Virtual Tour
USA Idaho Valley County, Idaho McCall Listing #6123

Jug Mountain Cottage - McCall, ID

35 Reviews
Max Occupancy: 8 1 King Bed, 2 Queen Bed, 1 Futon, 1 Sofa Bed 2 Bedrooms  Plus Loft 1 Bathroom 1 Dog Max  (20 lb weight limit) 
145 E. Lakefork Drive, McCall, ID 83638

Rustic, dog-friendly, two-story log cabin near Jug Mountain

This cute cabin-style home features a rustic look that's perfectly in tune with the woodsy, serene setting at the foot of Jug Mountain.

From golf and hiking to climbing and mountaineering, there are an array of outdoor activities just a short drive away. Payette Lake offers water sports just seven miles north in the main town of McCall, where you'll also find lots of amenities, restaurants, and the McCall Golf Club.

Enjoy modern-day amenities with a casual, country feel. The high ceilings and tongue-and-groove wooden walls and ceiling, coupled with nice furniture and tasteful decor create a homey space to lounge with friends and family.

On the first level of this cute log home, enter into the spacious living room with lots of comfy seating and lofted ceilings. There's a wood stove for staying cozy and a TV with a DVD player for sitting back to relax withy our favorite movie (please note that there is no cable or Internet).

In the kitchen, there's ample room for cooking and entertaining a small group. The open layout and beamed ceilings give this area character, while major appliances - including a dishwasher - ensure that home-cooked meals are enjoyed by all.

Complete with a deck area and a gas grill under the covered patio, the outdoor space offers a great spot to grill up your favorites under the patio year-round and warm up by the firepit on chilly evenings.

On the main level, the master bedroom with a king-size bed, vaulted, beamed ceilings, and access out to the back deck makes the perfect escape for a couple. The upstairs has a second bedroom with two queen-size beds, plus a loft above the kitchen area with a full-size futon overlooking the living room below. Two bedrooms (with a loft) and one bathroom allows space for up to eight people, plus a small dog up to 20 lbs. for a small nightly fee.

Less than two miles away, Jug Mountain Ranch features a golf course and Nordic skiing. In the other direction to the west, Lake Fork offers quaint amenities about one-and-a-half miles down the road; fresh coffee, gas, a bakery with fresh made sandwiches, a liquor store, and a small market are close by. In the nearby town of McCall seven miles north, you'll also find more amenities, like a grocery store, restaurants, and more.

Book your stay at this adorable Jug Mountain cabin for a relaxing, secluded retreat.

Read more Read less 



Board Games

Child Games


Washer Dryer : Private

Space Heater








DVD Library

DVD Player




Gas Grill : Private


Outdoor Fire


35 Reviews

Cassandra S. Oct 2018
We had so much fun, and are super happy we rented this cabin! It’s outside of town, but not to far away. It was spacious, cute, and clean. Saturday morning we had deer in the back yard right off the porch, our daughter though that was super cool! We would definitely rent this cabin again. Thank you for a wonderful stay!
Tim K. Mar 2018
Great setting, great neighbor, nice little cabin.
We had 5 guests one week and it was a perfect size. The Vacasa people were awesome.
Ray H. Jan 2018
Very clean place. We were 2 adults and our 3 young adults (20,17 and 15). Beds were clean and comfortable, pellet stove worked like a charm as did the electrical heaters in the kitchen, although all we needed to heat the kitchen was a small portable electric heater that was also available. Outside temp was from 16-34 degrees during our 4 days 3 nights stay. 10 mins away from downtown McCall, 5 mins away from a great tubing farm and very easy to find. We were active outside but when it was time to come inside it was nice and comfortable. We even made a fire in the fire bowl in the back yard and roasted marshmallows. The 2 sisters convenience in the corner up the street has a little of everything literally, we visited a few times during our stay and they are very nice and helpful. We also rented Snowmobiles from Cheap Thrills Rentals in McCall, this mom and pop place had the best prices and their service was great! They really know what they are doing. We would rent this Cabin again!
Melissa D. Dec 2017
We had a lovely time at the cabin. It was larger than we'd expected, and the kitchen was well-equipped for meals in. The bed was very comfortable. We can't wait to come back.
Sonia R. Nov 2017
The location of the cabin was awesome. It’s far enough from everything that you have your privacy but also only a few minutes into town. Initially when arriving it was hard to find it, gps being off and the directions provided being a little backwards, but otherwise everything was great about this cabin. While it may not be huge it’s definitely big enough for a family to have a great time.
Debi N. Nov 2017
If it were clean and the musty smell aired out it would be ok, I would not stay there again.
Manager Response:
We are sorry to see this guest felt the home was unclean. Fall deep cleans are taking place which will take care of any housekeeping oversights or unpleasant odors. Thanks!
Kevin G. Sep 2017
Nice, roomy, clean well supplied property.
Michelle L. Aug 2017
We had a great stay very clean inside outside needed to be cleaned up some
Maribel S. Aug 2017
Nice cabin overall...not far from main town of McCall. The upstairs gets very hot and the window doesn't have a screen. There was a wasp nest up there so the window couldn't be left open and the small fans don't help because it just circulates the hot air. Also it would be nice to have more access to firewood for firepit. Otherwise it is a nice clean and quite cabin.
Manager Response:
The property manager will purchase a new screen for the window. Thank you!
Sandy B. Jul 2017
Very comfortable with nice roominess for a group of 5. Close to Jug Mountain. Only thing I would change is adding curtains in the Master.
Preston C. Jul 2017
Great location it is very close to McCall. It is a very nice cabin. The beds were very comfortable. It is nestled among the trees.
Brent B. Jul 2017
7 people with a pup we were very comfortable. This place was very well stocked and comfy!
Stephen L. Jun 2017
Great cabin that is located right outside of McCall in Lake Fork, quiet and quaint. There was four of us but as many as 8-10 could comfortably stay at this place. Definitely would recommend this cabin.
Joe H. Jun 2017
We had an amazing time at our cabin in the woods. Great cabin, secluded, roomy, comfortable. My only complaint is there isn't any blinds or window coverings at all. No privacy when your sleeping or changing. Your just completely exposed. Other than that no complaints. Will definitely rent again.
Kurt S. May 2017
Great spot, rustic for sure but nice. Great master bed, lovely fireplace. Not a great kitchen but good enough for basic cooking.
Heidi W. Apr 2017
We enjoyed this secluded location by Lake Fork. This quaint cabin had all the essentials to make for a comfortable visit. Two of our guests were 6'4" and beams in the kitchen were about 6'5", so watch your head. The cabin was very clean and comfortable. We would recommend to anyone wanting to be out of town, but an easy drive to McCall. The back porch is nice, especially if the weather is inclement. Enjoyed our relaxing visit to this cabin!
Sarah C. Mar 2017
Great cabin, rustic decor, beautiful property. We will be back.
Gary, Linda, & Rubi . Mar 2017
Enjoyed our stay. Very thoughtful and comfortable decor. Just like you'd expect a home cabin to be. Very clean and cozy.
Paula M. Feb 2017
Very nice and relaxing!!!
Jessica L. Feb 2017
Loved how cozy it was! Great for a relaxing weekend away!
Bryon R. Feb 2017
This cabin needs some serious maintenance. The bathroom sink leaks constantly, and not just a few drips - it's not just "leaky" - it's a CONSTANT little stream that you can't shut off. Such a waste. The shower is difficult to use, again - no instructions. Electricity is spotty and VERY weak, light switches are hard to find, they kind of make you stumble around in the dark feeling all the walls and furnishings - you'll need to turn on about 5 lamps just to light the living room - and even then several lamps are burnt out with no instructions on what to do in that case... no bulbs are left for you to change them yourself. The quality of all of the beds up in the loft are ATROCIOUS. I can't stress this enough. They're terrible. The only comfortable bed is the king size bed in the main bedroom, but if you're sharing this vacation rental with ANYONE else you can expect them to get up frustrated in the middle of the night and go sleep on the couch. I can't believe they consider those beds acceptable for sleeping, let alone to serve the purpose of a comfortable vacation. If you're just one couple renting, and you're using the main bed, then it's fine. I have written them suggesting they replace the loft beds with ones a little less like prison futons. Air felt extremely stuffy/poor quality... there is virtually no air circulation and they only offer one 6-inch fan (which also didn't work properly).


The main help number given to us was DISCONNECTED (no longer in service!). We were lost in the dark and snow for almost 2 hours, I know I wasn't alone in thinking we got scammed. The lady who answered the company's 24 hour service line (second help number) for directions/general questions was HORRIBLE. According to google and virtually every GPS we had, there is NO "Lakefront Drive" - it doesn't exist. This lady insists that there is a Lakefront Drive, but in fact the cabin is located directly ON "Lakefront Road" - we spent ages looking for this "side road" that she described, that didn't even exist. Not only that, but her description of what the house looks like/the layout of the driveway is COMPLETELY incorrect. When we started to suspect that they had the wrong information we asked the lady "is it actually on Lakefront ROAD or is there really a DRIVE?" she said, AND I QUOTE "I'm really not going to argue the semantics of it" ........WHAT?! HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE. STAY AWAY.
Megan H. Dec 2016
This cabin is very cozy with enough space to sleep 8 very comfortably and is very easy to get to.
This is the perfect get away! Great decor and we loved not having access to the internet!
Inna L. Dec 2016
This little cabin (or really i should say BIG) was one of the most perfect getaway places i have come across in cascade area. yes i have stayed at some that were more fancy but nothing felt as authentic as this cabin. It is way more roomier than I expected. We had 3 adults on this trip but that can easily have been doubled. It is only 5-10min away from mccall and about 30min away from gold fork hot springs. Everything you can possible need, the cabin has. We fished in the morning and baked that fish for dinner at the cabin. This was definitely a relaxing place that we needed before the holidays. I am already making plans on booking this cabin for a girls trip in the next few months.
Darin P. Nov 2016
We had a nice time at this vacation rental, but the master bed was terrible. It's hard and very noisy. You cannot move at all without a lot of noise, which woke both and my wife up when trying to use it. We finally had to move to the smaller beds up stairs.

It was a nice quiet location, but not many places to walk without a lot of traffic. Additionally, it's next to a busy road.
Manager Response:
We apologize that the master bed was so uncomfortable and noisy. The owner will have the bed replaced shortly!
Dawn R. Sep 2016
We loved just about everything at this place. If you were looking for the perfect hideaway with very warm and welcoming decore and furnishings this is the place for you are your friends. Plenty of big beds and seating in the living room for everyone. The location was close to everything. We golfed right down the road and we were just minutes from McCall. We will definitely come back and stay again.
Jeff S. Sep 2016
Everything was fine although there needed to be some blinds/drapes on the windows.? The only window with a blind was the one in the bathroom.? Some people would not be secure in the cabin knowing that, at night particularly, any person on the outside could see them in every room.? ?We enjoyed our stay.
Kim H. Sep 2016
This is a beautiful place. But its smaller than the pictures make it look. But does have ample sleeping room. Bring small blankets and big tacks so you can put them over the windows and sliding door in the bedroom. Also, matches if your wanting to use the BBQ. Auto starter doesn't work.
Oksana M. Jul 2016
We love this cabin . It's was purfect for our family of 8 . The size is great . In a beautiful location . Love the back yeard . Awesome sealing in a master bedroom . Very nice kitchen and wood floors . We would defanatly come back here again .
Clark L. Jul 2016
This was our first experience renting a home. We loved area and the look of the cabin, it is very cozy and nicely decorated. I would recommend you bring your own fry pan. The one there was very warped and didn't sit flat on the stovetop. There was a nice deck out back with a bbq that came in quite handy. I would definitely stay here again if they get some window blinds at least in the downstairs master bedroom.
Erin B. Jul 2016
This cabin was the epitome of a mountain cabin! From the comfortable cabin layout, to the stress- relieving back patio, this place was just what was needed to disconnect from the real world and just focus on your own private piece of Idaho! Would definitely stay here again!!
Karen E. Jul 2016
My family had a great time here. It is so close to McCall that we went there everyday.
Todd M. Jul 2016
If you sleep eight people, it's a pretty tight squeeze. Smaller than it looks in the photos and sheets were not provided on those extra beds. Plus not enough bedding. Animals are allowed in this place and so there is a slight animal smell and you do get fur on your clothes when you sit down on the couches and such. It was a fun place to stay but we would not stay there again because the cost did not match up to what we got. We would be happy to stay there if it were a lot cheaper but for how much we paid ww felt like we should've got a lot more for our money. It's more of a motel 8 Type Place but at least with some pretty cabin decorating .
Manager Response:
We are sorry to see that there were some disappointments with this stay. The pull-out beds are twins, and the sheets for those can be found in the foot stools. Housekeeping will work on making sure the furniture gets more attention to help remove the pet hair.