USA Oregon Southern Oregon Coast Gold Beach Listing #6709

Sand Crab - Gold Beach, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
79 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms Sleeps 6 comfortably  4 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Modern Home w/ Lovely Ocean Views, Wood-Burning Fireplace & Easy Beach Access

Enjoy a quiet escape to Gold Beach with this modern home. Offering ocean views and easy beach access, up to eight guests will make long-lasting memories here!

Located on the Southern Oregon Coast just a couple miles north of Gold Beach, you'll have access to long and extremely uncrowded sandy beaches, flourishing tide pools, and hiking trails along the Rogue River. There are a number of delicious dining options and grocery stores in town, as well as beach access right across the street from this vacation rental.

The home itself is quite charming, with polished wood floors, thoughtful decor, and warm natural light streaming through walls of picture windows. Settle into comfy furniture in the main open room to relax with a book or watch the cascading ocean waves. On stormy days, huddle in front of the wood-burning fireplace and watch lightning ignite the horizon or turn on a movie on the flatscreen cable TV.

A spacious kitchen featuring stainless steel appliances and concrete counters is well-equipped for all your cooking needs - there's even a dishwasher to save you time on clean-up. Six will fit around the boat-shaped dining table for a meal together.

Two bedrooms and two full baths make this home suitable for up to eight travelers if two don't mind making use of a sofabed. Downstairs is one bedroom with one queen bed, one double bed, and a full private bath. The bedroom upstairs features a king-size bed and a full private bath with decorative tiles. This room also has access to the deck area with a view of the ocean and a staircase leading to the ground.

If you're traveling with children, please be sure to supervise them around the spiral staircase. A private washer/dryer is also available for any laundry you need to freshen up.

This home is perfect for a family or group of friends looking for a quiet getaway - walk the short distance to the sand to enjoy games and classic beach activities like building sand castles, flying kites, and taking romantic walks in the surf. In summer and fall, crabbing and clamming are popular around this area, so you might try out catching your own fresh seafood!

If you'd rather just eat the food than work for it, you can always go Spinners or Barnacle Bistro for some delicious ocean fare, among other menu items to satiate any appetite. For any early risers, breakfast at Indian Creek Cafe is a must for fueling up before the day's excursion. Whether you're soaking up sun or walking among wildlife at Otter Point State Recreation Site, your time is sure to be rejuvenating.

Treat yourself to the vacation you deserve - book today!

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Ocean view

Water view


Internet : Charter


Cable : Charter

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf nearby


Gas grill : Private


79 reviews

Marcie S. Nov 2022
Kitchen is good for wine and cheese. Family meals were hard to cook. Didn’t have much hot water for showers. Several maintenance items need work ( will provide list later). 4 adults and two kids and we ran out of TP. Freezer and fridge stopped working. We love the area but won’t come back to this house.
Manager response:
We're sorry you had some trouble during your stay and wish you had reached out for assistance. The refrigerator is in the process of being addressed by the homeowner. Thank you, Marcie!
Ronald L. Oct 2022
Great view of ocean and breaking waves from the living area. House was clean and comfortable. Not to far from town for restaurants, grocery store, etc.
Susanne H. Sep 2022
Loved all the things the House came with. It was Amazing Thank you 💕 and the Beach close by OMG 💕
Cassandra C. Dec 2021
We were looking for a relaxing getaway near the beach and we found it! This place was everything I was looking for and more. My pup appreciated the few steps to the beach, and though the weather was less than favorable while we visited, we truly enjoyed watching the lightning from the huge window panes overlooking the ocean. This place had everything that we needed and then some. We particularly appreciated the washer/dryer, nice kitchen, fireplace, and games. We would definitely stay here again!
Julie L. Nov 2021
My family and I stayed at the Sand Crab for a week long getaway. It was a fabulous house! So close to the beach. Amazing views of the water.
This house had everything that we wanted and needed. Other than the people renting the house next door who let their dogs poop in our yard…we had no issues.
A lot of other people complained about the spiral staircase. I don’t know why. It’s not a big deal and there is another set of stairs outside if you can’t manage the spiral. I think they are a unique part of this house. A lot of complaints about stained carpet as well. FYI there is new carpet in both bedrooms. A lot of negative complaints for a fabulous house.
I would definitely stay here again. If the owners ever want to sell. Please let me know!
Great house and fabulous location!
Sara B. Oct 2021
The location of this house is lovely; the house itself isn’t amazing.
Constance D. Aug 2021
Quiet, relaxing. Easy beach access. Fabulous sunsets. View was incredible. Great kitchen and plenty of counter space. Enjoyed the large, luxurious bathtub. Wonderful lounging area.
Gary H. Aug 2021
The location is awesome and the neighbors are great. The kitchen is one of the best supplied we have ever stayed at. The indoor stairway is a bit funky but nothing to worry about.
Tyson C. Aug 2021
We loved the location of this home, but the spiral staircase was very awkward to use any really made the space feel very disjointed. We also noted issues with cleanliness with very stained carpets in both bedrooms, a dirty toilet, and clumps of hair on the floor. The furniture in the living room was very uncomfortable. In the end, we decided the positive side to all of this was that it encouraged us to spend as much time as possible out enjoying the beach and the redwoods, which were both absolutely amazing!
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review, Tyson. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the home. Though we apologize for any misunderstanding regarding this listing. We make every effort to ensure our home is reflected clearly and accurately through our listing information in order for guests to make informed rental decisions. Our photos and virtual tour provide an in-depth look at the home's layout and design. We are disappointed to learn that you encountered some oversights in cleanliness. Our housekeeping team takes pride in their work, and we would have been happy to address any areas in need of additional attention during your stay had we been notified. We hope to have a chance to better serve you in the future!
Abbey B. Jul 2021
The view was amazing and great upper floor layout. Minus having to go up stairs to haul stuff, we enjoyed the space and proximity to beach access. The house inside is beautiful except the carpets in both bedrooms are horribly stained and the yard is not maintained at all.
Manager response:
Hi, Abbey! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and apologize for the state of the carpets; the earliest we can get a professional company in is September. Thanks!
David S. Jul 2021
This house offered a secluded getaway with great access to the beach. Great view of the beach, surf and sunsets!! Great neighbors...
Manager response:
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We look forward to hosting you again!
Patricia M. Jun 2021
The carpets in the bedrooms definitely needs changing. Stains everywhere. Makes the place look dirty. The fire alarms kept going off, when cooking. Even the neighbors came out and said its always a problem at this house. So don't turn on more than one burner and the oven at the same time. Other then that the place,access to the beach and the views are perfect.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us! We are so glad you had a great time! We take guest feedback seriously and have forwarded this information to the local staff so they can review and update the home as needed for future guests. We will be sure to follow up with the appropriate parties regarding your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon!
brandon f. May 2021
The view of the ocean from the lving room is what you are really looking for with this house. The beach is a short walk if you make a left on the main street. The Carpet still needs to be replaced and the windows need to be replaced in the bed rooms on the outside viewing the ocean. I think the carparts are just old stains cause the place was clean and smelled clean when we got there. One thing to keep in mind is the stairs. The spiral stairs and the outside stairs are the only way into the main living space. The first floor has tall ceilings so there are a decent amount of stairs. The outside stairs are much easier to use. Also they had a nice stack of wood for the fire place.

I think the couch and living room chair need to be replaced. They are an odd style that werent that comfortable

I enjoyed my stay and would recommend staying here.
Manager response:
Hi, Brandon, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We will be sure to pass your suggestions along to our local manager who will work with our homeowner to make necessary upgrades. We look forward to hosting you again!
Tiffany P. Nov 2020
We had a great time at Sand Crab. This is one of the best stocked homes I have ever been. We did call Vacasa about a few issues that they need to address but over all the home was wonderful with a great view and very comfortable.
Lacy E. Oct 2020
We were so looking forward to a great getaway and found ourselves very disappointed in this property. The carpets in the bedrooms are disgusting. Not only are they severely stained but the master bedroom stinks of urine so badly that we had to sleep with the window open. From the reviews and the guestbook entries it sounds like this has been a problem for awhile that hasn’t been resolved. With the money they are making renting it the carpets could easily be replaced with laminate like the rest of the home. It’s unfortunate as the house overall isn’t that bad, it just needs some work from wear. The bathrooms both have nice shower/tubs and the kitchen is well stocked with any kitchen item you would need. The fireplace is nice as well but the damper is broken and was laying on the floor. The location is the best part about this house but there are lots of other homes for rent on this same street. I would not recommend this house to family or friends.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Lacy! The carpets have been professionally cleaned, and we have replaced the fireplace dampener tool for guest use. We hope to see you again!
Rachel M. Oct 2020
It is a beautiful neighborhood , it has amazing view from livingroom, and is walking distance to a great private beach. It was ok for a few nights, but we won't rent there again. Dishes were put away dirty, Carpets were badly stained and had an odor. The main staircase is a spiral, metal staircase that is scarey. I definitely would not take young ones or older folks there.There wasn't enough room for everyone to hang out in the livingroom at once , family of 5, unless you sat at the dining table.The decor is horrible, very 90's art deco. I felt like we were in the house in beetle juice..after they remodel it... Not beachy at all. I will stay in the neighborhood again but definitely not this rental.
Manager response:
Hi, Rachel, thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention and apologize for the inconvenience. Please know that this is not the standard for our homes, as they are professionally cleaned prior to your stay and inspected the morning of your arrival so as to ensure it met our thorough standards of cleanliness. The carpets have been cleaned and please know we are happy to address any incidents as they arise. For in-home issues we encourage guests who need immediate assistance to call our 24 hour Guest Service line in order to give the local team the opportunity to promptly address concerns. We hope to have another opportunity to impress you in the future!
Phillip W. Jun 2020
Nicole P. May 2020
I REALLY wanted to like this place. The trip started off on a really bad note when, after a 7 hr drive to get there, the code we were given for the lock box didn't work. Called the help number where a recording said I would be on hold for half an hour, which was really an hour and a half while sitting outside while it was getting dark and I am a single mom and was alone with 2 children in a strange place. Next door neighbor is clearly mad to be living next to a rental property and stood in her driveway glaring at us the entire time. When we finally got through to someone (there is no way to quick bypass just for maintenance you have to go through the full number) my phone was down to 8% and I was afraid we would lose the ability to even fix this before we were stranded outside all night. I had a child with motion sickness from the drive throwing up on the street since we couldn't get in to a bathroom. The woman on the line was condescending at best. Told me she couldn't consider this an emergency cause she "works with reservations all over the world". Kept reading to me the canned lock box info that is on the app. Told her we had been trying for almost 2 hours, I didn't need her to tell me where the lock box was located. She finally double checked the number we were given and admitted we were given a wrong code- not even one number was right. When she gave me the new code I asked her to hang on while we tried it so I didn't lose the connection. She said ok then hung up anyways. Luckily the new code did work or we'd be in trouble. The house definitely looks nicer in pictures than it is. It's just quirky. Well stocked kitchen, nice appliances. The couch and chair are so uncomfy you almost can't sit on them and they need real curtains because you can't see the tv when the sun shines through the windows (which only have a mesh covering). Next day I went to open a kitchen window for a minute and the tab immediately broke off, forever locking the window in the open position. I called maintenance (same 800 number and horrible wait)- this woman was very nice and said maintenance would call me right back. 12 hours later no call so I called them again. Woman didn't acknowledge that I had called earlier and gave me the same "no problem we will have someone fix it
right away!" Again, no call, no one showed up. May on the oregon coast is still very cold! Especially at night! I ended up putting a pillow in the window to control the chill but the living room/kitchen was still now
Always to cold to spend time in it. So out of 3 nights 1 I was lift in a dangerous situation and the next 2 I was left in a freezing cold house. Don't just stay at a different house, stay with a different management company all together. If I could give my stay zero stars I would. I can't believe how much I paid to be treated like this.
Manager response:
Hi, Nicole! Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. We apologize your visit was not more enjoyable. The codes have been updated, and the window is scheduled to be looked at. We hope to have a chance to impress you in the future!
Carin H. Oct 2019
Before we arrived I was contacted by property manager stating that refrigerator was not working properly. There was a small fridge instead that was very inconvenient. The electric stove top was very dirty and I had to scrub it before using it. The washing machine had black mold and so did the shower curtain in bathroom. The carpet in master had lots of stains and the blinds did not function properly. Windows in the living were in need of a cleaning and there was a loose screen. The place needs paint and there is molding missing and the whole house could use deep cleaning. There were dirty dishes in the pantry. The furniture is well worn and the concrete counter tops have seen their better days. We were asked to do laundry and put dishes in dishwasher, but first we had to buy detergent for both machines. There was trash in the front yard and and it looked unkempt.
Manager response:
We are sorry that you were disappointed, Carin. We have let our local staff know of your feedback to make sure that they are addressing anything that may need to be addressed in the home. We always want to make sure that our home are living up to the highest standards for all of our guests and your review helps to make sure we are doing that.
Mike S. Aug 2019
This house is off the main road, so there is basically no traffic all day long. Short walk down the road and you are at the beach. Hour and half drive to Bandon and Coos Bay ... loved it
Danielle B. Aug 2019
Broken, unusable front door knob, Windows that don't stay open, Trash smell, Not especially clean, Stained carpets, that's not all. Genuinely feel taken advantage of by staying here. Wished we would've stayed in a hotel. Not worth the final price. Watch for all the added fees!
Manager response:
We are sorry to read your were dissatisfied, Danielle. We have cleaned the carpets but were unable to detect any issues with the door knob or windows. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Paul L. Aug 2019
4 of us climbed Mt Humbug (30 miles up the coast) and we used this house as a base. Very clean and comfortable. Nice bathrooms. Good view of ocean.
Anthony R. Jun 2019
Used as home base to explore the southern Oregon coast
Matt B. Apr 2019
Close to the beach. Nice home.
Patrick Y. Feb 2019
Beautiful ocean views!!! Well stocked kitchen so it was great to cook there 😁
Easy beach access!!
Ross F. Jan 2019
Tall house provides great views of the ocean waves. Nice modern decor and art throughout. Functional kitchen even had an espresso maker in the cabinet. That view comes with lot's of stairs. It took our dog a day to figure out how to walk down the indoor spiral staircase. There is a straight set of stairs outside off of the deck.
Derek G. Dec 2018
Wonderful views, easy beach access, very quiet area, house well stocked. Starting the day with a cup of coffee and this view... is a great way to start any day !!!!
Lynn R. Oct 2018
Beautiful views,quiet neighborhood, well equipped home. Needing some TLC (worn out carpets, some furniture etc) but still a nice retreat.
Sharon G. Sep 2018
Great view and beach access! The kitchen was well stocked.
Melissa W. Sep 2018
The house was nice. The cleaning service was a little lacking. I’m not a neat freak, but the towels should be dry & the cookware should be clean. Other than that it was a great house.
Barbara A. Jul 2018
Location, vistas, good internet, comfortable living area and excellent shower. Convenient to town and outdoor recreation.
Michael C. Apr 2018
I rented Sand Crab for the Easter Weekend for me, my daughter, my son in law, and my 2 granddaughters. My Daughter, Son in law and the two girls slept downstairs in what I assume is the Master bedroom because of the attached bathroom with the large tub. Up stairs is the Living room with fireplace, they supply the wood, cable TV, dining room, fully equipped kitchen, with all the dishes and cooking utensils you would need. There's also a washer and dryer, with soap and dyer sheets, and the second bedroom with King size bed. All bedrooms have cable TV.
There were plenty of towels, dishes, pots and pans. pretty much everything you need except the groceries. There's even a balcony, grill and garage and it comes with amazing Gold Beach sunsets right out the living room window.
I will definitely rent again and refer anyone who would ask.
Great house, Great staff, great location
Mary C. Mar 2018
Only way to access either spiral staircase or outside steps nice views once inside
Tom N. Feb 2018
The house was very nice and comfortable. Had good view of water and very quiet. The only bad thing is all the stairs. If you like stairs this is the place, but if you can not do stairs this is not the place.
Levi W. Feb 2018
Great location, great view, fully stocked and beautiful home! Will be back.
Sheree A. Jan 2018
Wonderful time was had by all. Great place to enjoy the ocean and beach!!
Birte H. Dec 2017
Stayed here in September '15 and December '17, loved both times.
Diana B. Nov 2017
Newer, modern home nicely equipped with artistic touches and beautiful view of the ocean. Perfect for a couple as the master and the rest of the living area is all on the second floor. Highly recommended for couple seeking a quality beach experience.
Charlotte L. Oct 2017
this is a lovely home and worth a visit, the ocean view is amazing,The Oregon coast is one of the most beautiful in the world.
Theresa C. Oct 2017
It rained pretty much the entire weekend, but the house had a beautiful view and every amenity we could want, which made it extremely comfortable.
Larry R. Oct 2017
Kurt H. Oct 2017
This was more than we expected for the price furnished wonderfully everything we needed. We will be back again soon hopefully!
Lisa B. Sep 2017
Gold beach is a really nice community. We stayed in this home for four nights and really enjoyed our stay. The home is comfortable and in a nice location. Beautiful sunsets.
Sue C. Sep 2017
This property is nice for 2 healthy couples or a family. It has a steep spiral staircase a few steps beyond the downstairs bedroom with en suite bath. Living area and other bedroom upstairs. Living space is small, but kitchen laid out nicely. Expanded seascape views from second floor. Property had nice finishes; however, it is a very well worn home. Carpets were stained, there were chips in the concrete countertops. The way the TV is mounted upstairs caused uncomfortable viewing. The pros for the property are its location; peaceful surroundings; easy beach access; and the privacy of the bedroom/bath areas.
Manager response:
We have plans to mount the TV on a new wall mount that can be adjusted for height preferences. The concrete counters will also soon be sanded and re-cemented. Thank you!
Ulrike M. Aug 2017
It is a wonderful place to stay if you enjoy nature and wish to retreat from the busier side of the South Oregon coast.
Melissa T. Aug 2017
We stayed a weekend with my 5 year old son, my mom, step dad and brother. Overall the house was pretty great. The soaking tub downstairs was amazing. I wouldn't recommend this house for elderly people or those who don't handle stairs well. The spiral staircase is pretty steep and the majority of the living quarters is all upstairs. It was nice two have a bit of separation with two families. It's a very short walk to a nice beach and the view from the deck is beautiful. All in all we had a very pleasant stay.
Nuvia R. Aug 2017
Beautiful house rental! This house rental's location is stunning right next to a beach where you only see a few locals taking morning walks. Walking into the living room is like a dream come true, we loved how open it is and the view from upstairs. The house had a very modern and secluded feel to it. The house fit 8 comfortably. Highly recommend, easily my top pick from my 2 week Oregon Trip.
Anna O. Aug 2017
The beach is nice! Hard to find a good restaurant. Bandon is a good place for shopping!!
Renee R. Jul 2017
This house would be perfect for all younger adults. I had young children and older people with me and it was hard with the spiral stairs. We did bring baby gates as someone suggested which was very helpful. The only key we had was to the front door, which made it a little difficult to lock and unlock the door since we had the spiral stairs case blocked off. The view was beautiful, but the windows were hard to see out of.
Jodi S. Jun 2017
This house was perfect for two couples traveling together. We enjoyed the view, the house was updated, locked the decor.
Gloria B. May 2017
This is an excellent home to enjoy the ocean views and sunsets. The spiral stairs are a little hard for us older folks, so probably wouldn't return. Great place for a family or younger couples.
Nicole M. Apr 2017
The views from this home were absolutely stunning. The house has an indoor fireplace and firewood was provided for us -- a really nice touch. The decor and furnishings were modern and comfortable. We were a short drive into town, but far enough out to have the beach to ourselves most of the time. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

A few things to mention though: The living room is a little on the small side. For our family, this worked -- we had 2 adults and a baby -- but it might get a little squishy with a full house. Also, as far as we could tell, the provided key only worked on the downstairs door (which leads to the somewhat hazardous-seeming spiral staircase previous reviewers have mentioned.) With two older dogs, we chose to avoid the spiral staircase and go down the regular staircase on the outside of the house instead... so lacking a key to the door at the top of the outside stairs was a little inconvenient. (Someone had to lock the top door from the inside and then go down the spiral stairs, which we kept blocked off with stacked furniture.)

All in all though, this was a great apartment and I would definitely recommend it for a quiet weekend retreat.
Teresa F. Apr 2017
I wish we could say more. We spent most of our time fishing. We really didn't have time to enjoy the home. The beds were very comfortable and the home was very clean and organized. The ocean view was amazing. We would definitely stay there again.
Melissa F. Apr 2017
the house was in a great location, beautiful view of ocean.
Orlando V. Apr 2017
My fiance and I wanted a getaway place for the weekend to celebrate my birthday. I found this place and can't say enough of how accommodating it was. From the heated bathroom floors to the well equipped kitchen, we didn't want to leave. The night we arrived it had been storming for some time. However, it made for one of the best, if not the greatest sunsets we both have ever seen. I absolutely will do my best to make it back to this location and would recommend it to anyone. The only suggestion I would give to the property owner is to install blinds in the living room for added privacy. However, if you don't mind the openness, it's perfect.
Kristine F. Apr 2017
We enjoyed our stay here at this house. The view is fantastic, the kitchen is well-stocked and I loved cooking meals during the week we were here. The beds are very comfortable and we loved the short walk to the ocean.
Susan G. Mar 2017
Nice place generally, beautiful view, lots of windows, comfortably furnished. Good kitchen, nicely outfitted. The only drawback is the very steep metal spiral staircase that is awkward to haul things up and down from. It was raining and not warm, so using the outside stairs wasn't a good idea.
Nicole A. Mar 2017
I enjoyed cooking in the house and did alot of it. The well equipped kitchen made that possible. My favorite place i have to say was in front of the fire place. I fell asleep in the living rm enjoying that fire and woke to at least 3 inches of snow outside.. That didn't stop my son and his friend from venturing out on the beach. Probly more of reason to head to the beach. Lol Jus another great part of my Son's birthday weekend at this house. I set out to give him a great coastal weekend and the house did not dissapoint. : )
Dee L. Feb 2017
Not a child frindly place, if you do bring one be sure to have tall gate handy to block the staircase. Very clean & comfy.
Kellie B. Jan 2017
Had a wondreful time. Home was very comfortable and inviting. Would recommend to others.
Mary K. Jan 2017
Close enough to the beach, to modern for my tastes.
Ian H. Jan 2017
The current view is great although it looks like a property is being built in front.The location is very quiet, the furnishings need to be replaced ie the hide a bed. Sleeping 8 is possible but not comfortable.
Roger N. Nov 2016
Beautiful property which was well maintained and well equipped for our extended stay.
The property location was perfect for relaxation and provided numerous opportunities to take long walks on a beautiful oceanfront.
Well managed property and we really enjoyed our stay.
Tony C. Nov 2016
We loved all the windows in the home! The beautiful kitchen was well supplied! The heated floors in the bathroom was a treat.
Machelle S. Oct 2016
This is our first time to the southern Oregon Coast and I am already planning our next trip, there is so much more to explore and the Sand Crab is the prefect location has home base. The house is just the right size for a couple and yet enough space another couple could join and there is still be plenty of room. Loved being able to watch the waves and the sunset from the deck, dinning room table or the living room couch. The kitchen was equipped with every appliance even some I have never seen or used. The heated bathroom floors were wonderful!! The only things I would suggest adding would be some other type of extra curtains mainly for privacy reasons, update the bedroom comforter set for the king bed and I would have a contractor look into changing the spiral stairs, they are a really awesome feature but not easy to go up or down with your arms full.