USA Gulf Coast Florida Port St. Joe Listing #18875

A Wise Way - Port St. Joe, FL

Take a Virtual Tour
62 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 (6 adults) 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 2 dog max  (25 lb weight limit) 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Gulf-front home w/ WiFi, private beach boardwalk & views - dog-friendly

This Gulf-front home is well equipped and ready to host your annual vacation with the family (dogs included)! The deck offers panoramic views across the water, and you can admire the vista from the large sliding glass doors off the living room. The private boardwalk takes you down to the beach where shelling, fishing, and crabbing are abundant, as are sightings of dolphins, eagles, and other wildlife!

What's nearby:
Kayaking, fishing, and golfing are popular activities here, and must-see attractions include the St. Joseph Bay State Buffer Reserve Center (five miles away) for hiking, biking, horseback riding, and bird watching. You'll also be 11 miles south of the Cape San Blas Lighthouse, which offers bay views from the top and a gift shop inside.

Things to know:
This home is next to the three-bedroom As Pelicans Pass (the two do not share any amenities), creating an ideal set-up if you're traveling with another family, extended relatives, or a larger group of friends
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
Dog-friendly for a nightly fee
Snowbirds welcome!

County permit number: 03180-210R

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Ocean view


Water view


Beach access

Gulf view






DVD player

Wireless router

Netflix streaming

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf nearby


Gas grill : Private


Beach towels



62 reviews

Lindsay K. Oct 2022
Comfortable, updated, nicely equiped house on the beach. Great for a multigenerational family vacation. Beach not crowded, private boardwalk, outdoor shower. Lots of great shell hunting or just walking on the beach. Sunset watching from the deck - AMAZING!
Ashlee B. May 2022
The landlords are great, the house was clean and accommodating for our family of 4. Beautiful gulf view of, and access to, the beach and the quaint village, port st joe. If your goal is to get away from the hubbub and chill on the beach, bring it! No amusement parks, no long lines, but lots of peace and quiet, great food and memories.
Tracy K. May 2022
Great location! Very clean home.
Daniel R. May 2022
Great beach house with awesome views. We saw dolphins, eagles and many other shore birds. The beaches are dog friendly and not crowded.
Daniel N. Mar 2022
Clean, cozy place. Really liked the layout, especially two of three bedrooms facing the ocean.
Lisa D. Mar 2022
We had nothing but love for this place. We wish we would have stayed longer.
Kate G. Mar 2022
The house was extremely clean and well kept. The kitchen was fully stocked with any and all dishes/cookware you need. Not to mention, the wonderful view from the back deck!
Robert H. Mar 2022
Super clean, well appointed house. Great layout with a fantastic deck overlooking the gorgeous beach. We fished and did well! Nice drive into Port St Joe and Apalachicola with great parks, bike trails and restaurants. Never been to the Forgotten Coast, loved it! We’ll be back. Thank you! R & B
Ellie M. Jan 2022
Many updates since our last visit. New kitchen cabinets and quartz countertops, thanks for the new dishwasher and microwave. Kitchen is well stocked. Perfect for one family
Beach view is breathtaking. Private boardwalk and Great beach for kids to play. No crowds or fighting for a piece of the beach. Enclosed Outdoor shower. Loved watching dolphins in the surf and eagles on the beach fishing. Nice dinner options in Port St Joe or Apalachicola. Returning again.
Christopher S. Dec 2021
We had a blast and enjoyed it
Amber A. Nov 2021
Although the house decor is a little dated it was clean and very functional. Everything we needed was provided. The location is perfect and we were very comfortable during our stay. The views from the living room and bedrooms can't be beat! We had an issue with the check in code and the AC but the rental agency was immediately responsive and the issues were resolved faster than we expected! We would definitely stay here again!
Michael D. Oct 2021
Almost a private beach, no crowds and lots of room between houses. Totally unobstructed beach view. Nice deck furniture, perfect location to enjoy both sunrise and sunset. Old Florida cabin charm. Perfect for a small family. Well stocked kitchen, crock pot, stand mixer, and Belgian waffle maker. Ice maker makes a ton of ice, HVAC kept house comfortable, beds firm and supportive. Previous reviewer had an issue with closet shelves but that appears to have been changed. No problems with TV or Wi-Fi this time! Definitely worth the trip.
Den F. Sep 2021
Not a beach mansion but a quant old Florida beach/cabin home. Comfortable and clean with an amazing beach access. Deck views of sunset and sunrise! Outdoor hot and cold private shower.
Pat & Vanice W. Sep 2021
The home is beautiful and very well decorated. The Kitchen is well stocked with dishes and appliances. The house was clean. It was great to be right on the beach. The beach is clean and not crowded. We love that the home is Pet Friendly. we will come back to Wise Way!
Wynn & Steve
Steven Z. Aug 2021
Bedrooms were very small with little closet space. One bedroom had only shelves in closet .
No room in bathrooms for female- no makeup area. Microwave quit working while we were there & lock box on front door never did work - we had to use key. The beds were hard and uncomfortable, leaving us quite achy in the mornings. In the living room area the ceiling looked mildew/moldy from a previous leak. This could be a cute place if someone put some time into it. Laundry room was downstairs, and unfortunately, difficult to access, with the rain storms -as there was no covering over stair access. The TV in the livingroom rarely worked to watch shows that we were interested in. We did enjoy the beautiful beach, which was the best part of our vacation. We were disappointed in the comfort level of this place.
Manager response:
Thank you, Steven, for choosing to stay with us. We wish you had let us know about your difficulties during your visit. The microwave is replaced, as are the lock batteries. We appreciate your suggestions for improvement and hope to have a chance to better impress you in the future.
Steven H. Aug 2021
The house is located directly facing the gulf on a fairly quiet spot in the beach. Since it’s south facing the waves are lower and less frequent than other areas so the location is great for kids playing in the water and looking for seashells. Only recommendations are that a couple of the lights were out and the kitchen doesn’t have much usable counterspace but we loved everything else about the house and it’s proximity to Port Saint Joe and other beaches are all within a short drive.
Manager response:
Please send your response to this ticket back to Sabrina Mitchell AFTER the guest's complaints have been handled, with information regarding what has been done about the guest's complaints/concerns so we can write a manager's response to accompany the review. (It's also helpful to know if nothing will be done about their complaints.) We will ideally hear back from you within 3 days. Thank you for your hard work!
Gypsy B. Aug 2021
What is singularly important about this home is its location right on the gulf and the views such a location provides. The 1st night there - I woke up at 5:45 because I thought the sun had risen. Nope, it was the moon with Venus above it, shining so brightly on the water, breathtaking! The home is always incidental to being on the beach and water to me. There are things that could be improved, particularly in the kitchen area, but I sent those suggestions to Vacasa who said they would be shared with the property manager. The A/C is spectacularly cold! My family was happy and we had a stellar week!
Jacqueline P. Jun 2021
House could not be more perfectly located between towns that have grocery and food. The beach is very private. Only “complaint” is outdated appliances that made cooking take longer and washing dishes a challenge. I would stay here again. Perfect for 6 people.
Regina J. Apr 2021
Loved being right on the beach and close to St. Joe and Apalachicola. We enjoyed the quiet beach and watching the dolphins play.
Alma R. Apr 2021
Many upgrades, new chair cushions, new front stairs and beach deck. Wire instead of pickets provide unobstructed views. Great deck chairs and tables. Freshly painted. A storage room downstairs for beach stuff. Private boardwalk provides easy access to beach. Fully stocked kitchen.
patricia m. Mar 2021
The location of this home is perfect, long sandy beaches, sunrises and sunsets, starry nights, and dolphins playing in the water right out front. The exterior was also nice and sitting on the deck watching the water was very enjoyable. The interior of the home however was not so nice. Although we knew from pictures the interior was a bit dated, we did not expect old, dirty and uncomfortable furniture. The house was surface-clean, but there was mold on the shower curtains, dirt and mold on the doorwall handles, plaster peeling from the bathroom ceiling, rust on the refrigerator and some light fixtures, and there were heavy layers of dust on pictures, wall decorations, and even the ceiling fan that twirled above the dining room table. The house is very much in need of a deep cleaning and repairs should be made to replace dog-chewed moldings. On the plus side, the kitchen was very well stocked, there were plenty of towels, and the two beds that were used were very comfortable. We will return to the area for future vacations, but not to this home until updates and repairs are made.
Manager response:
Hi, Patricia! We appreciate receiving such helpful feedback from you. The shower curtains have been replaced, the door knobs are all bleached between guests, the popcorn ceiling will be replaced in April, rust is part of living near saltwater, and we will check for dust. Please do not hesitate to reach out using the contact information left in the rental. Thank you!
Alessandro G. Feb 2021
This House is located in Indiana Pass, conveniently secluded. Between Port St.Joe, and Apalachicola, 20 minutes drive to either small town. You are actually on the Gulf coast at this location not in the bay. Some of the best oysters I've had were served up within walking distance at Indiana Pass Raw Bar.
Daniel R. Feb 2021
Loved being right on the beach. The view is amazing. The house itself is very clean and comfortable. Would recommend this place.
Terry P. Dec 2020
My wife and I stayed for two nights in late December 2020. Unfortunately the first thing that greeted us upon entering the house was a smell that did not go away. We ended up buying candles at the local general store that we kept burning the entire time we were there. Not sure if it’s because of the pet policy that the place smelled so badly but it was terrible. The bathrooms were below average as well with mildew around the caulking in the showers / tubs. The location is great and the home is in average shape for it’s age except for a broken window and screens that were damaged by I assume pets.
Manager response:
Hi, Terry! We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. All of the screens were recently replaced, and we were unable to locate any broken windows. Maintenance will be recaulking the shower. We apologize for any unpleasant odor and will ask housekeeping to be mindful of this as they clean. Thank you!
Susie M. Dec 2020
We had a relaxing, enjoyable weekend at this comfortable house. The beautiful sunset was an added treat.
Alice D. Dec 2020
The beach had very few people and the view was lovely. Five of us stayed very comfortably. As with most of these houses, you should bring your own good knives, cutting boards, and big pots if you need them, but this place is really well-appointed for people who plan to cook their own meals while there. There was a Kitchen Aid mixer, waffle maker, crock pot, multiple coffee pots, and enough plates and flatwear to serve 20+ at a time.

We did notice that the BR with the king bed was much warmer than the rest of the apartment. And the BR with no window was coldest, so we adapted as needed.

The beach is very clean, with lots of shells to collect, and the walks to a beached sail boat and farther to a beached shrimp boat (the Donna Kay) were lots of fun. We also enjoyed being able to have a fire on the beach and someone nearby sold firewood so that was super easy.

Our price, with everything, was less than $300 per night, so we felt like it was a good value.

Just be aware that masks are not required in FL and it's clear that the culture is to try to ignore the pandemic. We brought almost everything but did have to go to small markets twice and noted that no locals wore masks, only visitors.
V R. Nov 2020
Easy boardwalk access to an almost private beach. Located to observe sunrise and sunsets. Comfortable beds, well supplied kitchen, six large rockers on the beach side deck. WiFi connection is reliable, two cable connected TV,s and one with DVR ability.
Great linens and quick help from Vacasa is a problem arises.
Lucia S. Nov 2020
We enjoyed our stay immensely in this beautiful, "old-school" beach house! Its deck overlooking the ocean and ocean views from most rooms are to die for. We spent hours every day just sitting on the deck drinking wine and watching the porpoises. The beach is peaceful and quiet and the water was warm enough to swim in early November! The home is clean, comfortable, and well appointed. It's hard to tell from the photos, but all the floors are beautiful new hardwood or hardwood-look LVP. We plan to return!

A few improvements that would make this home absolutely perfect:
-At least 2 more, larger cutting boards
-A cheese grater
-Tongs for the grill
-Steak knives
-A better can opener
-Deck railing is wobbly; potential safety issue.
-The living room sliding doors are difficult to operate. May just need some WD-40.
-The toilet in the larger bath runs unless you open up the tank and close the stopper. Needs a new stopper.
-We could never find the guide interface on the TV. Updated instructions would be helpful.

Many thanks again for a wonderful stay!
Manager response:
Lucia, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We will be sure to pass your suggestions along to our local manager who will work with the homeowner to make any upgrades. We look forward to hosting you again!
Jeff and Andrea M. Oct 2020
This home is very comfortable. It feels very inviting from the moment you walk in. The furnishings are beautiful and updated.
William H. Sep 2020
We had a wonderful time at this cottage. We usually stay on SGI but booked this house and truly enjoyed CSB. House is a nice cottage. 3 bedroom and 2 bath. Would be good for two families. New stairs, amazing views and right on white sand beach. We caught whiting and spotted sea trout from the surf and had fresh fish for dinner. The General Store has most of your last minute things like beer, charcoal and frozen bait. We will go back.
Amy S. Aug 2020
We had a great time!! We loved that the beach was not busy and how close the house was to the beach. Just wish we could have stayed longer!!
Sarah C. Jul 2020
Our stay at A Wise Way was paradise. Right on the beach - walk down a set of stairs, out to your own boardwalk to take you directly to the beautiful beach and water. The house is not huge but the high ceiling in the main room and sliding glass doors that when open let in the sound of waves and sea breeze make it feel spacious and airy. Nothing like being so close to the beach. Awesome amenities included outside shower to rinse off after a day in the sand, Weber and propane grills (take your pick), and local seafood nearby, either at the Indian Pass Rawbar or at St. Joe Shrimp Co. Be aware though that there aren't a lot of restaurants nearby - but for us, being in an area that's not heavily built up, was a large part of the place's charm and feeling of escape. Rented chairs and umbrellas from San Flea Rentals in Cape San Blas inexpensively - could pull them right up under the house - no need to lug them far. The sky at night was an amazing surprise too - so clear, tons of stars to be seen from the deck - even saw many shooting stars! Loved our stay and hope to return.
Gerald w. Jun 2020
This is an adorable and very comfortable house with gorgeous views and a geeat beach!
Kathryn W. Jun 2020
We loved how secluded it was and that it was right on the beach!!
Abby S. Jun 2020
We enjoyed our stay at A Wise Way! It was in a perfect location, so close to the ocean! Perfect for our family fun vacation.
Jessie R. Jun 2020
My wife, 4 kids and our dog had the best, most relaxing vacation that we’ve had in years. The beach house gave us the perfect view and access to the beach. We even saw several dolphins on our last day there.

We will definitely be back next year!
Vanice R. May 2020
New stairs, private low density beaches, unbeatable views.
Wynn M. May 2020
A Wise Way is a wonderful home! It is Clean, Well Decorated and has a fully stocked Kitchen! The Beach is very quiet with Dolphins playing in the surf almost daily! All the beds are comfortable. We will definitely be back!
The McCurdys
William L. Apr 2020
deck should have been rebuilt 10 years ago,slivers,rusty nails coming out of boards,railings unsafe,wife went threw top step and had bruised ribs,bath room sink wobbles not anchored to the wall,unsafe walkway to water,.Vacasa keeps raising rent but no maintanence
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, William! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We are continuing to work with our team to identify and address areas for improvement throughout the home. We look forward to hosting you again!
David C. Feb 2020
Great place, good for boating, sailing, fishing. Great neighbors, quiet and dog friendly.

But the pestering by Vacasa was frustrating and unnecessary
Manager response:
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We typically make a check-in call to make sure you are happy in the unit. We hope you will stay again soon!
Pamela K. Jan 2020
The house is very nice! Lots of extras in the kitchen including a kitchenaid mixer! The only thing we did not like was the walk out to the beach. No railings, but the steps are too tall , narrow and Steep. The sand had probably washed away from the bottom step, but the other steps were just too tall! I had to use the neighbors walk. . Especially on the water side. The house was clean and the beds were comfy!
we have been looking for a new winter Florida vacation spot. I think we have found the right area east of Port St Joe. There were a few other dog lovers on the beach which made our walks sociable but not overly so. The Wise Way house was adequate. The bathrooms were a little small but bigger than those on a cruise ship. The house was very clean and well finished. There seems to be a problem with the A/C. The owner says that if the thermostat is set lower than 72 the unit will freeze-up. It was cool enough in January that we did not test that. There is a new walkway to the beach. The top step on the beach end has an extremely short tread which makes it dangerous. The house itself is just starting to show its age and needs some work. It`s a little far to the good restaurants in Port St Joe or Apalachicola.
Michael H. Dec 2019
This home has it all great views secluded location and all the amenities you need.
Julie B. Dec 2019
Very comfortable, clean, and casual beach house right on the water!
Monica M. Nov 2019
We stayed here for the second time with our dog and loved it. They put in all new floors since the last time we were here. It’s located right on the beach and the house is comfortable and well appointed. We wanted for nothing. Can’t wait to return!
nicole r. Oct 2019
My husband and I loved this place! This stretch of beach is secluded and private. Just what we needed. The house is not updated but this did not bother us at all. It has everything you need in the well equipped kitchen and the bed was very comfy. We loved the porch overlooking the beach and spent hours there over coffee in the morning and wine and snacks in the evening watching the sun set. This is a good size house for two couples or a family of four. We can't wait to got back.
Tamara A. Sep 2019
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at A Wise Way. It's location is ideal; very quiet and not crowded at all! We saw dolphins playing every day just off the shore. We used the large deck very often. Saw some beautiful sunsets from the deck. I would definitely rent this house again.
Monica M. Jun 2019
We stayed here with our dog and LOVED it. It was absolutely perfect for us. The beach is beautiful, the house is fully stocked. We felt at home and comfortable as soon as we opened the door. We can't wait to visit again!!
Jennifer H. Jun 2019
We love staying at Indian Pass because the beaches are so beautiful and secluded. This was our first time staying in a home directly on the beach and we loved it! We had dolphins that visited several times a day and shells everywhere. The home was clean and efficient and easy to book. We will be back!
Paula K. Apr 2019
This house was absolutely wonderful!! We felt completely relaxed as soon as we walked in the door.
Felicia B. Jul 2018
Debra P. Apr 2018
Always a pleasure to stay at A Wise Way. Perfect location on a beautiful beach that's dog friendly and never crowded. Street is very accessible and quiet. Wonderful view from great room and two bedrooms. Furnishings and linens are perfectly chosen for a house on the beach. Lots of space in beach house below to store your sandy chairs, etc.
Michael L. Jul 2016
My Family and I found our stay a wonderful experience! From the initial rental of the property, check in and stay, was easy and enjoyable! The staff we felt with at check was extremely helpful, informative and friendly! The beach was beautiful, not too busy and very relaxing! We played in the water, walked the beach in the day and night! Wonderful area to vacation!!! Very family and pet friendly!!! The home was convenient with necessary items to make our stay comfortable for cooking, sleeping and relaxing! We watched the Dolphins and Pelicans almost every morning from our deck! The location is perfect!!! We would highly recommend this location to friends and family! We will return in the future for another stay!! Thank you so much for a fantastic vacation!!!
David R. Jul 2016
Wonderful overall experience.
Mary P. May 2016
We had a wonderful time at A Wise Way. It has a great location. The beach was steps away and beautiful. The house was clean and neat.
Maria B. Aug 2015
We stayed at A Wise Way on Indian Pass beach. It is the fourth time we have stayed in that particular house. I love everything about it. The location is great, just in between Port St Joe and Apalachicola. There are many things to do and see in both places. The food in the area is magnificent. We really enjoy all the seafood in the area, Toucan's, Triple Tails, Indian Pass Raw Bar, all good places to eat. Apalachicola has tons of shops and art to enjoy and Port St Joe has all you need in the way of supplies. There are miles of beach, and no crowds. My three dogs had plenty of sun and fun with their Mama. The house itself is very comfortable with three bedrooms, cable, and a full kitchen. I will be back next year to my home away from home.