USA Oregon Central Oregon Coast Newport Listing #5006

Beach Retreat -- Lower Retreat - Newport, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
59 reviews
Max. occupancy: 5 2 Queen Bed, 1 Futon 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom 2 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Oceanview Lower-Level Duplex Across the Street from the Beach - Dogs OK

Leave your worries behind and bask in the ocean views at this dog-friendly Newport getaway. Perfect for travelers looking to avoid stairs, this easy access, lower-level duplex is part of a larger home.

Set right across the street from a staircase leading to the beautiful shores of the Oregon Coast, you and your guests will be able to delve into a bevy of local attractions without the hassle. Two miles from the Oregon Coast Aquarium and a short walk to the charming Nye Beach neighborhood of Newport, you'll have it all at your fingertips.

This listing is for the lower section of a two-level duplex. If you're traveling with a larger group, please consider renting both halves of the duplex to accommodate a larger group of up to 12!

The open main living area is flooded with light from the ocean view windows, highlighting the rich wood accents. Put your feet up on the fold-out futon while you surf the cable channels, or watch a DVD on the flatscreen HDTV. Connect to the in-house WiFi to reserve your tee time at the Agate Beach Golf Course. Keep dirty clothes at bay with the private washer/dryer.

Take a deep breath of fresh sea air as you step out onto your private patio. Your guests can enjoy an ice-cold brew on the outdoor furniture while you fire up the charcoal grill and cook up a mouth-watering dish.

If grilling isn't your thing, the compact kitchen has everything you need to keep everyone fueled up and on the go. Enlist a culinary assistant to dice up the veggies on the granite breakfast bar while you get started on the main course. Let the dishwasher do the clean up as you gather around the dining room table for a fun night with the board games provided.

This two-bedroom, one-bathroom home can play host to up to six guests and is dog-friendly for an additional nightly fee. Both rooms in this home each have a queen-size bed, allowing everyone to get a restful night's sleep. For more sleeping options there is a futon in the living room.

Wake up with the sound of the crashing waves and take an early morning stroll along the picturesque beach. Grab your clubs and make the quick three-mile drive north to the pristine greens of Agate Beach Golf Course. After playing a fun-filled round, indulge in a bowl of chowder at the Chowder Bowl in Nye Beach.

Learn about the local marine life while walking through the interactive exhibits at the Oregon Coast Aquarium. With a family-friendly atmosphere that still appeals to adults, you and your guests can see what lies beneath the waves. Spend the rest of the day checking out the adjacent Hatfield Marine Science Center or strolling through nearby antique malls. Whether you prefer to spend your visit shopping, sightseeing, strolling the beach, or simply relaxing and breathing in the fresh sea air, there's something for everyone in Newport.

Make your next seaside escape stress-free and filled with memories when you book your stay at this Oregon Coast home.

City/town permit number: 3747
City/town permit number: 011

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Children

Children's games

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Space heater

House rules

Dog-friendly

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Ocean view

Water view

Beach access

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

DVD player

Wireless router

On-site activities

Board games

Outdoor

Patio

Beach chairs

Enclosed yard

Safety & accessibility

Limited mobility access

59 reviews

Tammy H. Sep 2022
It was clean, and although not ocean front, you could see the ocean from the sliding glass doors
Albert M. Aug 2022
Location, distance from beach and overall condition of house was excellent.
Jesus D. Mar 2022
We really enjoyed our stay and well we love the most is that it’s so close to the beach I’m very comfortable place
Alyson E. Dec 2021
Nicely appointed, very close to the beach and centrally located to get to tourist activities
Christian M. Sep 2021
This place is pretty nice, location is great to get to the beach; across street and down about 5 flights of stairs takes you straight to it, or walking 1/4 mile down the street to the ramp at the park. Also that 1/4+ mile to the shops and restaurants at Nye Beach.
Some things I would suggest to improve the place would be having the TV connected to the internet ahead of time, a larger TV would be nice, some night lights would be kind of nice and replacing the bathroom exhaust fan with one that actually works.
For the most part though, this was a pretty good rental for a small family.
Manager response:
Hi Christian, We are happy to hear the location of the home was great for your stay. Thank you for providing your valuable feedback. We are sorry for any issues you encountered during your stay. Local staff is always available to assist if there are amenities in the home that fall short. We have passed your suggestions along to local management so that they can look into making the necessary changes. We hope to have a chance to host you next time.
Kevin D. Jun 2021
Great place. Clean, cozy. Comfy beds. Great location.
Literally across the street from the beach. Easy walking distance to restaurants in Nye Beach; but also fully functional kitchen-space if want to cook.
Only minor downsides: you definitely hear neighbors walking around upstairs. Also, the water pipes are loud. In the back bedroom definitely hear it when upstairs neighbor is using their shower. We spent most of our time out exploring and we were exhausted by evening so no problem for us. If you are a light sleeper though it might be an issue.
Otherwise would highly recommend.
Donald B. May 2021
Overall, we had good time at lower beach retreat in Newport. If I was going to ask for any upgrades, it would be larger TV, more comfortable couch and chairs. Both bedroom beds were comfortable and bathroom and kitchen were well stock.
Teresa L. Apr 2021
The rooms are spacious and warm.
Keasha m. Feb 2021
Great location, right across the street from the beach access, nice view too! Place is a little outdated (old appliances, etc), bed was harder than we preferred but bearable for a short stay!) No heat in bedrooms but small Heaters provided. Easy no contact check In and check out. We will definitely be back!
Greg and Scottie J. Jan 2021
We keep coming back to the beach retreat, as we love it so much! Sometimes we rent the lower floor, sometimes the whole house, but it's always so clean, well organized, and the Scottie, the owner, is beyond fantastic!! We';ll be back soon!
Rosemary B. Nov 2020
Convenient beach access, clean, comfortable beds, well stocked kitchen. Dish satellite not working. Were told Vacasa would comp our stay. Have made 2 calls regarding this issue and so far, no response.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your home. We're so sorry for the disappointing experience during your visit. We are happy we were able to work with you to get the issue resolved. We were more than happy to process the refund for the loss of the cable. We hope we have the chance to impress you in the future. Thank you.
Brandie B. Oct 2020
Across the street from the ocean, it’s was a perfect spot.
Gabriel J. Aug 2020
We were so excited to pull up and see the ocean from the house. The location is excellent, and the beach access across the street was perfect. The house was comfortable for our family of four. Plenty of space and amenities. Beds were comfortable. The only drawback was that we could hear all footsteps and water usage from the upstairs unit.
Lisa V. Aug 2020
we found this gem 2 weeks prior to our stay! It was perfect for our little family with our 2 fur babies!! It was directly across the street from the beach! It was nice to get away from the work stress and hear the ocean all weekend! Definitely would recommend this place! Very accommodated to our dogs with a little private fenced backyard to let them out! Thank you! Will definitely stay again and so close to everything!!
James K. Feb 2020
Tidy with a spacious patio and backyard. Just steps from the beach.
DOUGLAS G. Oct 2019
Nice place, Very clean and had everything you need for your stay. Good for a pet it had a fenced back area and patio for a pet. Beach access across the street and 5 min. from Bay front, Stores, Nye beach area. The only bad thing is the employees from the hotel across the street the parking lot next to the front door and front patio is there smoking area?
Kasey S. Oct 2019
Loved this place can’t wait to come back
Lee B. Jun 2019
The location location and cleanliness of this rental made for great and easy weekend!
Laura O. May 2019
We enjoyed this home. It is a great value for the location. we don't mind a bit of a walk so we were able to walk to many of the shops and restaurants on the other side of the point. However there is also a good restaurant just down the road at the Hallmark and there's a couple of points of excellent beach access.
Hidi H. Apr 2019
Had so much fun in and around town. Loved having a great place to relax in,
Marcia G. Mar 2019
Great location - easy beach access -- close to Nye Beach
Rhonda W. Oct 2018
This was nice place to stay. The view of the ocean is in between two motels but still a nice view.
Bill C. Oct 2018
Rustic yet comfortable for 2. Great location to Nye Beach and the rest of Newport.
Annette W. Sep 2018
We had 4 adults and 2 small children during our 3 day stay in the lower level apartment. We were very comfortable. Though the view of the ocean is restricted by the 2 hotels across the street, you still have a nice view of the ocean. The stairs (89) down to the beach are directly across the street. The cute shops of Nye beach are just up the street. The apartment was very clean and nicely stalked with the essentials for cooking a seafood dinner at the end of a fun day of fishing! The small fenced back yard and the enclosed patio were wonderful for giving the children a place to play without the worry of having them run into the street. We could only hear minor noise from the baby crying upstairs on occasion but I'm sure they heard our 2 year old cry too! It was great to be within a 10 minute drive to the charter fishing dock, aquarium, Hatfield Marine Science Center, and grocery stores... We would stay here again!
Monica T. Aug 2018
Location and well equipped.
Ronda F. Apr 2018
Great for families. We enjoyed our stay. thanks
Merle A K. Sep 2017
across the street from a great walk and if you park away from the sliding glass door you will enjoy sunsets worth recording.
Kathy G. Sep 2017
It was the perfect fit for us, right across from the beach, close to stores, not fancy but very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again - Thank you Vacasa for all your help with our stay in Newport !!
Janet J. Sep 2017
The only thing this property lacks is access to a pool or hot tub or even bathtub
Christine M. Sep 2017
We wanted to escape the smoky valley (from forest fires) so headed to the coast. We got lucky to get this spot--great access to beach, wonderful walking beach, very convenient location. We had a great, low stress 3 days on the coast!
Suzanne G. Aug 2017
The beach is amazing and access is right across the street. There are 90 steps down to the sand, so it wasn't something my mom could do, but she loved the views. We all did... without the view, the place would not have been the same.

The apartment had pretty much everything we needed, except for a kettle to boil water (but a saucepan also worked). The beds were comfortable and the linens and pillows were soft. The bedrooms smelled a bit musty, but might be the fact that the wet ocean air and fog is always on it. We could hear the upstairs guests walking around and talking, but we got used to it...and hopefully they got used to us.

We appreciated having a gated front patio for our dog to hang out in after her workouts on the beach. It was great to be able to see her from the living room and kitchen. There is also a backyard that is fenced, but we didn't need it.

Overall a great place to stay with our family and dog.
Talia A. Aug 2017
We planned our family vacation to Newport to be closer to the aquarium. From the pictures, it appeared the place was right across from a gentle ramp down to the ocean but we were surprised to find a really long steep staircase or a ramp farther down the way that was long and steep. I booked this place under the impression it would be ok for my mom who has osteoarthritis in her knees but it wasn't easy for her at all to get to the ocean. Other than that, the place was nice with a convenient location via car to Newport points of interest. The downstairs unit does hear everything the upstairs unit does, so bear that in mind too.
Denesse W. Jul 2017
Very conveniently located.
Bernie C. Jul 2017
Great location! Close to everything that matters in a beach town...Beach, Dining, Shopping
Gwen S. Jun 2017
We loved our stay here. The veiw was fantastic and the place was very cozy
Brian B. May 2017
I enjoyed this wonderful condo with a ocean view.
Brooke H. May 2017
This place was the best location for anything that you would want to do. And the view was great.
Kathleen L. Apr 2017
It was great. Had a good time.
Denise S. Apr 2017
This unit met our needs when travelling with the dogs. Good size yard out back with sturdy fencing. Place was clean, comfy beds,good view of waves,cute patio out front and very convenient beach access right across the street. Also easy walking distance to Nye Beach shops and restaurants. Drawbacks were it sits on a fairly busy street and was rather noisy when the upper unit was occupied.
Steve G. Feb 2017
This rental unit has a good location and price. It has everything needed but inadequate instructions for the old satelliteTV/DVD system and (barely adequate) space heating system limited our enjoyment.
Ross B. Dec 2016
Great place. The narrow view between the two hotels was appreciated.
Aaron U. Oct 2016
We loved this place. Nice and clean. Loved the back yard for the dogs to run and play. It was close to the ocean and all that Newport has to offer. First time staying at a rental and we loved it.
Renee N. Oct 2016
We came to Newport to spend some time with our daughter who is going to school in Corvallis. Beach retreat let us bring our dog, who she misses as much as the rest of the family. We had 4 adults staying there. Mom,Dad, 2 daughters 21 and 17. The place was cozy but not too cramped. It rained on and off during our stay. While there, we cooked together, played games together, and took short adventures out when it wasn't raining. The view of the beach out the sliding glass door was wonderful. We really enjoyed just hanging out and connecting. This place is a great value. Not high end, but clean and comfortable. It felt like home.
Kristina B. Oct 2016
The place was nice and cozy. Right across the street from beach access with an ocean view. Would stay here again.
Ross B. Sep 2016
The property is comfortable, the kitchen is stocked well and there are plenty of blankets and pillows. It is more outdated than the pictures portrayed , good photographer , however the view, close proximity to the ocean and the large front deck made it all worthwhile ! Too bad the Shiloh Inn , just across the street, has such large neon signs ..... :) can't have everything !!
Angela N. Sep 2016
The beds were comfortable and plenty of extra blankets, however some of the furnishings could stand to be updated.
Shealejah E. Sep 2016
We came to Newport from central oregon both celebrate our sons birthday and also get married! Therefore we had a pretty tight budget to squeeze so many adventures into. Vacasa provided us with a two bedroom townhome for our family at a perfect location directly across from the beach that was not only adorable, clean and cozy, but was AFFORDABLE. We enjoyed it so much that we called and added an extra night! Upon arrival we actually saw the housekeeper who was very friendly and did a spectacular job! I highly recommend this vacation rental company!
Melody And John M. Aug 2016
We were pleasantly surprised with all the things this house had on hand. Towels, blankets, paper goods of all kinds, as well as toiletries. This beach access across the street was pretty nasty but we went to nye beach close by. Quiet neighborhood. Kid friendly. Nice patio. Yard not so great.
Kristie H. May 2016
Great location! Nice property. Would stay here again.
Terri G. Apr 2016
Nice clean place to stay that is reasonably priced