USA Oregon Central Oregon Coast Florence Listing #1003

Whale's Crossing - Florence, OR

Take a Virtual Tour
114 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 1 Futon 3 bedrooms 1.5 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Lovely Oceanfront Home with Stunning Views & Solarium

Plan an incredible escape to the South Oregon Coast any time of year at this beautiful three-bedroom Florence vacation rental! Nestled amidst the beach grasses overlooking gorgeous Heceta Beach, this three-bedroom oceanside home offers stunning views, a deck overlooking the sand, and a wonderful solarium for storm watching.

This lovely home is about five miles north of historic downtown Florence in the quiet little community of Heceta Beach. Bring your kite, beach ball and jogging shoes to explore the large expanse of sandy beach. It's a short drive to downtown Florence, where you'll find several fun shops along Bay Street, a boardwalk (with a weekend farmer's market May-October), and restaurants varying from Mexican and seafood to a teahouse. The Beachcomber Pub has an impressive beer list and is very popular with locals and visitors alike. And for an award-winning plate of crab-encrusted halibut, classic fish and chips, or a Cajun fish burger, you'll want to plan a night out at the popular Waterfront Depot.

Return to your rental home, and you'll be charmed by the blue trim and wooden deck that create an authentic beach exterior. The ocean theme continues inside with sea-themed art adorning the walls, including a large whale mural on one wall.

When you step past the covered, welcoming entryway and the front door you will find the main level of this house, which features a fun ocean theme throughout. A full kitchen is well-stocked with appliances and tools, so you won't have any trouble whipping up tasty meals during your stay! And with a few extras like a coffee grinder, French press, and a blender, the adults can enjoy fresh coffee in the morning while the kids drink fruit smoothies.

Cook up some fresh seafood and eat at the wooden dining table in the kitchen, or let the ocean views complement dessert at the high-top table in the living room. If you would prefer to have a bite out, the Surfside Restaurant at Driftwood Shores is within walking distance, so stroll over there for a bowl of seafood stew and a classic cocktail while gazing out the restaurant's windows at the ocean.

This main level also houses the restrooms and the laundry room, so there's no need to worry about getting your clothes wet and sandy while exploring the coastline! With WiFi access, you and your guests will enjoy all the comforts of home here.

Walk up a few stairs to reach the living room, where you will immediately notice the star feature of this home: the solarium. Stretching along the entire west wall, you'll be treated to an exquisite view of the ocean that will make you feel like you are out on the sand! Watch gorgeous sunsets or powerful storms while staying safe from the elements on the comfortable sofas or armchairs.

This bright area, with carpeted flooring and cheery accents like the striped area rug, is a cozy repose for relaxation after a day of exploring the coast. And if the weather keeps you indoors, enjoy a movie night using the wall-mounted, flatscreen TV with cable and a DVD player.

Take a morning cup of coffee out on the deck and have a seat to watch the waves roll in. In the evenings, it's the perfect perch to enjoy a glass of wine and share some pictures of the beautiful beach online to make all your friends jealous. There's room on the large deck for everyone to find a quiet spot and breathe in the fresh air of the Oregon Coast!

Three bedrooms provide warm and cozy places to rest when it's time to curl up under the covers. Downstairs from the main level you will find two bedrooms, both with lovely queen-size beds and their own TV and DVD players. These two rooms feature deck access as well as bedside tables, reading lamps, and cozy bedding.

Guests who prefer a bit more privacy may be inclined to choose the third bedroom, located up a few stairs from the living room. As it's the only sleeping quarters on this level, the lucky guests staying here will enjoy peace and quiet along with the queen-size bed, flatscreen TV, and dressers for storing your belongings. Altogether, this home will comfortably accommodate eight guests when you lay out the queen-sized futon in the living room.

The Darlingtonia State Natural Site, an 18-acre botanical garden dedicated to protecting the Darlingtonia Californica, is just north of the house. Also known as the Cobra Lily, this carnivorous plant has purple blooms in the spring and the park offers a unique glimpse of the insect-feasting flora, as well as hiking trails, picnic areas, and a boardwalk. Also within a short drive you will find the historic Heceta Head Lighthouse (20 minutes north), Sea Lion Caves (a 15-minute drive north), and other towns such as Yachats, Waldport, and finally Newport, which has the renowned Oregon Coast Aquarium.

Visitors to Florence love to take advantage of all its outdoor activities. Go fishing on the Siuslaw River, clamming at the mouth of the river, or crabbing from the docks. Visit one of the two amazing golf courses, go ATV riding at the Oregon Dunes National Recreational Area, or hiking in the Siuslaw National Forest.

Within town you will find plenty of restaurants to keep you well-fed (make sure to visit Big Dog Donuts early in the morning before they run out of their amazing buttermilk bars!), as well as grocery stores to stock up on the basics, and shops to peruse. Whether you decide to listen a live band at the casino, take a sunset walk on the beach, or go kayaking on one of the area's many lakes, you will find plenty of great activities in Florence!

Visit this welcoming Central Coast vacation rental for a winter weekend of storm watching from the solarium or enjoy fun in the sun out on the beach in the summer - Whale's Crossing features an abundance of choices that ensure you'll never run out of things to see or do!

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

Kitchen & dining






Ocean view


Water view


Beach access


Internet : Charter


Cable : Charter

DVD player

Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Board games




Beach towels

114 reviews

Edward R. Oct 2022
The only thing I loved was the porch because the view of the ocean was beautiful.
Susan K. Mar 2022
The house was warm and inviting. The furniture was comfortable and the house was well stocked.
Rochelle B. Feb 2022
Loved watching the rain, sun, clouds and the ocean view! Ate out at two fabulous restaurants in Florence!
Caley R. Dec 2021
This was a fantastic house to stay in, very cozy and beautiful views.
Dan W. Dec 2021
The solarium is great. It provides an amazing view.
The location is great. You can walk on the beach north or south.
I expect to come back at some point. I'm only giving 4 stars (and not 5) because of some minor maintenance issues.

The place is not fancy. It feels like a house people live in, not a hotel room. There is no island in the kitchen or soaking tub.
Bedrooms are a little on the small side, but were fine for us.
I had some concern about the baseboard heating, but we went in December and the house got plenty warm.

Rachel H. Nov 2021
I recently stayed here with my grown kids over Thanksgiving week. It’s a really comfortable house! The view is amazing! The kitchen had everything we needed to make our thanksgiving dinner. However it would have been nice to know that the garbage disposal didn’t work. Everything else was great and we all enjoyed it very much! I will definitely be back.
Heather G. Jul 2021
This place delivers as far as the view that is advertised. It was nice to relax with a beautiful and be close to the beach. We were disappointed when we arrived and found pee in the toilet and a pair of socks that had been left behind. So it made us question if the place was really cleaned well. The windows are full of mold, and some spots in the house really dusty. I’ve stayed at better cared for rentals, so if that doesn’t bother you, this is a great place to stay. There were books, games, DVD player all available for use, close to Hwy 101 and near shopping for groceries. Personally, wouldn’t stay here again but it wasn’t horrible.
Manager response:
Heather, we are so sorry that the home was not properly prepared for your arrival. We strive for a standard of excellence in cleanliness, and we are working closely with our housekeeping team to ensure that they are consistently preparing the home in accordance with our high standards. Our team will address the mold and dust issues reported. We hope you'll allow us another opportunity to host you for a truly exceptional vacation. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Dina L. Jul 2021
Beach house had a beautiful view of the beach but the windows kept fogging up. Down stair rooms had a bagging noise when it was windy at night
Douglas A. Jul 2021
This home was immaculately cleaned and had everything we needed. We spent most of our time in the solarium watching the tides roll by. It was such a unique feature! There were a few minor maintenance issues, but customer service handled them quickly and professionally.
david l. Apr 2021
Nice location , could use some updates and a better beach access! the parking is rough. I would rent it again with changes made.
Ann L. Mar 2021
The view from the windows is as described. It's wonderful and we enjoyed our stay. However, as another previous guest mentioned, the house needs some TLC. Nothing about the problems with this place was a deal breaker, but I will mention a few things here in the hope that the management will try to do better. The living room carpet is in need of a shampoo. It also hadn't been vacuumed prior to our arrival as we found many items that a sweeper should have taken care of. The garbage disposal doesn't work. While we could live without that amenity, it caused the sink to drain very slowly. There was a chair with a broken arm. Several light bulbs were burned out. A light fixture had a large cobweb on it. Window frames have mold in some places. I was charged what I consider a hefty cleaning fee for this house. I don't think the cleaners are earning their money.
Manager response:
We appreciate your review, Ann. We would like to apologize if the cleanliness of the home was not up to our standards for your stay. The window frames are getting cleaned and there will be a good dusting while we replace the light bulbs. There is a new chair to replace the broken. We haven't been able to get the garbage disposal fixed yet, but we are working on it. Thank you!
Daniel W. Mar 2021
Perfect view, nice house for our family. House was clean with plenty of linens.
It was cold when we arrived, but the electric heaters was adequate, it would be nice if room temperature was marked on the heaters for proper climate control.
JONATHAN B. Mar 2021
We recently had the opportunity to spend a full week of winter at Whale's Crossing and enjoyed our stay. This home is all about the beachfront view through that amazing solarium! We found that the home was well equipped and appeared exactly as depicted in the photos. We appreciated the reliable coffee maker and grinder. For digital nomads, the internet was quite reliable and easily kept up with our workload during the week. Every beach house we have stayed in comes with a variety of quirks and we wouldn't want it any other way. We found ourselves missing the warmth of a fireplace during those cold & drafty nights. The home relies on electric heat and has a few wall heat units scattered throughout the home. It's likely an adequate amount of heat in the summer, but the home never quite felt warm in the winter. As mentioned in a previous review, the heater in the downstairs bedroom was still not functional. (A somewhat sketchy looking plug-in heater was placed in the room but we didn't feel comfortable using it much) There are numerous blankets in the home to keep you comfortable. Regarding the beds, we agree with the previous comments as we found the beds to be quite uncomfortable. The home is located some distance outside of town, but there is a small mini mart and a local bar within walking distance of the property. There is also a second convenience store down the road that you will notice when turning off the 101. The beach can be accessed from the dune trail out back or via a short walk to the county beach access a few doors to the north. Bottom line, come for the view and you will not regret it! We would like to thank the owner(s) of Whale's Crossing for the opportunity to stay for a week. Morning coffee in the solarium with that special view is a memory that will be with us for a long time!
Amelia D. Feb 2021
This house is absolutely great! The view cannot be beat! The living area and bedrooms are really comfortable.
Ashley A. Feb 2021
We will absolutely rent again. The solarium is just unbeatable. Perfect winter getaway.
Michelle S. Feb 2021
Loved the living room area, and the long window with ocean view! Well appointed and very cozy. The downstairs bedroom on the right did not have a working heater, and bedroom on the left had no remotes for the TV. Mattresses could definately been upgraded. Other than that, it was a fabulous vacation rental!
Miranda B. Dec 2020
What a stunning view, couldn't be better. We also love Florence, it's such a great little town. Beach access is also great for this place, and it's well equipped and a great layout for a small group. Only downside was beds aren't particularly comfortable, so I wouldn't have wanted to sleep here for a long stay, but it was fine enough for two nights. Well worth it for that view!
Manager response:
Hi, Miranda! Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit. While we understand that sleeping preferences vary widely, we are sorry to hear that the bed did not provide for a comfortable night of rest. We welcome the opportunity to improve our homes for future guests and value this feedback. We hope for another opportunity to host you in the future!
Kay Rene Q. Nov 2020
House is gorgeous. The only reason I didn’t give it a five star is because of the location of the full bathroom and 1/2 bath. Three levels and hard for us Senior Citizens to use the bathrooms. Beautiful view, though. Right close to the ocean. We enjoyed just watching the ocean.
Tess N. Nov 2020
This home is incredible. The solarium windows alone make it worth coming back to again and again.
Ross B. Sep 2020
We came here for our honeymoon and this place did not disappoint. The view out the giant window is amazing! The overall layout of the place is nice too. It's a quick walk to the beach and there's a fun bar down the street called Jerry's Place. Only thing that didn't work was the microwave had a button stuck on it so you have to unplug it a few times to get it to work. I'd highly recommend staying here!
Manager response:
Hello, Ross! Thank you for your review. We appreciate you letting us know about the microwave and are more than happy to bring this to the attention of the local team to have this addressed. We’re very glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we get the opportunity to host you again sometime in the near future.
Nathalie L. Aug 2020
We had a really Nice time even if the weather was not the best. When we were inside we spent our time in front of the large windows. It was like we were on the beach. Really quiet, kitchen well equipped. We would consider coming back. Thank you.
Susan G. Aug 2020
You are definitely paying for the view at this location. It’s wonderful. The house is not fancy or updated but the view is worth the trade off. . The beach access is close. While it’s not a reflection of the house, the housekeeping fell short. There was only one dishwasher pod for three night stay for 8. I had to go buy some when I had lots at home I would have brought. There was no hand soap in one of the bathrooms and a hotel size bar in the other so I had to go but that as well. Again, I would have brought some had the description not said it would be provided. There was a pile of bedding on the dryer. We assumed it was clean but we’re not about to take our chances. There was a yucky spot I had to clean off kitchen counter upon arrival. I’m sure this could all easily be remedied and not a problem for others.
Manager response:
Susan, thank you for staying with us and providing us with your feedback! We are so sorry for the details that were amiss. Vacasa does provide you with starter packs of laundry soap as well as other supplies. Had we been contacted, we would have been happy to bring more supplies. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to get another chance to impress you in the future!
Jennifer B. Jul 2020
Super awesome house! So nice to relax in the living room & watch the ocean.
Zackery R. Jul 2020
The house was clean and the views were great. Great location.
Mary C. Jun 2020
The solarium is a true delight! It feels like your sitting on the beach with a grand view, but have all the comforts of home. Our family had a wonderful time here and spent days riding ATVs and Sand Boarding with our teen sons. The home was clean and had all our basic needs. It does have a lot of stairs up and down to kitchen/ bathroom and bedrooms or main living area. No problem for our kids, but might bother some older folks. Also good to know beach access is a few minutes walk away as there are some good size dunes behind the house.
Toni K. May 2020
Wow. Gorgeous views, easy beach access, comfortable beds...exactly what we needed for our mini vacation
Anna . May 2020
Great place to stay at to relax and unwind! Amazing view with the solarium👌 would definitely stay here again!!
Tammy W. Apr 2020
The view! Besides from a few little cosmetic items to be fixed such as the solarium blind and having better blinds in the downstair bedrooms our stay was very pleasant...and the heating situation down stairs in the one bedroom...We will be back for sure! Thank you for sharing your home!
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Tammy! We will be sure to notify our local team of the need to check the blinds so that they're in good repair for later guests. We hope to host you again, soon!
Jay M. Mar 2020
House has great views and loved watching the sunsets! Enjoyed the layout because it gave us all our own space and we could all get together in the family room for the view.
Katie C. Mar 2020
That huge window is definitely what sold the place! no matter what the weather is outside, that view is gorgeous. The sunset every night right through the window while hanging out with the family will be a beautiful memory for our entire family. Adults and kids enjoyed this little home through the whole weekend, only wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the view.
Deborah R. Mar 2020
We spent most of our time in the lounge chairs in the sun room. The house has everything you need to move right in and start enjoying the wonderful location. You can walk on the clean sandy beach for hours, but if it is stormy you are set with a front row seat to watch. We will be back.
Laura K. Dec 2019
The view is great. It is an odd shaped house with 4 levels. About 6 stairs for each level with the plastic stair mats. I tripped on them a few times because they curl and are not tacked down. The heat in the lower right bedroom didn't work. When there we had a great time in the living room playing games on the TV. Overall it is nice and we would consider stating again.
Manager response:
Hi, Laura! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your review. We have asked the owner about replacing the stair mats and will get the heat taken care of right away. We hope to see you again!
James N. Nov 2019
A very clean house that works for families. To be perfect, there would have to be a much better route to the beach. The view is great, and overall just a wonderful place to relax!
Jason C. Oct 2019
We had the most wonderful time! Beautiful house right there on the beach. We loved looking out the huge windows everyday! We’re already talking about coming back next year!
Thank you!
Walter T. Sep 2019
This was our fourth stay at Whale’s Crossing with more planned for the future, that says it all.
Rolf R. Sep 2019
Sitting in the solarium, protected from the wind, watching the beach below and the ocean behind it. Super comfortable setup with plenty of space to sit and read or watch. Ten minute drive to Florence.
rhonda p. Jul 2019
Loved the view & location! We were a family of 5 adults and found this home very comfortable. I would definitely go back!
Todd A. Jul 2019
We really liked the panorama view of the ocean in Florence! Close access to the beach.
Steven F. Jun 2019
Whale’s Crossing is a perfect place to gather with friends. House has EVERYTHING you need. Clean an cozy, perfect beach house!
Linda D. May 2019
We had a great time! The house is even nicer than the pictures. Our weather was rainy so we really appreciated the floor to ceiling windows in the living room. Watching the ocean in stormy weather is a treat
Terrie R. Apr 2019
Perfect location also very clean and it had everything we needed
Cyra K. Apr 2019
Enjoyed the view of the ocean on a rainy day! The house had everything we needed and felt bigger than it actually was.
Paul F. Apr 2019
What a great property-lots of space, 3 bedrooms, great cooking space. Easy access to the beach but you may find you don’t use it since there’s such a panoramic view of the ocean from the main living space. We would definitely rent again!
Susan S. Mar 2019
The solarium windows are amazing and there is easy beach access. The kitchen was extremely well stocked. Beds were comfy.
Kelsey W. Sep 2018
Our agency came as a team where we could study hard and all connect to the wifi and complete some of the most dry mind laboring information you could be held accountable for...but the view and ability to walk on the beach, the comfortable beds, amazing ocean noises truly made the situation the best it could be. Thank you for the welcoming home to make it enjoyable!!
Keith N. Aug 2018
This house had a great few and was the perfect way to spend the weekend.
therese w. Jul 2018
You couldn’t ask for a better location. Breath taking views, while still still just a short 5 min drive in to town.
Carol S. Jul 2018
The view and location were nice. However, there were some shabby details. a Chair you couldn't sit in. Unspeakably blown out futon couch. Could not even sit on it. No wine glasses.
Manager response:
We have purchased wine glasses for the home and are in the process of repairing the chair. We are still working on the futon. Thank you!
WILLIAM K. Jul 2018
A very nice rental property. ...beds comfortable. ..very clean and well kept living spaces...views from the
deck and main level window wall spectacular....would rent again.
Virginia B. Apr 2018
Will definitely recommend. Enjoyed watching the sunsets from the solarium.
Katie C. Mar 2018
I rented this home with a few girlfriends, and we really enjoyed our stay. The house is adorable, and views are breathtaking. The beach is right out the back window, with multiple opportunities to beach watch. The living room solarium is very cool and unique, and two of the bedrooms open to a lower deck. It is a reasonably short walk to the beach, or there is an option to park at the beach itself. A perfect getaway!
Walter T. Jan 2018
Spectacular view!
Kimberly A. Jan 2018
His house is in a perfect location, it has everything that we could possibly need while staying there. The view is spectacular! I just hope that I can stay here again sometime in the future.
Cliff W. Nov 2017
Thank you for not only making it so easy to book and find. We have once before used your services and rented before. In all cases, first rate and thanks.
Vera S. Oct 2017
The weather was really stormy and rainy. However, with the glass porch we had fantastic views of the ocean. My kids said it’s like being inside of a car wash. They loved it.
Julie S. Sep 2017
Great location and family spot!
Tonya L. Aug 2017
Great views and great beach. Well stocked kitchen. Comfortable home.
Victor M. Jul 2017
The location is great right on the beach and a short drive up the coast to Newport and down the coast to sand dunes and Winchester Bay. The only improvement is the windows in the solarium should be cleaned before a guest arrives. The window cleaning supplies were available and after a little cleaning the views were awesome. The house was clean and neat - had all the supplies we needed .We looked at several properties before picking this one and next time will not need to look at others.
The food at the following restaurants was great - Waterfront, 1285 Resto & Mo's if driving down the coast the Mo's at Otter Rock was a lot of fun.
Hiking = Cape Perpetua - tide pools to forest hiking make sure to do Hobbit Trail
Winchester Bay = Sportsmen's Cannery - great for fresh Crab and Fish
Newport was fun especially the NYE Beach area for shopping. So much coast so little time.
Kendra G. Jun 2017
The Location was great. Next to hotel and restaurant. Easy walk to the beach. Loved viewing the ocean from the solarium. With the exception of the dirty windows the home was very clean. The home has been nicely maintained and is in good repair.

Bedding needs to be updated and replaced. The sun from the upstairs bedroom is brutal and should be resolved with blackout curtains. The pots and pans were made of scratched up Teflon. If these items are addressed, I would definitely recommend .
Angela G. May 2017
We absolutely enjoyed our stay at this property, for us it was only a short stay on our way through and we really wish we would have had more time to spend at this house. It had all the right features, but the view is just absolutely outstanding. There is nothing more relaxing that sipping a cup of tea enjoying that view. Amazing.
Richard C. Apr 2017
Albeit, arriving at Whale's Crossing for the first time, driving up the somewhat hidden driveway from the road, seeing the house up high amongst the beach grass was a bit concerning at first until we climbed the stairs and went inside. OMG. Beautiful. Just beautiful. Everything was so clean, carpet looked brand new, furniture was new as well and the house smelled clean and fresh inside. Decorated perfectly and very tastefully in our opinion with much though put into every piece. Whale's Crossing appears to be remodeled somewhat recently and what a fantastic job they did especially repurposing that wooden post on the stairway inside. Bravo! And the views. Oh the views were just so spectacular from the solarium and the bedrooms outside deck down below. Great idea for the recliners in the solarium folks. They were our favorite place to hang out, watch the ocean, and people watch on the beach below. We will definitely come back here again. Thank you.
Jason T. Mar 2017
The rental home is well maintained and very good for a family-style staying. It has a beautiful sunroom & setting overlooking the ocean beaches. This home has everything available so you may feel you're staying in your own home. Next door neighbor is very nice and the surrounding neighborhood is quite and provides lots of privacy. Beach access is within 5-minute walking distance. Supermarket (Fred Meyers) is only 5-minute away from driving. I'd recommend this beautiful rental home to anyone, and my family plans to return to this rental home next Summer.
Ellen W. Feb 2017
The kitchen was well equipped. The furniture comfortable. The view spectacular. A great place for a stormy weekend holiday.
Dan P. Feb 2017
Stayed on a golf trip and loved the view. Comfortable and clean. Would stay again!
Rosanne V. Jan 2017
Great ocean view from solarium.
Jasminka M. Nov 2016
great location and wonderful views, furniture somewhat outdated
Kimberly A. Oct 2016
If you're looking at a place to relax and just stare at the ocean for hours this is it. The balcony on the two bedrooms on the lower floor is perfect for catching some fresh air and taking some beautiful pictures!
W. James O. Aug 2016
Fantastic location
Would love to own this home and retire there
Greg C. Aug 2016
It was extremely windy with cold, foggy conditions at the house for several days of our visit, which we hear can be common for the Oregon coast during the summer months. But it didn't get us down. There are lots of things to do in the area, and in driving to other beaches we realized the fog can be very localized; just a few minutes up the coast it was sunny and warm.
John R. Aug 2016
Great location, but a little tough to get to the beach
Henry O. Aug 2016
Love the house and location. It was extremely windy but the solarium made that easy to tolerate. Path from the house to the beach is a little overgrown, but we figured it out. Gorgeous views. Lots of great restaurants nearby.
Tory V. Jul 2016
Great views and location.
Roena W. Jul 2016
The fogged windows were a distraction but the house is beautiful!
Carrol T. Jun 2016
My wife and I treated ourselves and our son from Eugene and his family to a weekend at Whale's Crossing. The house is drop dead gorgeous and is equipped with everything anyone would need for a fun stay. The views from the impressive bank of windows is the highpoint of the house layout. Couple of ways to get to the beach but the one right in front of the house was the most fun and convenient. Gorgeous beach and the sunsets were spectacular. Highly recommend Whale's Crossing for a night, weekend or week. Well worth it.
Mary W. May 2016
Great place to kick back and relax.
Patrick N. Apr 2016
This was a great location for visiting the Sand Dunes and Sea Lion caves. Central and easy access to all the great things around Florence. The beach is a bit further from the house than the pictures make it seam.
Bonnie T. Apr 2016
Nice home and location to resturant that is within walking distance
Mark R. Feb 2016
Had a good time I wouldn't have over 6 stay because of the sleeping arrangements and only one shower makes it difficult to get everyone showered for the day.
Walter T. Feb 2016
Wonderful ocean views, easy beach access, good location for getting around town and surrounding areas. We will certainly return!
Louise V. Jan 2016
Great place to enjoy everything the ocean has to offer. Comfortable home with everything you may need for your trip!
Joel M. Dec 2015
Right on the beach!! If the weather sucks, you can still enjoy the view with the solarium style windows. Watched whales migrate with a brew in hand while keeping warm inside.This was our second Thanksgiving at this house and we'll be back again!
Jeanne K. Sep 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Whale's Crossing. The solarium was a delight and we spent hours simply gazing out at the ocean and listening to the waves. Our two young children enjoyed the children's books and games immensely when we weren't out playing on the beach or rolling down the sand dunes. The house was clean, well stocked, comfortable and centrally located between the Oregon Dunes Recreation Area and the Heceta Head Lighthouse.
James H. Aug 2015
Having a large picture window (the solarium) was a really great addition to the house - with a full 180 degree ocean view. The amenities were as advertised, kitchen utensals satisfactory, coffee pot did its thing every morning, bedrooms were adequate. Very homey, we would come back anytime.
Renee M. Jul 2015
Overall great location and stay, with beautiful view! Amenities are complete for all ages.... games, books, toys, comfortable, tvs, etc. One small shower would have been complicated if we would have had 8 people instead of 5.
Steven & Jo Ann N. Jun 2015
We loved the property. It has fantastic views and easy access to the beach. It was clean. The livingroom is spacious and comfortable with plenty of seating for a large family. We look forward to visiting again.
Brenda K. Apr 2015
The Whale Crossing house lived up to it's name the week we were there. We saw whale after whale as we watched from those amazing front windows. We have a large family and therefore often stay in vacation rentals, this is one of the best we have stayed in. It was well decorated but not fussy (i.e. kid safe and friendly). Plenty of games to play during the rainy/windy moments. The kitchen had all of the pots/pans we could want...plenty of blankets, hot water. We often like to experience new homes when we travel but if we come back to Florence we want to stay here again! Next time we will remember our binoculars. Our only note of caution is for family's with very young children, there are lots of steps.
Brian G. Mar 2015
The house was overall nice! The view alone was worth it all!
Susan M. Dec 2014
This is a very well stocked home. Plenty of blankets, pillows, dishes, electric plugs. Emergency items (flashlights, extra batteries etc. There is a blender and mixer and griddle and toaster. You won't need to bring anything but food. The view is really the best thing about the house. Just sit in the comfortable chairs and enjoy
Dave O. Nov 2014
WOW, what a place. The windows make the place the great place that it is. We were actually there for the only two days ever recorded that were back to back clear days in the history of the Oregon coast. Beautiful and peaceful.
E. K. Oct 2014
Excellent home. Windows are so beautiful looking out onto the beach. Home is in excellent condition.
Debbie H. May 2014
What a wonderful beach house. Five sisters together for a weekend. It was not long enough! No where is as nice as home but this sure comes close. The carpet is soft and plush, the beds are soft and warm with fluffy actual comforters. A great selection of CD's. I guess the only think I would recommend is a new mattress on the futon. It is hard to sleep on but there are three bedrooms, we just didn't want to share. Also, we couldn't find a radio. I think there is one there somewhere, we just couldn't find it. Those are not complaints, just comments. The beach house is perfect! We hope we can all go again soon! It is worth every penny.
Bob M. Jan 2014
This place is like sitting on a covered balcony of a cruise ship the interior and amenities were fabulous very comfy furnishings a couple of suggestions add darkened curtains in the upper room - the heater in the kitchen vibrates the wall in the lower room very noisy We are looking forward to bringing our kids for another great stay.
Manager response:
We are thrilled you had such a great stay at this location, thank you for your helpful feedback concerning the heater in the kitchen. We are working on getting this fixed prior to the next guest's stay. Thanks!
Sue H. Dec 2013
Very nice home. Quality furniture and equipment. View is gorgeous.