USA North America North Carolina Buxton Listing #44418

Sushi #9-B - Buxton, NC

Take a Virtual Tour
13 reviews
Max. occupancy: 14 5 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 7 bedrooms 6.5 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Waterfront House w/ Private Hot Tub, Central AC, Private Pool, Ocean View!

Pass the wasabi - it's Sushi time! This completely custom 4,900-square-foot, five-level sound-front home offers a spicy combination of Hatteras Island's best views, secluded privacy, luxury amenities, and of course, water sports! Every aspect of this home, from its hand-sanded hardwood decks to its unique leather furniture, was designed to help guests enjoy their Outer Banks vacation.

Sushi is on Pamlico Sound at the end of a historic private road in northern Buxton. Over 15 acres of pristine maritime forest and wetlands lie between this home and the Atlantic Ocean with no other houses blocking the sound or ocean views. This unique location offers those amazing over-water sunsets, sunrises, and moonrises that have helped make Outer Banks vacations famous, with the added bonus of the Cape Hatteras lighthouse in full view to the south. Sushi offers peace and quiet, no traffic noise, and a place where kids can safely explore the Outer Banks habitat. Sushi is equally well-suited and equipped for corporate retreats, with modern audio/video and internet systems, and large custom seating areas in the library, great room, dining area, and game room. Guests come aboard Sushi through its massive ironwood front door.

For watersports, Sushi is one of the closest homes to the Canadian Hole, where colorful windsurfers and kiteboarders put on a great show just a few hundred yards to the north. Surfers and surf fishermen will appreciate the convenience of having The Point and southern beaches less than 10 minutes away, and the inshore/offshore guys have their choice of Hatteras and Oregon inlets to fish from. Scuba divers can check out the many offshore wrecks of the Graveyard of the Atlantic, including WWII German submarines.

Things to know:
Non-active surveillance cameras are located outside of the home pointed at the driveway. The owners turn the cameras on when the home is vacant.

You will be required to sign an additional lease agreement upon making a booking which will be sent to your email. You will not be able to check-in until we have received your signature electronically. Please contact us directly if you do not receive this agreement.

*Please note that this property has a pool that can be heated for $60/night. Guests must call in after booking to arrange for pool heat. Guests should contact Vacasa with a pool heat request one week (7 days) prior to their arrival. Pools typically take 48 hours to reach the desired temperature.

This property is managed by Vacasa North Carolina LLC.
For 2022, the pool will be open April 9th to October 14th. It will otherwise be unavailable for guest use.

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Ocean view

Sound view

Soundfront

Water view

Waterfront

Media

Internet

Cable

DVD player

Wireless router

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Pool : Private

Heated pool

Pool table : Private

Outdoor

Hammock

13 reviews

Amanda F. Jul 2022
This house has the best views and location. With some updates it would be a lot better. The kitchenware, pans etc needs to be updated. The one bedroom that is the queen I would not advertise as a room, no one wanted to stay in it. Maybe the gym area should be a bedroom. We loved having the dock to kayak and paddle board and fish. We had a great week..
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Amanda. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the views of this home. We appreciate your feedback as a means to continually improve and hope to host you again in the near future!
Michael A. Jul 2022
This house has absolutely stunning views. We truly marveled at the nature at play during the day and were captivated by breathtaking sunsets. I love the dock! The kitchen is well-appointed (though many more coffee mugs are needed), the upstairs is spacious and comfortable and the A/C works everywhere. The house, although perfectly situated and mostly functional, could use some TLC. Sliding glass door blinds are falling, window treatments are completely covered in layers of dust, one of the toilet seats was missing upon arrival, the drains are slow, a cabinet is missing a door, a number of outdoor lights didn't work, the keys to the house don't work (!), the hot tub works only sporadically, the triangle to the pool table is broken, and the list goes on. I hope this house gets the TLC it deserves - soon.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Michael. We’re sorry to hear that the home was in this condition upon your arrival - please know that this is not the regular standard for our properties and any existing cleanliness issues will be promptly resolved promptly! Sincere apologies for any cleaning missteps, as it is never our intention to disappoint. We hope to have the opportunity to better impress you in the future with a much more enjoyable stay!
Deborah Y. Jun 2022
This cottage has beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Great access to sound for our boat, paddle boards and kayaks. Kids enjoyed catching frogs and crabs!
Carol S. Apr 2022
This rental is all about location, location, location. Very private beach house on the soundside in the wonderful village of Buxton. Great for kite surfers as the sound access is decent nut Bring water shoes as the shoreline has oysters. Sushi is within walking distance to many restaurants and grocery store. There is plenty of space for large groups and the kitchen is very well equipped. The pool is a very nice feature and gets the sun for most of the day. (no umbrellas). The beds are comfortable and each have their own ensuite which works well with a lot of couples. Unfortunately, the house itself is older and run down and could use a serious make over. The hottub was not working so we could not use the jets.
there are a lot of stairs to climb and no elevator so this is not a great rental for the elderly. There are no kayaks or canoe for use as shown in the photos. There is also no bar b que which was very unfortunate for our group as we love to cook burgers, fish, chicken ,etc. This rental is not for neat freaks but if you don't care about that then it is a pretty nice place to hang and enjoy all that the OBX has to offer.
Manager response:
Hi, Carol! We hope you'll be pleased to hear the homeowner is working on condition repairs during a few weeks in Mary. A deep clean will be done during this time as well. The photos showing the watercraft will be removed. Thank you!
Jason M. Nov 2021
The view is incredible, location is convenient, and the house is nice.
Joshua W. Oct 2021
Sushi is a beautiful well thought out home. Its a maze of stairs and rooms at first but you figure it out quickly. The location is amazing, views are stunning, and we had a fantastic vacation here. Unfortunately our vacation started with a room uncleaned and turds in the toilet. When I tried to have someone come to clean the room a representative from Hatteras Realty told me the we would have to clean the room and bathroom ourselves. The best they could do was refund our cleaning fee, and if I wanted I could drive and pick up the sheets that were missing. The pool guy did come to fix the hot tub quickly when we had user error issues. The harsh climate has taken its toll on the windows and doors causing soaked moldy carpets, but at least someone did come to measure for new windows and doors while were there. But add that to the mold growing out of the AC ventilation ducts and it was tough on everyones allergies. If it weren't for the mold we'd probly give this home a second chance.
Manager response:
Thank you for your visit, Joshua. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve in the future. We are working with our housekeeping team to ensure that all future cleans are completed to our standards. All mold has been removed from the home as well. We hope that you’ll come to stay again very soon.
Clayton R. Oct 2021
0 stars for lackluster communication, dirty house, could go on.
Manager response:
We apologize for any unhappiness during your visit, Clayton. We are working with our housekeeping team to ensure that the home is fully cleaned in the future. Our guest services are available 24 hours a day and always happy to assist. The owner has also made many updates to the home and it is ready for future guests. We hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future.
mark b. Sep 2021
Nice big place ....
KARA K. Sep 2021
While I did like the location of the house, we couldn't get keys to home until 5 because they were supposed to be installing a stove. Stove was not installed due to electrician issues, so we only had the range top to use.
They were still working on the house and cutting tree limbs when we got there.
House was in ok condition and served it's purpose. I believe the house needs a good deep cleaning and some updated maintenance as there is mold in areas, some appliances didn't work properly, and the dryer vent was not properly hooked and leaked into the house, which caused the alarms to go off. We put it back on the best we could.

The photos need to be updated and there is a bedroom that I don't believe should be one as there are no windows and the glass door had one side that must have been broken as there was plywood in place.
Manager response:
Thank you for telling us about your stay, Kara. We apologize things were not up to par. A fall deep clean and maintenance inspection are scheduled for this home. We hope to see you after everything has been set right!
Jeremy H. Aug 2021
The house was masterfully built, with amazing views and access. however it is in serious need of general upkeep and repair. The photos are old and don't show holes in drywall, duct tape in shower (to waterproof?), hanging broken light and speaker fixtures, broken tile, broken door knobs, moldy HVAC vents, inoperable appliances, lack of deck steps (shown in photos for rental unit), etc. We called on our first day about bathroom fans not working, clogged drains and cockroaches in the house. We got the drains unclogged and nothing else was dealt with. I understand rental homes are tough to maintain in perfect condition, but this was subpar by any standard. I have stayed in the OBX my whole life, and have never seen a house in more need of some serious downtime to restore/repair and get back to the original condition.
Manager response:
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, Jeremy. The property manager has ensured that pest control has visited the rental, the HVAC registers have been cleaned, and that the appliances are working. The owner will be doing repairs to the light fixtures, door knob, and tiles. Thank you!
Linda M. Aug 2021
This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Sushi. The pool, pier & layout of the house are great. However, we will be looking for somewhere else next time due to the house not being cleaned or maintained.
Manager response:
Hello, Linda, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive for a standard of excellence in ensuring the home is clean and accommodating for our guests. If there are any concerns or areas in need of additional attention, we hope to be notified so we can make sure any issues are addressed. We look forward to hosting you for a great stay in the future.
Frank W. Jul 2021
The house is huge - and has a unique flow to it. The positives - plenty of room, outstanding views of sound and ocean, Buxton is a great village to stay, house is on dead end private road - very quiet; great for kayaking, crabbing and fishing off dock; big outdoor pool; has high end kitchen appliances- though one stove and oven did not work ( it appears the replacement was sitting in the car port all week), there are areas of this beautiful home need some love and attention. Couldn’t get keys to house until 5 - this may be standard - and check out by 1000; at the end of the day a great place to vacation for a large family.