USA North America North Carolina Avon Listing #44227

Sun Daze #42-2 - Avon, NC

Take a Virtual Tour
12 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms 2 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Ocean-View House with Private Pool & Hot Tub - Dog-Friendly, Private W/D, AC

Vacation stays don't get any finer than at SUN DAZE. This 2-story oceanview home is directly across from the boardwalk in exclusive Kinnakeet Shores - which permits a very short walk to the ocean. The ground level has ample parking, 2 carports, hot & cold outside shower and foot wash station. Enjoy the large, private in-ground pool late into the evening with plenty of warmth provided by the setting sun. Head upstairs to the 1st living level with 2 oceanview bedrooms that share a full bath & have access to a covered deck with soothing hot tub. Comfortably furnished bedrooms three & four have easy access to the hall bath & laundry area. The large 2nd level cedar wood lined great room has a 1/2 bath, tall ceilings & plenty of glass to catch all views of sun & sea. The all-equipped kitchen has a breakfast bar & formal dining area for handling all entertainment chores with ease. At day's end happy vacationers will settle into the warm resort furnishings, gather around the entertainment center, catch some refreshment at the wet bar or crash on a furnished ocean facing sundeck. Make every vacation day a SUN DAZE.

You will be required to sign an additional lease agreement upon making a booking which will be sent to your email. You will not be able to check in until we have received your signature electronically. Please contact us directly if you do not receive this agreement.

This property is managed by Vacasa North Carolina LLC
For 2022, the pool will be open April 9th to October 14th. It will otherwise be unavailable for guest use.

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Ocean view

Water view

Beach access





DVD player

Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions


On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Pool : Private



Shared Charcoal Grill

12 reviews

Jon E. Jun 2022
Unit was well laid out/spacious, but the private pool we paid extra for was totally not serviced/useable. Algae sludge in the traps and green all around the sides and bottom. Mgmt company finally said they were sending someone to service on Wednesday but I am not sure anyone ever came. There was no offer of restitution and no one ever followed up to see if the issue was resolved.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, Jon! We're pleased you enjoyed the spacious layout of our home, though we sincerely apologize for the maintenance and service concerns you encountered during your stay. Since your departure, our local management has addressed the pool. While we understand it does not remedy the experience, we hope the compensation provided eased some stress. We appreciate your feedback so we may continually improve and hope for the chance to host you again in the future!
candace m. Apr 2022
I have to say I booked this place in haste last minute and then was concerned with some of the reviews I read. However, this place was perfect for our little family and labradoodle. The beach access is directly across the street., so it could not have been more conveniently located. You can sit on the balcony and see/hear the ocean.

The house was very clean for our arrival and had everything we needed at our fingertips. We ate most meals at the house and found the kitchen to be very well equipped. We also loved the library and found a few books to enjoy on our two days of inclement weather. There were also some fun games for us to play as a family one rainy day.

We had an issue with a broken pipe outside shortly after we arrived. It was quite windy and an unsecured chair was blown into it, spewing water everywhere. However, a quick call to Vacasa and they arrived to shut down the water on Easter Sunday. We were only without water overnight and the plumber arrived first thing the next morning to make the repair.

The only concern I had was that no one ever arrived to clean the pool or hot tub that week. Someone was at the house all day, every day and we never saw anyone. The water in the pool was quite dirty from all of the wind blowing debris earlier in the week. That would be the only concern I would have for someone renting. Our oldest son ended up with a pretty bad case of folliculitis after using the hot tub a few times, so not sure that a once a week service of the hot tub is sufficient.

Otherwise, I would highly recommend Sun Daze for families of similar size to ours.
wayne p. Sep 2021
hot tub not working right hot water not on .
Manager response:
Hi Wayne, Thank you for giving us the opportunity to hear your feedback about your stay! We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Rest assured that we will follow up with the appropriate parties regarding your feedback. We're looking forward to hosting you again for another enjoyable stay!
Brian and Kristin C. Sep 2021
The was fitting for our needs. Easy beach access, close drives to restaurants and stores, everything in the home was functional (except the clogged dryer vent...), and for the type of home, fairly clean.

The only negative that we had was the poor customer service Vacasa provided. Strictly a 5pm check-in, which we never had with any other realtor, even Hatteras Realty before they sold out to Vacasa. They gave us the incorrect codes and instructions to get in to the home, which took over an hour after we arrived to home home at 5:00pm sharp for check-in. Let alone, the previous phone calls we had with Vacasa prior to our stay were less useless.

Great home, we feel it would have been better with a different vacation company like Midget or Dolphin Realty. Save yourself the headache, and stay away from Vacasa.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us. We do apologize if check-in time was a frustration for you; we have had to adjust things to account for how COVID precautions between guests affects our timeframes. We do hope to have a chance to better impress you in the future!
Christina K. Sep 2021
We really liked our stay overall!!! Good size and space for everyone to have their own area. The cleaning left something to be desired. Could have done a much better job but otherwise good. Very short walk to the beach and nice to have the pool and hot tub available!
Manager response:
Hi, Christina! We are disappointed to read you weren't impressed with the level of cleanliness you received. We take this very seriously and will follow-up with our staff. Thank you!
David S. Aug 2021
The house is directly across from beach access. Well equipped kitchen and house. The hot tub and pool were fabulous to have.
Caren C. Aug 2021
The Sundaze house is in an ideal location (especially for an ocean side not ocean front - views were still wonderful and beach access immediately across street), perfectly sized for a family of eight, and had all the pertinent add ons like a great pool, outdoor shower, hot tub, wet bar with extra mini fride, wine fridge, and ice maker, a really well stocked kitchen, extra half bath, excellent wifi, TVs in every room, and plenty of hooks!
The maintenance of the property however was severely lacking. I didn't mind the fact that the decor was on the "vintage" side but clearly Hatteras Realty doesn't take cleaning seriously - this was especially bad since the property is dog friendly. Couch had immense amounts of food under the cushions, dog hair under the furniture, and the textured wood walls were covered in dust. The air return vents were coated in a layer of dust and we had to call maintenance to swap out the filters that had been neglected for an extended period. The air temperature upstairs was never able to get below 75 and was often 77 and 78 during the heat of the day. The worst part is that all of this was well known to Hatteras Realty weeks before our arrival and we even called to follow up on these issues that had already been posted in reviews on line. We were assured they were addressed but obviously not. Towards the end of our stay there was an issue with ants coming in through the microwave and we left messages for Hatteras Realty and never received a call back, never got any assistance. When we arrived large bins from the linen service company had been left behind and hoses (plural) were strewn all across the lower deck blocking the walking path. More than half of the pool seating was broken and all left behind in a corner. My advice would be for the property owners to pick a new rental management company and I would strongly encourage people to strongly reconsider renting from Vacasa/Hatteras Realty. It's a shame - it could have been so perfect.
Manager response:
Hello Caren, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. While we are glad you enjoyed the location and amenities of our home, we are very sorry to hear about the cleanliness and maintenance oversights you found upon your arrival. Due to the unprecedented high temperatures experienced this summer, many homes have been struggling for the upstairs levels to get cool during the day. Our homes are also required to have regular pest control services. We are very sorry for the sub-par clean and we have addressed this with our housekeeping staff. We are always available to send someone back out to clean if we are notified. We hope we can host you again for a much more enjoyable stay.
Jessica S. Jun 2021
We had a family emergency which we arrived 2 days late to find out our trip protection was useless and didn’t compensate ... the home was nice and loved the view but that’s about it, when we arrived the upstairs air unit was not working and stayed in the upper 80”s until night fall and cooled down!!! Did not fix or try to compensate.... the breaker for the hot tub would flip contentiously when tried to use and caused it to not heat properly!!!! The pool area has many uneven places around the pool from the concrete and is very sharp!!! The outer banks is a lovely area and we had a wonderful stay but I wouldn’t recommend this home.
Manager response:
Hello Jessica! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay. We apologize that your experience in our home was not the vacation for which you had planned and for which we strive to provide our guests. We appreciate you notifying us promptly of the issue so that we could take the appropriate steps toward a resolution. Please know that the comfort and satisfaction of our guests is our priority and the experience you had is certainly not commonplace, nor is it indicative of our level of service.
Jean M. May 2021
Located across the street from the ocean and a public access walkway. The view from the upper deck was great, the house was comfortable, met our needs but a bit dated. Experienced some maintenance issues throughout the week of our stay.
Manager response:
Hi Jean, we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We apologize for any maintenance concerns. Our guest service agents are available 24 hours a day and if any issues arise we encourage guests to let us know so that we can assist. We would love to host you again in the future.
Matthew T. Apr 2021
Great location for fishing in Buxton