USA Texas Galveston Bay Galveston Listing #9055

Seaside Cottage - Galveston, TX

Take a Virtual Tour
54 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 1 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 3 bedrooms 1 bathroom 2 dog max  (25 lb weight limit) 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with flexible cancellation options. Read our cancellation policy >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Bayfront dog-friendly home w/ water views and dock access!

Pack your bags, get everyone ready, and don't forget Fido for an amazing vacation at this bayfront dog-friendly home. Come unwind with the whole family while you revel in the water views and enjoy having the beach as your playground when you book your seaside stay!

This vacation rental is located toward the western side of Galveston Island, near Jamaica Beach. Set just a short walk from the golden Texas Gulf Coast shore, this home gives you the chance to hit the waves with ease.

Bright and spacious, the main living area beckons you to come sink into the soft blue couches after a long day on the beach. Check out what's on cable or make some small bites to enjoy later on when you watch your favorite DVD on the flatscreen TV.

Step out onto the deck to read a book in the peace of the ocean breeze, or listen to some tunes over the WiFi while you unwind. Use the gas grill to cook up your fresh catch, or head back into the comfort of the central A/C to do some cooking in the kitchen.

Featuring a full-size refrigerator, microwave, and a breakfast bar to serve on, keeping everyone fueled up and ready for the next outing will be a piece of cake. Get everyone together around the classic dining room table, or spread out on the deck and at the breakfast bar.

When it's time to turn in, this two-bedroom, one-bathroom home will sleep up to eight guests and two small pups with ease. Please note a 25-pound weight limit for dogs and a nightly pet fee. In the master bedroom, there is a soft queen-size bed and plenty of storage for all of your belongings. With two more twin-size beds in the second room, as well as a twin-size bunk bed, you'll be able to spread out in privacy. If you need more sleeping space there are two futons available.

Wake up early to launch off the dock to explore the beautiful waters of Ostermayer Bayou. Take a few pictures of the local marine life while you paddle through the deep blue waters. Book a tee time at one of the nearby golf courses to drive the fairways and unwind in the warm Texas sun.

Spend a day wandering through the colored pyramids of Galveston's Moody Gardens. Watch the sharks swim overhead as you walk through the glass tunnel. Head into the Rainforest Pyramid to see the monkeys, then jump on Colonel Paddlewheel Boat for a ride through waters.

With fun around every corner and relaxation blowing in on the ocean breeze, this Texas home puts the best of everything at your fingertips.

*Snowbirds welcome! Please call us for information on discounted rates.

*Please note: this home resides in a noise-sensitive area and the owners participate in our Good Neighbor protection program. Our smart home technology will alert our team if excessive decibel or occupancy levels are detected, allowing us to reach out directly with a friendly reminder rather than risking a noise complaint from a neighbor. This technology is privacy compliant, and only monitors the presence of decibels and devices-not any personal conversation or information. Thank you for supporting our efforts to be good neighbors!*
A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: There is parking in the driveway and underneath the house. You may park up to three vehicles in the driveway. Please do not parallel park along the street.

Guest Entry Instructions: This rental utilizes an E-lock, a digital lock that requires an unique code to enter. This code is reset after each guest's stay.

Dock Details: To launch your boat: turn right at Bob Smith Rd, then take another right at Jolly Roger Rd. Turn left at Basin, and the boat ramp will be on your left.

Water Access: There is a public beach access across from Buccaneer at the intersection of Buccaneer and FM 3005. From the home turn head west to Bob Smith Rd and turn left. Cross FM 3005 it dead ends at the beach. You can drive your car or golf cart onto a sand parking area.

City/town permit number: GVR03600

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.


Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Kitchen & dining






Internet : Comcast


Cable : DirecTV

DVD player

Wireless router

Netflix streaming

Nearby activities & attractions



Gas grill : Private






54 reviews

Richard M. Jun 2021
Broken windows in bathroom and kids room. Rat poop found inside gas grill. No window coverings in living room and bedrooms.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Richard. We regret to hear that the home was in this condition during your stay. Please know that this is not the standard grade of presentation for our homes, and that we take your feedback very seriously. The local staff has worked diligently to resolve these issues since your departure. The windows and blinds have been replaced and the gas grill was thoroughly cleaned. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention so that we may improve the quality of experiences for future guests. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to better serve you in the future!
Mary Ann H. Apr 2021
This place was awesome. The beach access is unbeatable. It's close enough to all the major Galveston attractions but far enough away to get out the fast paced city feeling. Totally recommend!
Deborah G. Apr 2021
This place was wonderful, and that it was easy to get to the beach, and how they leave you a lots of towels (well it was only me, my husband and two small grandbabies) I've rent a few beach house and I can say this was the best one...I will rent this house again...
Candice M. Apr 2021
My family and I loved our mini vacation , the house was perfect. Perfect inside and perfect location.
Michael J. Mar 2021
You almost need a 4 wheel drive due to driving through the sand to get to the house.
James B. Feb 2021
I like the cottage feel. It is pretty bare bones but a good value for a beach house.
steph k. Oct 2020
It was only a short ways to the beach. No traffic on our street so the beach is only occupied by a few people.
Karla S. Sep 2020
This house was everything we needed. A small getaway at the beach . The beach is walking distance and perfect for a small family .
Ryan B. Aug 2020
It is a short walk to a very minimally used beach.
Erin M. Jul 2020
The good:
Location! It’s easy to walk back and forth between the beach. However, it is nearer the highway than the map indicated, and you can hear road noise inside. Beach views from the porch are limited. Being on a private access area meant that it wasn’t terribly hard to socially distance. The sand shower under the house was very convenient. One of the bedrooms has a nice new mattress.

The bad and ugly:
Despite the house having “extra cleaning precautions for covid” it was in fact so NOT clean. Like, visibly so- not just me being paranoid. There was dog hair in one of the beds and spots and rings all over the light switches and side tables. I re-washed all the linens and dishes before use and Lysol wiped/sprayed every surface I could think of. It was a lot of work and not super vacation relaxing fun.

The home has been recently renovated, but not fully. The garbage disposal was not connected because electrical has not been run under the sink. As a result, the sink was clogged from the previous tenants. When we ran the dishwasher, it backed up into the sink and we got to see the old food from previous people. GROSS. The bathroom window glass was broken and the frame completely rusted through in one corner. As a result, there was an ant infestation in the bathroom. I would not recommend this home unless you truly only care about location.
Manager response:
We appreciate your feedback, Erin! Housekeeping issues have been resolved, and the ants have been treated. Maintenance has taken care of the garbage disposal and dishwasher. Thank you for staying with us!
Linsi P. Jul 2020
The location was perfect and the house was perfect for our family. But the ac did not cool very well and froze up. The beds are very firm making it uncomfortable and none of us not able to sleep well.
Manager response:
Hi, Linsi! We are so glad the house worked well for your group. The air conditioner has been fixed and is now working well. Thank you!
Joe P. Jun 2020
Great location, very comfortable home, loved that beach access being so close and uncrowded.
Christina R. Jun 2020
Beautiful vacation home very clean and cozy felt like home my husband and I and daughters had such a wonderful stay the ocean view from the house was beautiful and the short walk to the beach was great im definitely coming back ❤
Victoria A. May 2020
I loved how easy it was to get in the house and it is only a minute walk to the beach. The beach is clean and you can leave your stuff on the beach with no worries of it disappearing.
Donald L. May 2020
Overall we had a great stay. Just a few steps from the ocean. Only problem was the garbage disposal did not work and the dishwasher was extremely loud. We would stay again!
Jennifer B. May 2020
We had an amazing time! Short walk to the beach is a plus!
Curtis C. May 2020
Great house and location. The refrigerator and living room rug was visibly dirty and had not been cleaned. Other than that we absolutely loved this house and it’s great location and easy access to the beach.
Manager response:
Hi Curtis, thank you for your review! We have passed along your feedback regarding the refrigerator and living room rug to our housekeeping staff. They will complete a deep clean for both. We hope to host you again soon!
Melissa R. Jul 2019
La disfrutamos muchisimo muy comoda una estancia para recordar sin duda volveremos
Lucy N. Jul 2019
With just a few basic improvemnts the house could be very cute
Katie M. Jun 2019
Love it, we all enjoyed this a lot will definitely come back! Thank you
Norma P. May 2019
Good location, water pressure, and AC. Place needs updates, new living space furniture, paint and better TV reception.
catherine l. Apr 2019
Très bien situé. Bien équipé. Les enfants ont adoré.
Jose F. Apr 2019
Muy bueno !
Elizabeth A. Nov 2018
After years of using condos and hotels in Galveston, we booked this beach house for our recent family get-together - and from now on this is where we will go. It was outstanding in every way - location, amenities, price, etc. - AND we were able to bring our beloved dog!

I saw some reviews about the "old" carpet and how the place "needs updating" and I wanted to comment on that. If you're looking for something fancy, with posh and trendy floors and furniture - then definitely look elsewhere.

Personally I prefer a very casual environment for a beach vacation. If you want a family and pet-friendly beach house just steps from the actual beach, that is perhaps not trendy, but clean, spacious, great views, etc. - and you don't need "fancy," then this is the place to go for sure.

I loved the little touches like how they stocked lots of family board games, plenty of extra towels and bedding, huge pantry space, plenty of kitchen "stuff" i.e., dishes, utensils, pots and pans, etc. We didn't need a thing but our suitcases and food.

Highly recommend, can't wait to come back! :)
James R. Nov 2018
Clean and cozzie for Veterans Weekend.
William E. Aug 2018
It was close to the beach and my grandchildren enjoyed the weekend.
stephanie c. Aug 2018
The home was decent, but there was previous renter's trash in the parking area and the trash cans were very full. We had to stuff our trash bag in the stinky full cans while stepping over other renter's trash. We wanted to bbq, but the smell and look of the trash ruined that idea, because the bbq pit was under the car port area. One futon was broken, so that was one less sleeping accomidation. The twin bunk bed was cracked. The washer and dryer were working, but it took forever for the clothes to dry. The two chairs on the balcony were broken. Whomever owns this rental really needs to update and fix things. We made the best of things and had a good time. The beach was nice, but other renters left beer bttles everywhere. They have trash cans on the beach, so I do not know why folks have to throw there bottles on the ground?
Manager response:
We appreciate the guests feedback. The city of Galveston only picks up trash once a week, but our local staff will try and monitor it more closely to prevent this in the future. The broken chairs have since been removed and the futon has been scheduled to be fixed. The dryer has been checked and it is in perfect working order. The owner will be working with staff to update the home in the off-season.
Karen R. Jun 2018
Directions to house were incorrect & once we found the place the water heater was sitting on front yard & plumber was in our parking spot.
The Vacasa rep that answer the phone was very polite & helpful with getting us corrected directions. The plumber made sure we had hot water for our stay. The House was comfortable & a nice distance from the water. It’s an average beach house. Nothing fancy, but adequate for what we needed.
Betty E. Jun 2018
Perfect location cute place but you have big roaches need to spray noticed a hole in bathroom floor could be coming through there. And your kitchen faucet needs fixing other then that had a good time
Manager response:
We appreciate the guests feedback. A new faucet has been purchased and our local staff are currently waiting for guests to check out to install it. The floor in the hole has also been repaired.
Eric F. Jun 2018
Everything was great. Vacasa staff was friendly. We loved it thanks !!
David O. Mar 2018
Spent almost $200 per night for a house that is in shambles. The inside walls have insulation and no paneling . 1 lamp worked. Be careful when you plug something in. Several outlets give you a shock as the sparks fly. One of the twin beds broke when my son sat on it. Turns out they had put the boards together with ZIP TIES! Seriously, find a better house.
Manager response:
The owner has a complete remodel planned that will include removing the carpet and installing tile flooring and replacing the south wall paneling. We have already replaced the bed slats, and the non-working outlets have been replaced. Thank you!
Adrianna H. Jan 2018
It was a nice place, the only thing I didn't like was that there were a few little things that need to be remodeled or touched up. I liked the location, it's only about 12 min away from the seawall.
Ben R. Dec 2017
I booked this house just a couple of weeks before Christmas. We were looking for something reasonably priced as close to the Gulf as possible so that we could enjoy the sound and have a short walk. This house fulfilled both. The Gulf is visible not only from the porch but also the kitchen. The house was very clean and well stocked with cooking supplies. The barbecue pit is propane and it was empty. We did not feel like purchasing a new tank. The shower water pressure was very good. The only negative we experienced was some baby roaches in the microwave. The beach is private and no vehicle traffic is permitted. We managed to get around one bathroom with 4 adults and 2 children. Allowing our dog was also nice. We would rent this house again.
Jana R. Nov 2017
The price is right and it is dog friendly. Everything was clean ( except carpet) and there was plenty of dishes, pots and pans. You have a view of the ocean from the far side of the balcony and there are plenty of seats on the deck. Just a very quick walk to the beach, like 1 minute. Easy to go back and forth from Beach to beach house.
James R. Nov 2017
Please thank Bobby for the use his beach house last weekend. The Vetern group enjoyed the house. We really did not use it but thanks.
Christina D. Oct 2017
Very nice property but kitchen accessories need to be updated
Alex M. Aug 2017
If you are looking to get away this is the place for you. It is off the beaten path and away from the tourist area. It takes some
Time to get to the store or points
If interest but well worth it for us. We loved the isolation. Also we were concerned with earlier reviews but found them not true for us. There is plenty of dishes linens and of course the grill was replaced with a new one. It is a bit small but adequate for our family.
Virginia Faith A. Jul 2017
Your property manager on laocation was excellent, he explained several aspects of the area and the cottage that helped us greatly.
Bellalinda L. Jul 2017
The property is at a good location only a 2 minute walk to the beach. There was a wagon in the downstairs closet that we used to take all of our stuff to the beach. The grill is not in usable condition. There are pots provided but I would suggest you bring your own because they are in terrible condition. Our kids had fun but we will not return to this home.
Manager response:
The old grill has been disposed of, and a new one will be in its place soon! We hope to have another chance to impress this guest!
Cortney W. Jul 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the beach house. The location of the house was closed to the beach, walking distance. Very peaceful and nice. We would stay again
Donna S. Jul 2017
The home was great! Our family fit perfectly in the home. The price was wonderful for our short holiday trip. We especially enjoyed the close private beach access. The beach was not crowded and was clean, no seaweed. We were able to keep our canopy and chairs on the beach overnight, which was amazing! I was nervous the first night but many other families did the same and no one item was disturbed or taken! Overall great trip.
Darwin M. Jun 2017
Very nice and comfy home. Small rooms but lots of bedding available. Stores were convenient. Beach is not a far walk at all. Would definitely be coming back!