Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >
Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.
Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.
Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.
Dog-friendly cottage w/ private hot tub & mountain views!
Wild Sky Escape is a cozy and well-appointed cottage nestled in a shady grove within a private community right on the Skykomish River. With the impressive granite cliffs of the Index Town Wall on one side and the peak of Mount Persis on the other, you will find yourself overcome by the awe-inspiring beauty of nature. There are so many ways to enjoy this mountain splendor without even having to start the car! You can take a walk along the rocky riverbank during the day and in the moonlight, or bring your bikes and cruise one of the most scenic routes in the state, stopping in the quaint nearby town of Index for a coffee or a beer. You can also fly fish on the world-famous Skykomish, create campfire memories around the fire pit, or relax under the stars in the soothing riverfront hot tub!
This one-bedroom, dog-friendly home with unique sleeping loft is warm and inviting, with comfortable furniture arranged around the easy-to-use electric fireplace, large flatscreen TV, and the incredible river view. The sleeping loft, accessible by ladder, has two twin beds, and along with a sleeper sofa in the living space allows Wild Sky Escape to accommodate up to six guests comfortably! The open concept dining area and kitchen plan make it easy for family and friends to enjoy meals, games, and fun together. There are even Wi-Fi and a PlayStation 2 for rainy day entertainment. An updated full bath completes the interior.
At just over an hour from Seattle, Wild Sky Escape is an ideal escape for romance, connection, and recreation. Book your fantastic North Cascades getaway today!
Please Note: The Skykomish and the North Central Cascades are a historic area for the Great Northern Railroad, built between 1889-1903 by John Frank Stevens, whom Stevens Pass was named for. Trains still pass through the area to this day, creating occasional noise as they pass through the area. Most guests find this to be a charming aspect of the home and the area. We provide earplugs as a courtesy for any sensitive guests.
2 dogs welcome in this home. No other animals are allowed without specific Vacasa approval.
Parking notes: Please park in the driveway.
You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.
Hot tub (Private)
Washer/dryer : Private
Heating & cooling
Kitchen & dining
Nearby activities & attractions
Hot tub : Private
Gas grill : Private
Christian B.Jun 2022
This was a wonderful little stay for us. We stayed 2 nights and found the peace we were looking for. Unfortunately, we did lock ourselves out the first night...and barely remembered the door code, and there were damp, dirty towels behind the front door forgotten from the cleaning, but neither of those dampened our wonderful experience. We would love to return when the river is a bit lower too to walk around a bit. Wonderful trip!
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the towels that were left behind. Cleanliness is of our highest priorities so our housekeeping will be sure to double-check their work after each clean to ensure guests can have a flawless experience when visiting us going forward. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope to host you again soon!
Alexis M.Mar 2022
We had such a nice time at this rental, it was clean, comfortable, and had a view of the river from the hot tub we couldn’t give enough of.
Jessica D.Jan 2022
The cabin is very cute and as described however there were a few things that could have been better. When we booked the hot tub had it’s own area with a roof and has now been moved to a more dangerous, for winter, location. Ice fell from the roof and cut my son. We booked staying four guests and were only left with three towels. Last but not least there was no snow removal and we had to do this for our cabin as well as the road getting in and out, with a shovel.
The setting for this cabin is breath taking my beautiful and I would like to revisit in the fall and maybe do a bit of fishing.
We're so sorry to read your son was hurt while staying with us, Jennifer, and wish you had reported it during your visit. The hot tub is in the same location it's always been in next to the deck. This area was hit hard by a snowstorm, and the plow team was out removing snow as quickly as possible. In the meantime, our local staff was out shoveling the snow as fast they could. Housekeeping has been reminded to leave enough towels. Thank you!
ROBERT M.Dec 2021
The septic system is all messed up took a shower first night at the house and couldnt use the toilet or shower the rest of our stay.
David L.Oct 2021
The view across the river is wonderful, and the cabin is comfortable. The bed is comfortable, and the kitchen is well equipped. The private, dead-end road was good for walking our dog. However, river access is not as convenient as the pictures depict and would require climbing over some rocks. My wife and I, both in our 70s, wouldn't let our dog try either. Cabin furnishings need attention. The dishwasher need to be secured, as we were afraid it would fall over whenever we opened it. There's a DirecTV receiver and remote, but we couldn't get it to work. We kept getting the same error message, and DirecTV couldn't help us without the account number. Frustrating!
We appreciate you leaving your review, David. The dishwasher is now secured to the counter, and step-by-step instructions have been left for the TV remote. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention. We hope to host you again!
Christopher H.Oct 2021
Fantastic property and location. A few minor maintenance issues that need to be addressed: oven light burnt out, electric fireplace makes a horrible noise that renders it useless, couldn’t get the ps2 or dish tv to work, some written instructions would have been handy.
The key code lock is risky because it’s not clear when it’s locked or unlocked. I remembered the code after about 5 tries, but a warning and instructions if you do that would have been nice.
Salil K.Sep 2021
The bathroom washroom would not drain water. The blocking part was stuck in the wash basin and had to be manually lifted in order to let the water drain. Rest area is nice and location is nice and relaxing. Tv works and ps2 was nice. However, the games could be better collection. Tekken/Mortal Kombat or Fifa.
The bedroom is ok and needs some repairs in the nightstands. The bathroom fan is too noisy.
Hi, Salil! Thank you for giving us the opportunity to hear your feedback about your stay! We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Rest assured that we will follow up with the appropriate parties regarding your feedback. We're looking forward to hosting you again for another enjoyable stay!
Denise P.Sep 2021
Very nice view of river
Tal Z.Aug 2021
Very nice place , very comfortable and very nice location. The jacuzzi and the fire pit are super nice but the view to the river is another level!!
Melinda G.Jul 2021
Kelly b.Jul 2021
This is the perfect cabin getaway with spectacular views.
Reese D.Jul 2021
This cabin is ideal for a weekend getaway.
Rebecca F.Jun 2021
We enjoyed our stay. The place was beautiful and clean. It is very important to know there is an RV parked directly beside the cabin so the pictures are very deceiving. There is a privacy thing in front of the hot tub so it’s alright but if you weren’t prepared for that RV it would frustrate you. Also very important: the door DOES NOT lock from the inside so our two year old tried opening the door all weekend and as hard as we tried he ended up getting out the door a few feet before we both screamed and grabbed him. There is an area where a small child can get out and fall onto some dangerous rocks so if you have little children this place isn’t the best for you. The door not locking combined with baseboard heating made me incredibly stressed out the whole time. I thought this place was beautiful though and if you are a couple without young children (unlike us) this place would be perfect for you.
Eric K.May 2021
This is a nice quaint house to get away from the hustle n bustle of the city. The view of the river is beautiful and calming, the neighbor was respectful and quiet, the house is comfy with a great kitchen and a fantastic view of the river from inside. We love this house and will be renting again!
Ashleigh F.May 2021
-On the River
-perfect hammocking trees
-great fire pit
Ana Q.May 2021
This little place was perfect for my husband and I with our dog, Midge. Hot tub was clean, house seemed clean. I would say that if you are traveling with kids or more people, just be aware that the extra beds require a ladder to get to and are very close to the ceiling, BUT for just a couple it’s perfect. We played a lot of nostalgic PS2 games and enjoy the gorgeous view of the river.
Stevie M.Apr 2021
The cabin was cozy and comfortable and the views were amazing. We had a wonderful, peaceful stay surrounded by nature. There were a few minor things that could be improved on in the house but the location was perfect. You can hear the trains going by occasionally and some traffic noise but the river and birds are the primary sounds. The hot tub was great but not very private. You can see right through the screen that was put up between the neighbors.
debby l.Mar 2021
We were a little nervous after reading past reviews but we definitely had a better experience. The RV parked directly next door, pointed at the hot tub is a little unsettling. They have installed a tarp to block the neighbors view a bit! There were only 3 of is so we left the hot tub lid on halfway which blocked us from their view 100%. The only downsides are the porch light doesn't work. Taking the dog out early morning and night was scary. I couldn't find a dust pan to help keep the pine needles in check. I swept 10xs a day and had to put them in a pile and vacuum. Otherwise it was great! Absolutely AMAZING view! Even with the constant rain it was beautiful! The water in the cabin is hot and the kitchen was really well stocked! We brought pans/utensils just in case but didn't need them. It was clean upon arrival and super cozy! Especially after coming home from a wet hike! They have an Amazon Firestick so we just logged into our account easily! The WiFi is great! My son and husband could both work/school no problem! Is it a luxury cabin? No. Is it rustic, comfortable, and provides all the comfort of home with a view that can't be beat? YES!!!
Alison B.Jan 2021
Questionable fluids in comforter ,splatter on TV, massive spider webs including one with eggs throughout ,dirty used coffee pot, chipped plates, and dirty dishes. There was a bone and a foreign object impeded in layers of dust under the couch. The entry door would not lock. The photos displayed do not show the occupied RV parked directly in front to the hot tub causing zero privacy to the point of making you very uncomfortable.No support from Vacasa when attempting to resolve issues after multiple phone calls and emails with photos.We ended up leaving early because of safety concerns, lack of cleaning and lack of support from Vacasa. Truly filthy. I do not want any individuals or families to experience what we did.
Sherry C.Jan 2021
We loved the cabin the beds in the upstairs and just the overall look and being right by the river
Erick M.Jan 2021
We stayed in this cabin for about a week. The rain never stopped, but the location on the river and the view was divine. The hot tub was nice and hot and it's close to great hikes and snowshoeing.
Amie P.Dec 2020
The location is the best thing going for this property. Both in the view of the river, and the distance to Stevens for skiing.
This cabin is advertised to sleep 6. I don't know how that is possible unless you put the coffee table out on the back porch to open up the sleeper sofa. The space is small and cramped. There were extra chairs filling the closet, but I don't know where those would go either.
The advertised amenities were lacking. There were beach towels for the hot tub as advertised, but only 2. The hot tub was at 90 degrees on arrival and warmed to 99 the first night we tried to use it. We bumped the temp up for use after skiing, but someone came to clean it that day and it was down to 80 degrees and flashing error codes after that. No hot tub when the skiers returned.
Had the weather been drier and warmer, the TV probably would have gone unnoticed. But we needed a diversion, and there is not actually any TV service, and the staff who visited said that was a known issue, and unable to be fixed.
The main light in the living area doesn't work, nor does the porch light. The emergency lantern above the fridge had no batteries. There were few utensils, no large frying pan (cooked our taco meat in two batches due to the small size of pan), and only 3 dishwasher pods provided for a Sunday-Thursday stay.
I had expected rustic, but not sparse.
One positive - the wifi was strong and reliable. This was important for our children to be able to participate in school each morning.
If you book this cabin, be sure to call before you drive out to get the door code. Your email will tell you to "SEE INTERNAL NOTES", which won't do you a lot of good. Cell service is not good out at the cabin, so you'll want the code before you get there.
Note: Vacasa's staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, they were unable to rectify all of the issues we experience. This one wasn't worth the money we paid to stay here.
Thank you for staying in one of our homes, Amie! We are sorry to hear of the disappointing experience you had while staying with us. We apologize for the maintenance issues you endured that negatively impacted your stay. We confirm the hot tub is in working order, the light in the living room has been fixed and the kitchen has been just stocked with all new dinnerware and cooking utensils. We will make sure more beach towels are provided for guests and that a larger pan is available to cook. We appreciate you allowing us to deliver new batteries for the lanterns and a light to the front porch. We hope we can host you again!
Hailee K.Dec 2020
You can’t beat the view that came with this listing!!!! Only downside, if any, was the lot next to us was an RV and it was right up next to us so there was no privacy for the hot tub
Suzanne C.Nov 2020
The cabin is semi-rustic but nice. The refrigerator leaked, we had some issues with key code, and the cable didn't work but we weren't there to watch TV and Vacasa couldn't have been easier to work with. The view is spectacular although the highway is closer than we would have liked. The area is charming and there is a TON of hiking within a very short distance (which is what we were there for). The grill was stocked with propane, we brought our own firewood for the firepit (that is a must), the hot tub was amazing after our hikes, and the neighbors were friendly. We would definitely come back again!
Hello, Suzanne! Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had an overall pleasant experience with us during your stay! We apologize for the maintenance issues you faced during your stay and we are working with our local staff to ensure these concerns are addressed. We hope to host you again!
Elica A.Nov 2020
Initially had issues entering the space. Vacasa mentions for the renter to "Use Internal Notes" to access... which isn't possible. Thankfully, after several dropped calls (tough service out there), we were in contact with one amazing Vacasa service agent who helped us in && had a great overall demeanor in general. There were several lights that didn't work [especially outdoor lights]. We were thankful for the lantern/emergency lights on top of the fridge. Hot tub was INCREDIBLE at any time of day/weather. We met the kind and considerate neighbor [and his pup Winnie]. The cabin had a plethora of amenities in the kitchen, plenty of extra towels, bedding, etc. Dishwasher isn't bolted so it may run away on you. Fireplace & heaters kept the place warm and cozy. Fire pit outside was also a great touch. The river sounds were soothing as was the cooing of the trains. We woke up to a rapid river that was not present the day before when we walked the river bed. That was an excellent sight! Oh, bring your own spices/oils :)
Rick A.Oct 2020
On the beautiful rushing river. Eagles.
Home base for mountain activities.
Dish TV doesn't work when it rains.
Close polite neighbors.
Rustic, small with everything you need
Paul I.Sep 2020
The view was amazing, my wife couldn't stop talking about it!! No TV. Just what was previously recorded by the fortunate ones who had TV while there. They had plenty of board games though. I watched a lot of Law and Order
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay. We are so sorry that you were unable to enjoy the TV as anticipated during your visit. We will work with our local team to ensure these items are corrected for future guests. We are sorry this experience had a negative impact on your stay, and we hope to have the chance to impress you in the future.
Janie R.Sep 2020
I absolutely loved the mountain views and flowing river right outside your doorstep! The views all around were breathtaking. Just minutes from so many hiking trails this cabin was a dream! A nice soak in the hot tub was just what we needed for soothing aching muscles from so much hiking and adventure. Cant wait to come back!!
Shaheene M.Aug 2020
We absolutely loved our stay at Wild Sky Escape. The views are picturesque and loved the fire pit to roast marshmallows and watch the beautiful flowing river. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, cutlery, and everything we needed. Thank you!
Jason D.Aug 2020
The view and access to the river is really beautiful.
Easy to get to, right off highway 2
The property is abutted to a RV hookup that was occupied. The RV owners were not an issue at all, but it makes the hot tub feel significantly less private than what is portrayed in the pictures.
The hot tub cover is split in half, shredded, and the mechanism to hold it on the side is completely broken.
No AC. Normally that's not a deal breaker but feels lacking at $300+/night
The cleaning crew was not using gloves and facemasks in the middle of the COVID-19 pandemic
Thank you for your feedback, Jason! We have made sure the hot tub cover is functional. Local staff and the owner are looking into ways to ensure more privacy at the hot tub. We apologize that contractors were not using gloves or face masks and have addressed this concern as well. We value your communication and hope to host you again in the future!
Julie J.Jul 2020
The location is the best thing about this place - the river view and access is amazing, and the proximity to some great hiking (we did Bridal Veil Falls and Lake Serene). Doing a river rafting tour would be fun and easy here, with the Outdoor Adventure Center just down the street. Vacasa did a great job; place was clean, and they even put some daisies in water on the table. Communication was great. The downside was the next door neighbors in their RV are right next to the hot tub; there's no privacy. Maybe the owner could put up a fence or screening.
Emily F.Jul 2020
You really can't beat the location of this place. Right on the river in a spot that is ideal for cooling off and sunbathing. Quick access to so many great hikes. The view is majestic and soothing; just like the picture shows. The cabin itself is as described, nothing much but a general standard low key cabin. Things were clean when we arrived, enough bedding and linens. We couldn't get any wifi or the dvd player to work which was really annoying. But really, who's going to be watching movies when you can chat outside around the fire beneath the stars?
Jeff M.Jul 2020
Spot right on the river was amazing. That’s where the good things ended.
Because of the COVID, my wife asked for me to wipe all the countertops and common areas, just as a precaution. They were all dirty.
The house itself had a flea or other insect problem. All 6 people staying there got bug bites all over our ankles and legs.
When we emptied the trash the shed where the trash is held was full. Trash bags all over the floor. We did the best we could to not make it worse.
And finally, do not use the hot tub. The cover was falling apart and cumbersome to take off. The water looked okay, and there’s a sign saying it’s cleaned with bromine. I don’t know how a bromine treated spa looks or smells like, but my son ended up with a bacterial rash all over his body shortly after arriving home. Definitely will NOT be staying here again.
Hi, Jeff! We are so glad you stayed with us though we are disappointed your visit did not go as we would have wished. A pest inspection for the home has been scheduled, and the hot tub is operational and in good shape despite the minerals in the water discoloring it. We are very sorry your son got a rash while staying; our property manager will be looking into this. Thank you!
Dianna O.Jul 2020
The location and beauty of the river and backdrop are unreal. The cabin, however was a different story. We expected rustic, but this place is downright filthy. Hot tub cover is broken and shredded so the tub was hard to keep hot. While the water was new and clean, it was ice cold and we couldn't dip until day 2 of 3. There was hair, sand and dirt in the main bed, the floors were filthy and the dish strainer was full of scum. We weren't given the keycode to the door in the welcome emails so after an hour on the phone to even get in, we then spent the first hours of our Much anticipated river get away cleaning floors and linens. The spiderweb and spider in the front door made us think it hadn't been dusted or wiped, so we sprayed and wiped all surfa es down given the pandemic. Would definitely go back to the area.
Will NEVER book with Vacasa company again.
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Dianna. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our home. We are working closely with our housekeeping team to ensure that they are paying close attention to detail while preparing for guests and following the current COVID-19 cleaning protocols. However, we would like to apologize for the missed area. Thank you for bringing it to our attention, we have refunded you for the inconvenience. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Brittany P.May 2020
This cabin is nice and cozy! The view of the river and mountains are spectacular and we enjoyed the hot tub and outdoor fire pit. It’s pretty small and I think two people was perfect for this spot. Four would have been a little cramped. The bed was really comfy too! The improvements needed are cleanliness. There was litter and cigarette butts outside and around the fire pit area, the BBQ was too dirty to use and the ceiling fans were incredibly dusty. The indoor fireplace was disappointing as it’s not really a fireplace. It’s really just a light and doesn’t provide warmth. I was looking forward to cozying up next to a warm fire inside. Also more transparency about neighbors proximity is needed. I expected neighbors but I didn’t expect someone’s RV to be parked 15ft from the hot tub. It wasn’t as private as expected. Overall a nice weekend but a few unexpected surprises that made me question the value.
Hi, Brittany! Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are very sorry your for the inconveniences that made your stay less then ideal and have addressed the cleaner about dusting the ceiling fan, making sure the grill is checked and cleaned before each stay, as well as making sure the outside is picked up. We have never seen anyone in the vacant lot next door and will investigate the situation so we can address it as needed. We hope to see you again!
Tom W.Jul 2019
Loved the view of the river and mountains from the living room, porch, hot tub and fire pit!
Alison .Feb 2019
We really had a great time & plan on returning.
Sandi .Sep 2018
What a truly lovely view from this adorable cabin. The cabin is well maintained, stocked with plenty of dishes, pots and pans and even a bowl and towel for your pup should you bring him along. The hot tub is nicely situated so you can look at the view while you soak.
Anna-Karin .Feb 2018
This is a well maintained cabin right on the river. It is great for 1 or 2 people. The loft has a very low ceiling, I don't think even a short person could sit up in the beds. Would not recommend planning for more than 2 people. The kitchen has pretty much everything you need, and the fridge is large. If you have mobility issues, bring a stool to help you get on and off the main bed, it is very high. The view of the river is fantastic, and if you open the door you can hear it! Wonderful place, I plan to come back.
Krista L.Sep 2016
This property is clean, relaxing, and has wonderful views. An ideal stay for a weekend getaway.
Matthew .Feb 2016
Good location and view. Was a nice place to warm up after a day of snowboarding.
Gretchen .Sep 2014
The cabin was lovely, the view was nice, it was cozy, but had everything we needed.
Rachael .Apr 2014
Loved this property! Had an amazing time! Had everything we needed and every moment went perfectly! Great vacation for the pups and was happy there was dish bowls for them, thank you so much!