USA California California Coast Elk Listing #20459

Greenwood Beach Cottage - Elk, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
39 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom 4 dog max  (30 lb weight limit) 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly waterfront home with full kitchen & WiFi - near the beach

Picture yourself at this cozy, dog-friendly cottage with spectacular views, just steps from Greenwood State Beach and cove. This rental is perfect for a romantic getaway where you can enjoy the majesty of the ocean out on the deck while you sip your favorite beverage, take in the amazing show of stars in the evening, or head inside and cozy up in front of the fireplace.

What's nearby:
Queenie's Roadhouse Café, with delicious coffee drinks and sumptuous fresh omelets, is a two-minute walk from the cottage, while the Elk Grocery and Deli next door has all the fixings to fill your picnic baskets. Take a short stroll over to Bridget Dolan's Pub and delight in the warm ambiance and excellent menu. Just 10 miles up the coast, enjoy dinner at Ledford House or the Albion River Inn, or continue north a few more miles to reach the picturesque community of Mendocino. With its quaint period inns, breathtaking views, and superb restaurants, Mendocino is bursting with artsy, unique shops for all. Visit the Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens that overlook the ocean or explore the “secret” Glass Beach near Fort Bragg where the ground glistens with multicolored sea glass.

If you’re interested in hiking or doing some wine-tasting at the houses of nationally acclaimed local labels, travel east to walk among the expansive set of old redwoods at Hendy Woods State Parks, and then visit a host of famous vineyards and wineries - such as Navarro and Husch - nestled throughout the Tuscany-inspired Anderson Valley.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
Dogs up to 30 lbs. are welcome for a small nightly fee
Please note that cell service is very inconsistent here; please read and/or print out all maps, driving directions, and instructions prior to departure

County permit number: 126118

County tax number: 2453
County tax number: 11206

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Iron

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Fireplace

Partial AC

House rules

Dog-friendly

Kitchen & dining

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Ocean view

Oceanfront

Water view

Media

Internet : Exede Internet

TV

Cable

DVD player

Wireless router

Netflix streaming

On-site activities

Board games

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Beach towels

Deck

39 reviews

Thomas H. Dec 2022
Great location. Nice views from the house. Kitchen had what we needed to prepare meals. Easy access to beautiful beach, restaurant, and store. A few other fun places to visit around town. Nice little community.
Michelle Y. Nov 2022
My husband and I stayed a few days to relax and decompress. The views were stunning! The ocean,waves,the sunsets and the stars! It was more than what we could have hoped for. The home was cozy,warm and comfy. The kitchen seemed to have all of the necessities, I was able to cook multiple meals and did not have any issues. It was a modest little home. There was a fly issue,but we left behind a swatter for the next renters. Not too big of a deal. We visited Queenies across the street for breakfast one day, and burgers the next, they were def great. The little store had a little selection of necessities, including coffee. Access to the beach was only a 2 minute walk up the road and the terrain to get down to the water was not too bad. We will be coming back, and I have sent pics and recommendations to all of my friends and family.
Jennifer F. Sep 2022
Absolutely wonderful views. Nice hikes on the beach; for longer hikes, Irish Beach is a short drive away. Local grocery had good sandwiches. Our little seven pound Morkie had a great time too. Plenty of hummingbirds, butterflies around the butterfly bush, etc. Kitchen not quite as well stocked as we had hoped, but definitely enough to throw together some good meals. We used the grill as well and no problems there. We fortunately drove our car with a higher chassis. The driveway would not be easy for a low-slung vehicle. I don’t see how this could be changed; it’s just the way the home is set into the property. Great sunsets, and an all around relaxing weekend. Will definitely stay again.
Alvina S. Sep 2022
I loved:
The scenery, the beach, the isolation and the amenities (hot water, central heating) and the adorable fireplace in the cottage. We felt safe during our stay.
Nice hiking trails nearby.
Walking distance to Queenie's restaurant and the only grocery store.

What can be improved:
The Driveway! was very scary to get our suv into the driveway. It would help if the driveway is leveled and cemented.

The cottage seemed to have been closed for a while. Therefore, even though it was very clean, they seemed to be ALOT of ?dust on the linens/ towels - I spent a great deal of the time sneezing and coughing during my stay because of this. A quick cleaning immediately before arrival of guests is recommended.

The coffee table was broken and almost fell on my 2year old's leg when he was standing near it. We fixed it with a screw driver that we in the cottage.

WATCHOUTS!
1) Restaurant AND the only grocery store in town is CLOSED most days. Queenie's is only open from Fri-Mon. Therefore, you would need to drive to Mendocino for meals/ groceries.
Pro: Kitchen is stocked with the basic supplies in terms of pots and pans.





Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, Alvina, we hope that you had a great stay! We apologize for the house not being cleaned as thoroughly as is our standard. Please know that local staff is available to assist with any cleanliness or maintenance issues you encounter while in the home. The coffee table has been repaired at this time, and we will continue to work with both our local staff and homeowner to make improvements to this home. We hope you'll give us a second chance to impress you!
Donald F. Aug 2022
loved the view and the quick response of changes needed at our location.
Manager response:
Donald, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the amenities and location of our condo. Thank you for calling in an order for local staff to promptly resolve the issues experienced. We look forward to your next stay!
Norie C. Aug 2022
Pros: The view on our way to the property is breathtaking. House is clean, and the view is fantastic. Very quaint neighborhood and quiet surrounding. We left the bedroom and bathroom windows open at night, and the sound of the waves was relaxing.
I just wish that there was a direct access from the house to the deck area. But once you get to the deck area, the view was beautiful. The beach also is a walking distance from the house.

Cons: Carpet is old and torn and could use some updating. The windows can be a little bit cleaner so we can have a clearer view of the outside. We found some ants in the kitchen and bathroom area.
Cell service is very spotty. But once you're inside the house, you'll be able to access the WIFI service.
Manager response:
Hi, Norie! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and are glad you enjoyed your stay. The homeowner will be replacing the carpet in the near future. Housekeeping cleans the windows between each stay, but the salty mist gets them dirty very quickly. We apologize for that disappointment. Pest control is regularly scheduled. Thank you!
Diane P. Jul 2022
The view and location are great but there is not a comfortable chair in the house. Threadbare carpet and you are asked to remove your shoes, furniture at best from second hand stores and lumpy mattresses. No beach towels as promised and one dish towel this place could be incredibly cute and comfy with minimal effort. We will look elsewhere for our next stay.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, Diane! We're pleased you enjoyed the view from our home, though we sincerely apologize for the concerns you had during your stay. Since your departure, our local management has replaced the couch and chair. Had we been notified, we would have been happy to assist with getting towels to you. We appreciate your feedback so we may continually improve, and we hope for the chance to impress you in the future!
Sara H. Jun 2022
We had a beautiful stay in this lovely beach cottage. Much about it was five stars--the view from both outside and inside especially. It's really 4 1/2 stars--the half-star less primarily because it was a bit difficult that the only bathroom was inside one of the bedrooms, and we woke our toddler when using it at night. Also it would have been helpful to have a book with local information (beaches, restaurants, state parks, etc.). Overall a great place and well worth it!
Chad W. Apr 2022
We loved the home. It has a great view of the ocean, and the inside was clean. The outside could you some yard maintenance. It would make its appearance much better. The issue that we had was there wasn't any hot water. There weren't any instructions on how to turn it on. The circuit breaker was on, but there wasn't even any warm water. This made it very unpleasant!
Manager response:
Hi Chad, thanks for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit overall and apologize for any concerns. Our local team has been working to make improvements and we'd love to host you again soon.
Emilie M. Apr 2022
What a spectacular location! We loved spending time on the deck, listening to the ocean at night time, and being in such a peaceful spot in the sweet little town of Elk. The cottage is so cute, and had everything that we needed. The water pressure in the shower was a little off, but everything else about our stay overshadowed this minor detail.
Sadie L. Jan 2022
Pros:
Location was great. We were able to watch the sunset and sunrise from the house. The town of Elk was nice and quiet.
The kitchen was well stocked.

Cons:
The driveway was terrible and seriously needs some fixing. It was so steep and curved that you can almost miss it if you're not looking closely. I think if it was a little bit wider, it wouldn't be so bad.
Inside the home seemed pretty dated. The showerhead could get a replacement. The bedroom by the kitchen didn't have a proper door, which was a little annoying. Also, the mattress was way too soft. I would sit on it and feel myself sinking in.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Sadie. We apologize the driveway was concerning for you; unfortunately, we cannot widen it. The shower head will be taken care of, but the homeowner likes having the curtain in place of the door. Hopefully we can host you again!
Nicole R. Oct 2021
Best view! I loved waking up to the view of the cove! The rug is extremely worn out especially near the front door. The owner doesn't want shoes in the house, however the rug is completely worn in some places. I stepped on carpet tack and it hurt like heck.
Manager response:
Hi Nicole! Thank you for your review! We've taken this feedback to our local staff so that we can get that carpet addressed as quickly as possible. We do hope that we have another chance in the future to host you as we would love to have you back!
Forrest L. Aug 2021
Wonderful location just a few minutes walk down to the beach.
Tresa D. Aug 2021
This is a beach cabin and was very clean when we arrived. This is not a fancy beach house and some things need repair but it’s very comfortable and has everything you need. Come prepared, bring groceries as amenities are scarce in the area, no grocery store, just a little market which mostly carries gift type foods. If you are looking for fancy dining you will have to drive to Mendocino. It’s very peaceful here but defiantly no more than two people will be comfortable. The spectacular views make up for anything the cabin might be missing. No 5g LTE service with ATT, Internet is slow so leave your work at home!
Manager response:
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We passed your comments along to our local manager to review and we appreciate guest’s preferences as a means to continually improve. We look forward to hosting your next stay!
Mark E. May 2021
We had a memorable time staying in Elk, and in this home. For us, it was more than perfect. The view is worth a million dollars, the location is to die for, the cleanliness is spot on. However, there are a few points that we need to make. For a couple, even with kids, this place works nicely. For two couples or even friends - there might be a privacy issue because you enter the bathroom from one of the bedrooms and they are separated by a sliding door. In the room with the ocean view, there is a double size bed, smaller than we expected. You are sleeping on a layer of memory foam on top of a mattress so it is very much on a soft side.
The place is a little rough around the edges but again, very clean and well equipped.
We would most definitely stay there again!
Manager response:
Hi Mark, thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your recent visit to Greenwood Beach Cottage! We apologize for any confusion and make every effort to present clear, accurate descriptions of our homes in order for guests to make informed decisions on their rental choices. We encourage guests to reach out with any questions or concerns before booking, as we are happy to help. We look forward to hosting you again for another great stay in the future!
Caitlin P. Apr 2021
I wish there was a way to give this 3 1/2 stars. It wasn't quite a 4 but deserves better than a 3. Over all I would recommend this home with a few caveats. There are a few very easy adjustments the home owners could make to take this from a good house to a great one.

Definitely would NOT recommend more than 2 people staying here. It worked out great for the two of us but we couldn't imagine sharing it with another couple. The bedroom with the view has a curtain for a door and a smaller curtain separating a window hole to the living room. The only bathroom is inside the other bedroom, and has a very loud sliding door. Even with kids this is not an ideal set up for more than 2 people. It should also be noted that the queen bed is in the room without the view and the double bed is in the room with the view. Also it states that 3 cars can fit there, but I would not recommend it. You do not want to reverse up the deep driveway onto the highway and turning around with 3 cars parked there would be impossible.

PROS:
- The view - It simply can't be beat. Absolutely breathtaking. Mostly made up for all the cons.
- The beds - They were both extremely comfortable (yes we slept in both)
- BBQ was clean and propane was full

CONS
- the windows that had the gorgeous view were dirty. If I could have found a long squeegee I would have cleaned them myself as the view was the main reason we booked this house.
- bare bone kitchen supplies. I'm talking no salt/pepper, no baking sheet, slim pickings for pots and pans. Maybe we're just spoiled from the other homes we've stayed in...
- 4 of the windows did not have screens. We don't mind bugs, but weren't really looking to invite them in.
- the driveway has a massive drop off that scraped the bottom of our car the first time coming down it. Once we were aware of it, it was easy to work around but it could easily be filled in to avoid the hassle.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but would most likely not come back unless the above issues were addressed.
Manager response:
Hi, Caitlin! Thank you so much for your helpful reviews. Unfortunately, the windows are permanently foggy due to the condensation between panes. Window screens have recently been installed. We have added salt, pepper, and baking sheets to the kitchen. We hope to see you again!
Claudia N. Mar 2021
We absolutely loved this house. The view from the bedroom was magical. This was a birthday trip after being in a new relationship of almost one year. It was also our first without our combined kids and it was more than we expected. Definitely made perfect memories that we will never forget. We plan on making this our special place and will hopefully be back soon.
Lauren A. Feb 2021
PROS: You really can’t beat the view, it’s gorgeous. Plenty of places outside to sit, and the beach is just a short walk away. The kitchen is well-stocked with all of the cooking implements you may need. Propane grill is clean and easy to use.

CONS: The path down to the lower deck was uncleared of any plants and it made it very difficult to walk down there (I tripped trying to navigate it and banged up my arm pretty good). Furniture has some wear and tear. Bring your own salt and pepper as there aren’t any spices. Asked Vacasa a question during our stay and they didn’t respond.
Terri S. Jan 2021
The views were amazing. Very relaxing and the cottage was cozy and comfortable.
Karyn L. Sep 2020
I needed a getaway that was quiet, off the beaten path, and at the beach. This filled that need. The home was cozy, clean, well appointed, and close to the beach. Easy walk to get breakfast in town, easy to get to the park to get to the beach trail, even simpler to kick back on the deck and do nothing (which I did a lot of). The driveway was a little tricky, but we didn’t feel the need to go anywhere that required getting in the car. We’ve stayed all over the place up and down HWY 1, our goal this trip was a much needed, simple, quiet getaway. We brought everything we thought we’d need with us food/beverage wise, allowing us to just hang out and enjoy the view. And we did. This place is great, and we’ll be back!
Kate T. Jul 2020
A nice location and gorgeous view. However this house is not saying all that it should in the listing, so putting it here for you next folks to actually learn what you're getting.
This states 2 bedrooms, but 1 bedroom, the one with the gorgeous view has no door, only a curtain between it and the kitchen, and a pane-less window between it and the lounge (also just a curtain in that). And if that isn't enough for reduced privacy, the access to the bathroom is through the other bedroom.
Finally, it's worth noting that the deck is not a step off the house to the deck kind of enjoyment, but accessed via some stairs down the side of the house, so a wee bit less convenient. Outdoor seating is limited to 2 seats only.
I would not recommend this house for more than 2 people.
Manager response:
Hi! Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear that the home was in this condition upon your arrival - please know that this is not the regular standard for our properties. We attempt to be as transparent with our listings as possible and provide accurate and current photos, amenities lists, and descriptions so guests can make an informed choice about making the right decision for their needs! We encourage guests to call our 24 hour Guest Service line to alert us with the issues while in the home so that we can promptly rectify the situation. We hope to have the opportunity to better impress you in the future.
Gunaranjan V. Jul 2020
The location and the views are amazing, and the house was perfect for a couple or a small family. We loved walking down to the beach every day and having lunch on the deck overlooking gorgeous greenwood beach. And the absolutely cute town of Elk is just a few min stroll. While we very much enjoyed the stay, I do want to call attention to some aspects of the cleanliness of the house when we checked in. A lot of dishes and some kitchen surfaces were dirty, bed and pillows had hair on them etc. 
This was a bit disappointing given the current pandemic situation and our assumption that Vacasa would put in extra effort to clean the property thoroughly.
Apart from the above, we did have an excellent stay and would recommend the place as long as some of the cleaning issues are taken care of.

Manager response:
Gunaranjan, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issues you experienced during your stay. This is not the Vacasa standard and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to get another chance to impress you in the future!
Ilyse S. Jul 2020
We were able to book this home last minute and it was perfect! 2 bedrooms, stocked kitchen and an amazing deck with beautiful views. Beach is practically private and a short walk down the path-great that this home is dog friendly too! Good to note the bathroom is en-suite with one of the bedrooms.
Ronald W. Jan 2020
This a romantic get away if there ever was one. Wish I didn't have to waste time sleeping! Easy access to beach and nearby restaurants and hiking trails. It's an easy decision to return here for another stay.
Kali A. Dec 2019
This was a perfect small cottage for two people and two little dogs. The location couldn't be better, with a gorgeous view and an easy walk to the beach. The town of Elk is wonderful, unfortunately most of the town was closed during our stay (Christmas week), but this has nothing to do with the place. The store across the road was really nice and convenient, great beer and wine selection but no alcohol (in case you like bloody mary's), and there is a really cool art co-op in town. We also had a very good dinner at the Elk River Inn next door, and at the Albion River Inn just up the road. We look forward to returning when the pub and cafe are open and we can spend more time in Elk.
William C. Sep 2019
the view and the convenience to walking down to the beach. beds were comfortable and the house was clean.
Sameer S. Sep 2019
We stayed here for 3 days and it was a perfect place for us to detox and refresh. Views from the home are breathtaking. There are lots of restaurants and wineries within 20 mins driving.
yanjie d. Sep 2019
very peaceful place to escape from city.
David W. Aug 2019
Cozy and clean. Wifi was great. Our dog loved the beach.
Vivian M. Jun 2019
the privacy and the view....and the cottage was clean
Ann B. Apr 2019
Loved this place! Yes that view is real in the pics and it will still take your breath away when you see it in person. We will be back!
jamie M. Mar 2019
Betty N. Feb 2019
The cottage has everything needed for a relaxing, stress-free stay. My husband and I had a great time, plenty of room for 2, loved the proximity to town and beach. The view from the front bedroom was amazin, and the deck was the perfect spot for watching beautiful sunsets. Can’t wait to come back!