USA Vermont Lake Champlain Islands North Hero Listing #9320

Holiday Hideout - North Hero, VT

Take a Virtual Tour
31 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Secluded lakefront cottage w/ gorgeous views, a deck & sandy beach access!

Spend summer, winter, fall, or spring on the shores of Lake Champlain at this three-bedroom North Hero cottage, an updated lakefront escape with a spectacular location, a private deck, and direct access to a sandy beach for swimming, kayaking, and canoeing.

Perched on the northern edge of Allens Bay in the tranquil Lake Champlain Islands, this single-level cottage sits four miles north of the town center of North Hero. You'll be mere steps (across a sand and gravel road) from the lakeshore, 38 miles north of downtown Burlington, and 60 miles south of charming Montreal.

A masterful blend of modern updates and classic Vermont character, the interior living space is cozy, welcoming, and comfortable for the entire family. Turn on the ceiling fan to circulate the summer breeze, admire the beautiful wood details on the walls and floors, or take a seat in front of the gas-powered fireplace in the winter to read a novel, set up a board game, or catch up with your loved ones.

Begin each morning in the country kitchen, where you can grind your own coffee beans, mix up some homemade pancake batter, and read the sports section at the two-person breakfast bar. Set out a platter of pancakes, a bowl of fresh fruit, and a bottle of local maple syrup, and sit down for breakfast at the farm table for six.

Leave the plates in the dishwasher as you head outside for the day, basking in the sunshine on the private deck. Bring your kayak across the road for a morning paddle in Lake Champlain, take a refreshing dip in the cool lake waters, or watch your kids play tag and splash happily on the sun-splashed beach.

Take the setting sun as your cue to light the gas grill, set the patio table, and sit down for an al fresco meal overlooking the lake. Gather around the firepit on the beach for after-dinner s'mores, use the provided WiFi to plan the next day's adventures, and retreat to the plush sofas in the living room for a night of DVDs and cable shows on the large flatscreen TV.

With three bedrooms and two full bathrooms, this secluded lakefront cottage will accommodate as many as six guests. Retreat to the master suite each evening to find a queen-size bed, soft carpeting, and a light-filled private bathroom with a luxurious jetted tub with a shower head. The two guest rooms are full of casual charm, each offering a twin-over-full bunk bed.

Whether you're a first-time visitor to Vermont or frequent this scenic pocket of New England, you'll fall in love with the charm of North Hero. When you're not swimming, sunbathing, and canoeing just outside your cottage, you can head two miles north to find mallards, chain pickerel, northern pike, nesting map turtles, and a stop on the Lake Champlain Paddlers' Trail at the 399-acre North Hero State Park. This area is also a popular destination for ice fishing!

You'll be just five miles east of the expansive sand beach at Alburg Dunes State Park, and 16 miles north of the boat ramp, sports courts, nature center, and 4,150-foot shoreline at Grand Isle State Park. You'll even be within a short drive of downtown Burlington and its bustling markets, restaurants, theaters, and gorgeous frontage on Lake Champlain.

Come and make the Vermont vacation of your dreams - reserve your stay at this North Hero home today!

Meals & Room Tax License #MRT-10082226 A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: Please park in the gravel driveway in front of the house. There is parking for a boat trailer in addition to cars.

Other permit number: MRT-10082226-001

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.


Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

Kitchen & dining






Lake view


Water view


Beach access

Mountain view




Cable : Xfinity

DVD player

Wireless router

On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private




31 reviews

Yingqi S. Jun 2021
Scenic location, very quite during the week we stayed. Really enjoyed the stay. Would be better if the amenities include kayaks.
David H. Mar 2021
Direct access to lake made the fishing weekend perfect. Coming back to the cozy cottage and nice warm fire was the perfect ending to each day.
Jeffrey H. Feb 2021
My family and I loved staying here, was a great get away as we stood here at the peak of winter. The place was cozy and welcoming. Enjoyed the gas fire place as we sat and did puzzles and played cards. Well equip with pots and pans and for cooking. There is no washer and dryer, as I missed that aspect when reviewing before booking. But they do supply you with more than enough towels and bedding needs. So it really was not an issue. They were available if needed. We would book this time place again if it fit our timeline in the summer, as I’m sure it is probably a blast. Thank you for allowing us to experience this lovely home.
Alison M. Nov 2020
Super quiet area with plenty of beautiful walks. The house is great! Very cozy, clean, and nicely decorated. I recommend more indoor lighting, otherwise a perfect retreat!
Gareth G. Oct 2020
We had booked Oct 10th and Oct 11th for our trip.3 Days before our trip I reached out to the management to see if there was any chance that we could add Oct 9th to our stay.I knew it was probably a long shot but the least i expected was a return email to say yes or no.No response from them whatsoever which I found odd and unprofessional especially since their job is to represent their client and their investment.Then we arrive at the place at the allotted check in time to find out that the code they gave me for the lockbox was wrong.To make matters worse its in the middle of a lightning storm and my wife stayed in the car with 4 scared young kids while i tried the code repeatedly on the lock box.I then called the management company and got probably the most unmotivated employee in VT.She proceeded to leave me on hold for 15 mins until the call went dead.I called back and luckily i got connected to a guy called Nick.He was a great help.Finally after another 30 mins we finally got the correct access code thanks to him.Then we enter to the house to find out that the wifi code 'Moderntuba486' was wrong also!!! Luckily the owner had left a sheet with the correct password.At this stage i was not confident of an enjoyable trip.However the cabin was beautiful,clean with unbelievable views of Lake Champlain as advertised.We had an awesome couple of days there.I finally received an email from the management (Michelle P) on Tuesday Oct 13th (5 days after the request and a day after returning home) to say and i quote "Our emails have gotten behind since Coronavirus started but we are working on getting them caught up".Pathetic excuse.I would definitely recommend the actual property but not the management company.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, Gareth. We are so disappointed to hear you were not completely satisfied by your interactions with our company. Like many companies, the COVID-19 pandemic has heavily impacted our email and call volumes. We are so sorry that we did not see your email until the time had passed! We will continue to strive for the excellent customer service we pride ourselves on. We are happy to hear you enjoyed this home and all it had to offer you and we hope you'll give us another chance to really impress you soon!
Vivianne B. Sep 2020
this hideout was awesome the home was comfortable and beautiful and at a great location. North Hero Island is so welcoming to tourists it awesome. the house is right in front of the lake with a gorgeous view is so relaxing.
Miriam C. Aug 2020
Loved our summertime stay at the beach cottage. Beautiful views, nice sandy beach with almost no icky squishy lake plant life (probably one of the better beaches on Champlain!)
House is charming and clean. One of the bedrooms doesn’t have a window to the outside but has a cute window into the living room to let in some daylight and is well equipped with a fan for warm summer nights. Master bathroom shower/tub is definitely not for anyone with mobility issues but is otherwise lovely. Master bed is VERY soft (too soft for some; just right for others). We bought our own fire wood but used the fire pit almost every night. Would have loved if there was a kayak or canoe on sight but easy to rent one at other locations around the islands. Overall a wonderful stay!
Joey S. Jul 2020
This house was perfect for my week away with my girlfriends. The house has a beautiful stretch of beach in front of it that makes enjoying the lake so easy, whether it be by float, swimming, or kayak. The home itself was very comfortable and had everything we needed. There was a good amount of bugs, but its a lake house, just come prepared with some bug spray!
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Joey. We are glad you enjoyed this home and we appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. We will work with our local team to ensure these items are corrected for future guests, and we hope to host you again in the near future!
Laura C. Jun 2020
Initially, were impressed with the beach access and the overall beauty of the home and property. This cottage is roomy and cozy at the same time. However, we were stuck and feeling very unsupported as we encountered several unexpected issues. The toilet in one bathroom is broken and doesn’t flush easily. The shower in the jacuzzi tub leaks profusely onto the the tile floor when in use making an already tricky tub to get in and out of even more dangerous. One shower resulted in 3 towels completely soaked from sitting under the leak while it ran. On day 2 water began leaking from some unknown location (under the floor?) and *drenched our bedroom floor requiring us to use every towel and bath mat in the house to do our best to clean up the mess. No towels left at that point for bathing, swimming or anything else. *This experience was made even more frustrating as we spent all night and morning calling and calling the phone number provided for customer service and NEVER having anyone answer.* So ZERO customer support available. A big thumbs down! We had to walk across the disgusting sloshing carpet to get in and out of the bedroom (and into the bed) for the rest of the stay. Screen in the bedroom fell out of the window multiple times which is a pretty big issue when the (thousands of) bugs come out at night and you can’t open the window. And, though this couldn’t be prevented or addressed by the host directly, future guests should know there is something happening at least at this time and in this area of lake Champlain which is causing DOZENS of dead fish to wash ashore each day. The first day we arrived we had to pick up over 40 dead dish from the beach in front of the house. We did this gross chore all three days we were there so that the kids would be able to swim- although the dead fish continued to roll in even as they were in the water- yuck. We had to go out and repeat this gross process (20-40 dead fish) each morning and by the day we left the entire beach (especially since we were only clearing the carcasses from our own “section”) was beginning to smell like a giant dumpster full of old seafood. The kids had to hold their shirts over their faces as they went down to collect our belongings to head home. Overall we made the most of a weird situation since that was our ONLY option having no way of reaching customer support. On the final day the person who showed up to clean the property (who was lovely) put us in touch with someone who said they would follow up with some sort of refund which hasn’t happened yet...
Completely dissatisfied with Vacasa customer support and wouldn’t want any other family to deal with the issues this property came with especially since we had to deal with it all ON OUR OWN.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and we are so disappointed to hear you were not completely satisfied by your interactions with our company. Like many companies, the COVID-19 pandemic has heavily impacted our email and call volumes. We are so sorry that we did not see your email until the right time has passed! We will continue to strive for the excellent customer service we pride ourselves on. Thank you for bringing it to our attention, we have refunded you for the inconvenience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed this home and all it had to offer you and we hope you'll give us another chance to really impress you soon!
Aaron H. Jan 2020
Tucked out of the way on a winding gravel road was this sweet little place. Right on the edge of the water with all the amenities we needed. The inside was beautifully done with plenty of areas to play games, watch movies, and eat a nice home cooked meal one night, it was winter time so no swimming obviously, but the view was great and being only about 40 mins from burlington or a few ski areas meant a night out or little adventure wasnt far away. The memory foam on the bed took some getting used to and the hot water for the whirlpool tub was tough to come by. But overall this was a great place that we'd come back to again for sure!
Steven R. Sep 2019
Nice house, great view of Lake Champlain, very comfortable. The kitchen was nicely stocked with dishes and appliances. The living room was a nice place to watch a movie at night and I enjoyed swimming in Lake Champlain. It took a little walking to get to the deeper water, but once you're in it, it's very nice.
Christopher w. Aug 2019
The home was beautiful. The kitchen has everything you could need, Plenty of towels. The cottage easily fits 6. The back deck with the grill is perfect! The property is beach front and we had 2 kayaks available besides the SUP we brought. This waterfront property is perfect for families, The water is shallow and sandy with no shells to cut up little feet.
If you decide to go for this peaceful retreat - just realize there is no big grocery store on the series of islands. There is more than enough, but if you are used to Wegmans, there is nothing to compare. Vermont sells wine and beer in grocery store - about 15 min away. The liquor store is about 20 min away. The drive is easy and beautiful.
we are forever grateful to have found this place!!
we are a family of 5 - 3 kids, 22, 19, and 16 and with the 2 bathrooms - there was never an issue
Cherie T. Aug 2019
The cottage was very clean and smelled fresh (not-moldy). Kitchen cabinets were clean too. It was nicely supplied with cleaners and necessities. The yard was clean and the beach and swimming was great. Very safe for children because it didn’t get deeper than 4 feet for over 10 feet out!
Jason M. Jul 2019
We made this our home for three nights to explore Burlington, North Hero and Montreal and we felt very at home here. We loved it!
Janie R. Oct 2018
Spotless, cozy and beautiful view of lake from inside and out. Nice neighborhood. Great for fanily with kids or a couple, plumbing is a challenge so go with adventurous spirit.
Jeffrey W. Oct 2018
My family really enjoyed staying at this cozy lakefront cabin. This property is located on a beautiful private road that is well cared for by the homeowners association. The cabin is located on a level lot with plenty of offstreet parking directly across from Lake Champlain. The interior of the cabin was very comfortable and my family was able to settle in quickly. I would highly recommend this property families and friends that want a peaceful vacation. We will be back to rent this property in the future!
Philip L. Sep 2018
Michael J M. Jul 2018
The Beach here is beautiful and, nice and sandy. The view from the front porch is magnificent. The house is a good size. It's well equipped for a family. Everything is very nice.
Signe L. May 2018
The location was very private and right on the water. We saw a beaver come up to collect some wood after a storm. We had sunny weather so enjoyed sitting out on the deck looking at the lake. It was close to an event we were there for in North Hero.
Salvatore C. Feb 2018
Great spot on Lake Champlain! Gorgeous views of the lake and mountains in the distance. The cabin itself was clean, comfortable, and well appointed. We’re looking forward to staying here again next year.
Orielle D. Nov 2017
The home was delightfully decorated and furnished. The lake view was amazing and we had a wonderful time. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare our meals with a spacious dining area and lots of room to relax in the living areas. The big windows overlooking the lake were so nice and allowed plenty of natural light. Because the two bunk bedrooms and the hall bath are smaller, they are more appropriate for kids rather than adults.
Mike S. Oct 2017
We all just adored this cabin. We will be back for sure!
We learned quickly the Water pump can be a little noisy so us old guys who have to get up in the middle of the night to tinkle may want to wait until morning to flush so the pump does not turn on.
Carrie F. Sep 2017
The house is right on the water, with a nice beach. We had a great time playing in the water and kayaking around the lake. The road was very quiet. It is a great place for family vacations. We enjoyed buying fresh vegetables and meat from the local farms. The kitchen was well stocked with appliances. We hiked, swam rode bikes and had a great relaxing vacation.
Jana T. Aug 2017
Our family loved every moment that we spent in this beautiful cottage. The surrounding area is wonderful and easy to get to various areas for adventures. We even went to Old Montreal!
It was the best vacation we've ever had!
Thank you!
Mark O. Jul 2017
This is a great Cabin to rent. Prime location and views. One of the best beaches in the area and close to convenience store (2.5 miles).