for us it didn't rain until the very last day, as if the island was sad to see us go. There are lots of books and things as well, but we were on the go most of the time and didn't avail ourselves of those. Fluffy towels and comfy beds a few steps from swimming with sea turtles - we will definitely be back!
Claire K. Mar 2019
I traveled with my spouse, sister and my two kids ages 3 years and 8 months. It was the perfect home for us for 5 nights. I actually wish we had booked a longer stay here but we wanted to stay in poipu as well as the weather is usually sunnier on the south end. The home is clean, spacious, bedrooms are huge, light and airy. The house had everything we needed for our stay and cooking meals in. We used the fans and had the windows open and never found it to be too hot. The best thing about the home is the beach access. You walk across the street down a short path and you are there! Anini beach is beautiful with calm waters- perfect for little kids. We made good use of the beach toys, chairs, wagon, umbrella and was delighted to see a stand up paddle board! It was something we always wanted to try. The Princeville grocery stores and shops are close by too which is nice. We would totally book this home again for our next trip!
Davida O. Mar 2019
Convenient path across the street for walking to the beach. Very comfortable beds. Lots of plush towels. Kitchen has everything you need. Large, comfortable family room for everyone to hang out. At first we were worried about not having AC, but with the windows open and the fans blowing we were all happy with the temperature. Our family of 6 enjoyed our week there very much!
Michelle S. Feb 2019
This home was super comfortable and the location can’t be beat. The management company is very responsive and addressed our questions quickly. The tub in the master bathroom wasn’t working, but it was not an issue for our family. I would highly recommend this property.
James C. Jan 2019
Very nice home, close to beach
Philip V. Dec 2018
The home was immaculate upon arrival and during our stay there was nothing we wanted that wasn't provided. The kitchen had everything we needed when we decided to stay in and cook and the BBQ was great for outdoor cooking. The living area was perfect for hanging out and the three bedrooms left nobody feeling slighted because they got the "small" bedroom. The two lanais provided great use of the outdoor space and bringing the outdoors in. While being on the beach has its advantages being across the street actually worked out nicely from a noise perspective especially while opening up the entire house to the breeze. If we were to return to Kauai we'd certainly check this homes availability first.
John W. Nov 2018
Excellent house to stay on Anini Beach. Great amenities, plenty of beach gear, chairs, boogie boards, and a SUP. House is well appointed, good internet, SONOS, etc. Comfortable furniture. House is very close to Anini,
Eric G. Oct 2018
The location and amenities at this grand home are rare and of the quality our family enjoyed on a 2 week vacation. Close to Hanalei and all that we love about Kauai.
Amanda M. Apr 2018
Fabulous home, just as described, with every amenity you could hope for and more! Spacious living area and bedrooms, plenty of towels, lovely linens, comfortable beds with plenty of pillows, and .well appointed kitchen. Don’t know how anyone familiar with the area (island for that matter) could expect not to have roosters as a part of the scenery (and sounds) - beats interstate or city noises any day in my book. We had fun playing, relaxing, and snorkeling at Anini Beach - saw several sea turtles and loads of fish. Enjoyed exploring the farms and markets around Kilauea, including The Farmacy. Ventured south to Moloa’a and Donkey beach on the way to Kapa’a to food shop. Eventually made it in to Hanalei (recent flooding kept us away) for amazing shave ice at JoJo’s. Mahalo for the lovely stay!
Kim B. Feb 2018
Clean, welcoming, with all the amenities of home. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Thank you!