Virtual Tour
USA California Southern California Idyllwild Listing #4272

Bear's Den - Idyllwild, CA

41 reviews
Max occupancy: 8 2 King Bed, 2 Futon 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom Dog-friendly  4WD/traction may be required in winter
53670 Country Club Dr, Idyllwild, CA 92549

Dog-friendly mountain home w/ hot tub, great views & more!

Get out of the city and head to the beautiful country from this two-bedroom, pet-friendly Idyllwild vacation rental. With a private hot tub, mountain views, and plenty of space for your whole group, this cozy home offers a refreshing escape from city congestion.

Located west of Highway 243, the home sits in a secluded wooded area with plenty of undisturbed nature just outside your doors. If you’re looking for more action, just a mile north lies Idyllwild’s town center, in which there are eclectic gift shops, quaint cafes, and entertainment venues.

With a wraparound outdoor deck, knotty pine walls and cabinets, high ceilings, forest-themed decor, and even a free-standing fireplace, this home exudes plenty of cabin character. Start a fire in the living room's fireplace and settle into the couch, a rocking chair, or comfy recliner to enjoy a DVD while the fire warms the room. You could also use the home’s WiFi to plan your next hike in the San Jacinto wilderness, freshen up dirty clothes in the washer/dryer, or take a relaxing soak in the private hot tub out back.

When you get hungry, head into the kitchen to whip up a feast using modern appliances and a variety of cookware. Share meals with your group at the four-seat dining table, or if the weather calls for it, dine al fresco on the wraparound deck at a glass-top table with seating for four. Take in the gorgeous mountain views as you dine, then play a fun game of horseshoe in the horseshoe pit. You could even fire up the gas grill and enjoy fresh-grilled steaks, burgers, or other great barbecue while you're here!

Retire for restful slumber after a full day of mountain activities. Up to eight guests are accommodated on king-size beds in two bedrooms and additional sleeping space is provided on one futon and one extra mattress. Warm and cozy with quilted bedding, carpeted floors, shaded windows, and nightstands with reading lamps, the bedrooms will deliver a great night’s sleep to all vacationers.

Can't bear the thought of leaving the family dogs at home during your Idyllwild escape? With a small nightly fee your well-behaved canines can come along!

Wake up refreshed and ready for new adventures which could include a day of bombing down local singletrack on a guided mountain bike tour with The Hub Cyclery. Some guests may prefer learning about the area’s ecology and natural history at the Idyllwild Nature Center two miles north, or trekking through wilderness on the Mt. San Jacinto Summit Trail, which begins 11 miles north.

There are also fun live music performances and stand-up comedy shows at the Rustic Theater one mile up the road, and a variety of watersports, such as fishing, kayaking, boating, and stand-up paddle boarding, are only eight miles south at Lake Hemet.

If you're in the mood for a day trip, drive 22 miles west to Hemet for museums, shopping, and other attractions in the heart of San Jacinto County. Kids will love playing in interactive exhibits at the Fingerprints Youth Museum, and the whole family will adore learning about dinosaurs that once roamed in the area at the Western Science Center. You could also catch a performing arts show at the Ramona Bowl Amphitheater, rent a boat and explore Diamond Valley Lake, or hike, bike, and trek even more nature trails around the town.

Come ready to jump into a variety of mountain activities and find maximum relaxation in this pet-friendly Southern California vacation rental. Book it today!

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Features

Fireplace

Washer/dryer : Private

Wood-burning fireplace

Propane/gas home : Propane

Space heater

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Time Warner

Cable

DVD player

TV

VCR

Wireless router

Outdoor

Hot tub : Private

Gas grill : Private

Balcony

Deck

Patio

41 reviews

Olver G. Sep 2018
The cabin was lovely and cozy. Our family enjoyed the cabin so much. We played board games, grilled burgers, and enjoyed the hot tub. I would have rated the cabin 5 stars, but the beds were too firm. Overall, the place is wonderful and I recommend it to anyone who wants to have a peaceful time in Idyllwild.
Carol L. Sep 2018
We very much enjoyed our stay at Bears Den. We especially enjoyed the hot tub under the pines. The unit was exactly as pictured. The only negative was that the beds are a little bit firm. Other than that everything was great.
Dove L. Jul 2018
This is a favorite cabin of mine to stay at while enjoying Idyllwild. Everything was lovely as usual. I would, however, like to recommend a bed topper for the beds as they are perhaps a little too firm. Otherwise we just simply enjoyed the cabin! Really enjoyed the fridge upgrade this trip. 💗👏🏽
Alberto G. Jun 2018
The cabin was a relaxing and good sleep achievement.
Casey L. Jun 2018
Love the quaint cabin with stained glass windows. It was a nice walk to the local brew pub and so beautiful and cozy. Love the secluded hot tub.
Jacob B. Jun 2018
Loved the large, comfy beds and the hot tub!!!
Catherine A. Jun 2018
We liked the location close to town and surrounded by trees. The cabin was clean and cozy, but a few things were missing. There was a fabric shower curtain, but we had to buy a shower curtain liner since there wasn't one. Also, only one roll of toilet paper, no medium to large glassware, no potholders to get hot food out of the oven or microwave, no TV channels available (cable not hooked up or working) and a reading lamp in the living room would've been helpful. Not sure why those things were missing, but hopefully they will be provided for the next guests. We enjoyed our stay overall anyway.
Manager response:
We are sorry to see there were some inconveniences with this stay. The shower curtain and liner have been taken care of, we have added potholders, and the owners will be working on various improvements throughout the coming months. We inspected the cable and found it to be working as it should. Guests are always welcome to call for assistance with these matters during their reservations so we can help make their time more enjoyable. Thanks!
Chris M. May 2018
Stayed 2 nights. Pluses: Close to town, fenced yard for dogs, nice hot tub. Minuses: Dated mid-60's home, no updated features, but complete. Final opinion: I would go again, but my wife probably would not and would want to try another home.
LAURA D. Mar 2018
convenient and charming, fenced yard a real plus. Quiet and serene.
Tom D. Feb 2018
It is very close to town. About 1.5 miles.
Karen T. Nov 2017
The location and amenities were perfect and the yard is very safe for dogs.
Jessica A. Nov 2017
We enjoyed our seamless stay. It was worth getting the jacuzzi for late and early morning dips. Light a fire and snuggle up.
Neal L. Nov 2017
Very quiet but close to town center. We were able to ride directly to great mountain biking trails at the Hub. Used the great hot tub every day. Thanks for a great vacation.
Lisa N. Oct 2017
Bear's Den was cute and cozy. We enjoyed the location --just a 1.5 mile walk into Idyllwild's main shopping and dining area. The hot tub was great. Oddly, the power was out when we arrived back from hiking on our last day. We decided to check out instead of wait to get it fixed.
Laura A. Sep 2017
Had an amazing time at this cabin!
Benjamin T. Sep 2017
Great place
Howard K. Aug 2017
Very well located to walk to town and close to shuttle for the " Jazz in the Pines" festival. Definitely, will stay again next year.











































j
Andrea D. Jun 2017
The cabin gets very warm, however we found a lot of ways to stay cool. We ate at the table outside for meals and cracked the windows and let the fans spill. There is a slight ant problem but some traps were provided. The decor is very cute and there are a lot of towels and blankets and never felt like we didn't have anything we needed. A few more bowls would have been nice for those who like to cook. We also used the blender to make smoothies. The location of the cabin is super convenient for climbing spots, downtown area, hiking, etc.
Kienan H. May 2017
This place is OK, but I won't stay here again. The grass/weeds in the backyard were waist high and infested with ticks. Found two on my dog on the first day. There were ants in the kitchen when we got there. The hot tub's headrests were all broken but at least the water was clean. Overall, this place just needs some tlc. A little elbow grease and it would be a pretty comfortable stay. We had a good time on our weekend in Idyllwild while staying here but that is because we spent most of our time out of the cabin. If this is your only option to visit this town I'd say go for it, if there are some other cabins available, jump on them.
Wanhee S. Jan 2017
I loved the location and atmosphere of this cabin.
It is a very cozy place to stay with family or friends.

First of all, a spider welcomed us on the sofa and it was ok....

However, both of the wall heaters in the bedrooms were not working and one of the small radiator was not working properly and it just turned off middle of the night.

Internet was not working and I contact customer service. They said it was because of the previous storm and they would call me back after contacting the property manager.
I've waited 2 hours and then they said be patient and it was not their fault. I totally understand.

What I was very frustrated was they never called me back or let me know it couldn't be fixed.
The day after the first night, I called again and property manager called me back and he said he would call me back after calling Time Warner Cable. He never called me back.

It is ok for me to stay there without wifi. BUT! I wish they could let customer know that it's not working rather than wait until they figure out.

On the other hand, if you plan to stay with many people there, be sure that intervals between people when they take shower.
Hot water runs for about 30 minutes and you have to wait 30-45 min to use how water again.

I loved the kitchen and equipment they have and hot tub was very fun.

However, I wouldn't recommend or stay there again.
Manager response:
We apologize for the disappointments this guest experienced during their reservation. There are two space heaters in the bedrooms; the Property Manager has tested them and found them to be functioning properly. The internet was down in the area due to the storm; we apologize for any miscommunication that occurred with these guests regarding getting the internet up and running again. The home has a 40 gallon water heater that will last for about an hour. We would like to suggest that, due to the drought, our guests take shorter showers.
Lisa C. Jan 2017
We enjoyed our stay in this cabin. The beds were very comfortable and the hot tub was SO nice. The kitchen has all of the necessary supplies and the fireplace in the middle of the living room was very warm and cozy. Thanks!
Christine B. Jan 2017
This is an older cabin/home, but has enough charm to make it cozy. The hosts left a nice amount of split wood next to the fireplace for our use - which we did use everyday of our stay! We took some fire logs with us and used both for a longer, more even and steady fire. Both bedrooms are quite large, but if two couples plan to stay - there isn't really proper seating in the living room. Only one large chair and love seat, no couch. The backyard is large and fenced, our dog absolutely loved running around in the snow! The hot tub is older, but large and works well. It was clean and ready to use when we checked in. Huge plus to have access to a washer and dryer, but be advised they did not supply laundry detergent (or dish soap for the dish washer) so if you plan to do some laundry be sure to come prepared. There are a lot of kitchen items for your use, pretty mishmash and older, but all usable and nice to have if you are staying for a few days. The neighborhood was quiet and very close to town. Overall, it was a nice roomy mountain home in a nice community where you can relax, enjoy the mountain air from the deck during the day and cuddle up to a cozy fire in the evening.
Susan B. Dec 2016
Great place to stay. It was perfect for our little group. Would definitely go back.
Lou T P. Nov 2016
We had a great birthday weekend up in idyllwild while a short but slushy snowstorm hit. Super fun to go in the hottub at night and look at the stars while bits of snow fall off the pine trees onto us. We celebrated a birthday weekend and it couldnt have been a more comfortable environment to just chill n get away. Tons of blankets, the fireplace was always burning, kitchen had all the essentials so we could cook in. The mattresses on the beds were very comfortable.
Only thing id recommend - if you're going during snowy seasons, bring chains for your tires. We had an incident getting up there that was treacherous. If we had chains, we would have had a way easier time.
Overall, amazing little vacation. We would stay again.
CB M. Oct 2016
Our stay was great! Very clean and extras provided came in handy. We plan to return again. Thank you
Matt J. Aug 2016
Great, peaceful location and comfortable, roomy cabin. Would definitely rent again!!!
Richard B. Jun 2016
We would return but in the cooler months because the property has no a/c and with temperatures in the high 90 it was diffucult.
Robert H. Jun 2016
well for starers the location was not the best. that one is more my fault then theirs. If i wanted something more remote I should have looking into it more. But as we went around the property to check things out. we were between disgusted and eh we can deal with it. for one thing when you advertise pet friendly. the yard should be a little keeped up. the grass well weeds were about 3 feet tall. there was no way I was taking my dog out there and have it end up with flee's or ticks. so we had to take the poor thing out front in the driveway. not sure the neighbors were too happy about that. then the reason we had a dog was our friend is blind and has a guide dog. and that brings me to my next point. the railing on the back porch was so badly taken care of that she keep getting splinters. Finally she just would not go out there anymore after the first day. then when we took a look at the grill it was so discussing we just went and bought one. so we could cook out in the mountains and not ruin our vacation. the house it's self was clean but in poor shape. ants were every were. but to be fair I could see they were tryng to take care of that. The floor had stains on it. in which we are ok with its a pet friendly place. was just worried we would be blamed for it so we made sure to get pictures of it before we moved in. then when we tried to turn on the ceiling fan in the front room it would not work and after some looking around saw that the fan control on the wall was broken and the receiver that should be in the fan was in the table by the couch. the hot tub did however seem clean. but was very old and the jest did not work very well. That could have been us not knowing how to use it. But hey how about some instructions. the patio furniture was very dirty. we cleaned it off. but after all the splinters and then seeing nails sticking up we just gave up on sitting outside. all in all our friends visiting from Wisconsin did enjoy the mountains. and yes they did say if there was any issues to call them. but really do want worked invading your vacation time. we just made the best of it. this should have been a $50 dollar a night place not what they are charging. The bed was comfee though.
Stayed (public)
May 2016
Manager response:
The Property Manager has cleaned up the yard and scrubbed the grill. The patio furniture is cleaned regularly, but with the heavy pollen season the furniture does get dirty quickly. The home has been sprayed for ants, and traps have been laid as well. The Property Manager is also working with the owner on getting the deck refinished, and we hope to have that taken care of soon.
Emily O. May 2016
Such a great place to get away from the city! It was so very relaxing
Marcia R. Apr 2016
This cabin was perfect for our group of 5. We loved hanging out on the huge porch, sitting in the hot tub, and cooking in the kitchen. The place was clean, cozy, and made for a very relaxing weekend.
Dawn H. Apr 2016
The cabin was in a great location, close to town but not too close, the street was nice and quiet, great for walks with our dogs. The yard was a good size, the deck very relaxing in the afternoon sun, and the hot tub was a great way to unwind.
Chris M. Mar 2016
A very nice cabin. A little bit dated and needs some repairs in the kitchen, but our stay was very comfortable. Just over a mile walk to the center of town. Staff is very helpful.
Elizabeth O. Mar 2016
This cabin was pretty nice, comfortable beds and plenty of room. The couch, however, was completely coated in dog hair, and there weren't quite enough quilts and blankets to keep everyone warm. The managers also failed to notify us of a planned power outage Saturday night. Despite all this, I would stay here again (provided the dog hair issue is dealt with), as it was quite spacious, with a nice kitchen and comfortable beds, and the price was excellent.
Manager response:
We apologize that we forgot to inform you of the scheduled power outage and that the couch was covered in animal hair. Housekeeping will work on the couch, and the Property Manager will look into supplying extra blankets to finish out the winter season.
Teishia M. Mar 2016
This place needs a lot of work!
Manager response:
We are sorry to see this guest didn't better enjoy their stay; we will look into what can be done.
Dan T. Feb 2016
The hot tub works well.
Cassiopeia O. Jan 2016
It was a great visit and my family and I will definitely be back!
Elva D. Dec 2015
We would highly recommend this place and working with the people from Vacasa. They were very helpful in finding the ideal place for us.