USA Vermont Vermont Lakes Region Ludlow Listing #6151

Ludlow's Gem - Ludlow, VT

Take a Virtual Tour
67 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed 2 bedrooms  plus loft 1 bathroom No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Quaint lakefront home with a private deck, firepit, and dock!

Enjoy a picturesque glimpse of Vermont country living at this two-bedroom (plus a loft) Ludlow home, an idyllic lakefront retreat with a wrap-around deck, a small private dock for fishing or launching kayaks, and gorgeous views of Lake Pauline.

Nestled among the trees on a bank overlooking Lake Pauline, this two-level cottage is a wonderful escape for outdoor enthusiasts in every season. You'll be just steps from the lakeshore, two miles from the Okemo Valley Golf Club, three miles from Okemo Mountain Resort, and three miles north of downtown Ludlow.

With hardwood floors, comfortable furnishings, and a cozy wood stove, the living space is the picture of casual charm. Come home from a day on the water to browse the WiFi, read a novel on the plush sofa, or watch a DVD favorite on the flatscreen TV.

Use the Keurig to brew a specialty cup of coffee each morning and take a seat on the quaint front porch to read the newspaper. The full country kitchen also offers a dishwasher, a high-top table with space for four, and an adjacent dining area with a second four-person table.

Spend your summer days basking in the sun on the lakefront deck, fishing for small mouth bass on the private dock, or preparing the grill and patio table for an afternoon barbecue. There's even an outdoor firepit for your family to enjoy - the perfect place to roast marshmallows and tell ghost stories after dinner.

With two bedrooms, a loft, and one full bathroom, Ludlow's Gem will accommodate as many as six guests. On the main floor, you'll find one bedroom with a queen-size bed and one bathroom with a washer and dryer. The second floor features atmospheric pitched ceilings, one bedroom with two twin beds, and a loft with a twin trundle bed.

Whether you're searching for vibrant fall foliage, pristine summer weather, or world-class snow sports, you'll find it all in this scenic pocket of Vermont. In the beautiful winter months, guests can explore 121 trails and glades, 20 lifts, and 667 acres of skiable terrain at Okemo Mountain Resort. Come summer, the resort offers mountain biking, zipline tours, a challenge course, and 18 holes of golf.

You'll also be just minutes by boat from the Green Mountain Sugar House, a family-operated business that has been producing award-winning maple syrup (and other maple products) since 1967.

This charming Vermont home will make your dream New England vacation a reality - don't wait another minute to book your stay!

Meals & Room Tax License #MRT-10082226

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Wood stove

Kitchen & dining






Lake view


Water view





Cable : Comcast

DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player


Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing


Golf nearby

On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private



67 reviews

Bert S. Oct 2022
We've stayed at this STR 3-times now, each time for 1 week. We obviously like it. The property is very well maintained. The kitchen is well stocked with most everything you may need, The bathroom is roomy with plenty of hot water. There's a great deck with a, what looked new, gas grill, table and 4 chairs. Inside there is a small kitchen table and a larger "dining" table. The living room is large with 3 couches, woodstove, large flat-screen TV with cable. There are only 2 of us, and we literally never go upstairs, where there are 2 additional bedrooms. The only drawbacks is the bedding and trash receptacle. The mattress is a bit worn, and it was a bit uncomfortable this time. The trash receptacle is a real problem. Two trash barrels are stored in a plastic bin. The first time we stayed here, we put trash out mid-week, and a bear literally ripped the bin apart in the middle of the night. The bin was completely ruined and trash was all over the place. They came to clean it up and replaced the bin with the same kind. In bear country, you need a bear-proof trash receptacle. They are expensive, but we are now required to keep trash inside the house for several days until we leave! If you stay for only a few days, it's not a problem, but when you stay for a week or more it becomes an issue.
Manager response:
Bert, thank you for sharing your experience, we're so pleased that you are a repeat guest! It's great to hear that you found our property to be well-maintained and our kitchen well-stocked. That said, we apologize for the issue you experienced with the trash receptacle, and our local manager assured us they have presented your suggestion for a bear-proof bin to the homeowner for consideration. Additionally, your feedback on the mattress has been shared as well. We enjoyed have you as our guest and we look forward to hosting you again on your next getaway.
James G. Sep 2022
I've stayed at this location at least a dozen times. That says it all. A perfect relaxing getaway.
Matthew V. Jun 2022
Great little cottage house to relax and enjoy time together with Family/Friends
Meadow S. Feb 2022
The place was as advertised and clean. There were a few things that could be improved. First, there were 3 towels total in the house. We were a party of 4. For a place that advertises sleeping 6, you would think they would have at least that many towels. We were told that some local staff would drop off extra, but they never did. Second, the beds were really uncomfortable. Nothing that you can’t handle for a few nights, but definitely not something you would want to sleep in for longer than that. Finally, the wood box was left empty. There was a small amount in the wood shed outside, but not much, and no kindling or newspapers to help get the fire going. Have a wood stove is a nice touch, would have been better if properly equipped to enjoy it.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Meadow. We appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback! We apologize that the towels were not addressed during your stay. Local staff has been made aware of the firewood as well and they are working with the owner to restock the shed. We hope to have an opportunity to better impress you in the future!
John B. Feb 2022
This house worked out perfectly for my family of five. It was well stocked and very clean. Everything is as described and shown in the pictures. one warning for tall people. This house has low ceilings. I am short but felt like a giant in some rooms.
There were small things around the house that need to be fixed but nothing that interfered with the use of the house. Overall we would stay here again.
Manager response:
John, we are happy to hear that our home was well suited for your vacation needs and that your family had a great stay with us. We apologize for any items you found needing attention. We regret we don't have more information regarding your specific areas of concern, as we are always eager to know how we can provide our guests with a better stay. . We will follow up with our local team and hope to host you for another great stay in the future!
Irene M. Jan 2022
It was the perfect getaway for our family for the holidays. Relaxing and comfortable.
Michael H. Dec 2021
A beautiful Thanksgiving vacation! Great place to relax by the wood stove and enjoy the snow. Everything we needed was provided.
Stefanie J. Nov 2021
Perfect girlfriends weekend getaway, with everything you need, including a lake, wood stove, grill, fire pit, and washer/dryer! Very cute place that’s well maintained. Great communication with the owners.
George B. Sep 2021
Very nice small cottage perfect for two or a small family. On Lake Pauline with a great view. The place was clean with good Internet and TV. Would stay there again.
Virginia P. Aug 2021
We stayed here two years ago and loved it! We were looking forward to returning but found it was not as well maintained as before.
Manager response:
We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Our local team strives to provide every one of our guests with the best vacation possible. We are so sorry if our standards were not met during your time with us. This information has been sent to the local staff to take care of to ensure the comfort of future guests. We're looking forward to hosting you again in the future for a more enjoyable stay.
Paul M. Jul 2021
Really enjoyed our stay here. House was clean and well stocked & there’s plenty to do in the area We’ll be back!
William R W. Jun 2021
Beautiful small camp on Lake Pauline which is part of Black River.
Michael H. Nov 2020
Beautiful, clean cottage. It is a perfect place to relax- quiet and wonderful views. Everything you needed- linens, towels, pots, etc. - was there. Can’t wait to come back again!
Rebecca M. Oct 2020
This home provided us with a weekend full of great memories. Inside was very clean and comfortable. The kitchen was stocked well with pots, pans and other kitchen necessities, and the bathroom provided lots of clean towels. We enjoyed the fire pit at night and loved sitting on the deck during the day. Would love to come back and stay!
Bert S. Oct 2020
The house is wonderful - exceptionally clean and an easy drive to Ludlow center. It's on a very small lake, as the pictures show. The kitchen was well stocked, with a full refrigerator/freezer, dishwasher, electric stove, toaster (no toaster oven), and coffee maker. The living room had a woodstove, full couch, half couch and a few chairs, along with a flat-screen TV with cable. It only has one bathroom - not a problem for 2 or 3 people, but could be an issue for more. Also, it's run by a company in Oregon - I'm sure somebody local cleans the house, but getting information is difficult. I couldn't determine if there was a flue for the woodstove, and the people I contacted had no idea. It would be nice to have a local contact that know something about the house.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Bert. We are glad you enjoyed this home and we appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention. We will work with our local team to ensure the wood stove instructions are available for future guests, and we hope to host you again in the near future!
Jim G. Sep 2020
Another couple of days of relaxation away from the craziness of 2020!
James G. Aug 2020
I've rented this cottage at least four or five times. That should tell all!
Beverly J. Jul 2020
Loved this house! Very clean & well appointed - plenty of space with nice amenities, having sheets & towels provided was a huge bonus! The main road is a little close but not too noisy. Only disappointment was there were so many lily pads we couldn't swim - having some kind of dock or anchored raft to act as a "swim base" like some of the other houses here would have fixed that. Overall we had a great time!
James G. Feb 2020
Fabulous as always.
Robert P. Feb 2020
This house was just the right size for what we needed. It was very comfortable, nice area. We will return.
Nicolas M. Jan 2020
My son and I stayed there for a week while we skied. Great location, fantastic standard of building inside and out and well appointed. Would definitely go and stay there again.
Thank you for having us!!!
Daniel B. Dec 2019
Absolutely loved everything about this place. The perfect get away with family or friends. They have absolutely everything you could need.
Michael H. Oct 2019
The house was clean and well-kept. We loved the wood stove! We had a great time carving and painting pumpkins, and playing board games. Very quiet and peaceful.
Mark S. P. Aug 2019
This rental was a great experience. It was neat, clean and modern and had everything needed. My friend and I have already booked this again for next year.
Jessica W. Jul 2019
Cute place! Only down side is Rt 100 is quite close across the lake (which is small in width at this property) so when relaxing on the deck there is a good amount of traffic/noise. Otherwise very well stocked kitchen and clean. Very comfortable living area too.
CYNTHIA M. Jul 2019
Lovely, clean home on Lake Pauline with privacy yet close to the center of Ludlow. We enjoyed the deck off the back of the house and the private dock to sit and read a book and look out onto the lake. Peaceful, charming and clean!
Belkis C. Jun 2019
Our family of 5 had a very enjoyable stay at Ludlow's Gem. The house was very comfortable with one BR on the ground floor with a queen bed, a loft with a twin and trundle and a small BR next to the loft with 2 twins. The ktichen was stocked with spices, all types of pots and pans, dishes, etc. The coffee maker can be set to standard and uses filters or a Keurig style with pods. We enjoyed the peacefulness of the area. My husband caught 3 fish from the lake.
Three things to be aware of:
The WiFI connection can be a bit slow. Vermont is very buggy this time of year so bring repellent. Lastly, the unit does not have AC (although it does have heat). At night it could get a bit warm in the bedrooms. The owners coulde easily take care of this by installing ceiling fans in the sleeping areas. All in all, it was a great stay!
Martin L. Mar 2019
Great little place where hou feel like it’s your vacation home. Convenient location near the mountain away from the crowds and traffic. This was second time this year we stayed here. Hope to stay next year. Late check out is great after a day of skiing.
Hans v. Feb 2019
It was a perfect spot for our group of four -- very clean, well equipped, really cozy and close to Okemo Mountain for skiing and the town for everything else. Intending to come back in 2020.
Heather D. Jan 2019
House is very clean and beds and furniture were very comfortable.
Ron R. Sep 2018
I wish I could say that our second stay at Ludlow's Gem was as wonderful as our first. Unfortunately, it wasn't quite the case. We missed the welcome bag that we had last year, but maybe that's just for first-time renters. The house was in good shape and clean, although the sofa smelled strongly of maple syrup. (We can only imagine.)

Our biggest problem was with mold and mildew. The master bedroom smelled of mold, so much so that after our first night we had to close it up and move to the twin beds in the loft. (My wife is very allergic to molds, and was left with itchy eyes and a wheezing cough.) The bathroom also smelled strongly of mildew. I'm not sure if there is anyone to blame for this; we met some locals who said the weather had been particularly wet recently. The very shady lot may have also contributed to the dampness. Still, it put a "damper" on our stay. Perhaps a dehumidifier?

There was plenty of wood for the wood stove, but virtually no paper with which to start a fire. No matter, as the weather was disappointingly warm and a fire would have baked us.

All in all, I don't think we can fault Vacasa, but this vacation didn't measure up to the expectations set last year. We'll have to try another property next time.
Manager response:
We apologize the very humid summer caused the home to be more damp than usual The heat is on now, which will help remove the dampness, but we will be getting a dehumidifier for the home for next summer. The supplies for the wood stove had not been restocked yet as it was still too warm for a fire. We were unable to find any evidence of maple syrup on or under the couch, though we did find a candle nearby that smelled similar to syrup - we have removed it. Thank you!
Jason H. Sep 2018
Bigger towels
Amy T. Jul 2018
House is well maintained and welcoming. Great fishing on lakes Pauline, Rescue and Echo. Close to town. We would highly recommend going to American Pie for some brick oven pizza during your stay.
Gigi C. Jul 2018
The stay at Ludlow's Gem was lovely. It fit our family well. House was very comfortable. Main floor nice size; upstairs smaller than appears in pictures. I would rent again.
Only drawbacks - there were no screens on the windows in the living area - I don't know if this was an oversight by the management company or if the screens don't exist - but it would have been nice to open the windows in that room - especially when there was a nice breeze. Lake is not swimmable at this location which was fine for us because we were had lake access at my in laws place; where the entire family gathered. Would be nice if the there was a row boat or kayak available for use.
Barbara C. Jul 2018
I love till close it was to the lake like you had your own private area people were nice that road by but you really didn’t see very many now the duck families were wonderful they left their young with my grandchildren and would fly back to get them after it was an amazing place to stay I would definitely book this place again so beautiful clean well-kept and the beds were comfortable
Paul R. Feb 2018
For a family of 4-5 great location, very quaint, clean and welcoming. We loved it for our vacation.
Bryce D. Feb 2018
lovely cottage rooms very comfortable, setting beautiful, no traffic, private area kitchen well appointed, even a closet of games, TV good with cable
ample parking we had winter stay so we did not get to enjoy front porch or deck which overlooks lake view from windows in sitting room was lovely
this cottage is well cared for
Kevin N. Feb 2018
Great house, great time. Stayed here with all friends and plenty of room for 6 of us to sleep. House was cozy and warm, and great added benefit of the wood stove. Very enjoyable. Great location for us to ski Okemo and Killington. Great price. Total favorite and if going with small guy trip again, would totally look for this property.
Michael H. Oct 2017
If you're looking to get away for a couple of days, or spend a whole week, this place is right for you. The location of this property makes a perfect hub to do day trips all over the southern half of the state. However, you will definitely need a four-wheel drive vehicle during the rainy season and or snow and ice conditions.

Enjoy your stay!

Mike Howard
Olga Y. Oct 2017
We are very satisfying with this house! Stuff was very friendly and helpful!!!!!!!!!! Im definitely recommended to my friends!!!!!!!! Thank you very very much!!!!!!!!
Karen M. Oct 2017
My first opinion of the property was "Nice!" The second was, "That's a lake????" I expected from the ad about the property that it would be more isolated. Of that I was disappointed.
Having said that, I believe the house was nice, and well cared for. Suggestions: 1. Put a second railing on the stairs on the other side. Having arthritis. it was difficult to walk up the stairs with a rail on only one side. 2. Extend the current railing all the way down. In the dark, my husband fell in the dark where there steps with no support.
Pam E. Oct 2017
This little cottage is a great place for 2 or for a family of 4-6. Close in to town but yet you have good walking trips on the dirt roads right out the door...IF you haven't worn yourself out from a day's excursions of the area. Very comfy and clean place!
My only negative was the close proximity to Hwy 100. It was a challenge to sit on the deck to enjoy the lake.
Danielle N. Sep 2017
Such a cute and homey cottage on the lake. The house had anything you might need from the wood burning stove on a cool night, a well appointed kitchen (appliances, pots & pans, utensils...), games, fire pit, washer/dryer. It was a wonderful get away and we may return. Ludlow is a really cute town with many good restaurants. Just be aware that there is a fairly busy road right across the water, so if you're looking for total seclusion, this may not be it. Not a deal breaker for us.
Abby A. Aug 2017
Very nice ski-style house, managed by Vacasa (nice welcome bag, linen service, very easy check out procedure). Well-maintained outdoor spaces and lots of nice details. Rent kayaks or canoes in town and take advantage of the awesome lake--we went up to the spillway and then portaged into the larger lake to explore and swim. Lake access best for boating, swimming from the dock is a little mucky. The weather in August was perfect and amazingly, not buggy.
Timothy N. Aug 2017
This home is a perfect little cottage. It is a fully functional cozy getaway. The home sits on lake frontage, but is a little close to the highway. The road noise can be a little distracting at times. Our family enjoyed our stay at this home.
David H. Jul 2017
We enjoyed our stay in Ludlow's Gem very much. Thanks!
Chris T. Apr 2017
The house was great! Nicely furnished and felt right at home. Perfect place for a weekend getaway!
Rachel M. Mar 2017
We had a lovely time at Ludlow Gem. It is located just a couple of miles from Ludlow and Okemo. It has a lovely view of the lake, with the highway visible on the other side of the lake. The house is well furnished and clean. There were 4 of us, and it was a good size for us. Very clean, all of the amenities. The wifi worked well, but the TV/cable didn't work for us. Note that the spice drawer is a narrow cabinet between the stove and dishwasher - we didn't discover it until our last day!
Manager response:
We apologize for the disappointment this guest experienced. The Property Manager has inspected the cable and found it to be functioning correctly. We believe this may have simply been a glitch.
Bill G. Feb 2017
Love this place! I felt like home the second we walked in. Very clean and many amenities available. We look forward to returning.
Khamsay P. Feb 2017
We stayed with our two teens and it was the perfect size for the four us. I was VERY impressed with the TV media setup. We had forgotten our FireTV stick and wanted to catch up on our shows after a long day of skiing and to our surprise they had a device that allowed us to login to our Netflix account! Loved it there and will stay again :-)
Tina G. Oct 2016
Enjoyed our stay in this cozy cabin very much!
Heather C. Oct 2016
Overall I was very pleased with the property. The wood burning stove fireplace needs maintence and instructions. However the view is great and is a good distance to Ludlow, Springfield and Chester. Perfect location for foliage season and we recommend this property to someone that loves the outdoors.
Manager response:
The wood stove has maintenance scheduled, and instructions will be provided for guest use so it can be thoroughly enjoyed.
Sandra W. Sep 2016
Super quiet and quaint! If you want the New England feel you got it here! Not far from Killington about a 30 minute drive. Beautiful Home!
Tatiana . Sep 2016
It was a great experience for our small family. Nice and quiet place, exactly what we were looking for. We felt like it was our home as it was comfortable and we had everything we needed. Our LO (1,5 yrs old) inspected the place and we discovered it was dusty under the bed and behind the couches, though I was pleased that kitchen and bathroom were neat... So we hope, if we come to stay here again, it will be cleaner. Anyway, thank you for a great stay!
Samuel K. Sep 2016
It was a great mini summer getaway.
Our children enjoyed the water and the house. Very private property which was perfect for what I was looking for.
Thanks again
Arindam G. Sep 2016
very nice place to stay. had a great fun. will recommend.
Nathaniel R. Jul 2016
The cottage was charming and cute and had everything we needed for our family of 5. One thing that isn't mentioned in the description, but should be noted, is that even though it is on the waterfront on a secluded cul de sac, it's right across the pond from VT 100, which has a fair amount of traffic. It's not a deal breaker but it's not exactly pin drop silence. But the house and the value is great!
Walid E. Jul 2016
Very peaceful and quiet cozy house. Great for a small family. My little kids loved it and didn't want to leave.