USA Alabama Alabama Gulf Coast Orange Beach Listing #29859

Sugar Beach #181 - Orange Beach, AL

Take a Virtual Tour
21 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 1 King Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 0 bedrooms 1 bathroom No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Orange Beach, family-friendly condo w/shared pools, tennis courts, beach access

Centrally located in the heart of Orange Beach, this condo is perfect for a small family or romantic beach vacation for two. This rental features a full kitchen and a furnished balcony. Sugar Beach's many on-site amenities include shared pools, a sun deck, sports courts, a grilling area, and easy beach access. There are also several great restaurants, a shopping area, and attractions close by.

What's nearby:
This complex is conveniently close to a number of great restaurants, shops, and fun, all-ages attractions. Shop, dine, or charter a deep sea fishing excursion at SanRoc Cay Marina, just a little over four miles up the coast. For visiting golfers, be sure to check out the links at both Craft Farms, only eight-and-half miles away, as well as the Peninsula Golf and Racquet Club, just a little over 10 miles west. And with the Hugh S. Branyon Backcountry Trail - Rosemary Dunes Trailhead located just a short walk from this rental, you can enjoy a day of exploring the 6,500 acre Gulf State Park on foot.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
Elevator in the building
Snowbird-friendly. Please contact us for special rates.
*Dear guest, please note that there will be construction going on between 7 AM and 9 PM. There may be construction at the complex, as well as a new condominium being built on the property next door, which will continue through at least the end of the present year. Work is being performed daily using heavy machinery, so construction noise is significant and previously shown views from the balcony may be impacted. This is taking place immediately adjacent to Sugar Beach, approximately 10-15 yards from this rental.

This property is managed by Vacasa Alabama LLC.

Parking Notes: Parking passes must be purchased on-site upon arrival. There is one level of parking available.

Guest Entry Instructions: This rental utilizes an E-lock, a digital lock that requires an unique code to enter. This code is reset after each guest's stay.

Other permit number: 2019-1276

Other tax number: 33652

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

DVD player

Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf Nearby

On-site activities

Pool : Shared

Tennis court : Shared

Basketball court : Shared

Outdoor

Balcony

Patio

Deck

Parking & access

Elevator

Paid parking only

Theme

Snowbird-friendly

21 reviews

Gary W. Aug 2021
Good place to stay
Kelsey W. Jul 2021
Window unit does not cool room. Ceiling fan broke. Bottoms of dresser drawers broken so couldn’t place clothes in there. Bed was hard as a rock. Sliding door is difficult to work. Outside Door does not shut well. Back of outside door is splintered and needs replacing.
Manager response:
We have sent your feedback to the local staff for further review. We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement and will work diligently with the homeowner to make any updates and repairs. We look forward to hosting you for your next vacation!
Andrea M. Jul 2021
The room was clean and safe - the shower needs updating. it had a strip of duck tape against the door. water leaked on the floor. None of the remotes worked. The bed was like sleeping on styrofoam. the futon mattress was dirty and a little worse for the wear. but what really concerned me was the state of the building itself. It is very dated. The parking situation was the worst. We watched a woman try her best to park and scrape the side of her vehicle on the column. We got stuck in the elevator. My husband had to pry it open with the help of a couple on the other side - because the emergency call button didn't work. The couple who helped said that they were stuck the night before and had to do the same thing. Water was pooling next to the stairs on the bottom floor and it was deep and extremely dirty. The banisters around the building are PVC pipe - does not look safe. we spent most of our time off the property, but the pool area and beach seemed nice.
Manager response:
Hello Andrea, We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay.
Jennifer S. Jul 2021
Front door is cracked & delaminated- roaches came out within the door. Balcony was unusable due to leaking pipe that flood the balcony. Sliding door does not lock- safety issue. Fan does not work. Shower has duct tape across entry with black mold present. Dresser is cracked & hard to open
Manager response:
Jennifer, we are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not the pleasant and relaxing vacation for which we strive to facilitate. Since your stay the dresser has been replaced and a new ceiling fan has been ordered. The front door is also being replaced. The local management has been made aware of the leaking pipe and sliding glass door and they will address those appropriately. The mold in the shower has been addressed. Thank you for letting us know there is room for improvement and we hope we have the opportunity to host you for a more comfortable stay.
MONICA H. Jul 2021
Loved our little home away from home
Christopher M. Jul 2021
The kids loved the pools! Great beach, condo a little aged, but freindly staff!
Andrea D. Jun 2021
The room was nice and clean when we arrived. The balcony door was very hard to open. There is a construction site right outside the balcony where they are building a huge condominium complex and they start working at 6am even on the weekends. The room is also right by the main road since it’s at the end of the facility. Aside from the balcony door, the rest of the room was nice. There was no tv remote, but Vacasa brought us one and programmed it within a few hours. 5 stars on customer service. Even though the location of this room was the worst, we would stay at this facility again. The 4 pools and uncrowded beach was worth the disturbances while in our room.
JIM B. Jun 2021
The front door was rotted and peeling! The towel bars would not hold a towel because they were falling out of the wall, there was trash under the bed. The grout is falling out and the shower was moldy! The ceiling fan did not work. The remotes for the tv would only turn it on, but would not adjust the channel or sound. The air conditioner is a wall unit and is awful. The parking garage was full of trash. This unit should NEVER have been rented in this condition. Totally disgusting!
Manager response:
We are so disappointed to read about your experience, Jim. The front door is being replaced by the HOA. We have fixed the towel rod, set up a new universal remote, and are working on replacing the ceiling fan and grout. Thank you!
Sarah N. May 2021
Simple room with everything we needed. Was very clean and comfortable.
Tammy B. May 2021
Pictures of place are false of the current conditions. Balcony view is completely obstructed by a new construction building going up. Dresser was broken and water damaged. Shower head is horrible. Looks like you are walking into a prison to your room. Hallways outdated and gross. Broken chairs at the pool. Limited parking when the place is full.
Manager response:
We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding this listing. We attempt to be as transparent with our listings as possible and provide accurate and current photos, amenities lists, and descriptions so guests can make an informed choice about what they are paying for and make the right decision for their needs. We encourage guests to reach out with any questions or concerns before booking, as we are happy to help.
Zolanda A. May 2021
Beach
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Zolanda. We sincerely apologize for the disappointment. Our local team strives to provide every one of our guests with the best vacation possible. We are so sorry if our standards were not met during your time with us! We hope that the refund that you were given has helped with some resolution for the issues you experienced.
JESSICA T. May 2021
If you need a room with a fridge and shower, then this definitely works. The appliances are in need of updating, and the futon cushion did not appear to be very clean. The large TV was a nice bonus for my 3 y/o. The biggest issue was the door code not working upon check-in. It took 2 Vacasa representatives, a property manager, a security guard and one hour to resolve. That was definitely not fun with a toddler waiting out in the hallway.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Jessica! We sincerely apologize for the unexpected delay in getting you checked in. Please know that your experience is by no means commonplace. We will be sure to relay your feedback to local staff to follow up with the appropriate parties. We hope to have the opportunity to host you and impress you in the future!
BRIAN A. Mar 2021
This unit was cheaper than most others, so I did not go in expecting perfection or anything close to it, but much worse than expected. On checking in, there was a parking fee I had been unaware of. The place smelled very musty. I get it, this was a beach property, but this was pretty bad. Overall cleanliness seemed OK but there was a used bar of soap in the shower and rings around the 'clean' coffee cups in the cupboard, so not great. There was also significant construction both in this complex and next door. Two out of three mornings we had heavy equipment backup alarms going off at 5 AM next door and one morning a crew setting up scaffolding in this property right outside our front door at about 7:30. I got it, there was recently a lot of storm damage, that probably flooded the place and has to be repaired, but this was not at all adequately disclosed. Maybe a good property in a year, but would not rent in 2021. My first rental from Vacasa, but if this is an indicator, I have to question the accuracy and disclosure of any of the properties they list.
Manager response:
Hello Brian, we did not receive prior notification regarding the construction next door, we are so sorry for the disturbance this caused during your visit. We will ensure that our guests are made aware of any further construction. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again.
SHERI P. Mar 2021
Great location.
THERESA S. Aug 2020
Building is located on the beach side so it is easy access. There are several pools for use, but the interior of the building looks old and run down. The condo needs some TLC and upgrades, I felt this was not worth the price that was charged.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Theresa! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location! Thank you for making mention of items in the home that need some TLC. We take this feedback seriously and please know that local staff is available to assist with any issues you encounter while in the home. We hope we have the chance to impress you in the future. Thank you!
Britney j. Jul 2020
Good location and easy beach access. I was happy with building complex and the security there but not so much with the room. The air window unit barely cooled our room, there was only 1 fork in the room so we had to keep washing and reusing among the family, there was STAINED blood all over the comforter, there was a huge crack in the door when it was closed, and the sliding glass door was off its track. Not trying to be mean just honest and wishing we would of had a different experience with the room quality.
Manager response:
Hi, Britney! We are in the process of conducting inventory to ensure we have all items required for our guests. Please do not hesitate to reach out about any missing items so we can get them to right away. This home is receiving a remodel due to hurricane damage, so the door and sliding glass door will be addressed. Thank you for staying with us!
AMY C. Jul 2020
Great access to the beach!
Autumn R. Jul 2020
We loved all the pool areas and location!
Megan B. Sep 2019
Everything was great except the bed
Manager response:
We're very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. This issue occurred under a previous management company. Our local teams are working with that company to learn from feedback and fix any issues. We just started managing this unit and would love for you to try staying with Vacasa in the future to experience our world class service.
Keith C. Jul 2019
Had ants in the kitchen Only 2 wash rags for the week Filter on the a/c needed replaced Water filter in the dryer completely full when we got there
Manager response:
We're very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. This issue occurred under a previous management company. Our local teams are working with that company to learn from feedback and fix any issues. We just started managing this unit and would love for you to try staying with Vacasa in the future to experience our world class service.