USA California Sonoma County Sea Ranch Listing #5306

Ocean Star - Sea Ranch, CA

Take a Virtual Tour
75 reviews
Max. occupancy: 5 2 Queen Bed, 1 Twin Bed 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 1 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Family home with private hot tub, shared pool, & game room. Dogs welcome!

Please view the TSRA website for current information regarding the use of community facilities, such as the swimming pools, saunas, tennis courts, etc.: https://www.tsra.org/welcome-to-the-sea-ranch/
**To make a reservation and to review additional Policy and Procedure Information, please visit the TSRA Facility Reservation Site: https://tsra.simplybook.me/v2/
***Due to high demand and limited availability of facilities as managed by TSRA, Vacasa cannot guarantee that all guests will have access to the pools/tennis courts. Please note that no refund(s) will be provided in relation to the TSRA facilities.

Enjoy a Sea Ranch vacation full of family fun at this charming home, a dog-friendly retreat that offers a private deck and hot tub, foosball table, and close proximity to coastal trails, golf, and the Del Mar Recreation Center.

This meadow property is wonderfully located on the ocean side of California Highway 1, just blocks from the Del Mar Meadow Trail and the seaside Bluff Top Trail. It's also only half a mile from the Sea Ranch Golf Links and the outdoor pool and tennis courts at the Del Mar Recreation Center, two miles north of Walk On Beach, and less than three miles south of downtown Gualala.

Whether you're planning a vacation with friends or family, this single-level home offers lovely ocean views and endless entertainment for guests of all ages.

The nautical theme begins in the living room, which features soft leather furnishings and a wall of windows that face the water. Begin each morning by building a fire in the stone fireplace (wood is even provided), or peer through the telescope to observe passing whales, deer, and foxes.

After a scenic day of hiking on the Bluff Top Trail, return home to a flatscreen cable TV, DVD player, VCR, and a selection of VHS and DVD titles for quiet evenings in. More competitive guests will also find a foosball table in the living room, creating a fun and festive atmosphere at all times.

Prepare breakfast each morning in the full kitchen, which offers richly hued cabinetry, stainless steel appliances, and plenty of space to prepare your Surf Market ingredients. Turn on the sound dock as you gather around the dining room table for four, and feel free to linger as the dishwasher cleans up.

When the sun is shining on the Northern California Coast, head outside to find a deck, patio seating, and even a private hot tub for your ultimate relaxation. You can also walk half a mile to the Del Mar Recreation Center, where you'll have access to an outdoor heated pool, tennis courts, and saunas.

The main bedroom suite has lofty ceilings, a flatscreen cable TV, and a private bathroom with a jet tub and shower.

And although Sea Ranch is known as a place to unplug, Ocean Star offers the modern conveniences of WiFi, central air conditioning, and a private washer/dryer. Your family dog is also welcome to join you, but please note that a small additional fee will apply.

As one of the hidden jewels of California, Sea Ranch is beloved for its unspoiled landscapes, plentiful wildlife, and awe-inspiring beaches and trails. Spend a morning three miles south at Shell Beach, where the receding waves reveal a series of tide pools filled with sea life. You'll also be just one mile south of Gualala Point Regional Park, where visitors can often spot migrating whales offshore.

In the mood for a breathtaking coastal drive? Follow California Highway 1 north for 21 miles to reach the Point Arena Lighthouse and Museum, the gorgeous structure that guards the Point Arena-Stornetta unit of the California Coastal National Monument.

It's time to begin a new family tradition - this wonderful Sea Ranch home will be a favorite for years to come!

A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: Reservations with 1-2 guests will receive 1 parking pass (unless otherwise specified), 3+ guests will receive 2 parking pass. The Sea Ranch Association only allows 2 passes per reservation. Parking passes are for cars parked within the Sea Ranch (at the rec centers, hiking trails etc) and must be visible in the vehicles. Most but not all of our houses will accommodate more than 2 cars. For guests with more than 2 cars, any additional car(s) can be used to go to and from the house without a pass but will need to remain in the drive way otherwise. On street parking is not permitted. Most of our house will not accommodate more than 3 cars. NO RV'S OR CAMPER VANS PERMITTED TO PARK ON SEA RANCH.

Other permit number: EXEMPT

County tax number: 1936

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Bathrooms

Jetted tub

Children

Children's games

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Fireplace

Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Water view

Media

Internet

TV

Cable : Dish Network

DVD library

DVD player

VHS library

Wireless router

Sound dock

Stereo

VCR

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games

Foosball table

Outdoor

Deck

75 reviews

Howard S. Sep 2021
We found this to be a perfect location. Loved sitting looking out the window in the morning, drinking coffee and watching the ocean and deer grazing in the front lawn. A short walk to the bluff trail along the ocean and a very short drive into Gualala for groceries or restaurants. Good beds and modern appliances. Loved a month there. Beautiful fox would screech when our dog came out occasionally. Foxes don't attack dogs or people ever. We named him Screecher Creature.
Matthew v. Jul 2021
We love Sea Ranch and had a nice stay at Ocean Star. It was great to be able to bring our dog, and the hot tub and foosball table were appreciated (personally I would get rid of the air hockey table as it takes up a LOT of floor space, but others may love it). Definitely a good rental for those with dog and kids. It was well laid out with sturdy furnishings. Kitchen was overall well equipped, though not a lot of pots and pans for cooking. New washer and dryer (which a prior review mentioned needed upgrading). It felt a bit grungy, with some dirty dishes in the cupboards, dirty carpet, and blankets that could use washing. But that may come with being dog friendly. I would definitely stay again, but wouldn't recommend it if you are finicky.
Anna D. Jul 2021
Great house- loved the game tables and such a cute house, great for families. It was a short walk to the bluff and we enjoyed the hot tub.
John Y. May 2021
Great location near path to beach. Great hot tub. Living room has foosball and airhockey tables so house is particularly good for families with kids.
Adam C. Feb 2021
The location was top notch! Walk right out the door to the bluff trial. Awesome hot tub. Washer and dryer need an upgrade but overall great house. Thank you! AnBnH.
Jerrold L. Feb 2021
Nicely located near bluff trail, well appointed kitchen, excellent hot tub.
Kathleen W. Dec 2020
This house was perfect-didn't need a large house. The location was great because the golf course is very close. Also it is close to Gualala if you need anything from the grocery. PS- Go to Surf market in town If you are buying anything like meat and higher end stuff. Better than the other market in that aspect.
Additionally-from house it's like a quarter-mile walk straight out to the Bluff Trail and a wonderful rocky Cove. Sunsets- amazing. Cable, Wi-Fi, hot tub, and a blast to play air hockey and foosball. It was a great location. Quiet and peaceful and and great location.
Amber M. Oct 2020
Living/dining/kitchen open space with views of ocean. Master bedroom and bathroom spacious. Kitchen pretty well stocked.
My daughters loved the hot tub.
Sonia R. Sep 2020
Great location, lovely house. Perfect for families
Theresa F. Aug 2020
We loved everything about this home. Great location, stunning views, very clean and well maintained, and it offered a lot of amenities that made traveling as a family very fun. I traveled with my husband and two young children. My children loved the air hockey and foosball tables, bunk beds, hot tub, and exploring outside. It was a short drive to local beaches, Gualala grocery stores, and steps away from scenic ocean front hiking.
Margaret N. Feb 2020
Loved the house and found it really well outfitted for the weekend including toiletries, kitchen tools, and supplies for the game tables. Master bed/bath were great; beds in the spare room are a bit noisy so be aware if you have kids that need a lot of quiet for sleep, but that's our only complaint. Would definitely stay again!
Hana B. Feb 2020
Beautiful house very clean super views
David E. Oct 2019
Great location and clean.
Hama B. Oct 2019
Everything was excellent very clean very nice super view
Vander Z. Oct 2019
We had to go buy bottled water and ice because the system in the fridge didn’t work. We weren’t warned of this in advance and despite the many labels all over everything else there was no specific communication regarding the water and it wasn’t labeled anywhere. Bring EVERYTHING you need. There are no kitchen staples here - just the typical hardware.
Manager response:
Thank you so much for staying with us! The property manager has taken care of the ice maker. We do wish you had called about this and the other issues so we could have helped make your stay more comfortable. We hope to see you again!
Patti S. Aug 2019
Our family had a wonderful stay! Oceanstar was the perfect vacation home and in the perfect location! We had a great time.
Donna R. Jul 2019
The house was decorated to perfection. The view was awesome.
bobbi H. Jul 2019
Easy walk to the ocean bluff and as always Sea Ranch is a lovely getaway. The home was perfect for our family of four and our dog.
Patricia S. Jul 2019
This house was well-designed and decorated. Bathroom and kitchen very modern. They even had a griddle for our pancakes.
I would gladly go back. In the past, we have stayed further south where there are more beach access points which was the only drawback. Wonderful to get to bring our dog along! We all loved our short, but pleasant stay.
Dawn L. Jun 2019
The house was great- clean, well appointed and as advertised. It is so peaceful and quiet at Sea Ranch- the perfect getaway! I rated this a 4 instead of 5 only because there was no walkable beach access- you have to drive a few minutes :) I know that isn’t something that you can change but wanted to include it in my review. Again, beautiful house!
RONALD C. Apr 2019
Great house with fireplace and hot tub. Close to trails.
Lettie M. Jan 2019
This house has a lovely view. It is nice elysium furnished and very comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped and big enough to prepare any meal. The bedrooms are big and both have a ensuite bathroom. Loved my week here and hope to come again.
Sareena L. Oct 2018
Fun, private and easy access to Gualala, beach and amenities.
Sue L. Oct 2018
Lovely home in a great location. Easy walk down to the bluff trail. We had a lot of fun with the foosball table although we were sad to see that the air hockey table was no longer in the house (it had been in the pictures). We had planned various gaming tournaments for our stay. Overall had a fantastic time and we would definitely come back again.
Jeanne T W. Sep 2018
We enjoyed staying at Ocean Star. We were disappointed to see that the air hockey table was gone. When we booked the home, it was shown in the pictures and talked about in the reviews. This was a top reason we chose this home over three others. We were comfortable though, enjoyed the hot tub, and other amenities. The kitchen was fairly well stocked with pots and pans and serving items. Lots of spices, but bring the other staples you may need to cook your food and store it. We've stayed in quite a few Sea Ranch homes over the years, and this one was enjoyable.
Heidy C. Aug 2018
We stayed at the Sea Ranch Ocean Star home for a week in August. Our family was looking for a place away from the hussle and bustle of our busy lives, but also a place where we would not be bored (we have a 5 year old so we wanted to make sure there were a lot of activities). We picked Sea Ranch because it seemed to be in a beautiful part of California we had never been to. This place did not dissapoint! The house was located close to the ocean (maybe a 5 minute walk) where we saw seals, sea lions, river otters, tons of birds....it was breath taking. Deer walked around the house on a daily basis. We also saw cotton tails, hares, you name it!

The house is located a very short drive to Gualala where there was 2 grocery stores to get all of what we needed to cook at the home. However we ended up also driving to some restaurants around ( like Two Fish and a Thai restaurant).

We took daily walks to different beaches around the area ( no more than a 15 to 20 minute drive) which were pretty much oir own for the time we were there. We hiked into the woods...took a canoe up the Gualala River....man we were busy!

This house was an excellent place to come back to after a long day. It was super quiet at night. There was a hot tub to relax. It was super clean (something that is very impprtant to me). It had everything we needed, including the most comfortable and cozy beds.

I will come here again and would recommend this place to anyone looking to relax, reconnect with yourself and nature, bond with whomever your travelling with, go out for an adventure. It is a lovely place!
Luke N. Aug 2018
The house convenient to the northernmost pool and a short walk to the bluffs trail. The house has a hot tub, foosball table, lots of DVDs, and some games and puzzles. One of the bedrooms has a good set up for kids. The house is also close to the communal playground, but it was disappointing. It's far enough away to need to drive, yet there's no dedicated parking for it and the playground equipment is minimal.
Stacy C. Jul 2018
Nice comfortable space, good for family of 4. Close to beaches. Walks and close to Gualala.
Kari A. Jun 2018
This was our first visit to Sea Ranch and we really enjoyed it. The house was comfortable and a short walk to the bluff on the ocean. Kitchen was well equipped and it was handy to have the washer-dryer. We also enjoyed the hot tub. On the negative side, a fuse blew the first night and although we asked for it to be fixed, it wasn't. No power for the TV or some lights, but we could live with it.
Manager response:
We apologize for the fuse blowing and that we were unaware until the next morning. We sent maintenance out as soon as we heard. Thank you!
AnnMarie A. Apr 2018
Ocean Star was a cozy nature retreat for our family of four - plus pup. Whale and seal watching at the coast, tide pool and beach exploring, miles of hiking to take in the flora and fauna, deer, horses, and amazing birds surrounded us. Pools, sauna, tennis, golf, on the Sea Ranch property, and hot tub at the house gave us plenty of activity options. Not to mention air hockey and foosball tourneys when the sun went down. We left feeling like we found a most special secret spot. With any stay anywhere there are always little things that could upset you - if you let them - there were spring ants in some areas of the house, they moved on when I moved some traps, and there were ticks that got on our pup outside - but we didn't let it bother us. This location is a gem and we can't wait to get back.
Sharon P. Jan 2018
Sea Ranch is my happy place and Vacasa was a very nice house, great location, clean and very pleasant to stay at.
Deborah C. Dec 2017
Lovely and cozy home with nice Ocean View. Perfect for small family with small kids. A short walk to the beach.
David M. Oct 2017
We had a wonderful time during our recent Sea Ranch vacation stay. We've been returning to the Mendocino area for a number of years, in celebration of our wedding anniversary, having spent our honeymoon there, as well as in some of the surrounding areas. We rent a coastal home each year and this was our first year choosing one in the Sea Ranch community. We thoroughly enjoyed the area, the surrounding beauty, the respectful, quiet nature of the neighboring residents, and the serene and peaceful feel of the home where we " hung our hats" for four nights. We will most definitely be returning!
Frank B. Oct 2017
We just had a great time in that home. Great view although it is not directly on the beach. Very quiet and private. Loved the hot tub. The Vacasa team keeps it very clean. Also want to thank the people from Vacasa,. Everything was just perfect, from the booking to the check in, they are very friendly and professional. We are thinking to purchase a home in Sea Ranch, Vacasa will get the management for sure.
Alanna C. Sep 2017
You have a very lovely home and we were so happy that it was available on short notice. It has a perfect location and was well appointed. Yes we would stay again. Please fix bed squeak tho.....only real negative. Oh, and wax the air hockey top -- my puck kept sticking....Ha Ha Ha! Thank you!
Manager response:
We are delighted to see this guest enjoyed their stay! We will advise the owners of the suggestion to wax the air hockey table and will look into the bed. Thank you!
Jennifer K. Aug 2017
My husband, our six-year-old son and our Labrador and I loved staying at Ocean Star! The place is complete with dog bed and even an egg slicer! The washer and dryer were awesome, dishwasher everything you can imagine to make you feel right at home! The cozy comforters on all the beds and the ample supply of towels were also very appreciated. Something I didn't quite understand in the other reviews or the write up about the property was that the hot tub is right there on the property on a private deck! We loved our two or three times a day walks along the shore and counting seals! Also the amazing quiet! And we were there when the shooting stars started happening which was great when the clouds rolled away and we could go out and stargaze. I love that that is part of the tenants of The Sea Ranch that the lights are turned off so you can see the stars! Very rare thing these days.
We would definitely want to come back! The price was also outstanding for the accommodations! We are a single income household from the suburbs of Sacramento, (as I am blessed by being a stay at home mom), so we really appreciated being able to afford a getaway place that was so lovely. I really appreciate the owners opening up their lovely home to us to use. Thank you for a lovely stay!
Jeff A. Jul 2017
Nice views of the ocean through the front window, and a short 100 yard walk to the coastal walking trails. Second bedroom had 3 bunk beds, plus living room had air hockey and foosball. Back porch had charcoal grill and a hot tub. Front porch had nice chairs with a good view of the ocean.
Kristin R. Jun 2017
The home itself is lovely, well kept, beautifully decorated with quite decent quality kitchen equipment and dishes which was much appreciated. It has a breathtaking view of the ocean from the front of the house. The furniture is the most comfortable furniture I've experienced relaxing in in a very long time and was perfect for hanging out with a book and watching the ocean. The foosball and air hockey tables were a big hit with the six year old grandson and we enjoyed time together playing them in this home. There were even two dog beds for my 12yr old cocker spaniel to relax his poor bones while basking in the sun. There were more than ample blankets and pillows for the cold nights. Firewood provided was a very nice touch. I am most appreciative of the care the owners have put into making this the most lovely environment to relax in and we enjoyed our stay relaxing with books and playing games together.
Things I wish I knew before I arrived: I had brought blankets and pillows which were not necessary, there is an adequate supply. The air hockey table turns on from the switch on the cord under the table. Cursing the unlit scoreboard while pushing the start buttons do not make it work. Kitchen and dishwasher soap were provided, it wasn't necessary for me to have stopped to buy it, there was even enough laundry soap and dryer sheets provided for two loads of laundry. The hiking trails within walking distance from the house lead to rocky bluffs, access to sandy beach is not by foot but driving distance with a toddler and old dog. The label instructing to use HDMI 2 for the DVD is not accurate -use HDMI1 and you can only play a movie which will automatically start without having to push "play" from a menu on the screen. Watching TV or movies was actually a bit of a frustrating nightmare so we read a lot of books. Cursing the remotes also do not make them work. Neither does buying and changing all the batteries. The previous reviews dating back to 2015-2016 where things didn't work are still current- I.e. Living room DVD, Master bedroom DVD, iPod dock and jacuzzi in master bath all do not work. I had read a previous review where a renter was able to watch a movie through the xBox but I couldn't make this happen. I also couldn't play the sole Xbox game in it but that was likely operator error as I have never used an Xbox before. There is no view from the hot tub but it had a such a strong chemical smell that rendered it intolerable to use anyway. If you are planning to sleep 6-7 as advertised, it would be important if it were me to understand that four people will be sleeping in one room and be sure that four people do not mind sleeping two each in the same bed. The 7th person would be on the couch I suppose. This did not apply to me and we were quite comfortable.
We navigated around the above issues and overall enjoyed our stay in the beauty of both the home and in Sea Ranch. I hope you enjoy your trip.
Krishnakumar D. May 2017
We were two families vacationing together (with toddlers). The house Ocean Star truly lived up to the expectations. It is adjacent to the running trail, which we did in mornings. We also made use of the hot tub. Air hockey table and foosball table were a hit among kids. Kitchen was perfect and we enjoyed making a few meals there. Gualala is a nearby spot with few options for dining. Trinks cafe and Cove Azul were excellent choices.
We were also able to make use of the recreation center passes. Swimming pools were heated, changing rooms were very clean.
Also during our stay, we spotted several deers in the property. Overall the property is great and we would stay there again.
Gregory E. Apr 2017
Will use again
Amy C. Apr 2017
We loved the deer and fox who crossed in front of the windows several times! It was a short walk to the ocean bluffs and to the local pool. The kids didn't quite have the stamina to walk to the nearest beach and back, so we did some one-way shuttles and everyone was happy. The house was a perfect place to land between adventures, and had plenty for everyone on a rainy day too. We lit the fireplace and got cozy.
Stephen P. Apr 2017
I hadn't been to sea ranch in over 15 years. I was a special trip I could share again and revisit old childhood memories with my girlfriend. We loved every day there and plan to make it a yearly vacation spot for us.
Patrick M. Mar 2017
Our family of 5 and dog really enjoyed the house and relaxing setting of Sea Ranch. The trails and ocean were great.
Brian D. Feb 2017
We have stayed in houses around Sea ranch for 20 years. You can tell the owners care about and visit the property. Nice details throughout the house. Some key fixes need to be addressed which I communicated via online feedback. As if feb 2017, the wood provided was not seasoned so it took a lot of work to burn. I would consider staying here again if they address the issues we encountered.
Charles G. Feb 2017
It was fantastic
Patrick R. Jan 2017
We stayed at Ocean Star for the first time in December, 2016 after many years of visiting Sea Ranch and renting many different homes. We we overall very happy with the experience here, and i would recommend it: I think this home is perfect for a young family, as they have it set up with video games all ready to go, and fusbol and air hockey tables that worked great: so if you want something to keep the kids busy, this is it. Also, it sits back from the ocean a bit but still has a great view - it's right on the street, perfect if you are bringing bikes to ride. Great hot tub but no view - but, it's protected from the wind and very private. Everything went very well for our first stay in this house, it's definitely worth a look! Patrick R.
Kelly C. Jan 2017
This house is the perfect, cozy spot to take in all that the West Coast has to offer. Beautiful Pacific Ocean views, all sorts of wildlife to watch including whales and sea lions, and great food and people. Such a serene and majestic place to rejuvenate.
Jeff L. Dec 2016
We had our 10 and 12 year old kids with us for the 5 days spent here. The house was great with the family (and especially the kids) really enjoying the hot tubs. We also loved having the foosball and air hockey. It rained one of the days and those indoor activities worked out really well. We will definitely look to rent the house again.
Marian B. Nov 2016
The oceans to her house is good for family with children. The number of occupants for the house is listed at seven, but unless you are traveling with adults who like to sleep in bunkbeds or in a queen size bed under a bunk bed or on the couch, the house is really more suitable for two adults. Also bring your own reading lamps or prepare to rearrange the furniture to improvise reading lamps in the living room. Strong points of this house are the kitchen, the view, and the access to trails and to shopping in Gualala.
Carter J. Nov 2016
This house is very nice and well furnished. The kitchen is large and a pleasure to cook in and the way it flows straight into the living area makes for a pleasant group experience where the chefs can be a part of the fun while the rest of the group plays games, chats, or watches a movie. The one thing to be aware of is that this house is a bit on the smaller side. Have a look at the virtual tour to make sure it will accommodate your needs. It still worked out great for our party of 6, but it was a bit cozier than some other houses I have stayed at at Sea Ranch.
Brock B. Oct 2016
Very nice small property at Sea Ranch. Over the years we've stayed at many different homes. This one was very nice and we would rent again in the future. Hot tub was delightful.
Silvia S. Oct 2016
Cozy home!
Christina F. Oct 2016
This was my family's first time in Sea Ranch, and we couldn't have been happier with rental. While you can see the ocean from the front porch, it's only a short walk to the hiking trail along the coast, which is beautiful. The house is also only a short drive to food and shopping in Gualala or the Del Mar Rec Center where you can enjoy the pool.

My kids especially enjoyed the air hockey/foosball tables and DVD library, and my husband and I enjoyed stargazing at night in the hot tub. To top off the experience, we were finally able to take our dog with us on vacation, and she enjoyed walks on the coast followed by naps under the air hockey table. ;)
Linell S. Aug 2016
Great vacation rental. Perfect for our time at Sea Ranch. Close to the golf course and a nice walk to and along the bluffs.
Richard B. Aug 2016
The whole Sea Ranch community has a great apprecaition for the land and people who live and visit there. I look forward to another vaction there.
Thank you
Sarah C. Aug 2016
This was our second stay at Ocean Star. We just love this house so much. It is clean and cozy. It's perfect if you are looking for some serenity and quality family time. In the past we were able to deal directly with the owners, who are wonderful, I wish that we could still do that. I did not find Vacasa very helpful and would rather not use them again.
Kelly S. Jul 2016
This home is the perfect beach getaway! All of the pictures are completely accurate except the house is actually better in person. The owners have thought of every detail. The beds are unbelievably comfortable. The jacuzzi is fantastic and at night you can see a million stars while relaxing either one of the decks. Ocean trail access is only a few steps further than across the street where you can see lazy seals hanging out on the rocks. We had deer and fox greet us through the living room windows every morning. The community is very friendly. I would comment that you may want to bring groceries as the shopping is slightly limited (hours). There are two grocery stores and a couple of restaurants - all of which are very busy. Also, the internet is a hit and miss at the house although if you walk right across the street to the trail, it's perfect. We highly recommend this Sea Ranch home and will return again soon.
Dorothy K. Jul 2016
We had a wonderful three-night stay at Ocean Star, July 17-20 2016. The seven of us covered the age gamut: me, a 60ish grandmother; my mid-30s son and daughter-in-law; three kids (8, 5 and 2.5) and my college-student nephew, 23. The ocean view was a constant delight -- and about a 10-minute walk to the shoreline and crashing surf. We were visited frequently by a doe and fawn, and our last morning we watched a sleek fox hunting in the front yard. The kitchen was well equipped. Nice master bedroom and wonderful master bath for a couple, and all the kids and I slept fine in the other bedroom. Beds were comfortable, too! College kid on the couch. Everybody loved the air hockey, foosball, and hot tub. We went tidepooling at Shell Beach, and also enjoyed the Sea Ranch tennis courts and swimming pool. But bring your Sea Ranch passes -- they're attached to the parking pass. You'll need them.

Go to Trinks in Gualala for wonderful breakfasts, lunches, coffee and pastries.

The one big drawback for us was the very bad WIFI setup. For some reason, the owner intentionally has blocked lots of the internet, including Gmail and Facebook. Since our AT&T smartphones didn't work, either, we were kind of stuck. Trinks has WIFI or you can sit in the parking lot at Surf Market and pick up a signal. Also, the DVR didn't work -- we played movies for the kids on the Xbox.

All in all, though, a wonderful experience, lots of fun, and very relaxing.
Manager response:
Thank you for letting us know what your recent stay with us was like! It’s great to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy all that this wonderful home has to offer. Your feedback is appreciated, and taken very seriously. We have talked to the local property manager about your concerns about the wifi and was able to get some clarifying information. The internet for these properties is a little different and has a usage limit. For this reason, the owner did choose to add some restrictions. You should still be able to check personal emails, but things that stream more frequently may be blocked. In addition, AT&T does have signal in this area now. We hope to have you again soon!
William B. Jul 2016
This was a very fun house for my sons family. well laid out with very nice hot tub and games. I would highly recommend this unit.
Sarah F. Jul 2016
This house was clean and very comfortable. We hope to be back!
Justine Z. Jul 2016
Pros: Great location,close to Gualala, lovely deer and fox and raccoons. Divine master bath and the master bed was comfy

Cons: Kitchen is not as well stocked (i.e.: no salad spinner, etc), and overall the screensand air hockey table were in disrepair. Not as clean in the kitchen, Living or bedrooms as I expected.

Good for families with active kids
Kathy . Jul 2016
Staying at the house was a refreshing and relaxing North coast experience. Soaking in the hot tub was perfect. The view from the deck beyond the meadow to the ocean even included a fox.
Chris S. Jun 2016
4th time staying here....my kids and I love it!