USA Texas Texas Gulf Coast Jamaica Beach Listing #9055

Seaside Cottage - Jamaica Beach, TX

31 reviews
Max occupancy: 8 1 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed, 2 Futon 3 bedrooms 1 bathroom 2 dog max  (25 lb weight limit) 
4405 Tampico Way, Jamaica Beach, TX 77554

Bayfront dog-friendly home w/ water views and dock access!

Pack your bags, get everyone ready, and don't forget Fido for an amazing vacation at this bayfront dog-friendly home. Come unwind with the whole family while you revel in the water views and enjoy having the beach as your playground when you book your seaside stay!

This vacation rental is located toward the western side of Galveston Island, near Jamaica Beach. Set just a short walk from the golden Texas Gulf Coast shore, this home gives you the chance to hit the waves with ease.

Bright and spacious, the main living area beckons you to come sink into the soft blue couches after a long day on the beach. Check out what's on cable or make some small bites to enjoy later on when you watch your favorite DVD on the flatscreen TV.

Step out onto the deck to read a book in the peace of the ocean breeze, or listen to some tunes over the WiFi while you unwind. Use the gas grill to cook up your fresh catch, or head back into the comfort of the central A/C to do some cooking in the kitchen.

Featuring a full-size refrigerator, microwave, and a breakfast bar to serve on, keeping everyone fueled up and ready for the next outing will be a piece of cake. Get everyone together around the classic dining room table, or spread out on the deck and at the breakfast bar.

When it's time to turn in, this two-bedroom, one-bathroom home will sleep up to eight guests and two small pups with ease. Please note a 25-pound weight limit for dogs and a nightly pet fee. In the master bedroom, there is a soft queen-size bed and plenty of storage for all of your belongings. With two more twin-size beds in the second room, as well as a twin-size bunk bed, you'll be able to spread out in privacy. If you need more sleeping space there are two futons available.

Wake up early to launch off the dock to explore the beautiful waters of Ostermayer Bayou. Take a few pictures of the local marine life while you paddle through the deep blue waters. Book a tee time at one of the nearby golf courses to drive the fairways and unwind in the warm Texas sun.

Spend a day wandering through the colored pyramids of Galveston's Moody Gardens. Watch the sharks swim overhead as you walk through the glass tunnel. Head into the Rainforest Pyramid to see the monkeys, then jump on Colonel Paddlewheel Boat for a ride through waters.

With fun around every corner and relaxation blowing in on the ocean breeze, this Texas home puts the best of everything at your fingertips.

*Snowbirds welcome! Please call us for information on discounted rates.

*Please note: this home resides in a noise-sensitive area and the owners participate in our Good Neighbor protection program. Our smart home technology will alert our team if excessive decibel or occupancy levels are detected, allowing us to reach out directly with a friendly reminder rather than risking a noise complaint from a neighbor. This technology is privacy compliant, and only monitors the presence of decibels and devices—not any personal conversation or information. Thank you for supporting our efforts to be good neighbors!*

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Dock

Features

Central AC

Kitchen

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Comcast

Cable : DirecTV

DVD player

Netflix streaming

TV

Wireless router

Miscellaneous

Snowbird-friendly

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Balcony

Deck

Patio

Scenic

Water view

Waterfront

31 reviews

catherine l. Apr 2019
Très bien situé. Bien équipé. Les enfants ont adoré.
Jose F. Apr 2019
Muy bueno !
Elizabeth A. Nov 2018
After years of using condos and hotels in Galveston, we booked this beach house for our recent family get-together - and from now on this is where we will go. It was outstanding in every way - location, amenities, price, etc. - AND we were able to bring our beloved dog!

I saw some reviews about the "old" carpet and how the place "needs updating" and I wanted to comment on that. If you're looking for something fancy, with posh and trendy floors and furniture - then definitely look elsewhere.

Personally I prefer a very casual environment for a beach vacation. If you want a family and pet-friendly beach house just steps from the actual beach, that is perhaps not trendy, but clean, spacious, great views, etc. - and you don't need "fancy," then this is the place to go for sure.

I loved the little touches like how they stocked lots of family board games, plenty of extra towels and bedding, huge pantry space, plenty of kitchen "stuff" i.e., dishes, utensils, pots and pans, etc. We didn't need a thing but our suitcases and food.

Highly recommend, can't wait to come back! :)
James R. Nov 2018
Clean and cozzie for Veterans Weekend.
William E. Aug 2018
It was close to the beach and my grandchildren enjoyed the weekend.
stephanie c. Aug 2018
The home was decent, but there was previous renter's trash in the parking area and the trash cans were very full. We had to stuff our trash bag in the stinky full cans while stepping over other renter's trash. We wanted to bbq, but the smell and look of the trash ruined that idea, because the bbq pit was under the car port area. One futon was broken, so that was one less sleeping accomidation. The twin bunk bed was cracked. The washer and dryer were working, but it took forever for the clothes to dry. The two chairs on the balcony were broken. Whomever owns this rental really needs to update and fix things. We made the best of things and had a good time. The beach was nice, but other renters left beer bttles everywhere. They have trash cans on the beach, so I do not know why folks have to throw there bottles on the ground?
Manager response:
We appreciate the guests feedback. The city of Galveston only picks up trash once a week, but our local staff will try and monitor it more closely to prevent this in the future. The broken chairs have since been removed and the futon has been scheduled to be fixed. The dryer has been checked and it is in perfect working order. The owner will be working with staff to update the home in the off-season.
Karen R. Jun 2018
Directions to house were incorrect & once we found the place the water heater was sitting on front yard & plumber was in our parking spot.
The Vacasa rep that answer the phone was very polite & helpful with getting us corrected directions. The plumber made sure we had hot water for our stay. The House was comfortable & a nice distance from the water. It’s an average beach house. Nothing fancy, but adequate for what we needed.
Betty E. Jun 2018
Perfect location cute place but you have big roaches need to spray noticed a hole in bathroom floor could be coming through there. And your kitchen faucet needs fixing other then that had a good time
Manager response:
We appreciate the guests feedback. A new faucet has been purchased and our local staff are currently waiting for guests to check out to install it. The floor in the hole has also been repaired.
Eric F. Jun 2018
Everything was great. Vacasa staff was friendly. We loved it thanks !!
Jamie A. Mar 2018
While the location of this home is great and only a short distance to the beach, the condition of this home was not good. One of the windows was broken so it was not a good first impression. Upon entering we were very disappointed. There were drawers broken and hanging open, the carpet was filthy and the walls were buckling. The walls were the main issue and we were actually very concerned about black mold and the health of our family while staying. We ended up leaving a few days early due to my son's coughing and "allergy like" symptoms. Overall, the home needs a lot of improvements before it should be inhabited by anyone else.
Manager response:
We apologize for the state of the house during this guest's stay. The homeowner is currently looking at potential contractors to get work done on the house in the near future. Thank you!
David O. Mar 2018
Spent almost $200 per night for a house that is in shambles. The inside walls have insulation and no paneling . 1 lamp worked. Be careful when you plug something in. Several outlets give you a shock as the sparks fly. One of the twin beds broke when my son sat on it. Turns out they had put the boards together with ZIP TIES! Seriously, find a better house.
Manager response:
The owner has a complete remodel planned that will include removing the carpet and installing tile flooring and replacing the south wall paneling. We have already replaced the bed slats, and the non-working outlets have been replaced. Thank you!
Mark K. Feb 2018
The home has great potential with some extreme maintenance and a few upgrades to the interior.
Manager response:
We are actively updating the unit with the approval of the owner. Thank you!
Adrianna H. Jan 2018
It was a nice place, the only thing I didn't like was that there were a few little things that need to be remodeled or touched up. I liked the location, it's only about 12 min away from the seawall.
Ben R. Dec 2017
I booked this house just a couple of weeks before Christmas. We were looking for something reasonably priced as close to the Gulf as possible so that we could enjoy the sound and have a short walk. This house fulfilled both. The Gulf is visible not only from the porch but also the kitchen. The house was very clean and well stocked with cooking supplies. The barbecue pit is propane and it was empty. We did not feel like purchasing a new tank. The shower water pressure was very good. The only negative we experienced was some baby roaches in the microwave. The beach is private and no vehicle traffic is permitted. We managed to get around one bathroom with 4 adults and 2 children. Allowing our dog was also nice. We would rent this house again.
Jana R. Nov 2017
The price is right and it is dog friendly. Everything was clean ( except carpet) and there was plenty of dishes, pots and pans. You have a view of the ocean from the far side of the balcony and there are plenty of seats on the deck. Just a very quick walk to the beach, like 1 minute. Easy to go back and forth from Beach to beach house.
James R. Nov 2017
Please thank Bobby for the use his beach house last weekend. The Vetern group enjoyed the house. We really did not use it but thanks.
Christina D. Oct 2017
Very nice property but kitchen accessories need to be updated
Alex M. Aug 2017
If you are looking to get away this is the place for you. It is off the beaten path and away from the tourist area. It takes some
Time to get to the store or points
If interest but well worth it for us. We loved the isolation. Also we were concerned with earlier reviews but found them not true for us. There is plenty of dishes linens and of course the grill was replaced with a new one. It is a bit small but adequate for our family.
Angela L. Aug 2017
The house is close to the beach and fit the needs of our family but the house is in the shape of a pure rental property, I don't think the owner ever goes to this house to stay. The living room/dining room wall has lots of water damage as it's all rippled and I could put my finger through the wall if I tried, I'm sure the wall is also full of mold. The kitchen needs updating as the counter top has a lot of water damage as you can feel the formica is bubbled. The cabinet by the stove is deteriorating as there was wood shavings in the pots and pans. The house has carpet and it really needs cleaned or replaced with something more suitable for the beach. The bathroom was disgusting as the wall and ceiling were peeling and needed repaired. Mold around the sink and everywhere in the shower. In the living room there are only 2 futons for which you can sit (no couches as the description states) and they are not the most comfortable pieces of furniture. Several of the blinds on the windows were well used. One of the bedrooms had a broken window that was taped up but the management company said that was on the list to be replaced. We did have trouble with the fridge while we were there, the management company was very responsive to our needs, they came out to fix the fridge and were helpful. The A/C worked great. Suggestions would be to replace the beach chairs and add a hair dryer as well as update the description of the house to reflect current offerings. The house photographs way better than what it shows.
Manager response:
We apologize for the disappointments this guest experienced. The blinds and window are scheduled to be replaced, and the carpet is scheduled to be cleaned.
Virginia Faith A. Jul 2017
Your property manager on laocation was excellent, he explained several aspects of the area and the cottage that helped us greatly.
Bellalinda L. Jul 2017
The property is at a good location only a 2 minute walk to the beach. There was a wagon in the downstairs closet that we used to take all of our stuff to the beach. The grill is not in usable condition. There are pots provided but I would suggest you bring your own because they are in terrible condition. Our kids had fun but we will not return to this home.
Manager response:
The old grill has been disposed of, and a new one will be in its place soon! We hope to have another chance to impress this guest!
Cortney W. Jul 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the beach house. The location of the house was closed to the beach, walking distance. Very peaceful and nice. We would stay again
Donna S. Jul 2017
The home was great! Our family fit perfectly in the home. The price was wonderful for our short holiday trip. We especially enjoyed the close private beach access. The beach was not crowded and was clean, no seaweed. We were able to keep our canopy and chairs on the beach overnight, which was amazing! I was nervous the first night but many other families did the same and no one item was disturbed or taken! Overall great trip.
Darwin M. Jun 2017
Very nice and comfy home. Small rooms but lots of bedding available. Stores were convenient. Beach is not a far walk at all. Would definitely be coming back!