USA North Carolina Western North Carolina Cullowhee Listing #23436

Along the River Cottage - Cullowhee, NC

Take a Virtual Tour
31 reviews
Max. occupancy: 7 2 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 1 Twin Bed 2 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms 1 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Quiet pet-friendly riverfront house with large back deck, hot tub, fireplace

In the town of Cullowhee, at an elevation of 2400 feet, this riverfront cottage has 180 feet of river frontage. Free from the bustle of hurried living, relax among the tall trees that surround the home. Take in a morning cup of coffee while rocking on the porch that overlooks the river. Listen to the birds sing and relax in the cool mountain air. A stone fire pit is located behind the cottage. Kick back in front of the fireplace or take a soak in the hot tub on the back deck.

What’s nearby:
Come visit this Smoky Mountain home where you have access to hiking, fishing, golfing, whitewater rafting, tubing, skiing, shopping, dining & gambling. The home is located between Sylva and Cashiers, 15 minutes to Dillsboro and the Smoky Mountain Railroad. Enjoy trout fishing, swimming or tubing from your backyard on the Tuckasegee River.

Things to know:
Full kitchen (no dishwasher)
Free WiFi
1 dog maximum
Fireplace only available from October through March
Maximum parking spaces: 2
Limited cell service and GPS

This property is managed by Vacasa North Carolina LLC.

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Water view





Cable : DirecTV

DVD player

Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions


Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private


Gas grill : Private







31 reviews

Rebecca F. Aug 2022
The beds were comfortable, the location was nice, and it was a relaxing time away from a big city.
Tina L. Jun 2022
We enjoyed the cabin, the river & especially the sounds of birds chirping!
Maria T. Jan 2022
Everything is perfect,love the place
Rich & Kerri B. Dec 2021
It was a very relaxing time. Perfect floor plan for our family.
Rachel B. Dec 2021
Very close to WCU which I what we were looking for. Could definitely use some updating but all in all we enjoyed our stay. The hot tub was amazing as well as the location on the water.
Tom R. Oct 2021
Not much to love about this rental. Maybe the quiet but not the furnishings or comforts and the iron water rust stains at all water use fixtures. Poor lighting. Crappy old furniture that smells musty. First and last stay for us. Spend more money and get a nice place to stay.
Manager response:
We appreciate your review, Tom, though we're sorry to read you weren't happy. The mineral content in the well for this home is very high, and we do our best to help control it by regularly changing out the filter. We will try doing it more often to see if it helps. Thank you!
Jo-Ann W. Jul 2021
The river was amazing for the kids! Easy to get to and located close to many things
Gail P. Jul 2021
Beautiful place to recharge.
Kimberley i. Jul 2021
We loved everything about this house will probably be renting again in the future
Jennifer L W. Jun 2021
Access to the Tuckaseegee river is superb in this comfortable cottage with plenty of space and some nice amenities. We would echo previous reviews about some deferred maintenance and deep cleaning needs (found hair covering one shower drain and some dirty dishes in the cabinets). Road noise mentioned in previous posts is very real but tolerable. A nice location to access the surrounding waterfalls and hiking
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Jennifer! We are sorry to hear the cleanliness of the home did not meet your expectations or our high standards. The home will be scheduled for a deep clean as soon as possible, but please note that some areas of the home will still show some wear as this is an older home. We will ensure that all areas of concern are addressed appropriately in an effort to provide a more pleasant stay for our guests. We appreciate your feedback and hope to provide you with a more comfortable experience next visit!
Cynthia L. Jun 2021
Very nice place. Wonderful view besides the highway couldn’t see that in the pictures online really. But overall I give it a A+
Sheryl H. Jun 2021
Lots of room and beautiful scenery. Close to Sylva, Cherokee, Smoky mountain national park. Elk were amazing at Cherokee visitor center. Loved Haywood bbq restaurant in Dillsville
Pamela H. May 2021
Loved the quietness and solitude. Had a few neighborhood dogs we had to tell to go home and the water was dingy. Smelled like iron. Overall a very nice place to visit.
Eric C. May 2021
This home does have a beautiful river and mountain view, but has a very busy road alongside the river view with constant road noise. The noise is so loud that in the early mornings it woke us up and my wife and I are both heavy sleepers
This home was not clean, as the bedspread and sheets had hair on them. The water has severe iron with a foul metal smell. The deck is in need of repairs and the stairs leading to the jacuzzi are broken and a fall hazard.
Manager response:
Hi, Eric. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry that due to the nearby construction you didn’t have a comfortable night of rest. We are also working closely with our housekeeping team to ensure that they are consistently preparing the home in accordance with our high standards. We do have a lot of iron and minerals in our water in the mountain; this causes a strong odor as well as iron stains that can look similar to rust stains. We do treat the water as we can to combat this. We have contacted the owners about the decking and furniture and have sent maintenance to the home to assess and fix what we can. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Joshua I. Apr 2021
Much needed tranquility. Close to Sylva and Dillsboro but far away enough to feel semi-alone.
Brie-Lenn A. Feb 2021
This home was super clean and cozy. The hot tub was a big hit! The water was tinted yellow and red but that is due to iron in the water. The house was very clean. My only complaint is the grill didn’t work. We were hoping to grill steaks one night and couldn’t. Otherwise, we had an amazing trip and would definitely stay here again!
Manager response:
Hi, Brie-Lenn! We are delighted to read of your experience and apologize the grill was not working for you. We will get it replaced immediately. Thank you!
Carrie T. Nov 2020
The house was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the fireplace, hot tub, river and fire pit. The setting was beautiful and quiet. The only complaints are internet connectivity through the wifi (it was ok for us, but don't expect to work remotely) and the well water had a metallic taste and smell. We came with bottled water, which was a blessing. We had a few neighboring dogs come for a visit which was a plus for us. Overall, great experience and would stay again.
Michelle F. Nov 2020
The cottage is cute and perfect for 6 people. The beds were comfortable. Hot tub and fire pit were used nightly. The road noise wasn’t that bad. Didn’t hear anything at night. Very little light pollution so the stars are extremely bright. Close to dry falls and the highlands. Nice little community.
Tracy H. Oct 2020
Perfect location. Easy access to the home on a river. However, well water had a strong smell of iron. All sinks had bad rust stains. Loud noise from the busy road (hwy 107) at all hours that drowned out the ambience of the river behind the house.
Manager response:
Hi, Tracy! Thank you for letting us know about your Vacasa experience. We do have a lot of iron and minerals in our water in the mountain; this causes a strong odor as well as iron stains that can look similar to rust stains. We do treat the water as we can to combat this. We hope to see you again!
Jonathan W. Oct 2020
I came to Along the River with high hopes – they were dashed. The stay was relatively expensive (I know that it was peak season for the leaves, but still) and just was not worth it. The location is reasonably nice (semi-private and pretty), but right across the river is a road. I had seen the road from the aerial photo – what I didn’t see was that it was the main drag for the area. I’ve been near Interstates that were less noisy (that continued throughout the stay). The physical (frame, deck, etc.) was in good repair. However, the cabin overall needs a deep clean (there was dust everywhere), and the kitchenware was filthy and the cookware needs to be thrown out and replaced. Then, we discovered just HOW MUCH iron there was in the water (too much to drink and cook with comfortably, bring some water with you if you come) – also, be aware that washing light clothes in iron water will turn them brown (making the washer/dryer not too useful). There were issues with the hot tub (we were able to resolve since we had had a hot tub and knew how to use the chemicals). Be aware that there was NO cell service (Verizon or AT&T, don’t know about Sprint), the Internet was both slow and VERY intermittent. We ended up leaving a day early just to not have to deal with it anymore. It just was not worth the price we paid.
Manager response:
We appreciate your input, Jonathan. We are sorry to read you were so unhappy you left early. We will be replacing the pots and pans and discussing the housekeeping oversights with our team. The water is normal for many mountain homes, and we do apologize if it caused you any stress. Thank you for staying with us!
Karen N. Oct 2020
The river cottage was clean and comfy. Nice location to area activities and could be fishing, hiking, shopping, or eating within minutes.
Ishri J. Sep 2020
The cleanliness, homey feeling, hot tub and overall openness of the inside. Children will luv the games.

Only issue was the well water quality. Needed softening and filler to take the smell off.
Manager response:
Hello Ishri, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We apologize for the issues with the well and have notified our local team to look into this. We hope we have the chance to host you again in the future.
Amy W. Sep 2020
The cabin was roomy and the a/c a welcome feature considering the high temps. Off the beaten path but directly across from busy highway. Not a problem for us but some may be deterred. Thankfully the housekeeper was still on site because I never received the email about entrance code & it wasn’t on the app. She told us code & no worries. My only complaint was the property needs a deep cleaning. I’m not saying it wasn’t clean but kitchen cabinets & drawers were messy, window over sink needed cleaning inside & out. Deck could have used a quick cleaning. I understand it’s on the water but a bi-annual deep clean would be awesome. The deck was plenty big for evening drinks and morning coffee. We didn’t use the hot tub but seemed like it was well maintained. The waterfront could use some attention, wobbly railing that kept us from using the deck. Those are the ONLY criticisms. The cabin is tucked away on the Tuck, close to town & with easy access to the water for floating, fishing or kayaking. Isn’t that what we come to Western NC for anyway. TV & internet worked fine, a plus during Covid at home work! Hope this review helps.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Amy. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our home. We have reached out to our local manager with your comments and suggestions. Thank you for bringing them to our attention. We hope to host you again soon!
Melissa G. Aug 2020
Outside porch swing on deck and hot tube . Loved the fire pit and fishing pier and easy access to fish
Casey C. Mar 2020
My fiancé and I chose this spot as a long weekend getaway. We absolutely loved the cottage along the river and All the amenities that came with it. The cottage was very clean and cozy and offered everything we needed. There is plenty to do within a short distance and lots of delicious restaurants. We also really enjoyed booking with vacasa as they allowed us options like early check-in and late check-out! Would definitely stay again!
Jennifer M. Dec 2019
Fishing, shopping, hiking High Falls trail, horseback riding on the reservation, flea marketing, grilling steaks and burgers, relaxing hot tub. Cottage had everything we needed for an 8 day vacation away from it all.
Tina T. Aug 2019
We loved it!
Donna F. Jul 2019
Had an awesome time. Loved this place and enjoyed the river.
Jessica H. Jun 2019
Great location and central to SO many fishing spots (lakes and rivers). Will definitely stay again! Thank you so much!