USA Virginia Lake Anna Mineral Listing #18145

Oak Grove Cottage - Mineral, VA

Take a Virtual Tour
12 reviews
Max. occupancy: 12 3 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 4 Twin Bed, 4 Sofa Bed 5 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Lovely Home in Cove w/ boat dock, Pool Table & Full Kitchen

Escape from the everyday life at Oak Grove Cottage. This home is centrally located on Lake Anna in a quiet cove perfect for swimming, floating or fishing from the dock. Lakeside decking allows you to sit and relax while the family enjoys the lake. Depth at the dock is 5 feet. Tucked in the woods for your own private oasis.
Home has MiFi and offers a Pool Table, board games and Foosball Table for indoor entertainment.

What's nearby:
Home is located on the public side of Lake Anna.

Things to know:
Free Wifi

All drivers of a motorized watercraft must have a Virginia Boater Safety License.
All fishing will require a Virginia Fishing License.
This property is managed by Vacasa Virginia LLC.
This rental is located on floor 1.

Dock Details: private

Water Access: Oak Grove Cottage is a lakefront home. The community boat launch is located on Quisenberry ct. From the driveway make a right, take the first left onto Brounaugh Ln, then a left on Quisenberry Ct. the drive way is located in the culdesac.

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games

Common areas

Game room


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Space heater

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining






Water view





Cable : Dish Network

Nearby activities & attractions


On-site activities

Board games

Pool table : Private

Foosball table


Gas grill : Private



12 reviews

Jen M. Aug 2021
Thank you to the owners of the home - we had a great time and would definitely return! We enjoyed swimming off the dock (there are stairs to get back on). We recommend to bring your floaties (for adults too) and life jackets for the kids. Also, the home provided all the amenities but would encourage future guest to bring some extra detergent, toilet paper, paper towels, trash bags, and containers / ziploc bags for your leftover food. The kids loved the air hockey, foosball, and pool table (there were also toys on site for younger children). Beds were comfy and we were fine on hot water for showers. Also, someone reviewed the deck while we were there so this is on their radar for repair. There were some ants but on a heavily wooded lot so not unexpected to see a few. We definitely had a fun vacation and loved the house!
Sandra C. Aug 2021
This house is not up to snuff. They carpets are worn and dirty, deck is crumbling, no screens on windows, problems with the fridge, and the house needs some serious TLC. Location next to the lake is nice, but find another house.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Sandra. We are glad you enjoyed the location near the lake and apologize you were disappointed. We are discussing the carpet, dock, and window screens with the homeowner as potential improvements in the near future. The refrigerator has been inspected and is working well. We hope to see you again!
Michael D. Aug 2021
Excellent location: Close to grocery store and other visitation sites. Good access to the full Lake Anna experience (boating).
Below Average Cottage: Reasonably clean and well-equipped with linens & towels. However, we ran-out-of laundry detergent and dish washer liquid. The cottage has insect issues (ants in the kitchen), low water-pressure in kitchen & bathrooms, and some rooms had burned-out light bulbs.
The deck, back-yard stairway, and boat dock: These are "an accident waiting to happen." I recognize that it will cost thousands of dollars to upgrade/repair, but it is time to do so! Too many splintered boards, exposed nails, broken wood, etc. Poor ladder access to the lake from the dock, and out-dated deck chairs.
Unless you are ready to "tough-it-out," and proceed with extreme care, then you may not enjoy Oak Grove Cottage. If you can tolerate "less than ideal conditions, furniture, lake access, and amenities," then you'll be fine.
Mavis R. Jul 2021
This is a great location but the property/house/management was disappointing. Although we hesitate to write a predominantly poor review, it would behoove us as consumers to not be honest and forthright in allowing others to be informed. To mention a few things that we deem disappointing and unacceptable:

Approximately a week before our vacation we sent an email with a few questions. These included inquiring about the safety of the deck/stairs/dock as we had expecting moms and small children. We never got a response. Unfortunately, our expectant mom(s) and small children avoided these areas. After completing a questionnaire after vacation,We never received any type of acknowledgement. We will continue to reach out.

The status of the house regarding cleanliness/condition was NOT equivocal to the rental cost. My family and I felt it wise and necessary to disinfectant the house; we swept the floors as there was human hair, crumbs, dust, etc under the table, as well as chewed gum stuck underneath the end of the table; we went around the baseboards, ceiling and chair rails to remove cobwebs, spiders and dirt; there was toilet paper stuck all over the toilet scrubber located beside the commode. This is not acceptable, much less in the face of Covid concerns. We had paid a cleaning fee of $185. We cleaned and left the house much cleaner than the way we found it.

The aforementioned were some of the most outstanding issues. I hope this information will be used by the owner/rental company to make improvements, as well as assist interested renters in making informed decisions on how, or how not to invest in an enjoyable vacation. Pictures were taken to provide to whomever it may concern.
Melvin B. Jun 2021
We had a wonderful weekend with our family. We felt the house was a bit too small for the size of our family. There are alot of updates that could be done.
Manager response:
Hi, Melvin! We make every effort to present clear, accurate descriptions of our homes in order for guests to make informed decisions on their rental choices. We encourage guests to reach out with any questions or concerns prior to booking, as we are happy to help. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Lynn H. Jun 2021
The house was clean and fresh. All the trees kept us cool despite the 90 degree weather. The kids had a blast from the 4 year old playing with the toys in the toy box to the teens playing foosball and air hockey. The adults enjoyed the pool table and relaxing atmosphere. For those wanting to rent the home just bring floats and your own fishing poles. Kitchen pots and pans are minimal just compared to other places we have stayed. Having food Lion and the Dollar store at the end of the road made it convenient. Definitely would rent again.
Fred M. Jul 2020
Upon arrival the home was clean on the interior but noticeable worn. The outside perimeter of the home, the outside of the home and the accompanying decks, stairs, dock have not been maintained in years and have potentially hazardous wear ( nails protruding, broken boards). It is very disheartening to see a property with so much potential be left to rot and decay. Hard to believe someone would do that.
Again, the inside, despite having visible wear ( stains on carpet, worn furniture and paint, is comfortable and we enjoyed our time.
Manager response:
Hi, Fred! The property manager is getting the carpet treated, and the owner will be replacing the decks and docks this spring. Thank you!
Stephanie S. Jul 2020
We just returned from our long weekend at Lake Anna. I'd give it a 3.5

I'll be honest, given the last review I was terrified about what we were walking into. The image I had was so bad. I had brought extra blankets for the couches and sheets for the bed. We were prepared.

The house is down a long gravel road nestled in the woods. I was given two codes for the home...second one worked. We opened the door and the image in my head was not what I was seeing. The house was pretty clean. Yes, the furniture has stains, but it's a rental, and I've seen much worse. Because it's in the woods there are LOTS of bugs so be sure to bring plenty of bug spray and bug fogger if you plan on sitting outside. I swept the deck once we got settled in so we could enjoy the deck and view (the view isn't get because there are so many trees but the view from dock is great). I also put down an outdoor table cover so we could eat outside. The wood is rotting around the doorframes, but again it's an older house and needs a good wash.

The kids were so excited to play air hockey and foosball. The foosball table was broken (legs bending) but we had lots of fun with the air hockey table. There were lots of games in the laundry room. We got hooked on Blockus which I then purchased on Amazon and it was delivered the day we got home.

Here are the negatives:
- there was mouse poop in several of the kitchen drawers
- the are no lights leading from the house to the dock, we had to use flashlights as the steps are uneven
- internet definitely not great and when we arrived the hotspot said out of data allowance
- the amount of bugs that surround the outdoor lights is INSANE so don't plan on opening the door or you'll have lots of visitors inside

Now for the Positives:
- cute little house at the end of a gravel road nestled in the woods
- quiet atmosphere
- private dock
- kids were able to swim right off the dock and we had a water mat and other floats tide up
- super close to Food Lion

There is so much potential for this house and the land it sits on. I hope the owners one day clear out the trees so you can watch the sun setting from the deck. It will also help with the amount of bugs.
Manager response:
Hello, Stephanie! Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had an overall positive experience. Thank you for your feedback and for bringing your cleanliness and maintenance concerns to our attention. We are working with our local staff to address the issues in this home and welcome this as an opportunity to improve the quality of experiences we provide for our future guests. We hope to host you again!
Kristin R. Jun 2020
We recently rented and ran into sewage issues. The house needs a thorough cleaning to include badly stained furniture.
There was a smell outside in the front of the house and noticed that their is raw sewage overflowing from the septic tank directly into the parking area and didn't realize that's what it was until we had walked through it to get to our vehicle. I witnessed sewage coming directly out of the septic tank and flowing down the incline right into the parking lot. We will not rent from this home again this home because of this issue. There was also no WIFI and thanks to a previous post we brought additional silverware.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Kristin. This home includes wifi as an amenity. We appreciate your feedback on the furniture and apologize for any frustration or inconvenience this caused. We encourage our guests with any in-home issues to contact our 24 hour guest services line immediately, so our local staff can promptly address the concerns. The septic company has been to the home to address the issue you experienced. We hope to have an opportunity to better impress you in the future!
Susan W. Jun 2020
We had problems with the WiFi - there was none. One of the showers on the main floor didn’t work and the front deadbolt didn’t work either. After being on hold for over 2 hours with Vacasa, the property manager finally called us the next day and said he would fix everything and call me back with an update. I never heard from him again. I had left a list of things to fix and he checked them all off but the only thing he really fixed was the WiFi, which we needed because 3 people in our group had to do some work. Also, for some reason there were only 5 forks. There are a lot of steps down to the dock which would have been nice to know because we had someone elderly in our group. Front porch and deck need repairs. Just doesn’t look well kept.
Manager response:
Our apologies that you experienced difficulties during your visit, Susan. We appreciate your feedback regarding the wifi and kitchenware. Since your stay, we have hired many new team members to ensure we can continue to deliver exemplary customer service through these incredibly busy times. We hope you'll give us a chance to impress you in the future!
Teresita C. May 2020
We loved the location of the house on the private side of Lake Anna. The dock was accessible not very inviting. I rated our stay through Vacasa with a generous 3 stars because despite the short falls of the actual house we still made the best of it and had the best family vacation together. To start the wifi information was incorrect, our 2 school aged children still had to log-in to their "home schooling" each day due to the pandemic. We texted the "concierge" and no reply was given. We ended up finding it the next day ourselves. Not a huge deal. Next was the dryer, it turned on but would not spin. We texted about that as well but no one fixed it like they said might be able to do. So for our 3 night stay we couldn't use ththe dryer. Every couch had stains on them, it was awful. We used the extra sheets to cover all 5 couches. Two of our 5 children has special needs. According to the pictures everything looked CLEAN. The only that was clean was the wood floors in the kitchen and dining. All the rugs were horribly stained. The floor in the 2nd bedroom downstairs wasn't even finished. They through an oversized rug on top of an unfinished floor. The curtains and windows down stairs were disgusting. They havent seen a washer in a decade. Full of bugs, dust, and dirt. We covered them with towels. We didnt expect the pictures, but we didnt expect what we arrived too. Those pictures were taken 20 years ago when it was made a rental. I feel bad for actual owners because property management has let the elements and time destroy this house. It could be a beautiful house. The deck all the way to the dock and the upper deck off the living room were cleaned, it hasnt a seen a broom since last summer. There was propane so a BBQ for dinner as planned went great. It was the cleanest thing outside. We couldnt enjoy the patio set with the umbrella by the dock because that also hasnt been cleaned in at least a year. We didnt have access to fresh water down there and it would have taken at least 2 hours to make that area useable, we were bummed because that dock kinda sold us. We planned to "live" down here for the 3 days and enjoy our waverunner on the lake. We opted an extra night, I know crazy right, because of the beauty and fun on the lake, and the hospitality of neighbors and Mr. Dave down out the marina where you can get gas by boat. Give that man a raise!! For $1,000 it was worth every penny because the memories we made and the quality time we havent been able to have in years. Once you get the key out of the lock box attached to the deck your on your own. There is no way to contact the actual owners or a physical realtor.
Manager response:
Hi, Teresita! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are sorry to read you were disappointed with some aspects of your visit. The dryer has been repaired, and the outdoor patio set and deck have been cleaned. We would love to have another chance to impress you in the future and hope to see you again!