Virtual Tour
USA Oregon The Columbia Gorge Hood River Listing #29071

Cascade Avenue Classic - Hood River, OR

2 reviews
Max occupancy: 8 3 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 2 bathrooms Dog-friendly 
801 Cascade Ave, Hood River, OR 97031

Dog-friendly downtown home w/ a nice yard & easy Gorge & Mt. Hood access!

This charming 1905 home is the ideal spot from which to visit and explore Hood River and the beautiful Columbia River Gorge. Downtown Hood River, with its great selection of shops, cafes, breweries, wine bars, and galleries is an easy two-minute stroll from the home. The rental itself has accommodations for up to eight lucky guests plus a comfortable living room and a well-equipped kitchen. Outside, you will find a large patio, perfect for sharing an evening dinner together or just relaxing with a glass of wine.

What’s nearby:
Hood River and the Columbia River Gorge offers visitors so much to see and do! Head down to the Columbia River to launch your stand-up paddleboard or kayak at Hood River Waterfront Park. The region is world-famous for its windsurfing, but outdoor enthusiasts will find a host of other activities to choose from including sailing, mountain biking, and hiking. And during the winter months, Mt. Hood Meadows Ski Resort is just 35 miles away.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
The family dogs are welcome to join you here

Property permit ID: STR #424

AMENITIES

Activities

Board games

Children's games

Features

Central AC

Washer/dryer : Private

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Charter

TV

Cable : Charter

DVD player

Wireless router

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Patio

Enclosed yard

2 reviews

Benjamin B. Jan 2020
Super comfortable and roomy. Great spot from which to get up into the mountains.
Talia B. Nov 2019
This house is situated brilliantly, and that is most of what I can say for it.

First off it smells like cat pee or something else mixed with the smell of weird food. The whole house has a smell, and it was very difficult to sleep. My kids asthma was really bad. They had a cleaning crew come in and try to fix it but it clearly did nothing. There was a huge stain next to the bed which looked really disgusting and they cleaned that but part of it still remains and stains the hardwood floors. Based on the smell I'm guessing it's some form of urine. Spent a lot of money on candles and use used up an entire can of Febreze.

Everything is old and gross and it looks like a group of college students just moved out and left behind things. There was an old brush with hair in it in the cabinet, there was toilet paper in the toilet and food in the sink strainer.

The property manager came and fixed the shower heads on the second day, which was great, but neither bathroom vents work, and the bathrooms are super foul. There was a weird stain in one, and the cleanliness was gross. We also found out that the hot water in the shower upstairs will periodically turn itself on, so you have to super crank it closed but sometimes you come home to no hot water because it's been pouring out for a while. Oh and the metal thing around the shower head upstairs keeps popping off.

I found a used tooth flosser on the floor, which I had assumed what's my husband's until I found out he hadn't brought any, so that was great. It complimented the kibble under the chair.

We killed cockroaches and only realized it was a problem when we started killing a bunch. One walked across some sort of line on the floor and then curled up and died, which I assume means that they know there was a pest problem and had sprayed for it, but my four-year-old suitcase was across the spray line and now I'm terrified I got it all over her.

It was so gross we didn't use the kitchen. That being said just the outside looks like hell and some of the cabinets look like they've been in a frat house.

We stuck a whole load of laundry into the washing machine on the second night only to realize that the door was broken and held together with Scotch tape. This meant that we had a big batch of clothing that we had to bring to the laundromat. It's not only cost us money, it cost a bunch of time to be going back and forth doing laundry which is not at all what we wanted to do on our vacation. It's part of why we spent money on a house that had a washer dryer.

I've worked with Vacasa a few times and always loved them, which keeps me coming back, but no longer. I worked with local property manager, but only got the cleaning cost back, which did not make up for the day at the laundromat on a trip across the country, my complete lack of sleep, etc.
Manager response:
We appreciate you taking the time to share such a thorough review with us so we know where we can best make improvements for the satisfaction of our guests. You were the first reservation for this home since it joined our portfolio, and your comments are extremely valuable. We were very happy to send staff to assist you during your stay and appreciate you allowing us to help. The home does have an older smell we believe will dissipate with active use, and we are actively working with the owner to make improvements to the home. Thank you!