USA Maryland Deep Creek Lake Swanton Listing #30719

Golden A-Frame - Swanton, MD

Take a Virtual Tour
32 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 3 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 3 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms 2 dog max  (100 lb weight limit)  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

New listing! Unique, dog-friendly chalet w/ a gas grill & private hot tub

*Please note: There is a 13 night limit on reservations per local regulations. Reservations over 13 nights are prohibited and cannot be honored.

Come up to the Lake and relax in style at this unique chalet that has been completely renovated with modern amenities and appliances while still retaining it's rustic charm! This Golden A-Frame is located at the end of a private road in the Sky Valley community where you will delight at the seclusion. Gather with friends around the gas firepit out on the large deck or soak in the brand new, outdoor hot tub and melt that stress away! Head inside to hang out in the upstairs loft watching movies, playing video games, or lounging in the hanging swings. Even the family dogs are welcome here! Hop in the car and take a short drive to Deep Creek State Park, where there is plenty more to do, all less than seven miles from your front door.

RESORT AMENITIES

WHAT'S NEARBY
AttractionDistance From Home
Deep Creek Lake State Park7.0 Miles
Wisp Resort14.0 Miles
New Germany State Park14.5 Miles
Savage River State Forest14.8 Miles
Swallow Falls State Park15.9 Miles
Herrington Manor State Park19.5 Miles
Mystic Mountain22.8 Miles
Timberline Four Seasons Resort49.5 Miles

THINGS TO KNOW

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Bedrooms

Pack-N-Play

Children

High chair

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Fireplace

Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules

Dog-friendly

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Comcast

TV

Cable

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

Playground

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Board games

Basketball court : Shared

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Deck

Firepit

32 reviews

Elissa B. Aug 2022
Loved our stay here with three teens and two adults, everyone had enough space to spread out. The hot tub is big and looks very new. We had very mild weather for August, so not having a/c was not an issue for us. We would like to come back and stay again in the winter.
Karen S. Jul 2022
The location was great and has great amenities.
Joshua S. Jun 2022
The home is perfect for what you’re looking for— a weekend away in the woods and by a lake! Fully outfitted with absolutely everything, the home was fantastic for us and our pups.
Charlotte H. Feb 2022
Well thought out space in this A-Frame chalet. I have two children who adored the upstairs with the swing chairs and the down stairs games. We were there for skiing but had poor weather, however it was easy to stay inside a whole day with minimal issues. Very relaxing.
Brian M. Jan 2022
We had such a great time at this beautiful cabin in the woods with all the perfect amenities to enjoy a snow filled weekend! This house has everything needed to enjoy time away and hunker down to watch the snow fall. While we were there it snowed 14+ inches in 24 hours. You definitely need a 4x4 to access this place in the winter but once there you have everything you need. Thanks again for sharing your cabin with us. My wife, young daughter and I enjoyed every moment.
Allison P. Jan 2022
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Golden A-Frame and can tell the owners put a lot of work into updating and customizing this cabin rental. Beautifully decorated. It’s in a wonderful location - secluded yet centrally located within 10-20 minutes of most places you’d want to check out in the Deep Creek area. The hot tub was wonderful and the beds were comfy. We would definitely consider rebooking this rental again in the future. However, there are a few items that need some attention from the property management and homeowners. The beams and light figures need dusting and cleaning - many, many cobwebs throughout. The kitchen definitely didn’t have enough gadgets or tools for cooking - no vegetable peeler, no cheese grater, no Pyrex dishes for baking, no steak knives, no coffee bean grinder… just to name a few items we wish were there but improvised with what we had to work with. The grey couch in the main family room was stained and just really dirty looking. We put an extra bedsheet on it so we could sit on it. The bathroom black floor tile is coming apart and definitely wasn’t installed properly. A lot of the grout is coming out and as a result the tiles are all loose. And the shower tile needs to be grouted, caulked and sealed in many areas - because right now it’s just collecting mold in the cracks. Maybe most renters wouldn’t notice this as an issue but my husband is a professional contractor and couldn’t help but notice it immediately. Lastly, the poor drywall that the dartboard is hanging on has holes everywhere and is such an eyesore. Probably should build some sort of wood back board to prevent seeing all the holes. Highly recommend the homeowners consider getting a gate of some sort for the spiral staircase - that staircase is no joke and makes me nervous for anyone renting and has small kiddos.
Manager response:
Allison, we thank you for your feedback and for allowing us to host you! To clarify, we do not stock any food items in the home, so please bring all the food you need for your stay, including spices, salt and pepper, coffee, and tea. To know what appliances and supplies are offered, we encourage guests to contact our 24/7 guest service line. We will pass your comments regarding the limited kitchen supplies to our local manager, who will work with the homeowner to make any updates. We hope to host you again!
Adam K. Dec 2021
Spent a lovely 3 days and 2 nights here for my wife’s birthday and could not have been happier. Everything was perfect; from the warm and rustic interior, to the spacious and luxurious hot tub. No complaints to be had! Would highly recommend this rental to anyone visiting the area!
Roger and Neha G. Nov 2021
The place was dirty. Cobwebs on the windows and ceiling. The main floor bathroom handle was so dirty, looked like it had black dust collecting on it for days. One of the areas was do dirty that the white towel turned black (we took pics). Mold smell in the basement.
Cushions on the furniture were so old, stained and smelly. We couldn't sit on it without covering them with our own sheets.
Rude representative when asked about extending the stay. Took advantage of the extension and charged extremely high price during off season when for the first 2 nights, we paid half of that.
Manager response:
Hi Roger and Neha! We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness concerns you encountered during your stay with us. Our team of housekeepers takes pride in their cleanliness standards, as it is a top priority service we provide for every guest prior to check-in. We are disappointed to see that this concern was not reported to us during your stay as we would have been happy to assist. We have passed your feedback along to our housekeeping staff so they are aware of your concerns. We hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future!
Kimberly R. Oct 2021
This was my husband and I's second stay at the Golden A-Frame, and this time we visited with our 4 friends. So many great hang out spots are tucked into this place. Board games at the kitchen table and bonfires in the back! So cozy!
Katherine M. Jul 2021
The house was very nicely appointed and had everything we needed. Very tranquil having neighbors on only one side. It was just the right size for our family of four. The only negative feedback was that it wasn't super clear about how far from the community swim & boat area. Also if people want to store water craft at lake side they need to work it out separately with property manager. We got everything sorted fortunately.
Kathleen M. Feb 2021
Absolutely lovely place -- everything as promised. Great interior decorating, cozy beds, adorable loft, lots of fun activities (hot tub with lights overhead in the snow -- dreamy), kids adored the hanging chairs in the loft, shuffleboard and darts were fun, also all the board games. Short drive to Wisp, beautiful neighborhood -- only tiny downside was the old school Nintendo set wasn't working but hey, our kids are no worse off having less screen-time for once. We loved it and hope to return!
Manager response:
Hi, Kathleen! We are delighted to read you enjoyed your visit to Golden A-Frame. The property manager will be checking the game system so we can take care of it. Thank you!
Wesley D. Feb 2021
Beautiful house, beautiful location!
Cathy H. Jan 2021
This was our first time to the area so we had to depend on the pictures of the cabin and they were very accurate. The kitchen was small but had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable and you can tell the owners have taken great care in remodeling the property. The deck is brand new. We would be happy to stay again.
Jennifer M. Jan 2021
The perfect romantic winter mountain getaway- cute, cozy, clean, modern, all the amenities you could want, close to the lake, close to Wisp resort. We had an amazing stay and were so happy to find this wonderful cabin in the woods!
GRANT M. Jan 2021
Great place to stay with our family. It was snowing one night while we used the hot tub and it was a magical experience. Look forward to going back again.
Kimberly T. Oct 2020
We stayed here for 4 nights and absolutely loved it! Grilled burgers and steaks on the deck, enjoyed the fire table, and the cozy couches. One day it rained the entire day and we didn't mind one bit! 10/10 Would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Michael M. Oct 2020
We can't say enough about how much we enjoy our occasional weekend getaways at this charming cabin. It has everything-lake access, hot tub, games and smart TVs, fire pit, all in a quiet wooded setting. The cabin decor is charming and very clean with all amenities, so you can pack light and simply enjoy your stay. Very easy booking via Vacasa website.
Maritza R. Sep 2020
I really enjoyed my stay at the Golden A-Frame. I rented the house for a birthday trip and it was spacious enough to fit all 6 of my friends. The big hit was the hot tub. After a day of hiking we sure enjoyed just relaxing by submerging in the hot tub. I loved that there were enough towels, blankets, pillows, and hand soaps during the stay. I took a few cooking utensils, but you don’t need to take anything because the kitchen has everything that you need. The fire pit and gas grill on the deck were great. We had a great time grilling and roasting marshmallows at night. The house is a 15 minutes drive from Deep Greek State Park, where you can find several hiking trails. The community where the house is located, has a residencial swimming and boat riding area. We had some issues with the garbage disposal but Vacasa costumer service line was quick to respond and sent a person the next morning to fix it. I will sure be renting this place again and I am hoping I can’t stay longer.
Amanda and Jeffrey G. Aug 2020
The Golden A-Frame is a spacious and cozy cabin, with all the amenities one would need! The neighborhood is very quiet and peaceful, well kept, and the neighbors themselves are very friendly. The community docks were only a 15-20 min walk from the cabin and an even shorter drive. Despite it raining for the majority of my trip, there were plenty of games available in the cabin (i.e. shuffleboard, darts, board games) and Netflix available to keep busy! I would definitely book again, especially for hopes of good weather to be able to enjoy the fire pit, hot tub, and grill!
Mimi M. Aug 2020
This was our second brief stay at this comfy home this summer and we will be back again. As before, the home was clean with essential amenities including bedding, towels, and soaps. The quiet, wooded location is a perfect setting. We were able to take advantage of the community lake access on a lovely sunny day and come back to the cabin's outdoor fireside seating, and deck hot tub. While the cabin has many TV's and games, what we especially enjoyed this trip was listening to the collection of old 45 records on the small record player!
Melanie R. Aug 2020
We loved the A frame cabin! Just what the dr ordered! It’s in a remote area but not too remote; about 15 min beautiful drive from town (Unos/Lakeside Creamery area on the lake) and a few minute drive to swimming docks on the lake in the neighborhood (no dogs allowed there at that part of the lake though so that was a major bummer). Hot tub was great but couldn’t get it to turn off. We called about that and about the fire table not working but didn’t hear back even though we could tell someone came to check them out so that the reason for the .5 deduction. House was very clean and modern and had towels, sheets, blankets, soaps, dishes, etc. Plenty of games to play and 3 TVs with Netflix etc. Around the lake we rented jet skis and a pontoon with a tube on the back (dogs permitted on the pontoon) from Fun Time Water Sports (they were great!), went on the mtn coasters at Wisp (get there early and your dog can hang out with anyone not riding), climbed at Monkey Business, went swimming at Deep Creek Lake State Park (dogs welcome at the beach too just keep them on the grassy area, not the sand patch), and took our dog to the trail just outside of Swallow Falls Canyon Trail which was AMAZING playing in the river and swimming in the falls all day. If you have a dog, look for the gravel parking lot outside the park entrance (next to the one lane bridge).Awesome trip and again the hot tub was a definite highlight at the house. We stayed in bathing suits the whole week!
Jaso V. Aug 2020
Our family rented this cabin for two weeks. It was exactly what we were looking for—cozy, old school, comfy and beautiful. It is as chic as it looks in the photos, plus there are lots of fun touches like a vintage Nintendo (our kids loved it!). The swimming/dock area in the community was great for the kids too (you won’t find many other roped off swimming areas like it on the lake outside of the state park). The kitchen was just right for the type of cooking we planned for—lots of grilling and minimal prep work. We felt very at home! Only recommendation would be to add a dehumidifier to the basement. We had a lot of rain during our stay and it definitely gets sticky.
Manager response:
Hello, Jaso! Thank you for your review, and for your suggestion to add a dehumidifier to the home. The local team has been notified to further address. We appreciate your feedback and welcome the opportunity to improve the home for our future guests. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to host you again in the future!
Michael M. Aug 2020
Golden A-Frame was charming, very clean, and well-stocked with lots of cozy places to unwind. It offered the perfect escape in a quiet neighborhood with lake access. You can swim in the lake by day and return at days end to relax in the hot tub, or just hang out on the large deck and grill out or roast marshmallows. The lake access was a short drive across the neighborhood with a few docks to swim off and a beach area as well as picnic tables and benches. I loved that there were a ton of towels, dish soap, shampoo, etc. including Mrs. Meyers hand soap. Also plenty of games to keep entertained and smart tv’s to relax with a movie. We will definitely plan to come back!
Melissa 2. Jul 2020
We really enjoyed our time in the Golden A-Frame home! The layout of the cabin is roomy and cozy at the same time, it is nicely decorated, and we appreciated and took advantage of the games and hot tub provided in the home. The community was also very nice - we saw so many deer that we lost count and we enjoyed the private swimming beach in the community. In a different season I might give the home 5 stars, but there is no air conditioning which made for a very warm arrival and a hot couple of days, although when the temp dropped below 80 we were able to cool the house well with the windows. The lower floor also stays fairly cool. We found the bed in the basement bedroom a little uncomfortable but this was not a major issue. Really we enjoyed every minute in the home and even with the warm weather were very happy with our stay!
Jenna B. Jul 2020
Went with just my boyfriend and within 5 minutes of being there we knew we already wanted to come back with friends! This sweet, cozy cabin has amazing amenities and there is plenty to do inside and outside of the cabin. The neighborhood's private lake docks are a few minutes walk away and if the lake isn't your thing, the cabin itself has so much to offer - darts, shuffleboard, a jacuzzi, board games, grill, large deck, smart TVs, fire pits, several areas to sit and relax, etc. The owners have thought through every detail, the design is absolutely beautiful, and the place was spotless. Completely recommend!
Randi M. Jun 2020
Golden A-Frame is a great house for a friends get away, family get away, or a couples get away! It is beautifully decorated and was very clean. The house has lots of fun amenities. There is a hot tub, fire pit, swings, a fantastic wrap around porch, darts, and shuffle board. It was the perfect location with a private beach and swimming area for the neighborhood and a quick drive to other parts of the lake. We will for sure be going back!
Roxanne Z. Jun 2020
The home was very sweet and comfortable. Wooded lot. Have to drive to the lake. Well equipped. The deck and furniture were a bit dirty- had to really wash down the table and chairs before using it. Inside was clean.

The only issue was with Vacasa, the management company. We had a few questions prior to our visit and they were impossible to get ahold of. Multiple emails, texts and tried to call but there was always a 2 hour hold time. So we never did get the info we needed prior to our visit.
Manager response:
Thank you for providing feedback, Roxanne. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed this home and apologize for any delay in assistance while we experience a high volume of calls, emails, and texts due to the pandemic. We hope to better assist you in the near future!
Jodi B. Mar 2020
My husband and I booked Golden A-Frame as a birthday getaway for just us. Due to some unforeseen circumstances we ended up taking our three children as well. We all had a wonderful time and the house was just what I had imagined!! Plenty of room for all of us, very clean, and well stocked. There were also lots of games and activities for my children, including board games, movies, and even crayons and coloring paper. We will definitely return!
Danny T. Mar 2020
Beautiful home. Lots of games and parking.
Sean R. Mar 2020
Our family got out of the DC area for a weekend away, and couldn’t have dreamed of how enjoyable our stay would be. The cabin was beautifully designed, cozy and warm, and had all the amenities that you would want for a relaxing weekend away. Plenty of entertainment choices (Netflix, YouTubeTV, Disney+, Amazon Prime), and the various environments for entertaining is perfect! Beautiful Loft relaxing loft. The fact that we could bring our dog along made it even better. May become routine visitors of this beautiful A-frame.