Virtual Tour
USA Vermont Lake Champlain Islands North Hero Listing #2444

Escape to Jiggerhouse Point - North Hero, VT

13 reviews
Max occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 4 bedrooms 1.5 bathrooms No pets 
138 Jigger House Point, North Hero, VT 05474

Sunny, lakefront property w/spacious yard, vintage charm, easy state park access

This lovely vacation home on the shores of Lake Champlain will delight the whole group! With plenty of space and the lake right outside, this is a perfect place for vacation memories.

This lakefront home is right on Lake Champlain. North Hero State Park lies to the north and west, offering easy proximity to gorgeous scenery and hiking.

Lovingly cared for and updated since it was built in the 1850s, the house feels sophisticated and rustic at the same time, with wooden accents, a brick fireplace, and quaint decor. Curl up with your loved ones and watch a DVD on the flatscreen TV, or log onto the WiFi to upload pictures of your beautiful surroundings. Don't spend too much time online though - take the opportunity to break out the board games, of which there are some for both children and adults, and spend some quality time with your nearest and dearest!

The kitchen is bright and open, with plenty of chopping space and wooden cabinets. Brew some fresh coffee to help yourself wake up, then prepare a delicious Sunday brunch. When you're done cooking, a dishwasher helps with the cleanup. If you caught fresh fish in the lake, consider heading to the deck outside where there's a gas grill.

There are four bedrooms, making plenty of space for eight guests. Two bedrooms have plush queen beds, while the other two have two twins apiece, making this home ideal for families traveling with children. Don't worry about keeping up your supply of clean linens - there's a washer and dryer.

Spend afternoons on the lake, fishing and swimming. Go hiking in North Hero State Park, making sure to look out for white-tailed deer and the map turtles that nest along the beaches. Bring along your binoculars - there's a lot of birdwatching opportunities!

Though intended for transport, many people ride the Lake Champlain ferries just for the ride. Rent a kayak and get out on the water, or visit the Island Craft Shop Cooperative for some beautiful items made by local artisans. If you're feeling peckish, grab a quick lunch at Hero's Welcome Bakery, Cafe & Deli - the sandwiches are excellent, and the shop itself is always popular.

The whole family will appreciate the chance to relax and spend some time in the great outdoors at this wonderful Vermont vacation rental.

Meals & Room Tax License #MRT-10082226

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Board games

Children's games

Features

Fireplace

Washer/dryer : Private

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Microwave

Media

Internet

Cable

TV

Wireless router

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Patio

Scenic

Water view

Waterfront

13 reviews

Jared D. Jun 2019
This house has so much potential, but the poor maintenance and upkeep makes it inhabitable. Just a few highlights:

The house was filled with large black ants - we could count 20+ at any given time.

The beach area was overgrown and filled with poison ivy. I spent one full afternoon in long gloves and a tyvek suit I bought from a hardware store ripping it out so the kids could safely get to the water.

Poor landscaping and maintenance made the house appear vacant and attracts a massive number of bugs. We initially thought house had been abandoned. Everything is overgrown and uncared for.

Rear deck/patio furniture/grill/hammock is unusable. The rear deck is disintegrating and my daughter ended up with a few nasty splinters before we made shoes a requirement. There was no supplied patio furniture. The hammock is rotten and filled with spiders and grass clippings. Nothing was blown or brushed off.

The plumbing was also gurgling when we arrived, and completely backed up within 24 hrs.

The Vacasa staff was the saving grace. They were attentive, polite and capable. They ended up finding a nearby, similar place and moved us, but did everything they could to resolve the issues at this one first.

I'm happy to provide more details and photos to anyone interested. I wanted to fall in love with this place. The Hero Islands are amazing, and we had a great experience on the islands despite the houses condition. I hope it gets fixed up and repaired, the location is beyond perfect.
Donovan G. Apr 2019
The place was great, well kept and on the water. My family really enjoyed the break.
My only complaint was that the WIFI and TV service did not work and that we were not able to contact someone to have it fixed.
Manager response:
Hello Donovan, We are glad that you enjoyed this home overall. We are sorry to hear that you had issues with the wifi - we have since confirmed it is working. Please do note that there is no cable service for this home. We hope to host you again!
Salvatore C. Feb 2019
This house was perfect for our 15th annual ice fishing weekend. The attached garage let us organize our gear out of the weather, and the roomy mud room with washer and dryer was great for dropping our boots and coats. The house was roomy and we spent a few relaxing nights by the fireplace in the living room. The kitchen had all we needed to prepare meals, and the large dining room table was great for eating and playing cards. We are already looking forward to coming back next year.
Phil J. Jul 2018
The home’s location is outstanding on the north east end of north hero island. Moreover, very cozy comfortable house with everything you’d need including decent wifi. We docked our boat at a very nearby marina and enjoyed hours of magnificent boating on lake Champlain. The house has a huge yard to play frisbee, the beach is pretty cool and the water is relatively free of any under water weeds. We’re definitely coming back!
Courtney M. Aug 2017
This was a beautiful piece of property and the lake front was absolutely gorgeous. We had a blast fishing with the kids right out the back door and enjoying fires at night by the water side. The home was clean and nice and roomy but most of the windows were missing screens so we couldn't open them for a breeze and there were no air conditioners either. Also, the gas grill does not work but there was a charcoal grill - just make sure to bring your own charcoal. Our last gripe was that there was only one shower and the tub didn't plug up so we couldn't give the kids baths. Also the shower head was extremely loose and pointed at the wall so it was difficult to take a shower and the shower curtains need to be replaced. This is a very nice home on a beautiful piece of property but there are a few improvements that could be made to make it a more comfortable stay. Overall we had an enjoyable long weekend, North Hero is a great little town!
Manager response:
We will suggest to the owner to provide screens for the windows. The gas grill was found to be working fine, and we have supplied a plug for the bath tub. Thank you!
Leslie K. Jun 2017
This house was great for a long weekend for our three-generation family stay. The kids loved playing on the beach and flying a kite on the lawn. The inside was comfy, bright, and airy for anyone who didn't want to be outside. And we lucked out with good weather for meals together on the deck. Great biking, good birding, and swimming right from the house. Would come again! Next time, I'd try to drive less and spend more time at the house or biking from the front door. (Though biking the Colchester Causeway and taking the bike ferry was a great experience; the drive was worth it!)

Only minor issue to be aware of is that the stairs are tough to navigate for anyone who has mobility issues, and the only shower is a clawfoot tub upstairs. This presented a bit of a challenge for my mother-in-law. The downstairs bedroom has an attached half bath.
Etay C. Sep 2016
The place is beautiful, the deck was great, the grill was great, kitchen and living room amazing, but mattress wasn't comfortable at all
Sarah K. Aug 2016
We enjoyed our stay (4 adults, 3 kids) at Jigger housepoint very much. Peacefully started the day, great location directly at the lake, direct access into lake but important to bring watershoes and if available kanues/kajak. there is a kajak to use which is awesome but only for 2 people, and to go swimming it is better to paddle a little off shore. Great sandy beach at Alburgh Dune state park approx 15 min drive. Great Generalstore in North Hero. Make reservations if you like to rent kajaks to make sure they are available/ tours are going out if you take a tour.
House is well equipped for cooking, for washing bring your detergent.
There is a fireplace at the lake on the stones - great to chill out in the evenings.
Cheryl M. Jul 2016
The views were great and having the beach was wonderful because we had young grandchildren. It was a relaxing and enjoyable two weeks.
Kathy I. Jul 2016
A great piece of property with a wonderful beach and view. very quiet. neighbors were not a problem. old farmhouse with rustic charm. wonderful getaway.
Paul B. Feb 2016
Great views of the lake