USA Massachusetts Martha's Vineyard Vineyard Haven Listing #5928

The Vacation House - Vineyard Haven, MA

Take a Virtual Tour
36 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Bed 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom 1 dog max 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Charming Home with WiFi, Near Beaches & Marina - Dog-Friendly

Ready for a relaxing trip to refuel your ambition? This charming home on Martha's Vineyard offers a cozy living space, a full kitchen, and easy beach access nearby for up to six guests to enjoy this lovely vacation haven!

Located in the quiet Vineyard Haven community, you'll enjoy proximity to the marina for rentals and fishing, as well as a variety of delicious eateries within walking distance. The ferry drops you off just a few blocks from the house, and it's dog friendly, too!

The house itself is bright and airy with a cute decorative hearth, with plenty of windows and polished wood floors throughout. Grab a seat on your choice of furniture in the living room and relax with a book in this sunny atmosphere. When the weather keeps you inside, you might turn on the flatscreen cable TV to watch a DVD.

On the other side of this open room is the kitchen, furnished with wooden counters and cabinets for a truly inviting feel. It is fully equipped with everything you need to make the perfect meal and raised stools at the counter allow everyone to enjoy your delicious creations together in good company.

Step outside to enjoy coffee on the deck at the small table with two chairs, and relax happily breathing in the fresh air.

Two bedrooms make this house suitable for up to six guests, and it offers a one-dog pet allowance, as well (for a small nightly fee). One bedroom is fitted with two sets of twin-size bunk beds, custom built from floor-to-ceiling with convenient, accessible stairs. The other bedroom has a queen bed. An outdoor shower offers an invigorating way to freshen up or rinse off any sandy feet!

There's a private washer/dryer for any laundry you need doing, and WiFi is available for your convenience.

This house is perfect for a family or a group of friends - walk along the roads to the marina to fish or rent a kayak to take out on the water for a fun day with some exercise. Or, spend the day lounging in the sand on the beaches, browsing the small shops, and grabbing a bite to eat at a restaurant with a marvelous view!

Head to the West Chop Lighthouse and take pictures of this beautiful structure constructed in 1891. Martha's Vineyard Playhouse puts on Shakespearean plays all year long, with outdoor performances in the summertime. For a great day trip, make the seven-mile trip to Polly Hill Arboretum, where you can explore 60 acres of breathtaking landscape!

Your next getaway will be sublime at this vacation rental on Martha's Vineyard - don't miss out!

Other tax number: C0152162960

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Heating & cooling

Central AC
Partial AC

House rules


Kitchen & dining





Internet : Comcast


Cable : Comcast

DVD player

Wireless router


Gas grill : Private



Beach towels


Enclosed yard

36 reviews

jack l. Jul 2022
We love the house, Cozy and quiet nice backyard outdoor shower is a great addition. Hardwood floor, lovely old fashion details, will be back. Walking distance to the ferry and Vineyard Haven. Put new fridge 😉🍪😘 pl.
Jamie E. Nov 2021
Perfect little getaway - not fancy but everything you need. Clean and cozy! Near the MV museum and a short walk to town. We loved our vacation here - thank you!
Patricia S. Nov 2021
The cottage was pretty much as advertised but the kitchen pots and pans situation was pretty primitive, we don’t like to go out every
Meal, and felt the kitchen eq was substandard. Also there was a coffee machine, and we’d done all our grocery shopping and arrived but then realized no coffee filters. The managing agent said they don’t provide those. Really? I’ve been to plenty of AirbNB that had olive oil and a few pantry items. Maybe because of COVID this is changed, but this annoyed us.
Also there was a mega storm (nor’easter and power was out there as well as the whole town. Ferries we’re not running in either direction. In the am I asked since we could not leave the island if we could stay another night. They replied other guests were coming— which made no sense to us— . They said they could put us in another place, which was something but we didn’t want to move plus pay all the COVID cleaning fees again. (Fortunately for us our friends offered to squeeze us in.) Later in the day they said they would let us stay there one more night, that they didn’t understand all the ferries had stopped. Really? It was on the steamship authority site. Overall they were nice, but items mentioned here left us not thrilled.
Manager response:
Hello Patricia, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback and have shared your suggestions for improvement with our property manager and homeowner. While the kitchen is stocked with all the cookware and utensils needed to prepare meals, food and other pantry items like coffee, filters, condiments, and tea are not typically stocked in the home. We encourage guests to plan ahead if they anticipate needing additional items during their stay. We are very sorry for the miscommunication regarding the power outage and the Ferris not working. We are glad this situation was resolved during your stay. We would like to have a second chance to host you for a much more enjoyable stay.
Broderick K. Sep 2021
Property could have potential but it is not maintained. The cleanliness of the inside and outside of the property was disgusting. Pictures portrayed are not the real deal. Great location..
Manager response:
Hello Broderick,We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness concerns you encountered during your stay with us. Our team of housekeepers takes pride in their cleanliness standards, as it is a top priority service we provide for every guest prior to check-in. We are disappointed to see that this concern was not reported to us during your stay as we would have been happy to assist. We have passed your feedback along to our housekeeping staff so they are aware of your concerns. We hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future!
Bethany S. Jul 2021
Location is nice to center if the town. House is quaint but needed a better deep cleaning. If coming in summer, strongly recommend bringing more fans - the two provided offered next to no help as several windows were missing screens or didn’t open.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Bethany. We sincerely apologize for the disappointment. We would have been happy to assist with any questions or concerns if we had been notified during your time with us. Our local team strives to provide every one of our guests with the best vacation possible. We are so sorry if our standards were not met during your time with us! We hope to have another opportunity to host you again in the near future!
jeremy s. Jul 2021
The house is cute and looks as pictured. Not particularly well-maintained, but typical for a "beach house." The property seems to be managed by a company off island, so when we discovered the dryer was broken, there was nobody to address the issue. We were unable to do any laundry during our stay. They also refused to allow us an extra hour to checkout, despite it being in the middle of a tropical storm. The check-in is late and the checkout is early, so keep that in mind if you book.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Jeremy! We do have 24/7 guest services to assist our guests at all times with any issues they might have. We are not always able to allow late check-out due to the home already being booked and we need to allow ample time for our housekeepers to prepare the home. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope we can host you again!
Monica G. Dec 2020
Place was beautiful but house not good
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us! We are sorry to hear if you had a disappointing experience with us. Please know our guest services team is available 24 hours a day to assist with any issues you may have. We hope to have the chance to impress you in the future!
Amy P. Dec 2020
This adorable cottage was the perfect house to recharge after this crazy 2020. My teen children and puppy enjoyed every minute! Other reviews stated the house was dirty and had not been cleaned and we did not find that the case. Living in the NE you have cobwebs after 24 hours in most households! We cooked in one evening and found the kitchen to be adequately stocked with utensils and pans. I would stay away from The Black Dog restaurant as we found it a bit meh. All other brunch places and coffee shops were fantastic!
Timothy C. Jul 2020
Good location, walkable to vineyard haven, nice yard to hang out in. Had a charcoal grill.
Kendra S. Mar 2020
This cute cottage was simple well located and comfortable. It had everything we needed.
Daniel B. Jan 2020
This House is located within walking distance of the wonderful town of Vineyard Haven. You can look out over the water from the porch the yard and the living room. You can also bring a four legged friend and enjoy your time on the island with the whole family. The bunk beds are great for the kids and the outdoor shower is a wonderful thing. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will definitely come here again!!
Nichola G. Dec 2019
This is a great little property with cute views down the road to the lagoon. We visited in winter, and were still able to enjoy the cool sun on the deck in the chairs.
The washing machine is really super and the dryer is quick.
The house was clean and the beds were comfy.
Note that the fireplace is just for show, but the central heating works just fine, if not a little noisy when it kicks in! The good thing is you can control the thermostat, so you can get it to how you like it.

Beware the hot water. When showering the water is good, but it never gets warm enough to enjoy a relaxing bath, which is something we would like to have done. And, definitely don't wash up before you intend to wash, because there might not be enough hot!

The cooking facilities are good, and there are most things that you need for the kitchen, but you will need to bring tea towels as these are not provided and we needed to go and buy some.

There is a nice breakfast bar for eating at, and a few games to enjoy (lots of puzzles). We never turned the TV on.
Do beware of leaving even a single crumb on any surface or the floor. You will get ants!! The Vineyard is very sandy, and therefore a great place for ants to live. You know there is a problem when under the sink you find ant-stop, and need to use it in the morning.

Overall a really nice place to stay in the winter, as it was within good walking distance to town, buses and the ferry.

Teresita A. Oct 2019
Nice place to stay!quiet, clean and comfortable beds.
Daniel C. Jul 2019
House fit the six of us comfortably and walkable to the VH ferry.
Diane W. Jul 2019
Very simple house that was most reasonable we could find during summer on vinyard!
Thomas A. Oct 2018
Cottage was very clean and well stocked. Perfect for a couple days on the vineyard with friends. Close to town and bus transportation around the island.
Polly T. Oct 2018
Great little house and well priced. Well appointed kitchen. Very convenient location. Partial water view. I wished there had been some extra blankets, particularly couch throws. The fireplace is decorative only. I would definitely rent this house again.
June M. Sep 2018
This is my second stay at this location. Equally as enjoyable as the first and will book again next year.
Jessica C. May 2018
While the house was a nice walk to town and a perfect size for a long weekend stay the house itself left a lot to be desired. The outdoor shower was overgrown and unable to be used, which on the 80 degree day of our stay was a huge disappointment. The house was cute but it seemed that no one had come through to give it a once over sweep before our stay. Cobwebs filled the corners of the bunk beds and several spiders had made their home throughout the house. There were spiders in the shower, next to the toilet, in the kitchen sink, and over the ceilings in several rooms. When we arrived the lawn was overgrown and poison ivy was crawling over the pathway to the house. On several occasions other vehicles came and parked in one of the driveways. The house and location has wonderful potential but several inconveniences left a bad taste in our mouths.
Manager response:
The island has spiders that, even though the webs are cleaned, can reappear very quickly, but this is not due to a lack of cleaning. Our guests love this cottage and the reviews back this up—however, the decor is not for everyone. Thank you.
Rachel N. May 2018
This is an accurate description of the house. It is located within walking distance of the ferry and Vineyard Haven shops and restaurants, and offers a wonderful view of the lagoon. Mattresses are getting a little worn, but the bunk beds are great for little ones- each has its own light. Would stay here again.
Diego C. May 2018
The location was close to the ferry, nearby restaurants and supermarket.
IRENE F. Oct 2017
The house is comfortable, well equipped with all necessities, but bring your own likes. Easy to get to from the ferry and centrally located to all townships. The variety of restaurants and foods are plentiful for any palate. Several theatres with current movies. All are so friendly and helpful. My second visit with family and ran out of time to do all we wanted to.
Sharon H. Oct 2017
`This is a great little place for a get away. A small view of the ocean reminds you that you are indeed on the island. Good amenities, easy registration/confirmation process.
Lisa T. Oct 2017
Exactly as pictured. Comfortable with four adults. Property is a bit over grown but walking distance from vineyard haven.
June J M. Sep 2017
Convenient distance to all towns on the island. Actually a very pretty view of the lagoon from the front of the house. Sunrise and sunset were beautiful.
Appreciate that is was pet friendly, safe and comfortable.
Anna V. Jun 2017
I really enjoyed my week here. The house is adorable. On the front porch you can actually see the water a bit even though the front porch faces the road. You can walk to town and the house is conveniently next to a stop and shop. Great experience.
Dennis B. May 2017
The location near to Vineyard Haven is a plus, yet it is quiet. The place was clean. Jim Boyd was very helpful and easy to reach. We were able to bring our dog, which we appreciated. The only issue for us was that we felt lethargic here which made us wonder about allergies to something in the house. Otherwise, our stay was great.
Gerald W. Nov 2016
This is a great small house that is dog friendly. We had a very relaxing stay in the off-season. Easy to find, convenient to all things Vineyard: ferries, beaches and the Black Dog bakery and cafe.
Patrick P. Nov 2016
Don Boyd went above and beyond to make sure everything was great for us.
Thanks for everything Don.

Pat P
Rob H. Oct 2016
We came to do a weekend of bike riding and chose this property since it was walking distance to town. Location was great for that (even in the rain). House was small but comfortable and was the perfect fit for a short weekend visit to MV. The price was in line with the house. Outdoor shower was great!
Bethany D. Sep 2016
The house was perfect! Very clean and a great alternative to a hotel! Beautiful walk to the water amd main street!
Nancy R. Sep 2016
Home is nicely laid out for our family of 4. Great location that's walkable from the ferry and bus station.
CHRIS H. Sep 2016
The house we rented was fantastic - highly recommend it.Good location and an "at home" experience.Quite area and yet close to everything. Plenty of room and relaxing atmosphere. Very happy with price and property