Virtual Tour
USA Idaho Lake Coeur d'Alene Coeur d'Alene Listing #766

The Octagon at Rockford Bay - Coeur d'Alene, ID

74 reviews
Max occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 1 Twin Bed, 1 Futon 3 bedrooms 1.5 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
18149 S. Meadowglen Ln., Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814

Unique home w/ stunning lakefront views, a wrap-around deck & a private dock!

Right on the shore of Rockford Bay (a charming inlet on Lake Coeur d'Alene), with its own slip for three boats, is this amazing eight-sided home in the round with three bedrooms and room for seven guests. Enjoy 180-degree views of the water from the wraparound deck, and the wonderful location on the "right" side of the lake where it gets evening sun and the water is warmer.

Secure the boat at the slip or your jet skis in the two ports provided and come into the living area of this amazing home. Its vaulted, tongue-in-groove wood ceiling rise up in unique, quadrangular sections, creating a huge, rustic space where you can truly relax. Open a cool one and belly up to the bar by the window under the neon Corona sign while you wait for dinner. On chilly evenings, throw a log on the fire in the wood fireplace and sink into one of the comfortable couches. Check the evening cable news on one of two flat screen TV's, enjoy a DVD, or just listen to a CD. If you're feeling lucky, cut the deck and start a game of five-card stud at the poker table!

With an eye for space, this home's designer put the fully equipped kitchen along one wall. Flanked by a long counter perfect for prep work, your cook will have everything needed to fix everything from scrambled eggs to spaghetti. There's a big double fridge with ice maker, an electric range and oven, and a dishwasher. There are a couple places to eat in Rockford Bay, including a seasonally open restaurant at the nearby marina. For a land-based dining experience, make the 30-minute drive up to Coeur d'Alene. But choose carefully: there are 120 restaurants in and around Coeur d'Alene.

This unique home has three bedrooms. The log-framed queen in the master bedroom echoes the rustic decor of the home. Brightly lit and vibrantly colored, it also has access to the deck, so, upon rising, you can start your day with a breath of fresh air outside. The second bedroom also has a queen bed. Kids of all ages can stay in bedroom number three, where you'll find a bunk with a full on the bottom, and a single on top. Everyone will stay warm with individually controlled heat in each room, and the living room futon provides more flexibility for sleeping arrangements. There's one bathroom and a full laundry room, so you'll always have fresh clean clothes for your forays out on the lake.

The deck has plenty of seating to soak in the views, and the gas grill is covered so you can enjoy fresh barbecue at any time of year!

Though you could easily spend your entire getaway just hanging out at this beautiful home, floating on the lake and enjoying the scenery from the deck, there's lots to do nearby! Visit the Rockford Bay Resort (10-12 minute walk) where you will find Shooters Bar & Grill, gas and a mini-convience store. With so much water (there are fifty lakes in the area), you can kayak, fish, or water ski. There are three national forests around Coeur d'Alene, so bring the hiking boots and the bikes. Yes, there's golfing too. Along with nearby Coeur D'Alene Public Golf Club, there are seven other places to tee up. Winters in Coeur d'Alene are fun-filled too, with ski areas from within 48 to 90 miles of Coeur d'Alene, including Silver Mountain Resort to the east, and Kellogg and Schweitzer Mountain to the north in Sandpoint.

Come stay at this lovely home right on the shore of Rockford Bay and get your own little slice of Idaho heaven!

*Please note that there are about 20 steps down to the home from parking area and those with disabilities may find access difficult.



Golf Nearby

Board games



Washer/dryer : Private

Partial AC

Wood stove








Cable : Time Warner

DVD library

DVD player




Gas grill : Private




Water view


74 reviews

Scott H. May 2019
Clean and well maintained. We had a flawless trip.
david p. Nov 2018
We liked the view, the heat worked well, there were TV DVD equipment that was simple to operate, no Wifi. I would stay here again. Probably off season.
Revella D. Oct 2018
This place had a beautiful setting. Wonderful outdoor space. Easy access to town and places to eat.
Gregory G. Jun 2018
A great getaway! Beautiful view and wonderful access to the lake.
Terri L. May 2018
Beautiful view sitting on the deck, whether early morning or late evening. Wonderful place with everything you could want.
Christy T. Feb 2018
We have been coming here for a quilting getaway for 4 years now. We Love it wonderful view, great location. I love the new bathroom and the only thing I would add/change would be to have more lighting in the main living area.
Joan A. Dec 2017
We love this place. So beautiful, very comfortable, very quiet... The perfect getaway even in the winter! Would love to check it out in the summer sometime but the price gets too high for us.
Shari D. Oct 2017
Shawna W. Oct 2017
Wonderful deck view very nice location!!
Sharon V. Oct 2017
Really nice space for our girls weekend for my 60th birthday !
Kristin F. Oct 2017
Great view of the lake and comfortable home. Had safety concern that the only smoke detector in the house did not have batteries in it, and the property manager never returned my email / phone call that it was taken care of for the next occupant.
Manager response:
We apologize that we missed getting back to the guest to thank them for making us aware of the missing batteries. The batteries have been replaced, and we have added additional alarms to the home. Thanks!
Stacy F. Oct 2017
You can't beat the location of this home. It's right on the lake - there is a dock that is right below the house, a huge wraparound deck...we enjoyed this home immensely. It's not fancy, but it was very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again. Things to note: parking is above the house, so you have to walk down quite a few steps to get to the house. Also, if you'd like to use the wood stove, bring your own firewood.
Sarah G. Aug 2017
It was very accommodating
The cement steps with no railing were a bit intimidating
There is not a grocery store close so be sure you stock well
Chris F. Jul 2017
Overall it was very nice. Just a couple of small items brought it down from a 5 Star but nothing that will keep us from coming back.
Judi B. Jul 2017
Very easy spot with tons of sun. Plan to return soon
Tim B. Jul 2017
This was a great spot to relax and boat.
Trudy J. Apr 2017
The view is wonderful but the entire house needs a lot of attention. Cleanliness was lacking. Numerous repairs needed. No curtains on the doors. Oven and coffee maker very dirty. It could be a wonderful place if it was cleaner.
Joseph H. Mar 2017
This was a very peaceful vacation. Great place to unwind. Nice and slightly rustic. Pretty view, even though the lake was flooded. We didn't mind. We will definitely return.
Louise T. Nov 2016
This place is perfect! I'm reluctant to sing the praises it deserves in case everyone starts booking it and I miss out on opportunity to stay there because it's already booked. I want my cabin to feel a lil cabinish and have some old school charm. It has all that and the necessary amenities to ensure you and your friends and family have a great time. There are coolers and 2 fridges so there's plenty of space for food and most importantly drinks. Enjoy!
Anthony L. Oct 2016
We were very excited about the property. Very convenient coming from Spokane--only took us 40 minutes to get there. The views are breathtaking! We would highly recommend it to any of our friends. Some of the furniture was pretty dated and a bed probably needs to be replaced. The kitchen is fairly well stocked--limited on spices (we left some behind for the next vacationers). All and all a really nice stay!
Gayle A. Oct 2016
If you are looking for a small get away that offers a terrific bay view with a cozy atmosphere, this is it! We enjoyed our stay tremendously, hope to get to come back again sometime soon!
Phil S. Sep 2016
Very quiet, beautiful and peaceful location. Would certainly go back again!
Roman C. Sep 2016
a nice, quiet home with beautiful lake views.
Cindy C. Aug 2016
wonderful view and very nice cabin
Barbara N. Aug 2016
A wonderful location to relax on the lake. Have coffee on the deck in the morning, wine later on, a dip in the water if it gets hot. Easy access to Coeur d'Alene for supplies, restaurants or entertainment.
Laura D. Jul 2016
Love it
Valerie S. May 2016
Very happy with our experience from making the reservation through our stay. Everything was exactly as described on the website. The house was clean, the view was great and we would definitely stay there again.
Joseph N. May 2016
So beautiful...just the peaceful rest in solitude we were looking for.
Kathleen W. May 2016
Great place to unwind after hectic college graduation. Beautiful surroundings. Peaceful and quiet. Would defiantly stay again.
Jennifer A. Mar 2016
The views were amazing!!! We went to just get away from life and that's what we did! We loved this house.
Chris L. Mar 2016
Although this cabin sleeps up to 10, it also worked well for my solo getaway. Visiting in March, I had no neighbors and the 50 cabins across the lake seemed virtually unoccupied. The late winter weather kept me inside most of the time, so sun breaks a few days were all the more welcomed. The downside for me was that renting a lakeside cabin when boating and water sports are not available means there really isn't anything to do outdoors, so I drove 30 minutes to hike in the state park. Without WiFi access, I used lots of mobile data.
Erik J. Jan 2016
Nice little place to stay. We didn't know how much firewood would be provided. Enough for one fire. Had we known that we would have brought additional wood with us. Nice place to stay. We would love to come back with a group of friends in the summer
Ross W. Jan 2016
My wife and 2 year old son stayed for 2 nights with a friend and his family. It was nice and clean when we arrived. The view was amazing and the house had everything we needed. The only complaint was the hot water only lasted a few minutes. It was 5 degrees outside so that may of had something to do with it. I appreciated that the wrap around deck had gates we could put up and was completely blocked in so my son could get out and run free a bit. Would absolutely stay again and am already planning a summer trip if available.
Manager response:
Thank you for your response. We apologize that the water heater was not working correctly for you and will work on making sure that does not happen again in the future. We are glad to see that this home worked out so well for you! Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
Karen F. Sep 2015
It was very clean & everything we needed was there! We were very impressed! Loved having a washer & dryer & dishwasher.
Each room was well furnished & there were plenty of extra blankets which we used because mornings were very cool. There is even an extra refrigerator on the deck for a big get together. There were lots of chairs on the deck, which is covered. We used the grill several times which was very nice. This is where we spent our honeymoon so there was only 2 of us but it can easily accommodate 6-8 people! Lots of counter space in the kitchen! Plenty of towels & even shampoo/conditioner. Good water pressure in the shower.
Secluded- we slept with the curtains open & the moon shining in was incredible!
Definitely recommend!
Sarah E. Sep 2015
This home is in an amazing location. We had a girls' weekend there with small children and were completely satisfied. Another reviewer mentioned that the property is outdated; yes, it is true that it is not modernized, but it is clean, well-appointed, and fully functioning. And, the pictures show the "outdatedness." In fact,, the home is much, much nicer than the pictures reveal.

The three bedrooms are on one side of the home and the living room/kitchen is on the other side. It was perfect for our needs. There are plenty of outside chairs, 2 adult life jackets, a huge metal canoe with 4 oars, a child's sandbox, and a ton of DVDs and music CDs. The beds were comfortable and clean. The bunk bed is creaky, but worked fine for our kids. There are a ton of stairs from the street to the house and more stairs down to the water. But, there is a rope railing, so it was not an issue for us. The couch and futon in the living room were very comfortable.

We, like other reviewers, saw moose, deer, chip monks, fish, geese, and elk. Perfect location!!

P.S. I suggest including a pizza cutter and wire whisk in the stock of kitchen supplies.
Lucy D. Aug 2015
Great location but the house is very outdated.
Paul B. Jun 2015
Fantastic stay for 7 here. Unrivalled views into the lake and great BBQ facility. Sad to leave but will be back in the future. Travelled a long way from Ireland but The Octagon was the perfect place for some downtime after Yellowstone.
Rita O. May 2015
This was my husband's a my first trip with our boat to Lake CDA. We wanted to explore the fishing on CDA river. The Octagon house ended up being a perfect location to do that. The views were breathtaking from the great room and deck; and the accommodations were very comfortable for the two of us. The boat launch was nearby and the dock was awesome. Garage was useful for storing our boat trailer during our stay. We enjoyed lovely weather and great fishing on the lakes off CDA River. Overall a memorable trip and we will be back!
Hershey J. May 2015
It's our staycation! The stairs into the property is nerve wracking but even with our young kids, we did just fine. That's the only bad I can say and think off. Property was clean, and there are plenty of opportunity for campfire and s'mores! T-mobile doesn't have service here but I thoroughly enjoyed the soothing, relaxing days we were there! The view from the kitchen is what I live for. It made me cook more and not want to leave the kitchen.
Glenn Y. May 2015
My wife, in-laws, and I recently stayed here for five nights. Everyone in our party was in awe of the views provided by the panoramic structure of the house. During our stay we saw many animals from the property and to/from town including: ducks, geese, sea birds, pheasants, turkeys, deer, and a moose. My father-in-law and I spent the day fishing and caught about half a dozen catfish, most of which were too small and had to be thrown back. The property has a two person canoe which we took out on the lake and had a great time. There was only one small life vest so if you're not a strong swimmer bring your own. The only complaints I have is the Rockford Bay store was closed so we had to venture an additional fifteen minutes to the nearest store. Also, there is only one restroom which made it a tasks for getting ready in the morning at times. I definitely have the opportunity to stay here again.
Melissa D. Apr 2015
While staying at the octagon house we loved the views of the bay from the living room and the house was very spacious for our group of 7. We liked how the main part of the home was on one side and the bedrooms were down the hall way, making it easy for those to sleep and others to spend time together in the living room. The dock was very nice and accommodating for our boat. The parking is a little tight at the home as it is on a dead end road and there is not a lot of room to turn around a truck with a boat trailer (I would not recommend trying it). Although it was nice to be able to use the garage on the property to park a car in during our stay to the help with the limited parking situation. Overall I would recommend this property to others looking for a quiet retreat on the lake.
Chance H. Dec 2014
The house is great, with a lot of amenities. Plan on great morning views, and an abundance of local wildlife. Fishing was slow but in the end well worth the patience. 12# king salmon. Comfy beds and lots of family space. Good selection of movies and music, since there is no WIFI. Plan on being unplugged and loving it.
Martha B. Dec 2014
The Octagon has lovely lake views, not just of Rockford Bay. Excellent quad sound for your CDs. The TVs are not huge but adequate. Nice DVD selection. Take a walk through the neighborhood to see turkeys, deer, mountain chickadees, chipmunks and other wildlife. Bring all your own food, including condiments, coffee and tea to take advantage of the well stocked kitchen. There are spices, S&P, etc in the cupboard. Oh, and the fish on the wall in the bathroom? Tic Tac Toe board. Get up early enough for the sunrise on the lake...really beautiful. This stay made us want to go over budget and buy a lakefront home!
Anita L. Oct 2014
I met my two sisters here for a short getaway and had a great time. The view is wonderful and the property is quiet.
Kevin A. Sep 2014
Beautiful cabin with a million dollar view. While surrounded by other cabins, we felt secluded & at peace. It's midway between a casino/resort & Coeur d'Alene so there's plenty to do with in a 20 minute drive. The cabin was so comfortable & well furnished that we spent most of our time inside, on the dock, or in the lake. You enter a great room with fireplace, bar, card table, kitchen, comfy couches, HDTV, cable, DVDs, etc. Your eye is immediately drawn to the large windows & the gorgeous lake view. The great room is spacious & perfect for a group event. Bedrooms are off to the side & well removed from chatter in the main room. Larger parties might want more than one bathroom but it was fine for our party of 4. If you want to eat out, Shooters Saloon is easy to walk to. Good food & prompt service. A small market is nearby for sodas & such. No internet, which isn't a bad thing when you're surrounded by so much beauty. No problem with cell service, though. Those of us with tablets or smartphones had no issues. Most the time, we unplugged & enjoyed the cabin, lake, & area. Lots of deer & turkeys in the area. We really enjoyed our stay & are looking forward to booking this cabin again the next time we're in the CDA area.
Manager response:
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so glad your family enjoyed our home, and look forward to your next visit.
Mark D. Aug 2014
We picked a perfect weekend to stay in Rockford Bay as the weather was beautiful. We had a great time at the Octagon, our favorite part was the open community space in the living area and deck that made it very fun to hang out with old friends. The dock is great and the water was awesome as well. The neighbors were very nice as well and let us barrow a life jacket for our Jet Ski. Overall a great stay!
Kevin E. Aug 2014
The octagon cabin was great and the staff were clear, helpful, and attentive (when needed)
Amanda S. Jul 2014
Our family rented this beautiful cabin! It is located in a great location not to far away from everything there is to do in the area. Very relaxing atmosphere and very quiet! Amazing dock to keep your own water craft or rented from local watercraft rental outfits. There is a boat launch very close as well. Our kids spent every day in the water off the dock, the water is crystal clear! The view is awesome! There are many things to do and explore in this area! Great location to do it from!
Cory A. May 2014
This house sits right on the lake. The view is incredible. We loved having our own dock. There is a canoe and paddle boat. We spend hours paddling around the lake. It was a perfect get away for my wife and I.
Kary M. Apr 2014
We had a wonderful time. The only suggestion was that kitchen pots/pans/lids could be updated as a matching set. Lids didn't fit the pans well, and there could be a better selection of pots/pans. That's our only notion on improvement!
The cabin was just great. Slept like babies. We'll rent it again. Thank you!
Pamela P. Apr 2014
We spent a week in this unique home on the lake. It was clean and comfortable. The view was great, especially the sunsets. Had a couple of barbecues and enjoyed roasting marshmallows over the fire pit on the shore. Had fun peddling around the bay in the little peddle boat. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience.
Manager response:
We're glad that you had a good experience in the home. The views are indeed lovely. Thanks for your review!
Jock H. Oct 2013
Great view and location but needed freshening up in linen, beds, towels.
Manager response:
Thanks for your review and suggestion about the linen & towels. I'll make sure we take a look at that for our future guests.