Virtual Tour
USA Maryland Deep Creek Lake McHenry Listing #10536

Water's Edge - McHenry, MD

24 reviews
Max occupancy: 10 4 Queen Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms Dog-friendly 
1409-B Deep Creek Drive, McHenry, MD 21541

Lakefront home w/ dock, patio, firepit & lovely lake views - dogs welcome!

Wake up on the shores of Deep Creek Lake at this three-bedroom McHenry home, an incredibly located Maryland escape with a dock, dog-friendly accommodations, and a lakefront piece of property with a firepit and a patio.

Ideally positioned for swimmers, anglers, and boating enthusiasts, this two-level home sits on the eastern shores of Deep Creek Lake in the town of McHenry. Walk a few steps to the Black Bear Tavern and other local favorites, spend summer and winter days on the slopes of Wisp Resort two miles northwest, and soak in the sun on the shores of Deep Creek Lake State Park six miles south.

With such an enviable location right on the water's edge, this home is a one-stop vacation. Begin each morning by launching your kayak from the dock, play fetch with your dog outside on the lawn, and light the gas grill for lunch on the patio with a panoramic view of the lake (please note that a nightly dog fee applies).

Take an afternoon break in the air-conditioned living space, use the free WiFi to share a few photos, and grab a cold drink from the full kitchen (with a dishwasher). Just be sure you leave time for catching the sunset outside on the patio or dock, gathering around the firepit for evening s'mores, and watching a movie or two on the cable TV, DVD player, and VCR.

Please note that this home is next door to Mountains View, which has the same owner, shares the dock and the driveway, and can be rented together with this house by larger groups.

Your getaway to Deep Creek Lake begins today - book this cozy, convenient McHenry home for a trip you'll never forget!

Read more Read less 

AMENITIES

Activities

Board games

Children's games

Dock

Features

Washer/dryer : Private

Central AC

Kitchen

Dishwasher

Fridge

Microwave

Stove

Media

Internet : Comcast

Blu-Ray player

Cable : Comcast

DVD player

Stereo

TV

VCR

Wireless router

Outdoor

Gas grill : Private

Beach chairs

Deck

Firepit

Patio

Scenic

Water view

Waterfront

24 reviews

Kristel L. Mar 2019
We booked as a last minute ski get away and were not disappointed. The views of the lake and slopes from this home are amazing. The house is dated but not enough to deter from renting again. It has 2 full baths and plenty of room for the 6 of us. We really had a fantastic stay!
Svetlana Y. Jan 2019
Thank you so much for hospitality! We enjoyed every moment. House and location are so beautiful! We had everything that we needed. Hope we could stay with Water’s Edge again and again!!!
Renee P. Nov 2018
We stayed during October and the purpose of our trip was just to have a quiet weekend at the lake. This house allowed us to do just that.

However, the house definitely has some flaws that we feel like prospective renters should know. To start, the property is listed as having a private backyard and dock, and neither is accurate. In fact, we woke up Saturday morning to a man making a fire in our fire pit. He told my husband he was "from the house behind us". We also realized the dock was shared and one of the boats in the picture was in the garage of that house.

Additionally, while the stove had not been used, my husband burned his hand on a burner because it somehow got hot when the oven was turned on. This is a safety hazard and the stove should be replaced.

Additionally, there was no tub, and the upstairs bathroom had black mold in the shower.
Tara F. Sep 2018
Overall, this place met our needs for the weekend, but we wouldn't stay again.

The good: Furniture and beds were very comfortable, there were lots of seating options. I loved that there were two focal point/gathering rooms (kitchen downstairs and living room upstairs, both large enough for large groups of people to hang out in). The covered porch was great, particularly since it rained a bit while we were there so it was nice to still be able to be outside. The yard was large! Parking was easy. Wifi signal was great.

The bad: There were some issues with the house itself. For instance, the back door lock did not work/engage (the only way to secure the sliding door is wedging in a provided pole to keep it from opening), the front door is only locked with a door handle latch (a deadbolt would be much more reassuring). The knives provided in the kitchen were DANGEROUSLY dull. If you come here, definitely bring your own knives or bring a knife sharpener. The garbage can is in a rolling cabinet, and the cabinet would not stay shut (kind of gross, a draw for flies, and definitely an issue for those with dogs or kids). Many of the windows did not have screens so you can't really air the place out. A few small maintenance improvements to the place would really increase the comfort of the stay!

The other thing of note is that you can only access the water from the dock (which has a ladder). Fine for adults, not so great for dogs or little kids. It wasn't obvious from the photos or description, so worth noting!
Manager response:
We will be getting new knives and addressing the door as well. We appreciate having these items brought to our attention. Thank you!
Carolyn L. Sep 2018
The house was walking distance to Smiley’s, which had a variety of things to do with the kids, food, and little shops. Many other things to do within a short drove, including the Wisp mountain coaster.

We spent time each day on the lake and the kids loved docking for ice cream at Lakeside Creamery.

The house itself was in a great spot and it was nice to have a big yard and fire pit. It was clean and everything we needed was there. The front closet had some board and yard games, too. Overall, it was the perfect vacation for our family of 4.
Jim G. Aug 2018
The back yard
Miranda S. Mar 2018
House was very clean and in a great location. The fire pit was a nice touch.
Merrie H. Feb 2018
For all the add ons to the original price, I was very disappointed. We love Deep Creek and the view was lovely but the only big widow looking over the lake did not have a comfortable place to view.
Manager response:
The owner has set up the furnishings for comfortable TV viewing and is not interested in rearranging at this time. We apologize if this guest found the set-up uncomfortable.
Erin D. Jan 2018
Our group loved this location. Since we had all singles, it is best suited for about 5 people, but if all couples it is perfect for a total of 10 people. The view is great. The location was perfect for all the activities we had planned.
Christine L. Jan 2018
My family and I had a very nice time.
Kristine S. Nov 2017
Went for a long weekend to enjoy the Fall foliage and the incredible views. Loved that we could bring our dog.
Kim R. Oct 2017
Waterfront view was awesome, firepit by the water was great, and it is within walking distance to restaurant, small nightclub with DJ, and go-karts, mini golf, etc. Loved our stay and hope to come back again soon!
Amy S. Oct 2017
great location - can walk to shops and restaurants, beautiful view, great place to stay!
Sandy (Heidi's Mom) S. Aug 2017
Friday afternooon - the arrival of about 10 girls in the cabins to the right - they had a dog WITHOUT A LEASE ON - the dog was in our private yard doing his business and they never cleanedup after him. They would throw a ball into our yard for the dog to chase. They came over and started the fire pit and sat around it for over an hour til after 10pm. They were very LOUD. We could not use it and they left alot of trash outside and in the pit. Also on Friday, people from Cedar... appts from behind us came into our rental property and were on the dock wanting to put a boat on, broke my daughters minnie bucket and lost the minnies she purchased and tookover the firepit. We also had more people from the log appts behind us - Cedar...who were also going to put a boat on our rental property dock and a third group of people telling us that our firepit was a community firepit and that anyone could use it. We were ready to leave on Saturday and possibly not renting this home again.
Michael . Aug 2015
This house was right on the lake and very nice. The large family room/ kitchen was great. Large dinning room table allowed the whole family to enjoy our meals together. You cannot beat the view of the lake. I would highly recommend this rental.
Lisa . Sep 2014
This house is very clean. The property is central located on Deep Creek Drive. You are lake front as well. Awesome view. Both Owners and rental company are fabulouse.
Erik B. Jun 2012
My Family and I had the best time!!! Great Location , Xcellent acommodations !!! deff comming back t this place..love it and strongly suggest this as your Vacation rental.. will not be desapointed !! Erik Berrios