USA North Carolina Avon Kinnakeet Shores - Avon Listing #44107

Somethin' Fishy #28-6 - Avon, NC

Take a Virtual Tour
12 reviews
Max. occupancy: 12 3 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed 6 bedrooms 5.5 bathrooms 2 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-Friendly Home w/Private Hot Tub, Pool, Pool Table, & Free WiFi

You will certainly find more than Somethin' Fishy at this 3,500+ square foot (including two screened porches) Kinnakeet waterfront home. Located on the quiet sound-side, Somethin' Fishy is a short jump over the pond to the beach access. If the fish aren't biting at the lake, try a refreshing dip in the private 32 x 14 cement pond (pool). The ground level has a carport, fish cleaning table, under-house entry, bath, and two bedrooms (bedroom one with pyramid bunk and bedroom two with a double plus trundle) with kid's TV. The elevator takes tired sportsmen to the huge octagon-shaped bedroom number three with king bed, adjacent large bath, and covered deck on the second floor adjacent to a furnished recreation room with pool table, Smart TV, wet bar, and full fridge. Main king bedroom number four has a private bath and deck access. Main bedroom number five is a suite with a king, private bath, walk-in closet, desk, and access to screened porch with a bubbly hot tub. The third level has an awesome octagonal tower room with TV/DVD plus surround sound overlooking a whale of a great room with tall ceilings, a half bath, lavish furnishings, and accesses two sundecks. Cook up Somethin' Fishy in this well-equipped kitchen with a breakfast bar, nearby dining table, and screened porch. End your day of fish tales by snoozing in main queen bedroom six with a private bath.

Things to know:
Dog-friendly for a small, nightly fee!

You will be required to sign an additional lease agreement upon making a booking which will be sent to your email. You will not be able to check in until we have received your signature electronically. Please contact us directly if you do not receive this agreement.

Guests have access to Kinnakeet Shores Pool & Tennis. You will receive an amenity pass during check-in to utilize the shared facility.

*Please note that this property has a pool that can be heated for $60/night. Guests must call in after booking to arrange for pool heat. Guests should contact Vacasa with pool heat request one week (7 days) prior to their arrival. Pools typically take 48 hours to reach desired temperature.

This property is managed by Vacasa North Carolina LLC.
For 2022, the pool will be open April 9th to October 14th. It will otherwise be unavailable for guest use.

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Bedrooms

Pack-N-Play

Children

Baby gates

High chair

Common areas

Game room

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

House rules

Dog-friendly

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Lake view

Lakefront

Water view

Waterfront

Media

Internet

Cable : DirecTV

DVD player

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player

Stereo

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Pool : Private

Heated pool

Pool table : Private

Pool spa

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Balcony

Deck

Parking & access

Elevator

Safety & accessibility

Limited mobility access

Accessible bath/shower

12 reviews

Isabel P. Aug 2022
Loved the set up of the house. The proximity to the beach is fantastic. Loved having a pool and many decks for the family to spend time in. Loved the octagon room for family time with a beautiful view. The elevator was a great plus as the kitchen is on the top level and we cooked many family meals
Carol B. Oct 2021
We stayed there a couple of times before.
Love the elevator. However there was a bed that was broken in 1/2 and when you sat on one side it sunk to the floor, The stand alone ice maker was leaking, I did call maintenance about it. One bedroom smelled like a wet dog.
Manager response:
Hi Carol! Thank you for your review. We are so sorry for the issues you encountered with the bed, ice maker, and odor. We have ordered a new box spring for the bed to address this concern. It appears that the box spring had been broken by the previous guests. We are so sorry about this! We also had our maintenance technician come to check on the ice maker leak. No leak was found. We will be sure to have the bedroom deodorized for the wet dog smell. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention. We hope to host you again in the future!
Jeffrey C. Oct 2021
Overall not a bad house for the price. A few things could have been better. Some propane in the gas grill and access to the downstairs bathroom or at least a heads up before we arrived that it was going to be out of commission for our entire 2 week stay would have been nice. Home was well used which made having our dogs along not as much of a worry. Deer roaming the neighborhood was pretty cool and the location was very convenient to grocery store, local shops and restaurants
Manager response:
We're delighted to hear that you had such an overall great time, though we regret that there were some items that prevented you from fully enjoying your vacation experience. We deeply apologize for the miscommunication regarding the downstairs bathroom. We have passed along your feedback to our local manager so they can correct this for future guests. Thank you for letting us know there is room for improvement and we hope we have the opportunity to host you for a more comfortable stay.
CHRISTI B. Sep 2021
There are alot of fun and exciting things to do and see.
Wendy M. Sep 2021
ZERO STARS!! This was the most filthy home my family has ever stayed in, this includes outdoor grounds. We picked up 1/2 of a trash can full of garbage from outside alone. The ground floor bathroom was not usable, sign saying “do not use this bathroom”, with a large piece of plywood covering broken ceramic tile in the floor, two of the upstairs bathrooms had shower liners covered in mold and WE REPLACED THEM! The floors were gross, the a/c did not cool at all, the clothes washer smelled and the dryer did not dry at all. 4 rounds later towels were dry enough to use, the stand alone ice maker did not work, the vents were covered in mold (i have a picture), my husband stepped on glass that was on the carpet and we found another piece laying in the bedroom floor. The bunks had garbage underneath. The game room fridge/freezer had no shelving in the fridge or freezer, the pool table pocket had YOGURT pouches in it that were busted. The microwave handle was broken, with a sign taped to it stating that it was broken (again have pictures). The base of the cabinet under the kitchen sink was broken and sunken in. There are multiple other issues with this home, too many to mention. There was visible mold on the decking and exterior lights that did not function. This home was not cleaned AT ALL. Vacasa/Hatteras Realty should be ashamed and the owner should be embarrassed at the care the home is being given. Hatteras Realty has gotten way to big and has lost sight of the reason people rented from them. VACASA is not a partner they should be proud to have. Will never rent again, the money paid for this home was not equal to the vacation we had. We should not have to clean and replace items on my vacation, we work hard enough to get a vacation and this rental was a slap in the face. Utterly GROSS
Heather R. Jul 2021
The house is older and shows wear, but has everything you need. The air conditioning on the second floor needs to be replaced. It kept freezing up and stopped working. We called twice to have it looked at. After the second call, when it happened again, we would turn it off, wait for it to thaw and turn back on. We had to do this at least 5 times during the week. It would not cool the second floor below 75.
Manager response:
We have sent your feedback to the local staff for further review. We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement and will work diligently with the homeowner to make any updates. We look forward to hosting you for your next vacation!
BRIAN A. Jul 2021
Great spaces and pool
Natasha R. Jul 2021
When we arrived after driving for 14 hours with our family the house was VERY dirty!! There was trash all over the place outside and there was food, sand, food wrappers, previous pet hair, broken shells, beer cans, beer caps, dead bugs, dirty socks all over the decks, furniture, and floors. There was old/used bandages in the couch and a chip bag with chips around it under the coffee table. Nails sticking out of the deck boards resulting in many of us getting splinters in our hands! There were crumbs all over the surfaces in the kitchen and the bathrooms were disgusting! The floors were black with dirt! We were only given 2 sets of towels for 10 people and 7 sets of sheets for 10 beds! We contacted the management company multiple times on Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday. Every time we were told someone would be out to clean and we would receive a follow up phone call from management. We never received a phone call and no one ever came out to clean!! We had to clean the property for 3 hours after buying our own cleaning supplies the night we arrived! We were told they would refund us $250 for the inconvenience! What a JOKE!! The propane was empty and when we called they were very rude and told us to go exchange it ourselves then we would have to email them the receipt to get a refund!! We weren't even able to use the hot tub because it was full of sand and dirty water! We couldn't use 2 of the decks because they had trash on them and we were DONE with cleaning on our vacation!! On Wednesday the management company changed our key code and didn't tell us by locking us out of the property! We had to use try and figure it our after using 1 of 3 codes we had! The house itself needs a lot of TLC and could be a great house if it would be better taken care of!! The location is great to the beach, and the private pool is nice....not sure if it had chlorine in it which worried all of us every time we used it since the house was so dirty we highly doubted if any was in it! We showered after EVERY time!
Manager response:
We are sorry you didn't have a better time, Natasha. Our property caretaker did come by with towels and linens after receiving your call and was pleasantly surprised to see all beds made with fresh towels on them already. There were also no cleanliness issues upon their inspection during the visit. Despite this, we were happy to refund your cleaning fee in case anything was missed during that quality assurance check. Our property manager was happy to go by after receiving another call from you about trash around the pool and hot tub; she did gather a few pieces that might have been missed during the pre-inspection of the home prior to your arrival. The pool and hot tub were both cleaned just prior to your arrival and mid-stay as well. We only provide one key code per reservation, and we have no record of it being changed. Hopefully your next visit will be a better experience.
Christine S. Jun 2021
Every thing we needed was at the house. The response to a trouble call was quick and professional. But the fee for cleaning was high and we found trash underneath tables and sofas. And we were asked to remove sheets from beds.
sheri m. May 2021
This house has a great pool and hot tub areas!
Johanna L. May 2021
The convenience of location was great, pretty views, and mostly issue free. We plan on visiting again!