USA North Lake Tahoe California Carnelian Bay Listing #20076

Peaceful Forest Retreat - Carnelian Bay, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
27 reviews
Max. occupancy: 10 4 Queen Bed, 1 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 3 bathrooms Sleeps 9 comfortably  2 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly cabin with private hot tub, fireplace, near skiing & the beach

The beauty surrounding this dog-friendly Agate Bay home makes it the perfect destination for couples and families alike. There is a peek-a-boo view of Lake Tahoe from large windows overlooking the tranquil forest scenery. Relax by the gas fireplace or enjoy the fresh air from the second-floor balcony. With TVs in all of the bedrooms, everyone has their own space to retreat to at the end of the day. There's even a private hot tub.

What's nearby:
This centrally located retreat has incredible access to North Shore beaches and all of the major ski areas in North Tahoe! Patton Beach and Kings Beach are less than two miles away. Northstar, Squaw Valley, Alpine Meadows, Diamond Peak, and Homewood Ski Resorts are all less than 15 miles away. There are also three different boat launching ramps within a six-mile drive. Enjoy boating, fishing, hiking, skiing, and more from this unbeatable location.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
Dog-friendly with an additional fee (a maximum of two dogs are allowed)

Please note: Due to local rules and regulations hot tubs, pools, and some activity spaces including private beaches are unavailable at this time. As local policies change by the hour, access to amenities is beyond our control. We encourage you to check local regulations before your trip so you can be as prepared as possible.

County permit number: STR22-6254
Other permit number: 119176

Other tax number: 12306

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Lake view

Water view




Cable : Charter

DVD player

Wireless router


Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private


Gas grill : Private



27 reviews

dave c. Apr 2022
the cabin is a little older, but loved. good value. comfortable and clean. we did lots of hikes in the parks up the street without having to drive anywhere.
Kenneth M. Apr 2022
We got lucky. It snowed the week we were at the house, and there was fresh powder throughout. Big, warm house. Housekeeping apparently didn’t care to clean cobwebs at higher locations throughout the house. Other than that, we found a wonderful house for all 8 of us (6 adults, 2 kids). Will definitely check availability year.
Manager response:
Hi Kenneth, thank you for your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed our home and your time here. We appreciate your feedback about the upper cobwebs. We will review this with our housekeeping team. We would love to host you again very soon.
Julie B. Mar 2022
The location is nice! Not much of a lake view, but, such a beautiful location anyway. Just a nice enough size yard for little ones to enjoy snow play! The house is a little dated, but, nicely equipped with clean linens, kitchen supplies, etc.
Only suggestion- new mattresses.
Hope to revisit soon!
Tanya L. Jan 2022
The location and layout of the house are really great. We had plenty of space for 2 families. However, I would suggest the owner upgrades the linens as one thin blanket wasn't really enough in the winter. The kitchen needs some updates to what is there (new pot holders, baking sheets, pots/pans). There were also some minor fixes that need to be addressed (bedroom door handle falls off, master bedroom fireplace wires are loose and would cut in and out). This isn't to say the place isn't great.. we enjoyed it quite a bit. Just providing some feedback to make it even better. Thanks!
Manager response:
Hi, Tanya! We appreciate you staying with us and apologize if you were chilly. The property manager was able to locate additional blankets throughout the home that guests are welcome to utilize on the beds. Thanks!
Elaine M. Dec 2021
This house is in a nice location. Its layout is perfect. And, most important to me it was very clean and well equipped.

They allow pets which is important to me. I appreciate a property that allows pets and is completely clean.

I will absolutely be booking again.

Julia S. Mar 2021
Beautiful cabin! The picture really do not do it justice. We had a great time
Karen S. Feb 2021
We enjoyed our stay very much; the home fit our family and had everything we needed. Thanks for the hospitality!
Oscar S. Nov 2020
Pics do not do it justice.
I am a flight attendant and have rented a lot of homes.
I highly recommend this house.
You can walk to the lake.
Everything was wonderful, the only negative was covid made sure the hot tub was not being used.
Unfortunate but totally necessary.
Nicholas C. Oct 2020
Great location, clean and accommodating.
William D. Aug 2020
The layout of the home was nice for cooking, socializing, and sleeping. There were a couple of minor things missing or broken but hopefully these will be fixed soon.
Manager response:
Hello William, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We do hope you reached out to us during your stay so we could address any issues to make your vacation better. We apologize for the inconvenience. We hope we have the chance to impress you in the future.
Don K. Aug 2020
Leading up to this trip, I attempted multiple times to message and contact owner and management company with questions but got ZERO response.

When my family and I arrived, the blankets for the beds had dog hair on them and wasn’t as clean as thought it might be. Also the trash bin was jammed full of old trash so we had to collect our own trash inside the house until I contacted management if management to complain. Also the bbq did not work and the hot tub was inaccessible due to COVID. The hot tub not being made available was an excuse to not service is all as our friends hot tub (also rental) just down the street and all hot tubs in pool we saw were in use and in Full compliance with placer county. In addition to this, the power went out several times, where kitchen appliances would not work. Again I called only to be told to try and find the breaker and handle. This is unacceptable!

It was also funny that the guests before us also had complained and even wrote in welcome book similar complaints to ours. Totally inexcusable and unacceptable

Other then the location and proximity I wouldn’t recommend this place. Terrible customer service and communication, especially during COVID, a time where people pay big money to get away with change of scenery. Big disappointment and I will be asked for compensation and partial refund
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback, Don! We are very sorry you weren't able to use hot tub as it was closed due to county mandates. It is always our goal for our guests to be able to use everything the home has to offer. We hope that the refund that you were given has helped with some resolution for the issue you experienced. We also apologize for any delays in communication as we have been working diligently to handle the increase of calls and emails due to COVID and the summer season. We hope to host you for a much more comfortable stay in the future!
katie G. Jul 2020
Cleaning company was running late but we loved the cabin! Will absolutely rent again. Great location and walking trail 1.2 miles from the shore /garwoods !
Tim P. Jul 2020
Cabin was clean and had all the basics that we needed. One thing as a negative was the key for the hot tub was not found, but otherwise it was a good stay.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Tim. We are glad you enjoyed this cabin and we apologize if the hot tub was unavailable as a precaution to COVID-19. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Matt S. Mar 2020
We stayed here with 8 people and enjoyed it. The cabin is rustic but functional. We liked the open common space on the top floor and the hot tub on the front deck. The fan didn’t work in one of the downstairs bathrooms and the hot tub had a faint mildew smell. Overall it was solid but not fancy — a 4-star experience.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Matt. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are happy to report that the fan has been replaced, and the hot tub has been serviced. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Yesenia R. Dec 2019
The house has a beautiful scenery. Its well equipped and clean! The beds are comfortable. Having 8 people at the house there was not one issue. Safeway is a quick 5 min drive and its open 24 hours. Having 3 bathrooms with 8 people was amazing. Overall it was a great house!
Antonia F. Dec 2019
The house is well reflected by the photos and was a lovely place to spend a few days. The road is quiet and surrounded by trees so does feel like you're in a forest. Vacasa has a 24 hour helpline, which was useful as we had a few issues and questions while we were there. The downside is Vacasa's frugal attitude to their guests. They left us three dishwasher pods and five laundry detergent pods. When I requested more for the dishwasher I was told it was Vacasa's policy to leave supplies for a 2 night stay. We were staying for 5 nights, over Thanksgiving and found it a particularly ungenerous policy. There was a snowstorm when we arrived and the house's snow shovel was missing (later found buried in a pile of snow outside the house) so getting out for more supplies was difficult. The house manual was pretty didactic and threatened extra charges for leaving any dirty dishes in the kitchen, not washing, drying and folding the spa towels before leaving etc. We left late because we had to wait for the towels to dry. I would recommend the house but won't be rushing to book through Vacasa again; it surprises me that they haven't realized that showing thoughtfulness to guests and making their stay convenient would encourage people to book again.
Manager response:
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, Antonia. We include in the check-in email a list of what essential items are included in the kitchen so that guests may plan accordingly. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is our number one priority. As always, we Guest Service Agents are available to answer any questions you may have before, during, or after your stay. Thank you again, we hope to host you soon.
Michaela W. Nov 2019
Great location, clean and correctly represented.
Sherry M. Oct 2019
It was clean, good location and the perfect size for our weekend get away....I do recommend this cabin
Anne B. Aug 2019
We had a lovely stay at the Peaceful Forest Retreat in Carnelian Bay. Nice location with easy access to local area. Clean, well-maintained home with plenty of room for my husband and I and our two grown sons.
Cristian A. Jun 2019
Everything was conveniently close! We were able to do everything we wanted!
Anna K. Feb 2019
We loved everything about this stay. The house was super cozy and clean. We used the grill on the balcony to cook dinner. The kitchen had all appliances and dishes. The view from the house was nice. The beds were comfortable. Neighborhood is nice, the kids got to play in the snow and they did not want to leave. I wish we could stay longer. We would definitely recommend this place.
Caitlin J. Jan 2019
Good upstairs space to hang out, eat, play games, and relax. Good sleeping spaces too. Could use more attention to detail, like updated supplies and a clean hot tub.
David Q. Dec 2018
Nice house with all the necessary amenities. Really enjoyed the stay with my friends. Will come back.
Mark R. Nov 2018
We just spent 3 nights in the Peaceful Forest Retreat - 2 couples and our dog. For me, it was like going back to my childhood staying in this cabin. I loved the decor - lots of bear, moose and fish art and the bathroom towel racks had bears and moose - everything was very cabin-like in all the right ways. There are 3 bathrooms that are all functional. You are not staying in a luxury house in Incline Village - you are staying in a very lived-in and very pleasant cabin-like house that is very comfortable that will welcome you and make you feel right at home. The gas-fueled stoves provide a very warm and cozy environment and the hydrostatic heating system in the downstairs provided very constant and comfortable temperature control - set it at 65 and the place was very comfortable when the temps outside got into the 30s. We stayed the week before Thanksgiving and it was not freezing outside yet but this house would certainly be very comfortable with any outside temperature. We LOVED the multi-color pendants hanging from the ceiling in the upstairs main living area - I think I counted 19 of them! It added very nice light and was very colorful and cheerful with dimmers to set them as you like. I was there by myself for the last night as my companions had to leave the day before and I loved being there alone. The kitchen was very well stocked and we made several dinners and grilled on the deck one night. I will definitely go back to the Peaceful Forest Retreat! There was a bit of confusion when the family that owns the house showed up on the last night as I was falling asleep and I really wanted to tell them how much I loved the house and how comfortable it was. I even had the same metal cups from the now defunct Ponderosa Ranch based on the TV Show Bonanza. Everything about this cabin made me feel like I went back in time to a period of my life that was very special.