Great rental, centrally located to town. We are a family of 6 and it was a perfect space for all of us. I especially appreciated the extra fans upstairs because it did get quite warm on the 2nd and 3rd floor. It seems that the A/C only worked on the first floor (main enterance). When we first arrived, there was a gentleman leaving who worked to maintain the home and he informed us that the hot tub wasn't working (maintaining heat), which we were bummed about. We did get into the hot tub, but it was more of a warm bath temp. The kitchen had plenty of kitchen items, but many of the pans had thick stuck on grease in the pan and we were too grossed out to use them. As previous users also noted, the downstairs does have a smell to it but thankfully my teenagers slept down there (the television downstairs is DVD only). I should also note that when you first pull up to the home, there is a giant hole in the ground - likely where a tree was removed, but it made parking our second vehicle next to our van quite difficult. Despite the above issues, we still enjoyed staying in the home.
We had a bit of an issue with the downstairs shower but otherwise a great stay! Plenty of other showers to use. Comfortably fit a party of 10 and east to get around. Would happily stay again.
Beautiful upscale home close to all Mt. Hood activity. Comfortable beds, sleeps 10+ easily in 3 tiered living areas. A great room for group dinners and games and tv. Caution, pay attention when parking. We got stuck in a large hole on right side of drive. 3 blocks from bar/restaurant/mrket areas. Walking distance to west bowl area of summer activities.
Lots of room for people, close to everything ..
Beautifully constructed log chalet. Well appointed. But my bad not to pinpoint it on a map; the highway noise is maddening and constant. Large trucks roaring all day and nearly all night. Tough to sleep.
Thank you for sharing feedback about your experience, Margie! We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the noise from the highway during your stay. We believe that every guest deserves to have a great time while staying at any of our properties and we sincerely apologize if the noise put a damper on your stay. Thanks for staying with us and we hope for another opportunity to impress you with a much more enjoyable stay!
This cabin was absolutely wonderful. Plenty of room, great wood burning fireplace and wonderful views. The bedrooms where very comfortable and the house had everything, we needed to enjoy our stay. Can't wait to come back.
This is our 2nd time staying at Skiing Bear Chalet. We travel with our human & furry, 4 legged kids. This place is perfect for a large group. Enough room to spread out. The kitchen is large with a huge dining table to fit everyone. It's just like home, everything you need to cook. The decks are really nice, the beds were comfy & there are plenty of bathrooms. The cabin is at the end of the road so it's safe & no worries with cars driving by when pups go out for their potty breaks. Nice, safe, quiet neighborhood to walk the dogs too. Super close to Govt. Camp, within walking distance to go eat or pick up something at the general store. Govt. Camp has everything you need while on vacation. The ski areas are super close by. The closet is Ski Bowl, just a couple miles from the house. Timberline, our favorite, a short 15-20 minute drive from the house. There is some ambient highway noise, but not constant & hardly noticeable inside with the inside ambient people noise. We'll definitely stay here again!
This house is a picturesque mountain cabin and is perfect for two couples with kids. You can walk to skibowl and to stores/pubs, and though we opted to drive to Summit Pass you could feasibly walk there too to hop on the shuttle to Timberline. The house has all the needed comforts. Fireplace was awesome. Beds comfortable. Windows in the top floor bedrooms are breathtaking. Plentiful bathrooms. Too bad the hot tub is out of operation. We had no hot water at first but Vacasa sent someone pretty quickly to troubleshoot and fix. We couldn't figure out cable (instructions mentioned a cable box but could not find it), and when we had a knee scrape that needed a band aid we could not locate the first aid kit. Also suggest putting garbage bins in all the bathrooms.
Thank you for a fun, winter wonderland weekend!
The one problem we had was the oven and stove were leaking propane, not burning it completely. The flames were about 4 inches high on stove and in the oven they came up way above the floor of the oven, and were yellow. Every time we turned on the oven especially, but also the stove, we all got headaches and felt sick. We had to open the windows. This is urgent and needs to be fixed.
Also, there aren't many utensils, no carrot peeler, bread knife, whisk or basic tools needed for cooking. We brought our own because we remembered from last time, but I am mentioning it now.
The house itself we love!
Hi, Helen! We have ordered new kitchen utensils, a peeler, and knives that should arrive by mid-February. Maintenance is scheduled to check the stove. Thank you!
We loved the architectural beauty of the home, the layout, the amazing window views, the expansive kitchen, bedrooms, and entry floor. Service was great on every level.
Comfortable home, comfortable beds , nice kitchen for cooking and very close to everything. I will definitely stay there again.
Great inter-week gateway away from the city. We did some exploring also got to take our dog which is great for both of us. More then enough space we did have a baby so the upstairs bedrooms can be bright for nap time. Other then that zero complaints we are looking on booking again.
Stephanie, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful vacation. We appreciate your feedback and hope to host you again soon.
Beautiful home, enjoyed the hot tub after hiking! Both the master suites are on the 3rd floor which is good to keep in mind if anyone in your party has any mobility challenges. It is a dog friendly home, so you will find pet hair.
location right next to ski bowl but also right next to highway 26 so you can hear the traffic. Not a quiet mountain retreat. 3rd floor bedrooms are nice. Hot tub works but small. House needs TLC.
Thank you for your review, Mark. We sincerely apologize for the disappointment. We would have been happy to assist with any questions or concerns if we had been notified during your time with us. Our local team strives to provide every one of our guests with the best vacation possible. We are so sorry if our standards were not met during your time with us!
Had a great time staying here and it was very lovely weather. This house had everything you needed regarding kitchen utensils/linens/towels etc and was very stocked. Close to a lot of trails too. This house is also a on the corner and a bit more private which I really liked. I had one small issue with getting the grill started but local staff (Kristopher) was extremely responsive and resolved the issue quickly and was very pleasant as well. Will definitely be visiting again!
Great location and convenient! Beautiful views. Only had two issues. Dishwasher didn’t work and fan in bathroom wasn’t working. Otherwise great stay!
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and do apologize for the dishwasher and fan. They are getting addressed by maintenance right away. Thank you, Susan!
Good location for family week in snow. Hose needs some minor tlc,.
Frig doesn't have a working ice machine and doesn't have a working water unit. No one informed us we would need to bring our own water and ice.
The furnace has a loud screech while it is running so the people sleeping downstairs hears that all night.
Dishwasher is not bracketed in so when you open the door of the washer the whole unit pulls out. Plus no wheels on the bottom rack so you have fight to drag it out when dishes are loaded in it.
There is a nasty wall above the shower head in the master bedroom bathroom. It's looks gross and is unfinished.
There was no firewood provided and no notice to bring some for the fire place.
There was a broken light bulb socket (hanging sideways with cords exposed) on the table lamp in the downstairs bedroom. My husband fixed it so I wouldn't get an electrical shock from it.
Some of the blinds are broken in the master bedroom so they don't open and you can't see the beautiful view.
The outer part of the oven door came completely off while I was baking and I went to open the oven door. The glass fell out and we couldn't get the rest of the oven door open to remove our baking food. Thankfully my 2 adult boys let it cool and was able to screw it back together so we could use it the rest of our stay.
Not a wine glass in the place.
We stay in Government Camp every winter in different homes for the past 20 years. This was the worst house we have ever stayed in. We will never stay here again and for the amount of money I paid for our stay the owners could buy a new frig with water and ice at the very least.
Very disappointed and very unsatisfied.
Thank you for your review, Becki. We’re sorry to hear of your less than satisfactory experience, and we appreciate you bringing forth any maintenance issues you observed while staying at this home. We have used your feedback to make all necessary repairs. We’re happy to report that while drinking water is not available from the fridge itself, eight ice trays are included, and the owner is planning to update the fridge in the future. Please note the drinking water from the faucet is safe to drink, and guests may bring their own bottled water if preferred. The furnace, located directly below the downstairs bedroom, is brand new with no abnormal noises detected upon inspection by our maintenance team. The dishwasher is repaired and reattached to the counter. While the home offers a wood-burning fireplace, firewood is not provided and a list of places to purchase wood are located via your trip manager. The wall above the shower is being worked on. The owner is looking into replacing the lamp and blinds. The oven door has been repaired, and we have added 16 wine glasses. We hope the compensation offered shows our desire to care for our guests. Our local team and homeowner will continue to work together to make improvements to this home. We’d love a second chance to deliver a more enjoyable stay!
very cozy house, very clean and bright
Such great potential in this rental but alas it is showing signs of abuse and neglect. Got to the home and immediately found a huge hole 7x6 in the bottom of the left side of kitchen sink. Wood stove is missing handle so bring pliers if you want to use it. Hot tub was not working which was me of the main reasons we rented this house. Many other “repairs” to the house show a lack of quality work. Kitchen is an unorganized mess and needs a good purge. Highway noise is substantial so bring ear plugs....
Hi, Debra! We are so glad you chose to stay with us and appreciate your helpful feedback. The sink is scheduled for repair as soon as the replacement piece needed arrives. The counter is also scheduled for repair. The wood stove handle will be inspected and dealt with as needed. We hope the compensation offered shows our desire to care for our guests. Thank you!
This was the best family getaway we could have hoped for at the end 2020! Our Son was on deployment leave and we were able to have a family getaway to enjoy the holiday in a home away from home. Plenty of room for all of us, room for our other children to join us for a day visit as well as two of our dogs.
We cooked two large meals as the kitchen was plenty spacious and had most things needed. I brought kitchen items just in case but there was no need to do so. We burned the fire the entire time. Someone had mentioned how cold they were, we (all of us) stayed completed warm the entire time between the fireplace and the heater.
It was very private at the end of the road, the only road noise we noticed was at night, however we brought our personal Bose and had the music playing low all night and never noticed the road noise again.
Large table to enjoy meals together and plenty of space to play games and visit. Our only disappointment was that we didn't get on it quicker and rent thru the New Years! We will be returning, and this will go on the record as one of our favorites to stay. Thank you to the owners for having such a great location and a wonderful home for us to enjoy.
Spendy, but a great spot!
A spacious house that had everything we needed to enjoy our stay in Government Camp. Walking distance to the town of Government Camp and close driving proximity to any outdoor activity.
Wow, when we booked this house we didn't expect so much snow. It snowed about 6-8 inches while we were there. Great home and had everything we needed. I actually forgot my Crockpot at home but luckily the home had one, otherwise one of my dinner recipes would have been ruined.
This lodge was absolutely gorgeous. When we arrived, everything was clean and it was very easy to contact the Vacasa team with questions about setting the hot tub up. The kitchen is very well stocked with several dishes and pans for cooking. There are also plenty of beds for everyone to use. We did notice that the 3rd-floor balcony was loose, so we avoided leaning on it since it looked dangerous. Overall, our stay was amazing and I plan on booking this amazing place in the future!
Hello, Patricia! Thank you so much for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear the home was to your liking! We appreciate you notifying us about the balcony. It has been inspected by our staff and deemed safe. Thank you for staying with us!
We had a great weekend at the lodge. The cabin was absolutely charming. Loved that you could walk into town. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking gear and gadgets. We were a little disappointed that we could not have a fire in the fireplace even though the fire danger in the area was low. The only thing wrong was that I could not access the virtual notebook and could not find the Bluetooth connection. Everything else was great.
Being a short walk or drive from everything but hidden away is amazing. The hot tub was the best way to end the evening. The house was clean and had everything to make the stay enjoyable. Love the added quirk of The Shining DVD being the only one downstairs too. Only thing.....the master room faces East and with the big beautiful windows will be up bright and early every morning. Overall, great place to stay with friends or with the family, would stay again for sure.
Great space and location, accomodated 8 people and 2 dogs comfortably. Fully stocked. Hot tub can fit 4 people.
Nice and spacious, centrally located to a bunch of hikes and walkable to the town center of govt camp so that was great. The only thing that was not the best, there were HUGE ants all over, we found a couple dozen in the house over the 4 days. They seems to be super prevalent in the area so I don’t know if much could really be done but if you’re squeamish about bugs, prepare yourself bc they’re around.
Thank you for your review, Nicole. We are glad you enjoyed this home and apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We will work with our local team to ensure these items are corrected for future guests. We hope to host you again in the near future!
A great home that really gives you the mountain cabin feel. Very cozy and comfortable. Great location close to town.
Great Cabin and perfect location for the 10 of us. Easy walk to downtown Govt Camp, easy walk to Ski Bowl Snow Tubing. All amenities/accessories provided to make it a comfortable week. A bit noisy inside, so we had to tone down the fun after kids went to be--the sound traveled both upstairs and down stairs. Hot tub was a nice plus, even though we had to have it serviced (frozen line), but that process was handled expertly by Vacasa maintenance.
Comfortable, well-located home for a two-family ski trip. We called service to let them know a tree fell right in front of the house during our visit and within an hour, a Vacasa rep was at the door to check it out (and to provide the requested dish towels -- we were only provided one -- and to take the garbage from the shed, which was full when we arrived). Shortly thereafter they were back with a chainsaw to remove the tree. Very prompt! There is road noise, as other reviewers have noted, but this was not a big issue in the winter. We didn't notice from the listing that the room pictured with the futon couch and chair is the entry hall, not a bedroom. This did not bother the teen boy sleeping there, but if your party is seeking two private bedrooms for kids to bunk in, this is not the house for you. We had dogs and despite the proximity to the road, we felt comfortable having them run around since the street is a dead-end and the snow was a barrier between the house and 26.
The cabin was beautiful and was stocked with everything we needed. It was a great family get away we all loved it and made some great memories.
Lovely wood cabin for a snowy get-away, well supplied. It's right on Highway26 and VERY noisy at night with semi-trucks rolling by. Some things could be improved for future stays: some exposed nails at infant height from a questionable remodel, lower dishwasher rack broken, dishwasher was full of dishes when we arrived, microwave button screen broken in (still works), lousy dish disposal, outside trashcan & recycle were full on arrival, tons of dead bugs in light fixtures, fridge water&ice don't work, games are smooshed under blankets and in disarray, logs are too big for fireplace, can use ax but that isn't very safe for renters, logs were wet and hard to start fire, hottub looks down into neighbor's kitchen (would be easy to put up a privacy screen), house heat was off on arrival (45 degree, Brrrr!)... Really a great house but hard to truly enjoy with all of these frustrating details.
Thank you for your review, Hannah! This home is close to the highway, but that also means it's within walking distance of skiing and town. We inspected the dishwasher and disposal after receiving your review and found both working perfectly. We currently provide 6 ice trays as the owner does not plan to repair the ice maker at this time. We do wish you had called about the heat and housekeeping oversights so we could have addressed them for you right away to improve your stay. We would love an opportunity to impress you in the future!
I can hardly describe how wonderful this place is but I'll definitely be going back. My family and I enjoyed everything there.
Lots of room for all of us, 8 adults. Not too far drive from Forest Grove, but far enough to fell like a retreat. Very clean and very spacious for all of us 4 couples. Wish we could have schtayed longer. Kind of pricey, but worth the memories we created.
Very cozy, lots of space, convenient location.
Perfect location! Very convenient! Walking distance to the summer activities at Ski Bowl East. Very cozy and well appointed interior.
My family had an awesome time at the Skiing Bear Chalet. Such a great central location -- walking distance to Skibowl East and all the restaurants and shops, and only a ten minute drive to Trillium Lake for a picnic. The cabin was beautiful and had everything we needed. Would absolutley book another stay!
This house was great! We had a family of 6 stay over the 4th of July. There was only one down fall that we found that was not presented in the online pics and the written info. This house is located near a highway and if you sit outside there is some noise of cars rushing by. The house itself was amazing! Clean, stocked and very charming! We were not outside much at the house but if you plan on staring at the stars plan on hearing the highway. Beautiful area! Cute town and great for families!
Loved the place for our group of 10. Beautiful kitchen great room area. Perfect for conversation and cooking. Comfortable beds, too!
Beautiful cabin, nice hot tub, bedroom has dreamy view of evergreens. There is a great 24 hr diner very close and a few other eating places. We are not snowbirds, but the place is set up to take care of skiers, many good shops for that, too.
Beautiful log cabin. Close to the shops/restaurants of government camp.
We went on a trip with 4 kids who went skiing for the first time. The log cabin was a hit, especially the hot tub, since it was also their first time staying in "the mountains." The house was clean and well equipped. It wasn't "sound proof" by any means since there were many "open" spaces between the logs, but no one seemed to mind too much. There were a lot of stairs which were hard on the legs that skied all day, but again, the hot tub helped.
The hot was a little dirty but everything else was amazing.
Loved the location and the cabin itself. Beautiful home for family gatherings.
We had a great time at Ski Bear Chalet on a girls weekend! The kitchen, living room and bedroom furniture were very comfortable. We loved the decks off the main room and the upstairs bedrooms. The location to town, skiing and trails were excellent. Government Camp itself has such character and nice to be able to walk everywhere. A few comments on potential improvements...while renting I expect to bring my own food, however, I think rentals should have some basic stocking of spices, oils, non-perishable items. This house did not even have salt. The knife set was super dull and hard to cut things. The oven took a really long time to heat to temperature.
Regarding the number the house sleeps comfortably, it said 8-12, however I would say the 2 kings sleep 2 each comfortably, the full beds 1 each comfortably and the futon either 1 or 2. If kids you might be able to sleep 2. The pull out couch as also available but you have to move the one common room around to allow the space to open the couch (we did not choose to do this as we had people up at different hours). The house seemed smaller than it looked/advertised how many it sleeps online. Other than that - great place, great location.
This location was ideal right next to Ski Bowl and near the Shuttle to Timberline. My kids loved sleding on the snow plow hill at the end of the dirt road. The space was quaint and comfortable, the hot tub was clean. The jets were somewhat underwhelming but it was nice and toasty. There was plenty of space to park though the slanted driveway was challenging for front wheel drive vehicles.
We loved staying at skiing bear. Its such a cozy cabin. Really enjoyed that the cabin is at the end of the street and kids could go sled right outside the house.
Loved our stay - already booked for 2020!!
What a beautiful cabin. Fully equipped and a great location.
My family from out of state came to visit and we spent a week here. The location is great. My sister, my nephew and myself could walk out the door and trail run in the morning, and then the family group could walk to the downtown of Government Camp quite easily, including our older family members. The only downside was the noise from the highway 26 road, and the lack of screens in the upstairs bedrooms. Gorgeous, comfortable home. Lovely hot tub. Wonderful place for family dinners. Easy accessibility to many trails and local lakes.
It's a charming village with the impressive Mt Hood as the back drop.
This was the 8th year reunion of high school friends. We found the house was roomy, well stocked, comfortable and in a great location. We highly recommend it and may choose the same house for next year!
We had a great time, we loved the cabin and can't wait to stay there next year!
Great place for friends and family especially if skiers.
My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights with our three kids 6, 5, and 17 months. I loved that it was next to the highway so we didn't have to worry about getting stuck in the snow. Also, the dead end road it's on gets plowed everyday so that was really nice. Literally could walk to the restaurants right over the bridge and the tubing hill is right down the road. Even though it is close to the highway it was incredibly quiet and felt very secluded. The house is absolutely gorgeous! We thought we would have an issue with no baby gate, but we placed one of the long dining benches in front of the staircase and it worked just fine. I also was not expecting there to be a bathtub (I think the website says there isn't one) but I was very happy to find a tub/shower combo on the bottom floor for my toddler. This was our very first family vacation and we had sooo much fun here. I truly can't wait to come back!
We have a large family so it is hard for us to find a place with beds and accommodations for everyone. This location fit our family and they kids had a great time hanging out. We loved the open main floor plan so we could cook, play games at the long table, and all hang out together.
We thought the space was great considering the close location to Government Camp. It was easy to walk to Ski Bowl as well. It was tucked away down a cul de sac, so we weren't bothered by traffic or anyone around. The only bummer was the grill didn't work. It looked like someone had left it on and it had burned the handle off of one of the burners. We weren't about to risk turning it on and catching the house on fire. Other than that, it was great.
We had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed the house. It was close to All that Government Camp has to offer.
We had a wonderful time! We loved the log cabin feel and the hot tub! We'll definitely be staying here again!
Talk about a beautiful cabin. Best one on the block I think. We had 4 couples (8 people total) . perfect size. two masters up stairs are amazing.
We had such a great time staying at this property and will definitely be back next year!
Would definitely stay here again. Competitive pricing at reasonable rates!!!
Lots of linens and nice home. It is next to a busy freeway that you don't see but hear, but it was cold and we had the windows closed so not an issue for us. Good for up to 6 adults and the rest kids IMO. The master is awesome. Very nicely equipped.
Great house and a great location. We will definitely stay here again!
Loved arriving to this cabin and feeling like I had made the best decision of the week booking it! Truly beautiful inside and out! Felt like I was at home!
Great house for a family / group.
Well appointed kitchen and home.
Only detraction is the proximity to the hiway right behind the house. A little bit too much road noise.
Skiing Bear Chalet was perfect for our group of 12 + 2 furry children. The chalet was large enough that we didn't feel cramped in the least. The beds were very comfortable and the 3.1 bathrooms were perfect for our large group. The location of SBC is perfect. Ski Bowl was a short 5 minute drive across HWY 26, and Timberline Lodge is a short 20 minutes up Timberline Hwy. SBC is a beautiful log home, very nicely decorated, perfect for a winter get away. We would definitely stay here again.
This property is quite expensive but we shelled out the $1700.00 for a long weekend because we have a large family and our dogs were allowed. In the space and log cabin atmosphere we were not disappointed. I thought it could have been cleaner. Most of the kitchen items were more than adequate and the table was great and huge.
Stellar little spot in Govy, walking distance to everything in town, about 20mins from Meadows & Ski Bowl is basically in the backyard.
It is immediately next door to the highway as some previous guests had noted, but this was of little to no concern in the evenings.
The downstairs is a little lacking in terms of ski equipment storage but we made due. Snow was plowed, place was cozy, master bedroom is gorgeous, overall, would definitely recommend.
Next time we will choose a cabin with a working hot tub
We are sorry to see that the lack of a hot tub caused this guest dissatisfaction; a hot tub is no longer advertised with this home, but we do have several we can direct our guests to if that is a requirement for their accommodations.
The Hot Tub didn't work...we were promised hot tub fee will be refunded,nothing so far
We apologize that the hot tub was out of order for this reservation. The guest has been refunded for the inconvenience.
Overall had a great time, the house is beautiful and had everything we needed. The hot tub doesn't work and it couldn't be fixed, which was very disappointing.
We are sorry to see that the hot tub was not working for this reservation. Parts for the hot tub have been ordered so it should be up and running again shortly.
We had a lovely time while we were in Government Camp for a wedding and a long weekend. The house is next to highway 26 but we had no problems sleeping and noise was minimal during the day when we were there. The shower in one of the bedroom suites was not working which was slightly inconvenient but all in all the stay was perfect for 6 adults.
It is great to see that you had such a great time during your stay in Government Camp! We appreciate the information provided about one of the showers not working properly during your stay. With this feedback, we were able to have our local property manager come into the home and repair the issue. This is no longer a concern in the home. We hope to have you again soon for another long weekend vacation!
The cabin was top notch. This was a weekend getaway for our anniversary. The beds were great, comfortable! Nice furnishings, loved the look of the log cabin. A hot tub was great too. The only bad side was the location right next to hwy.26. No leaving the door or windows open to enjoy the fresh air.....lots of traffic noise. With the doors and windows shut it was pretty quiet, however we did opt to sleep with the portable fan on for white noise. We really did enjoy our stay and the facility was top notch!
As a VRBO home owner, before reserving this cabin I read many reviews. The cabin was very roomy and nicely decorated as described. Very nice inside and out. I didn't read any reviews that mentioned the location of the cabin is literally right NEXT to Highway 26. This was quite a shock for us, as we enjoy the peace and serenity of the mountains. The constant 24/7 noise from the highway was very disruptive to our enjoyment of this beautiful cabin. We couldn't even sit out and enjoy the nice decks, as the car noise was so loud. Inside with all the windows closed, the noise was barely audible, but who wants to sit inside closed up all day in the summer? I would not rent this cabin again in the summer time for this reason alone.
Needed a place to stay relatively close to Hood River. This was 40 mins from where we attended a wedding. Was right by Ski Bow East, perfect for the spare time we had before the wedding event. Made this a mini-vacation!
Nice convenient location. Clean & comfy! Close to Mt Hood & other activities.
It was a wonderful cabin, the location worked great for us.
Good place, shared with kids at race camp at Timberline, would stay here again. It worked out well.
Vacations are quite costly and you want you you pay for. This property was as perfect as the pictures. All of us enjoyed our stay there for 3 nights while exploring the local attractions and gorgeous scenery.
Thank you for the hospitality!
Would rent this great home again
We loved staying at the Skiing Bear Chalet. It was roomy enough for all of us, We especially liked the big dining room table for 'family' dinners. The location was also great, not to far from Portland and a quick extra few miles for a day trip at Trillium Lake - perfect.
The cabin was great and conveniently located.
Great location and easy walking distance into Government Camp. This is the place to bring your family and cousins etc...Plenty of room to eat, play and dip into the hot tub... the beds are super comfortable and plenty of bathrooms and showers.
Tips: Bring fireplace lighting (duralog, lighter, etc..) equipment with you. Their is only a small store in Government Camp so bring as much or more than what you need to make those special recipe's.
This place was very nice and had everything we wanted for our weekend.
This is a great cabin. Loved the area and so close to ski bowl. It literally was a 5 minute walk. It has plenty of area around the cabin for the kids to play in the snow. The layout is great and lots of space. It is by the highway but you couldnt hear the noise at all, so that didn't bother us. The cabin was clean for the most part but a few misses. The rug in the living room was pretty dirty and looked like is wasn't vaccummed for a while. The jacuzzi was unusable. The water was yellow and smell like wet old towels. They didn't provide the first bundle of firewood and the area around the fireplace was not cleaned out. It had left over junk such as a broken down cereal box and plastic wrapper.
Overall we had a great time and with these fixes we would definitely come back.
Beautiful during our 2 night stay just before Christmas. There was about 3-4 feet of snow thank goodness for the snow plow keeping great care of the driveway and parking area for this home. The big table was super for family games and eating. Not a lot of sitting furniture on main level unless you sat on bench seats at table which became very uncomfortable after a bit. 1 or 2 comfortable chairs with backs would of been for additional seating. The king beds were awesome.......loved crawling into them at night and watching the snow. Overall wish hated to have to leave and which we could of stayed another day or two. Our teenagers and young adults loved that they could walk to the tubing area or across the bridge to shops and places to eat. Traffic noise was minimal considering the roads where snow packed cars had to drive slow, I assume in summer it would be a lot louder since the home is close to hwy 26.
The cabin is very beautiful and nicely decorated, however there are some BIG issues to consider before renting it. We rented for 3 nights in December 2015. The great room really needs more seating such as a love seat/second sofa and lounge chairs as we had 6 adults and no place for us all to comfortably hang out together except the wood picnic style dining room table which is NOT comfortable for sitting on for long periods of time. We were VERY DISAPPOINTED that the fireplace insert glass is completely coated in black stuck on soot that doesn't wipe off and you cannot see any sign of the roaring fire burning inside because the glass is not clear at all as shown on the website photos. Lots of road noise! VERY NOISY cabin to sleep in!! There is a lot of 24/7 road noise as the cabin is right along the main Hwy 26. Between the semi trucks and snow plows working all night in winter none of us slept well. All 4 beds in the cabin actually vibrate and shake throughout the night from the big semi trucks going by. The bed quilts & shams, bath rugs, throw blankets, and kitchen pot holders hadn't been washed in a long time. There are 2 DVD players in the cabin but they don't work. The one in the main great room did not work at all and the one downstairs plays about halfway through a movie then quits. We tried several different DVDs we brought with us that work fine on our home & car DVD players so we know there's not a problem with the actual discs. So we couldn't watch any movies at this cabin. Many light bulbs were burned out throughout the cabin which made it very dark inside, especially at night. The bathrooms are VERY small but functional. The hot tub seats 4 adults and was nice but it wasn't hot when we arrived and took a long time to get warm enough to use. Couldn't use on our first night as we had planned on doing. It snowed a lot while we were there and were pleased that the snow plow came daily to clear the road and parking area. You need to bring kitchen towels and a real sponge for the kitchen. We had 1 thin kitchen towel supplied and a worthless block of foam for a sponge that fell apart after one use. The little store in town has a lot of items including a well stocked liquor section, lots of groceries including large selection of frozen goods, some deli items, cleaning supplies, toiletries, and firewood which is good to know for a future stay in the area. Although this cabin is beautiful we won't be renting it again because of the road noise which is something that is impossible to be improved upon due to its proximity to the main highway. Hope this review helps you. I wish someone had written a review like this for our consideration.
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are disappointed to see that you did not better enjoy your stay. Housekeeping will be sure the items listed are washed and ready for our next guests, the Property Manager will work on the fireplace glass and DVD players, and we hope that ear plugs can help with any nighttime road noise our guests might experience. We hope you found the home large enough and welcoming!
Lovely log house, a short walk to ski bowl and to town. There wasn't enough seating for the 9 of us 5 of us had to sit on hard uncomfortable chairs and a wooden bench. DVD players didn't work very well. Our room upstairs was wonderful and we slept great! It snowed the whole time which made it even more special. We are going to try to make this a tradition every year.
Thanks for sharing your review! We appreciate the feedback and have shared your comments with the property manager so that they can work to make the home more comfortable for future guests. Its great to see that you loved the location so much and we hope you get a chance to come stay with us again!
Great home for the price and location. Comfortable beds and plenty of bathrooms. It is very close to the highway, so there is definitely some noise, especially when in the hot tub. But I would definitely debt again, it's a beautiful home. And SO close to town!
Love this house. Has everything you need for an enjoyable and relaxing stay. Not far from the center of Government Camp and its restaurants and shops. Would definitely rent this again!
The home was great, Vacasa's service was great, 5-star rating across the board; but what made this house stand out... The location! You are a 2 minute walk to shops and restaurants in Govy, and SkiBowls attractions - summer and winter fun is almost right out the front door!
This is a very nice house and very clean. My only real issues were the grill didn't have propane, the fridge took 2 days to get cold, and the hot tub took a very long time to get warm. Other than that I would definitely stay here again. The pictures don't do this place justice. I was very happy.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the home and had a good time. We will be sure to follow up with our property manager there and have him look into the issues you mentioned to make sure they are taken care of for our future guests. Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback, we very much appreciate it and look forward to having you as a guest again soon!
We used the home as our base while we ran the Mt. Hood 50 mile trail race. It was 20 minutes from the Clackamas County Ranger station (Start/Finish) so very convenient. It is a lovely home and well stocked. Six adults and two small children fit well. However, its proximity to the highway made sleeping with open windows impossible. In addition, a lack of a yard limited our ability to hang out together outside. I suspect it's perfect for skiing in the winter given it's just a couple block walk to Government Camp. It's private too. However, if you are looking for a place in the summer to kick back and hang outside, this may not be the place. But if you are looking to have a home base and be away all day hiking and then have a nice place to sleep, provided you don't mind traffic noise, it is a comfortable home.