USA Vermont Vermont Lakes Region Castleton Listing #26341

Hocus Pocus Lake House - Castleton, VT

Take a Virtual Tour
20 reviews
Max. occupancy: 9 3 Queen Bed, 3 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 1 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

New listing! Waterfront, dog-friendly home w/ a full kitchen & beach access!

Come and relax by the lake! This home is a perfect, fun getaway for all including the family dogs. Grab an Adirondack chair in the sun and watch boats pass by and kids play in the water. On the deck, you can eat dinner and stay warm with the outdoor stove, while inside, warm up by the gas fireplace, watch a movie, and even have a snack with the provided popcorn maker. For cooking options during your stay, the full kitchen has all of the tools you'll need and you'll find a gas grill outside.

What's nearby:
Lake Bomoseen is located right in the backyard of this home; perfect for swimming, kayaking, and boating. For hiking and sightseeing, Half Moon State Park, and Bomoseen State Park offer water views and trails. And for dining out, The Lake House Pub & Grille is just two miles away, offering fresh seafood and other delights.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen with a dishwasher
Dogs are welcome with a nightly fee

Other tax number: MRT-10082226-001

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Jetted tub



Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Gas fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Lake view


Water view


Beach access


Internet : Xfinity



DVD player

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player

Netflix streaming

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing



On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private

Beach chairs

Beach towels


Boat rental available

Guest House/Casita

Safety & accessibility

Accessible bath/shower

20 reviews

Beata G. Aug 2022
We had a wonderful time staying at the Hocus Pocus Lake House! The yard, dock, lake access, and pet friendly nature of the property were exactly what we were looking for. The kids fished and jumped off the dock to their hearts content and having central air to retreat to during the heatwave was so nice! We wrapped up our days with lake side s’mores by the fire pit. Overall a great vacation in a lovely house.
Barbara D. Aug 2022
This lovely home was the perfect place for a lakeside getaway. We’d like to come back next year with with my children, daughters in law and grandson!
Sharon G. Jul 2022
This cottage is very spacious and well kept. The front lawn is ideal for children of all ages. The kitchen is well stocked with dishes, cookware, etc. The cleaning staff did a great job prior to our arrival.
My only suggestion would be to install a handrail on the deck stairs that face the driveway. It’s a safety feature, as well as practical/helpful.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time there, and would love to return next year.
Sharon R. Jul 2022
This home is beautiful - clean, spacious and everything about it is just perfect. We spent a few days enjoying the lake and the home. The home was spotless and the kitchen is well stocked. The only thing I would suggest is to bring some tin foil or Saran Wrap if you’ll be cooking! We loved the house so much we are planning on going again next summer for a week - if it’s available!
Brenda S. Jun 2022
Plenty of room, clean
Josh M. Jun 2022
This house is perfect. It’s super clean, plenty of space to sleep and hang out and it’s in a relatively convenient area (about 10 minutes from gas, restaurants, convenience stores). It’s very clean too!! Highly recommend.
Sarah B. Sep 2021
The house was nice. We were comfortable and paid a fair price. No complaints.
Lorrie M. Sep 2021
This was a great rental for our family. Lakefront has a small sandy area, can get in via the stairs. Not ideal for toddlers and small children to get in. House was comfortable, cleaners would get a 2 star rating. Floors were semi clean. Bathroom and kitchen were clean.
Kristyna T. Aug 2021
This house is in an amazing location, my family and I had so much fun being this close to the water! There were a few details I wish I had known about before renting the house for 5 days. The biggest issue we noticed right away were the ants. There were several traps in the corners on the first floor but this didn't seem to keep them away. I swept at least once a day to to try to prevent more from coming in but we were killing several throughout our stay. We also noticed them on the countertop which made it tricky with food. There was an upper cabinet door missing which would have been a great space to try to store our food to keep it away from the ants. The trash can in the kitchen did not have any bags or a lid so we often saw ants going in and out of it as well. The refrigerator also did not get very cold, we kept trying to adjust the temperature but it would automatically go back to a different setting where our food/drinks were only slightly chilled. The dock was another issue that we were worried about having two younger kids in our group. The older part of the dock does not feel very safe and is at a slant so we tried to stay mostly on the new part of the dock to avoid any accidents - just beware of that area if you also have younger kids. Lastly, we had a full house for 5 days and were only provided a fixed amount of dishwasher soap, toilet paper and paper towels which we ran out of pretty quickly and had to resort to using our own.
To end on a more positive note, this house was extremely spacious for a packed house! The rooms were a great size with comfortable beds and we were provided with more than enough towels for our stay. Luckily we had great weather so we spent most of our time outside enjoying the water. With a few minor adjustments to the house I would most certainly consider renting it again in the summer.
Zoe K. Jan 2021
Don't expect any frills. The home was warm and cozy - could have been cleaner though. Some very minor issues. One of the bathrooms had a garbage can filled all the way up - from the last guests! Gross. Do not bring hamburgers - the grill was in poor condition and flattop did not work. Also the stove sometimes didn't turn on. The home was poorly stocked on supplies - We only had 5 people staying there and ran out of paper towels (on the first day) and toilet paper (by the third day). The lake was beautiful, the location is great, and the neighborhood is very quiet. If you stay here, check out the local Birds Eye Diner.
Manager response:
Hi, Zoe! We are so glad you chose to stay with us and sincerely apologize you had any frustrations with your experience. We provide four propane tanks at the property, but we only hook a tank up to the regular grill since it is most frequently used. Guests are welcome to hook a tank up to the flattop grill. The stove appears to be working well at this time. Thank you!
Don B. Dec 2020
Lake Bomeseen was beautiful. It was early December, and cold, so the area was very quiet. Just what we needed. Big backyard leading up to the water, and old dock to stand on and check out the lake and the stars at night. House had plenty of room and a nice gas fireplace to warm up the family room. Awesome gas grill for steaks, Adirondack chairs for hanging around the fire pit, well stocked kitchen to prepare meals. We had a really nice, relaxing time. The general store and little restaurants in Castleton were so cute. I would like to go back some time.
Charles P. Oct 2020
Beautiful lake views and central location. House is warm and cozy.
Brittany H. Sep 2020
Loved the house and the lake! It was perfect!
Sharon G. Aug 2020
The cottage is well maintained with all the amenities that you'll need.....well stocked kitchen! The frontage is ideal for children, as it is grass all the way to the waterfront. I hope to go back again next year.
Bethany P. Aug 2020
Several items advertised in the listing on Airbnb and Vacasa were not in fact the case, and some additional items we wanted to offer for your/the owner's consideration.

To add perspective, we rented the property for 7 people for 6 nights, and the below items were advertised as 'included' essentials:
1. There was 1 roll of toilet paper in each bathroom, we had to go purchase this
2. There was no hand soap/sanitizer anywhere in the home upon arrival, we had to go purchase this
3. There was 1 travel size shampoo/conditioner/bar of soap was provided in each bathroom, also had to be purchased
4. There was one bath towel provided per person, this is not sufficient for the length of our stay
5. No beach towels were provided
6. There was a miniature dish detergent and three dishwasher tablets provided for a week long stay

Additional Feedback:
7. The last night of our stay, 8/7, a septic back up issue in the downstairs bathroom was reported at 10pm. The toilet wouldn't flush, and there was sludge backing up through the shower drain. With 7 people in the house we were told no one was available to come that night, and no attempt was made to send someone first thing in the morning. We were forced to checkout 12 hours later with no bathrooms to properly use or showers. The toilet did eventually flush, but not without fear of anyone using it again. This was totally unacceptable and no sense of urgency was exhibited to rectify the issue. A plumber should have been sent first thing Saturday morning so that we had proper facilities to use before checking out and driving 5 hours home.
8. All of the trash bins were full upon our arrival on Sunday, and trash was not picked up until Thursday, very inconvenient.
9. There was mouse excrement in the cupboards in kitchen and in the dresser in the downstairs bedroom.
10. The kitchen drawers/cupboards did not look to have been cleaned at all this season, with many of the dishes/utensils/cups visibly dirty.
11. There was no room in the kitchen to store anything we brought ourselves in terms of food. Every cupboard/storage space was full of stuff, old spices, batteries, games, etc.
12. There was dog hair everywhere downstairs when we arrived (to be honest nothing looked all that clean for having just been cleaned.)
13. The bed in downstairs bedroom was made with twin size sheets, it was a queen bed.
14. The dock was a mess when we arrived, with loose screws and nails all over it. The boat tied to the dock was a massive eyesore and impeded enjoyment of the view.

If it had only been one or two of the above items, we surely would not have felt the need to provide such detailed feedback, however the combination of all the above was pretty disappointing and no resolution was taken.

Please pass this along to the appropriate party and let me know what type of compensation is deemed appropriate.
Manager response:
Hi Bethany, thanks so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We apologize that the home was not in better condition upon your arrival and regret to hear that this was your experience while staying with us. Since your stay the septic issue has been addressed and is working properly, storage has been added to the kitchen and the owner has replaced a whole section of the dock. We appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention and allowing us the opportunity to remedy the situation on your behalf. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with a truly exceptional vacation experience in the future.
Linda C. Jul 2020
Loved the water front
back yard was great for kids to play
Nice clean home
Great get away
Stephen D. Sep 2019
Lake and neighborhood were lovely. House sloppy and yard a mess with neighbors yard a real eyesore.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Stephen. We are disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay. Please know that we performed a deep clean to both the interior and exterior of this home, and we hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Judy T. Aug 2019
This was a great spot for kids and dogs. off the main road- nice front lawn to play games - good swimming access without a million stairs up and down to the water - bedrooms and bathrooms were a good size- the kitchen was pretty well stocked and a decent grill on the back deck. they did limit the vehicles even though they had plenty of room for more and no extra guests on the property those were the draw backs for us considering this spot again.