USA North Carolina Buxton Cottages at the Cape - Buxton Listing #44402

Croaker #5A-CAC - Buxton, NC

3 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 2 Queen Bed 2 bedrooms 1.5 bathrooms 2 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-Friendly Townhouse w/Private W/D, WiFi, Shared Pool, AC - Ocean View

Build a beautiful resort village on a favorite Hatteras Island location, and they will come. The Cottages at the Cape are the closest rental units to the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse in Buxton. They share a long border with the national park and are literally steps from the beachfront. Bring the bikes, because Buxton’s unique shops, restaurants, and lighthouse are all very close. Forget the 4WD vehicle - those in the know have discovered that the three jetties to the east of the cottages produce some of the best fishing, surfing, and swimming on this island. Walking to the south will take you to open beaches, the famed Cape Point, and if luck is on your side during the summer, a few sea turtle nests (be careful to stay outside the barriers). This is an excellent two-bedroom condo with one-and-a-half baths. The interior has been professionally-decorated with comfortable and fun beach décor. You'll have access to an outside shower and a patio. An escape to the cape never looked so good as at Cottages at the Cape.

Things to know:
You will be required to sign an additional lease agreement upon making a booking which will be sent to your email. You will not be able to check-in until we have received your signature electronically. Please contact us directly if you do not receive this agreement.

This property is managed by Vacasa North Carolina LLC.

Please note: Guests have access to the Club Hatteras Pool Facility. Additional details around this facility will be shared in your check-in email and during the check-in process. The club is typically open Mid-May to Mid-October, depending on weather.

Parking Notes: Please park in driveway, maximum total vehicles: 2

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Kitchen & dining






Water view




DVD player

Wireless router



3 reviews

Jennifer B. Nov 2021
If you are looking for a dirty and unkempt house, this is the place to stay! You can start your visit by pulling in and finding the door wide open, then as you walk in the front entrance you will be met by the smell of cigarettes and cleaner. And if you're wondering where the cigarette smell came from, you only need to look at the end tables - where there are still cigarette ashes.
And if you are wanting to cook a home-cooked meal, you are in luck as there is one and only one working burner on the electric stove.
And I hope you and your partner love to cuddle as both of the queen size beds are so old, you will immediately roll right into the center. It's great if both of you are into massages, because you will need a massage after sleeping in the bed.
You won't want to sit in front of the tv all day as the sofa and chairs are so uncomfortable, you'll want to get outside and on the beach. You'll want to spend as much time as possible outside as all of the walls are white and there are about 3 wall hangings in the entire place- you kind of feel like you are in an asylum.
And please stay here if you like to clean. You will have a chance to rewash all of the dishes, mop the floor so no one steps in the dried sticky mess that was left there.
I've never been so disappointed in a rental - and my husband and I have stayed in places all over the country as we travel and work remotely. I can't believe how little pride is taken in their work and in their brand.
Manager response:
We're sorry you were unhappy, Jennifer. This home has received a thorough cleaning, and we have ensured there is no smoke odor. The burners are all working. While there are no immediate plans to replace the mattresses, we have advised the homeowner of your concerns with them. Hopefully we can provide you with a more enjoyable visit in the future. Thank you!
Tracy G. Jun 2021
We really enjoyed the location and when the AC wasn’t working, they were very quick to fix the problem

Also loved being able to bring our dog
Mike H. May 2021
Very spacious home with large kitchen and living areas