USA North Carolina Outer Banks Salvo Listing #49104

Hunt and Gather - Salvo, NC

Take a Virtual Tour
13 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 3 King Bed, 2 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Exquisite Home w/ Private Hot Tub, Game Room, Free WiFi, & Central A/C

Stop hunting for the perfect vacation home and gather your friends or family members together for a memorable escape to this gorgeous and totally unique home on Hatteras Island! Inspired by the work of renowned architect, Frank Lloyd Wright, this four-bedroom, upscale vacation home boasts gorgeous hardwood floors, soaring ceilings, upscale heirloom furnishings, and antiques displayed in custom casework for you to admire during your stay. The well-equipped, sleek, galley-style kitchen includes top-shelf appliances, a double wall oven, and an attached bar with counter stools. This then opens to one of two dining areas with plenty of seating available for meals or family game nights. The large, one-of-a-kind living area blends upscale elements with true comforts as well as floor-to-ceiling windows and a flatscreen TV. Adjacent to this is a cozy den with another comfortable seating area - perfect for quiet conversation or just relaxing with a good book and a mug of hot tea. And if you're craving some friendly competition, ascend the dramatic spiral staircase into the loft game room complete with a pool table, foosball table, game table, arcade machine, and a media area with a home theater system. Additionally and to provide even more convenience during your stay, this retreat features a butler’s kitchen, which has a stove, sink, and a counter height sub-zero refrigerator with an ice maker. This room also has a laundry area.

Step outside onto the furnished deck where you'll find a private gas grill for summertime cookouts, then step down to your very own hot tub. And when it's time to call it a night, this home features three stunning king bedrooms including the main suite with ensuite bath and access to a second, private deck, as well as a teen or kid-friendly room with two twins just off the game room.

Most visitors to Salvo and Hatteras Island come to experience the gorgeous, unspoiled, and secluded beaches where you can swim, sunbathe, kiteboard, and windsurf. Pack up a picnic lunch and head south to the Salvo Day Use Area on the west side of the island or take a drive on the sand accessible via Ramp 23, just a half-mile south. Take a short stroll to browse the unique hand-crafted wares at Pea Island Art Gallery, a replica 1874 station house displaying paintings, pottery, woodwork, and glass by regional artists. If you want to do some pier fishing, check out the Rodanthe Pier, three-and-a-half miles north, or the Avon Fishing pier, less than 14 miles south. And if you need to pick up dinner, coffee, or sweet treats, you'll find cafes and restaurants just a couple of miles north alongside NC-12 in the Waves and Rodanthe areas.

THINGS TO KNOW

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Children

Baby gates

Children's games

High chair

Common areas

Game room

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet

TV

Cable

DVD player

Gaming system

Wireless router

Stereo

Nearby activities & attractions

Playground

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Pool : Private

Heated pool

Pool table : Private

Foosball table

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Patio

Deck

13 reviews

William M. Oct 2022
We loved the house and look forward to staying in there again!
JEAN S. Sep 2022
Our family booked Hunt and Gather for our first-time visit to the OBX. The home was spacious and spotless. I was relieved that the online photos accurately depicted what we were hoping for. The pool was a delight and cupboards well equipped for cooking. Location was close to both ocean and sound access, and Ramp 25 made it easy to set up fire on the shoreline. Despite the free range roosters that woke us daily by 6 am we created great memories!
Jennifer H. Jul 2022
We have stayed in this house several times. We have probably rated it 5 stars in the past. This trip left much to be desired. We love the house, it's history, architecture, open spaces for large groups, game room, retro fixtures and feel, wood work and private layout of the master suite. The kitchen is well stocked.
We had multiple issues this stay, though. When we arrived we had to re-run the dishwasher (the start button sometimes doesn't actually start the cycle), there was a dead bug in a glass that was put away as clean, there were crumbs on the counters and the kitchen floor, all the dishes were randomly put away in the cabinets and drawers and the spare refrigerator was iced over and not working properly (they came and fixed it after we called). There were multiple ponytail holders and water bottle caps laying in the floors of various rooms.
My kids got in the hot tub the first night and assumed it was just broken because it was cool and the jets didn't work. They didn't tell me until mid stay when I was going to get in but it was 84 degrees and not working (after it had just been cleaned and serviced by the pool/ spa cleaners that day.) I found the breaker and flipped it but it took another day to warm up to temperature. I'm not sure how the pool cleaning company didn't notice is was cold and had no power.
The light switches control the outlets and have nearly invisible dimmer switches, so sometimes you think something doesn't work but it's because the dimmer switch was changed by the last renter or the outlet was turned off.
There were DVD players that had no way to play the movies because they either had no remote or had no plug in to attach it to the living room tv (large cool looking surround sound system).
BUT, TO TOP IT ALL OFF, THERE WERE TWO ROOSTERS LIVING UNDER THE HOUSE THAT WOKE US ALL UP AT 5:00 AM DAILY AND CONTINUED TO CROW THROUGHOUT THE DAY. UNFORTUNATELY SOME OF THE OTHER VACATIONERS WERE FEEDING IT IN THE YARD BECAUSE THEY THOUGHT IT WAS SO CUTE.
Manager response:
Jennifer, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. While we are glad to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of our home, we are disappointed to learn that we were unable to provide you with a pleasant stay as we have in the past. Please know that we strive for a standard of excellence in ensuring the home is clean and accommodating for our guests, as well as provide each and every guest with the very best vacation experience. We're sorry that we dropped the ball this time on your stay! While we encourage you to call us during your stay so that we have the opportunity to address matters at hand, we understand that our guests are simply trying to enjoy their vacation and may feel hesitant to bring forth complaints during their visit. We do appreciate you bringing to our attention that our home may need some TLC, and we have forwarded this information to our local management team so that they can work to improve this home for future guests. As they work to improve this home, we are happy to report that the cleanliness issues have been addressed with housekeeping, the fridge has been fixed, and the DVD player is now working. We appreciate you allowing us the opportunity to improve, and we hope that you will allow us the chance to host you for a true 5 star stay in the future,
Leslie S. Jun 2022
Really love the house, grab bars or hand rail at front and back stairs sure would be. Great for us old folks!
Donald C. May 2022
For the rate we paid I was a little disappointed. First impression was it was a nice place, pool table and fuseball, private pool and hot tub. All great things! Pretty nice....Except the box of dirty linens that sat on the porch the ENTIRE stay. Then things came up, cigarette butts in the hot tub, a roach in the kitchen. The dishwasher wasn't unloaded when we got there, who wants to unload someone elses dishes on vacation!? Food under dinning table, a chunk of seaseme chicken under the bed. The bathrooms definitely need to be updated. The pipes knocked so hard while taking a shower I answered them 3 times before realizing it wasn't the door. The bath tub was too calcified to use as a tub. And the huge glass door in it is just a little creepy leading out to a patio on the main road. Not an easy access to the beach, that was a little deceiving, it's a walk for sure. Then check out things to do is pretty lengthy for a high rated place, I feel like if I have to strip the beds and pile dirty linens in a certain place and load dishes then I should get a discount, I'm not against straightening up and tossing linens in a pile but the list was long enough there shouldnt have been a cleaning fee. Then the MF rooster! It crowed all night! 1am, 4am middle of the day, it didn't care and kept us up! It constantly was outside the window and pooped all over the back deck. Overall, it was a decent stay. But I highly doubt we'll be back.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Donald. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the amenities this home has to offer! We take guest feedback seriously and have forwarded this information to the local staff so they can review and update the home as needed for future guests and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We hope that the refund that you were given has helped with some resolution of the issue you experienced and we look forward to hosting you for a more comfortable stay in the future.
Amiee F. Jan 2022
First I just want to say we lived staying here. The only reason it didn't receive a five is because there is some needed "spring" cleaning. The location is perfect, halfway mark if you plan on visiting all the sites on the Outer Banks. There is no view of the ocean but it's nearby. The are some partial views of the sound. If your visiting off season, be sure to be aware that only a couple of restaurants are open in the area. Enjoy!
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Amiee. We are so glad the location worked out well for you. Thank you for letting us know this home may be in need of a deep clean. We will be sure to schedule that soon. We hope to host you again in the future!
Norbert M. Oct 2021
We absolutely loved the 70's charm this home has. Lots of privacy and the rooms perfect in size. The game room was a big hit with the entire family of all ages. Our only issue was the pool was supposed to be heated. Upon arrival there was no heater on. We made several attempts on different days to have someone come turn the heat on as we have littles that are leery of the ocean and were looking forward to pool. At one point someone did come and turn on a hose and put it in the pool and never notified us. We ended up calling Vacasa to let them know we were turning it off before it overflowed. Vacasa said they were watching the "ticket" closely. But we never heard back from them. So the home was amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed it! But if you are booking it for a heated maintained home you will be very disappointed.
Manager response:
We are so sorry about the mix-up with the pool heat and hope the compensation provided helps show our sincere apologies. We would love another opportunity to host you again for a more seamless experience. Thanks, Norbert!
Robert E. Sep 2021
My family loved it and so will yours. Highly recommend this house all the amenities and a fantastic pool area.
Samuel C. Jul 2021
Loved it. 70s vibe to the interior.
Stephanie R. Jul 2021
I wish I could give 3.5 stars. The house itself is interesting on the inside but badly needs bathroom updates. All exhaust fans in the home were extremely dusty and dirty. The kitchen was well appointed but old style cabinet pulls pinched no less than 4 members of our party when trying to close a cabinet. Extremely disappointed that the home does not participate in curbside recycling. Fyi the home is extremely close to major road and outdoor areas are hard to enjoy with road noise. Outdoor furniture is also in need of updating with many broken rungs and scratchy wood.
Manager response:
Hi, Stephanie! This home will be given an extensive assessment during the off-season to see what needs to be addressed. Some homes still have blue cans, but there hasn't been recycling on Hatteras since 2019. Thank you!
Dawn T. Jul 2021
Loved the vibe of this house and the decor of the main house! Bedrooms were very comfortable and spacious on main level!! Subzero frig in butlers pantry was nice added feature...added a bin of ice quickly for meals. Within walking distance to Day Beach and under 5 min drive to Ocean side beaches. This area is sooo unique to be able to see incredible sunrises and sunsets just by crossing the street! Fell in love with this area as our new vacation destination. Way less crowded...especially keeping covid in mind! Love, loved!
Ken P. Jun 2021
Upon check-in an 8 1/2 by 11 inch piece of paper was taped about the dishwasher stating it was not working. The not stated that maintenance has been contacted to repair the severed line. I called on Monday, Tuesday and Friday to follow-up on the repair request. No service technician came out for the repair and no follow-up by Vacasa or Hatteras Realty. I was told the issue was being escalated to the maintenance manger and a refund would be provided for the inconvenience. No refund, as of this review, has been issued. Also, upon arrival, there was a lot of crumbs under the dining room table and obviously not vacuumed. Fortunately, we noticed this and picked up peanuts on the floor prior to our 2-year old finding them, who is allergic. I would not recommend this house or Vacasa as a rental company. Find a company that values those who are renting from them.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Ken. While we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the home itself, we are very sorry for the cleanliness issues you encountered and that you weren't able to use the dishwasher. It is always our goal for our guests to be able to use everything the home has to offer. Maintenance was scheduled with the appliance vendor as soon as our local team noticed the condition of the dishwasher. Regrettably, this vendor was all booked up until after your departure. The dishwasher has since been serviced and is fully functional. We hope that the refund that you were given has helped with some resolution for the issue you experienced. We also apologize if you felt the home was not on par with our cleanliness standards. We would have been happy to address any areas in need of additional attention during your stay had we been notified. We hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future!
Michael F. Jun 2021
Our group absolutely LOVED this house. The layout was perfect and we adored the architectural charm. This house stands out among other beach houses and we really enjoyed that aspect of this home.

HOWEVER - upon arrival on day 1, we noticed the dishwasher was full of dirty dishes. No big deal. We simply ran the dishwasher as we unloaded the cars. Moments later, we noticed the hose from the dishwasher to the drain was completely severed and was flooding the cabinet under the sink. We quickly turned off the dishwasher to prevent further water damage. Now, had we not been a large family, this wouldn't have been a big deal but having no dishwasher access when you're supposed to be on vacation is kind of bummer. We contacted maintenance immediately and were told they'd be in contact about when it would be fixed. When it still wasn't fixed after two days, we followed up with maintenance. Nothing. We called Vacasa directly. When we finally got in touch with them, we were told they would contact maintenance right away. We understand this is a busy time of the year for them but simply asked that we be kept in the loop as to when the dishwasher would be fixed or if for some reason they would not be able to address this issue. They assured us they would let us know next steps and timeline for the dishwasher being fixed.

We never heard from maintenance or Vacasa after that call. Zippy. Zero. NADA. This was really disappointing as we were giving Vacasa a second chance after being guests in a Vacasa rental earlier this year with a similar experience (maintenance issue reported, promises from Vacasa that it would be addressed, only for them to ghost us the entire visit). While the home was great, it's doubtful we'll rent from Hatteras Realty or Vacasa again after this experience. Had the situation been more serious, this team could not be trusted to address this issue.
Manager response:
Hi, Michael! The dishwasher requires an appliance tech for repair, and there is only one company that will come to this location. They are currently backlogged and will be out as quickly as possible. Thank you!