USA Virginia Lake Anna Bumpass Listing #51200

Shangri-la - Bumpass, VA

Take a Virtual Tour
22 reviews
Max. occupancy: 11 1 King Bed, 4 Queen Bed, 1 Twin Bed 6 bedrooms 4 bathrooms 4 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.

Self-service

Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Secluded, lakefront & dog-friendly home with kayaks, deck & grill

Shangri-la is the perfect retreat for a secluded and fun-filled escapade! This two-story home has been thoughtfully designed and equipped with the best amenities to provide guests with the ultimate relaxation spot mere steps from the water. Upon entering, you'll be surrounded immediately by plenty of natural light thanks to all the ample windows. As you step inside, the family room will appear before your eyes. It's perfect for family gatherings and movie nights - equipped with two three-person recliner sofas, a one-person recliner, a ceiling fan, and a gas fireplace; you're in for the most relaxed time.

Additional living space can be found by the lake-facing windows, where two two-person recliners and a ceiling fan await. If you're in need of solo time or want to read your favorite novel in peace, this is the ideal spot. From here, you'll have access to both sides of the deck: one comes equipped with patio chairs and a gas grill, and the other with more patio furnishings.

The well-equipped kitchen, separated from the family room by an exquisite stone divider wall, has all the cookware and appliances needed to delight the group's chef. A French door and stainless steel fridge will keep your goodies nice and fresh, while the oven/stove will help when it's time to cook a full-course meal. You won't have to worry about the dishes; the dishwasher has your back. The adjoining dining room has a gorgeous eight-people dining table, but if you require another space for quick meals on the go, the breakfast bar in the kitchen has four stools.

For a truly secluded place to study or work, there's a separate room equipped with a desk and desk chair, a ceiling fan, direct access to the deck, and a spinning bike. Guests will also have a separate, small room with unparalleled views of the water, a ceiling fan, and a comfortable sofa - this is a perfect place to take a nap.

Each bedroom has a ceiling fan, and the main bedroom has two. This bedroom has direct access to the deck, an en suite bathroom, and a laundry room. The bathroom is exquisite, with double sinks, a walk-in shower, a separate tub, and plenty of space.

Head downstairs through the spiral staircase, and you'll reach the lower level of the home, where you'll find a living area, three bedrooms, and two bathrooms. The living room is another great place to gather as it features a TV with cable, a gas fireplace, a ceiling fan, a sectional, two saucer chairs, and a four-person checkerboard table. Each bedroom has a ceiling fan.

WHAT’S NEARBY

You'll be on Lake Anna's private side, the ideal location to enjoy all the water activities you can think of, such as boating, swimming, kayaking, and canoeing. Three kayaks are provided, so you don't have to bring your own. Bumpass is widely known for its wineries, and they are a must-visit! Less than 10 miles away is Cooling Pond Brewery, or you can make the nine-mile drive to LKA Taphouse. A nearer option is Coyote Hole Ciderworks, seven and a half miles away.

THINGS TO KNOW

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

AMENITIES

Features

Iron

Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Fireplace

Partial AC

Gas fireplace

House rules

Dog-friendly

Kitchen & dining

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Location

Lake view

Lakefront

Water view

Waterfront

Media

Internet

TV

Cable : Dish Network

Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Dock

On-site activities

Board games

Kayaks

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Balcony

Patio

Deck

Firepit

Boat rental available

Hammock

Safety & accessibility

Limited mobility access

22 reviews

Aimee B. Nov 2022
One of the cleanest homes I've rented. Celebrated my parent's 50th anniversary here and it was fantastic. We enjoyed the fire pit and my brother brought his boat and he and my dad caught lots of fish in the lake. The beds actually have dresser drawers within the footbed which is brilliant. As others have mentioned, with a few tweaks, it's a five star rental. My suggestions are: put small trash cans in each bedroom, put end tables and floor lamps in the living room and add more dishes (we didn't have enough bowls or coffee mugs.) Thank you for a lovely stay.
Gabriela B. Nov 2022
We loved how it was so close to the lake. It’s a very spacious house perfect for a big gathering. Also was a plus that it’s pet friendly. Our dogs loved running around the big backyard.
Cynthia B. Sep 2022
The lake views
Krista L. Aug 2022
The home is great for large group. The dock could very easily be a 5 if the screened area was cleaned up to be usable and furniture provided. We are thankful we read previous reviews as we brought the things missing from the house. The pots and pans could use refreshing but had most appliances needed. The reviews are correct about furniture in bedrooms. With just a few things it could be a 5!
Manager response:
Hi, Krista! We appreciate you staying with us and are grateful for your feedback. The screen in area is being redone this fall, and new cookware will be provided right away.
John P. Apr 2022
The house is very very nice, has a great view. Very private. Beds were very comfortable. Kitchen and decks well appointed. Comes with 3 kayaks which the kids loved. Overall an excellent house and would definitely stay again. I took off one star because there are a few issues that could be easily remedied.

1. The screened in boat dock could be the focal point right on the water, but has has no furniture and is full of old water toys that need to be gone through.
2. The bedrooms need dressers as others have mentioned, and a tv in the master would be great.
3. Lastly, blinds over the bath tub window should be installed in the master. Definitely gave a peep show.

These were not a big deal. It's a beautiful house, we loved our trip. Dont hesitate to rent.
Manager response:
Hi, John! We are so happy to hear you had a good stay at our home. We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement, and we'll pass your suggestions to the local manager for consideration. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Emanuel M. Dec 2021
The house itself was very large and spacious. The scenery outside was beautiful.
Heidi T. Nov 2021
First of all, for location and view this house is a 10! And the house has lots of room. We were a group of ladies doing a craft retreat and we had plenty of room. It is clear that they are still setting this home up as a rental so it has a few things to make it the perfect house. There were several things that were not working (lights, outlets, etc - list has been sent to management company). The kitchen had some issues as well (dirty pans, items needed). A little more work and this will be a perfect vacation home.
Manager response:
Hi, Heidi! We're so glad your crafting group was able to enjoy Shangri-la. Our local staff is working on getting housekeeping up to where it should be, and maintenance will be tackling the list of concerns you sent us. Thank you!
Sandra A. Aug 2021
Large home in a private area on the warm side of the lake. Very well appointed kitchen, with sheets and home towels provided (not beach/lake towels). We brought baby gates because of the circular staircase as well as kids floaties and other floats/beach toys, games/toys, and a blow dryer.
Laura R. Aug 2021
My family had the best time!! The home was very clean and stocked. Will love to stay there again!!
Karin M. Aug 2021
Location was amazing!
Heather C. Jul 2021
The land and the dock and the lake and the trees were all lovely. The location was terrific. The decks were very nice and welcome.
Scot W. Jun 2021
The good:
Beautiful waterfront location with easy access in and out of water with onsite kayaks/canoe. Huge yard, lots of room for different activities. Clean house with a good central layout. Large TVs, though we used our own streaming services as we had issues with the provided cable/satellite, and good bandwidth on the wifi. Has a convenience store/gas station/pizza place near by for last minute items.

The inconveniencing:
Spiral staircase from main floor to second is a toddler (or dog) nightmare. Alternatives to reaching the lower level include the deck stairs or main/side door exits, but a pain after the tenth time in a day. Could use extra pots/pans/casserole dishes, but had enough to be serviceable.

The bad:
Had a toddler walk into a ground nesting yellow jacket/wasp nest in front yard - specifically the center area that the driveway encircles. Stung four times and, as you can imagine, that cancelled all activities for the evening. Dad (that's me) was stung twice during intervention. With heightened awareness, we found another nest in the corner of the wood retaining wall in back yard by shuffleboard, as well as another by the boathouse. Reported the issue and got an apologetic response and request for pest control to be sent.

I understand its an outdoor/remote site and it could be chalked up to simple bad luck, but that doesnt do much for the 2 hours of tears and screams from a 3 year old who doesnt understand what just happened when they were moments before gleefully playing tag.

If you remove the wasp/hornet issue, it would have been a great experience and a recommended location.

Manager response:
Thank you for your review! Pest control has been scheduled to address the hornets. We do hope to see you again!
Sophany S. Jun 2021
Nice house, nice location, but it's lacking the little details. Spider webs EVERYWHERE! Spraying down the deck and dock area isn't hard but would make a huge difference. Lightly stocked kitchen as well - tongs, baking dishes, etc.
Manager response:
Hi, Sophany! We are so glad you stayed with us and appreciate your review. The kitchen inventory will be bulked up, and the spider webs have been removed. Thank you!
Aaron D. Jun 2021
The location on the place was absolutely beautiful the house was spacious clean and very nice I really enjoyed being able to use the kayaks as well I hope to rent again one day soon!
Joel D. Jun 2021
Both the home and the lake were very inviting. The house is very large with lots of room to spread out. The dock and boat house were also large and the lake is deep enough for diving and jumping. We enjoyed the kayaks and warm lake water. Highly recommended.
Jan M. May 2021
This is a beautiful home on a gorgeous lot. We loved having 3 kayaks available to use and enjoyed being out on the lake every day of our visit. The home was very clean and there were plenty of dishes, glasses, and linens. We will certainly consider this home again for a future visit.
Patrick C. May 2021
First things first, location, location, location. This spot is amazing for watching the sunrise from the the room at the back of the house in the morning with a cup of coffee. Panoramic, 180 degree views of Lake Anna and tons of privacy as the house as it is situated on a finger off of Bussbees Point. Lots of space in the main house, multiple decks, patio, large private lot, and boathouse offer plenty of places to escape to if you want a bit of quiet time or to just get away. Close to Grocery Store, Convenience Store, Breweries, Wineries, and a Cidery.
The only reason that this is not a 5 star rating is that the property is a rental and needs a bit of TLC in a few areas, but none of that will keep us from trying to rent this property later in the summer for another visit to Lake Anna. Thank you to the owners for allowing us to use your house for a few days to escape from COVID and spend a birthday weekend with our daughter.
Jessica S. Apr 2021
Great location on the private side of lake anna in a quiet, secluded cove. You can tell it was recently updated inside as everything seemed new and very clean. Kitchen was well stocked, little things here and there that they didn't have but will likely improve as they rent more. The big issue we had was the oven was installed incorrectly and caused us to not be able to use it the entire time, but the second repairman that came out said it should be resolved, so that shouldn't be an issue. The outside has yet to be updated, but the dock was large enough for us to lounge on chairs and watch the kids play in the water and fish. It has 2 great rooms with plenty of seating for a large crowds and probably the biggest TV I've ever seen! We were fortunate to have beautiful weather and able to enjoy the dock and lake all day every day!
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Jessica. We apologize for the issues you encountered with the oven. This has since been resolved by our local maintenance team. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon!
Christa P. Apr 2021
It was clean, and wonderful area. We loved the kayaks. Beautiful home that is obviously JUST remodeled. VERY clean, lots of space (almost too much? master bedroom was very echoing. lol) The view is incredible. We really had a lovely time. We took away a star because the TV downstairs wasn't working or hooked up right? We also thing that they may not have been ready for us because there were a few unfinished things, and the bathrooms had no working ventilation. Whoever is cleaning the place should get a raise, because it was really clean.
Manager response:
Hello, Christa! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed this modern, stylish home and the incredible views it offers. We make every effort to ensure that our homes are clean and welcoming for guests and we are glad to hear that we exceeded expectations. Thank you for making mention of items in the home that need some TLC. We take this feedback seriously and please know that local staff is available to assist with any issues you encounter while in the home. We look forward to hosting you again, in the future, for another relaxing stay!