USA Oregon Mt. Hood Welches Listing #4512

River's Edge Retreat - Welches, OR

70 reviews
Max occupancy: 10 (8 adults) 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms 2 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
65895 E Mountain Air Dr., Welches, OR 97067

Dog-friendly riverfront home with private hot tub, pool table, & two decks!

Admire the glacial waters of the Sandy River from your very own hot tub at this Welches vacation rental, where you'll also enjoy two decks, a private pool table, and a beautiful riverfront property that sits in the shadow of Mt. Hood.

Gorgeously situated in a quiet Welches woodland neighborhood, this contemporary four-bedroom home is just over two miles from the Resort at the Mountain golf courses, less than 14 miles from Mt. Hood Skibowl, and only 20 miles from Timberline Lodge and Ski Area.

Whether you're planning a couples' winter vacation, a family ski weekend, or a relaxing weekend of golfing, hiking, and fishing, this two-level riverfront home offers a bright and airy retreat for as many as eight adults (and an additional two children).

With lofty ceilings, large windows, and a rustic wood-burning stove, the open living space is warm, welcoming, and framed by stunning views of nature. Gather your guests on the plush sofas for a high-stakes game of Scrabble, or enjoy a DVD favorite on the flatscreen internet TV and Blu-ray player.

And you won't miss out on the action while cooking in the full kitchen, where you'll find plenty of counter space, a variety of chef's tools, and even a dishwasher to take care of the clean-up. Grind your own coffee beans from Mt. Hood Roasters each morning, and enjoy them with breakfast fresh from the waffle iron.

The open dining room provides seating for eight, although summer days are best spent eating outdoors. The river-facing back deck features a gas grill, a picnic table, and a comfortable set of Adirondack chairs. You'll also find a picnic area and a firepit amid the trees just beyond.

After long days of skiing, snowboarding, hiking, or fishing, relax in the warm waters of the private outdoor hot tub. Or if you're up for some competition, challenge your friends to a heated game of nine-ball in the billiard room.

And if you're unable to unplug completely, fear not. This home is equipped with WiFi throughout, as well as a living room desk surrounded by windows.

At night, guests at the River's Edge Retreat will find four bedrooms and two and a half full bathrooms. The two main floor bedrooms each offer a queen bed, while one bedroom has an additional stacked bed perfect for one-to-two children sleeping close by, or simply use this daybed to spread out with a good book. Upstairs, the loft-style master bedroom features a king-size bed, high ceilings, and a private deck with views of the Sandy River. An additional bedroom with two twin beds is directly across the hallway from the master bedroom and is perfect for families with children.

Welches is an outdoor retreat in all seasons, and an ideal destination for hikers, golfers, and winter sports enthusiasts. In the summer months, guests will find the Ramona Falls Trailhead only 10 miles away, while the Resort at the Mountain offers three nine-hole golf courses, including the Pine Cone Nine, the oldest course in the region. Head up to Ski Bowl for the summer Adventure Park and loads of fun. An extensive collection of guidebooks on the local area will help you plan each day's adventures.

Looking to hit the slopes? Spend the day enjoying North America's longest ski season at Timberline, where the 41 trails reach elevations of up to 8,540 feet. Mt. Hood Meadows is a short drive past the road up to Timberline and offers unparalleled winter terrain and family-friendly options for a fabulous ski day for all.

AMENITIES

Activities

Board games

Pool table : Private

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Central AC

Wood stove

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

Blu-Ray player

Cable

DVD library

TV

Wireless router

Miscellaneous

Iron

Outdoor

Hot tub : Private

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Firepit

Scenic

Water view

Waterfront

70 reviews

African Road, Inc. A. Oct 2019
We loved this home; it is well equipped, spotless, with tasteful decor. The four of us each gave it five stars. (One comment that didn't reduce the star rating, but warrants noting: the heat pump is noisy, particularly for those occupying the nearby bedroom.)
Calvin L. Oct 2019
The house is clean..it has everything from the bathrooms thru kitchen ..I would recommended to my friends
Andrea M. Sep 2019
The home was nestled in the woods but still close to everything. The yard was incredible even though it was a soggy weekend.
The little touches really impressed us: dog bowls and bags for our dog, a drawer of kid books, kid dishes and firewood on hand.
The layout of the house was perfect for our big family weekend.
Douglas K. Sep 2019
This house was the perfect size for our family of seven adults. The setting was beautiful right on the Sandy River. Close to a lot of hiking trails. Several local restaurants and a grocery store right up the road.
Judy W. Sep 2019
The house was lovely and perfect for 6 women who have taken time for an annual retreat since working together more than 30 years ago. We love to cook and the kitchen met all our needs as well as the bedroom arrangements. Often we find that bedroom counts are intended for couples rather than singles. This one was perfect. The weather wasn't perfect, but we managed a hike on the Salmon River Trail anyway and drove up to Timberline Lodge. We plan to return to enjoy more of the amenities next year. The only negative was a very loud furnace return outside one of the downstairs bedrooms which kept the occupants awake.
Karen M. Aug 2019
The home was perfect with 4 bedrooms for extended family. The kitchen was great. We walked the river trails and relaxed on the spacious deck. The hot tub was a welcome treat.
Rezarta R. Jun 2019
Beautiful view. Having the river run through the backyard was sublime. My family and I had a wonderful 3-night vacation.
Emily B. Jun 2019
Christine C. Jun 2019
Absolutely LOVED this place! It was in the perfect location, with the river just outside and short drives for sightseeing. Spent many an afternoon and evening with the doors open, just enjoying the sound of the river.

The amenities were perfect and the beds were extremely comfortable. Would love to come back again!
Linda M. May 2019
As a family we had such a great time. The river was beautiful as was the weather. We would stay again.
Cori B. Feb 2019
Great place, no complaints. We had a really nice time. Game room and hot tub let the group spread out. The living room/ dining room is huge and comfy too. Beds were average, depends what you like for firmness.
Kristen H. Feb 2019
Beautiful well kept home close to restaurants in Welches and Mt Hood! We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back next year for Super Bowl weekend to have more fun!
Rob H. Feb 2019
Everything was completely dialed in. All the amenities and necessities. Beautiful view, wonderfully maintained. Couldn't have been a better experience.
Amy R. Jan 2019
The house was just perfect for our stay!
Erika S. Dec 2018
The floors and hot tub were glorious. Thank you!
Donna M. Nov 2018
"What a gorgeous property! We stayed here with two couples for a week and could not get enough of the peacefulness, the river rushing by outside, and the relaxing vibes of the entire home. This home is located near the Ranger Station and access to loads of hikes and ski trails....it was a fantastic vacation rental for our needs. The upstairs master bedroom is no longer a loft space as recent updates have closed it off to the downstairs....such an improvement and increases privacy for all couples. The wood floors are beautiful. Woodstove is a cozy treat. Kitchen is well stocked with everything you might need to create meals for a group. We can't wait to come back again sometime!"
Paul I. Oct 2018
Our weekend retreat with friends was a peaceful break and just what we needed. The spacious home is well appointed, clean and spacious. The beds were exceptionally comfortable.

The upstairs layout may not work for everyone but their website explains the configuration well.

The home sits in a tranquil setting with a view of the river and close to hikes.

Alma C. Oct 2018
This is a gorgeous light-filled property on the Sandy River. The wood floors are stunning. The master bedroom was like sleeping in the trees. A perfect forest retreat for enjoying Mt. Hood in all seasons.
Karen G. Oct 2018
Everything was perfect and this is a really nice rental.
Nancy H. Aug 2018
Beautiful home on the river. Clean, comfortable, well equipped kitchen. Hot tub was a real treat!
Alice T. Aug 2018
In it's heyday it was a very nice home. It included all that was described but does need some ownership attention to repairs. Front steps are partially broken, outside furniture is collapsing (with exception of large table on deck. It would help if outside approach to house had more exposure with larger front yard. Inside ice maker in freezer needs defrosting. Could not make ice so purchased it. Dishtowels not provided. Stove top could use good cleaning. Otherwise kitchen very nice and well equipped. Beds were very comfortable but sheets a little scratchy (need softening). Carpeting is in need of deep cleaning. We enjoyed our time on the deck and listening to river. Nice restaurants in area and good drives to Mount Hood and lunch at the lodge The dogs did not come. Daughter preferred to board them and that made all day drives better. I did pay $40 deposit for them which was very reasonable. As management company you were easy to work with. I gave the property 4 star. Thank you..
Manager response:
We’re sorry this guest witnessed the home in its current state. The owner is in the process of renovating sections of the home, including the master bedroom and installing new hardwood floors to replace the carpets. The front steps are being replaced, the ice maker is thawed out, dish towels are provided, and the stove-top inserts are being replaced. They are committed to improve upon the beauty of this home, to create a comfortable atmosphere. The front steps are being replaced, the ice maker is thawed out, dish towels are provided, and the stove-top inserts are being replaced. Thank you.
Brad P. Jul 2018
Loved the private location and the river at the doorstep.
Remus R. May 2018
Nice and clean place near the river.
We really enjoyed spending the Memorial weekend here.
Chuck A. May 2018
This is a beautiful property. The deck on the back of the house, the hot tub, the sound of the river...amazing! The house was clean and well tended to. I'll go back if I get the chance.
Karon L. Apr 2018
We had the best time! The only bummer was refrigerator on two or three shelves just for sticky stuff. We were told it would be with her for us but I didn’t know there would only be like five sticks of wood for your first night. I’m thinking that might be my fault because I didn’t read the trip manager thing. Read your trip manager thanks! It’s not their fault if you don’t. The cigarette butts outside the broken glass by the woodshed in the dirty refrigerator or certainly not my fault however I should’ve read my trip manager thing
Manager response:
We have followed-up with housekeeping about the sub-par fridge clean and making sure they provide enough wood and kindling for our guest's first fire. The glass and cigarette butts have been cleaned up. Thank you!
Carl B. Apr 2018
Loved having the feel of the woods but not being too far off the beaten path. The house is nice and well stocked. Only reason I'm putting 4 stars instead of 5 is the master suite with the cut out in the wall is a little weird if you are staying with freinddls and I wasn't expecting a fairly well traveled community trail to be running along the river so it kinda changes the feel when people are walking through the back yard all day.
Denaee T. Feb 2018
I loved this home, it was perfect for our family we would def stay again.
Pete S. Jan 2018
Our family had a great time. The location was amazing. The house was amazing! Our family had an unforgettable Christmas filled with happy memories. We would highly recommend this house for anyone wanting a quite peace but close to all Mt Hood has to offer
Kelly C. Dec 2017
Great home to rent. FULLY stocked kitchen as far as appliances and cookware. Excellent location right on the Sandy River - easy access from Highway 26. Comfortable beds and furniture. Would definitely recommend! The only thing to be aware of is that the 2nd floor master has part of a wall that is open the the living area below and there is not door on the master. Can make it hard to sleep if others are still up.
Crystal R. Dec 2017
This is my second year in a row staying in this house. It is so spacious and nice. The view is so nice in the backyard with the river behind it.
Deb L. Nov 2017
Delana Q. Oct 2017
This was such a nice location! The kitchen was far more equipped than any vacasa location I've stayed at. The pool table was a great addition! The hot tub was ready and hot before we got there and easy to opporate . I really like the amount of Windows there are in this home, the views outside are beautiful ! Having the ability to walk out the backdoor straight to the sandy river was also a plus. The information gives didn't state there's to be an outside fire pit, happy to inform there is !!(: great weekend here, we will definately make another trip out !
Ilene B. Oct 2017
The river in the back is gorgeous! Hot tub and a pool table make this a great place for some fun and relaxation!
You can tell that the owner puts a lot of love into this home!
Sally M. Oct 2017
Wonderful house and surrounding area!
Charolett B. Oct 2017
Our 6-day stay was a mini-family reunion with three of us from SW Florida and two adults and a toddler from Portland. It was perfect for all of us so we hope to do it again in the next year or two.
Gena T. Sep 2017
A peaceful sanctuary in the forest.
Amy S. Sep 2017
and hopefully Vacasa will take our concerns to heart and make the experience flawless for future guests. If so, our stay, and our post stay experience, will have been wonderful.

By the way, we recommend some 9-Ball for further stress relief.
Jamie H. Sep 2017
Great place, happy we stayed during the week, no one around... Nice area to explore
Patty And Joseph C. Aug 2017
We booked this for our anniversary. It was so peaceful and lovely surroundings. The smoke from all the fires hindered the view somewhat, but I know it's not like this all the time. We had a great time.
Domenica (Niki) A. Aug 2017
Great house for gathering family and friends. Lots of nature opportunities relatively close. The sound of the river soothed us morning, noon and night. Picnic tables on deck and near water let us enjoy meals outside. Perfectly lovely and well kept home! We're even considering returning and we rarely do that!
Nancy T. Aug 2017
We came to Portland for a meeting but wanted to be out of the city, so we chose the River's Edge location and boy, we were very happy with the location and had a very comfortable and relaxing stay. The house was easy to locate and there was plenty of parking for two couples' cars. The rooms are generous and with lots of seating and wonderful light all day. The kitchen is well stocked with All Clad cookware and lots of dishes, silverware and cooking utensils. A larger non-stick pan would have been helpful (i bought one and left it there) but one could do most all without one. The constant flow of the river was beautiful to enjoy all day. There was some issue with dogs barking (one night until 2:30am) that was an annoyance.. and there seemed to be lots of dogs around the area and people (maybe nearby homeowners) walking them along the front of the property.
I think that in the spirit of other VRBO-style rentals, there should be better provisions as this one seems to be run like a hotel. It just makes it feel unwelcoming to find almost nothing provided so anyone renting this unit should be prepared to go shopping for even the basics (toilet paper, paper towels, dish and laundry soap, sugar, etc.) Speaking of shopping, we were greatly surprised to find a wonderful grocery (Thrifty) in Welches. This store had excellent meat, produce and a nice selection of coffee, teas and all milk and dry-goods products. I almost wonder if it was owned by Whole Foods or the like. A special find, is that in that same Welches shopping center around the corner, is a 24 hours gym, the owner of which will give you a week pass for a small fee and you can keep up with a work-out program. If you are up to exploring, don't miss the WAAAM museum in Hood River. Go for the views and pleasantries of that town including excellent dining, (check out Brian's) but the museum is a must-see. It has a great story background and is gigantic: full of airplanes, antiques cars, motor cycles, bicycles, ambulances, fire trucks war vehicles as well as a collection of cameras, fishing lures, dolls.. you name it. It is an amazing place and experience that you will never forget. They will even provide you with a little scooter to get around!
Overall, we had a wonderful stay and loved the area. I would not hesitate to recommend this rental and would hope to return again one day.
Nancy Turner
Manager response:
We're so happy that the guest enjoyed the home and it's comfortable and laid back atmosphere. We want to remind our guests who occupy the homes that we only supply a starter kit of the basic items like toilet paper, paper towels, soap, etc. If they require more, we ask that they purchase them. If the home just happens to be without these items upon arrival, we want the guests to call us so we can deliver them to the home. Thank you.
Xiangdong L. Jul 2017
During our three night stay, we didn't interact with host directly, but we can feel and sense their caring presence in every details. for example, wherever you feel like to sit down or fall into a coach, there are power outlet around for you to charge your phone while enjoying your pictures.
The river running through the back yard, the sun beaming through the woods,..
You feel you are in vacation .
Christine H. Jul 2017
Right on the river with all amenities. Will go back
Ingrid R. Jul 2017
Beautiful house, perfect surroundings. A great place to spend time.
Sean J. Mar 2017
My wife and I were so happy staying this house, Nice views, clean, beautiful and relaxing. If 6 ppl come here and chip in, it would be much cheaper than staying hotels. Jaccuzi and pool table are plus.
I had lots of stress in L.A due to work & driving in heavy traffic. As soon as I came back to my hometown, Oregon, all my stress is gone plus high blood presure when down to normal, especially with this house. I highly recommend to ppl for family travel & who want to take off from stressful work and restore energy back. Also, Vacasa is providing 24hrs customer service in case if you have a question or help while staying home. Email notification and review mails are plus. Very professinal and this company knows how to run business. I would like to try another property from Vacasa for next year!! Good job guys!
Jessica C. Feb 2017
We enjoyed the beautiful view of the Sandy river. There is lovely walking trail along the river that was fun to explore. We all agreed that this house is wonderful to stay at in the Winter and would love to go back in the Summer!
Virginia S. Jan 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is a gorgeous natural setting. We will definitely stay again.
Thuong P. Jan 2017
The home is fantastic. Very clean when I arrived, lots of supplies provided to make the stay comfortable. The downstairs beds are soft but the upstairs bed was too hard for me. Note that it was difficult and a bit dangerous to get to when I arrived in early January. The road leading to the home from the highway is hard packed dirt and the driveway is gravel. The road and driveway had iced over. You must have tire chains or a 4 wheel drive car to safely get in and out. Residents should be aware of the road conditions before arriving.
Donna S. Jan 2017
Our long weekend on the mountain was a hit with our grown children, grandkids and our teen girls. The Welches Cabin had what everyone wanted for comfort and fun. We packed Christmas up took it on the road to a magical Christmas and we all agreed that our cabin retreat was sooo lovely clean and comfortable!! Thanks for being available for our Christmas weekend calls, you spoiled us.
Crystal E. Dec 2016
This house was simply spacious and nice. The layout is very different and with it being 3 couples, none of us felt like the others were crowding there space because there was simply that much space in the home. The Pool room was a great added bonus that the men called their "Man Cave" The view is amazing and the Sandy River I believe it was runs right in the back yard. There were a few minor issues, like the master bedroom is loft style and has no door to it, and the grill did not work so we had to use an alternate way too grill our food. I usually travel with extra paper towels, toilet paper, garbage bags, and dishwasher pods. This came in handy because they request you take trash out, and being there for almost 3 days we had more then one bag of trash. There were no extra trash bags to use, so it was a good thing I brought extra. They also request that you run the dish washer, but there was nothing to run the dish washer with, but again I had brought these items from home. Other then that it was a great place to stay. Would definitely return.
Helen C. Sep 2016
What a great house with an amazing view of the river. We absolutely loved it and will come back again.
Ann P. Aug 2016
Beautiful property well equipped.
Denise B. Aug 2016
Would highly recommend this home. Nice size rooms, good location. Great for adults only or families. Would return to this home next time the area.
John B. Aug 2016
We were very pleased with our 1st rental from Vacasa - very well done. We will continue to rent from them in the future based on our experience.
Robert E. Jul 2016
Had a great time here. Very quiet and relaxing place to stay. Will definitely stay here again.
Adam K. Jul 2016
Great location and well kept up, clean, house with beautiful view.
Jonathan B. Jul 2016
I rented this wonderful home for my wife and two teenaged daughters. We had such a fantastic time. The home and property are impeccably cared for, and well maintained. We sat in the recliner chairs and watched/listened to the Sandy for hours on end. Even with a fair amount of rain, it was idyllic. We will definitely be back for more relaxation and adventures! Only down-side was there was "silly string" all over the river side of the property. Probably leftover from the 4th of July. My wife cleaned it up as best she could, but it was sad that anyone could be so thoughtless about such a beautiful surrounding.
Marriette F. Apr 2016
On our honeymoon the only bad thing about this place is that we felt so bad about not bringing our whole family to share it with. The view of the river was amaZing. We kept the doors open so we could hear it flowing from inside. the kitchen was fully stocked doe all our meals. The bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable, we couldnt help but to sleep in. We had breakfast on the picnic table next to the river. We had a pool tournament going on (I won) and the Jacuzzi was clean and working great. Hopefully we can get the family to come next year. Thank you for a memorable honeymoon.
Jared M. Mar 2016
Myself and a couple friends just spent a weekend at the River's Edge Retreat and we couldn't have been happier with the place. We were looking for somewhere to tune out and hang out together for a few days and got just what we wanted. The house was in very nice shape (especially when compared to some places I've stayed in Welches recently). We cooked meals, played a lot of pool, and just relaxed. I plan on staying here again in the future.
Ryan R. Feb 2016
Nice older home, strange layout for master bedroom as you do not get privacy. It is partially open to the living room and there is no door to that room. Hot tub did not work.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize that you were unable to use the hot tub during your stay as it was in sleep mode during your reservation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so we can make sure that our guests do not have the same issue going forward. We hope that you were able to make incredible memories while you were in Welches and can't wait to have you back!
Lynda G. Jan 2016
Enjoyed our stay here. Full kitchen meant we were able to cook for 6 people every night. Loved the fireplace and pool table. Great spot next to the river that can be enjoyed from the warmth of the hot tub! Close to village (but not walking distance), and short drive to Government Camp and Meadows resorts.