Virtual Tour
USA Florida The Florida Keys Marathon Listing #8407

The Ocean is Calling - Marathon, FL

19 Reviews
Max Occupancy: 12 2 King Bed, 3 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 5 Bedrooms 4 Bathrooms 2 Dog Max 
321 Calzada De Bouginvillea, Marathon, FL 33050

Waterfront home w/private pool & 3-boat dock - fishermen's paradise, dogs ok!

Looking for a tropical island escape that can handle your large group of fishermen? Look no further than this dog-friendly Marathon vacation rental, a sprawling five-bedroom home with a private pool, a dock and electricity for three boats, a pool table, and plenty of space for up to 12 guests. It's guaranteed to deliver an incredible stay in the Florida Keys!

Tucked into the lush, tropical landscape of Marathon, this home resides just blocks from the Atlantic Ocean, with quick access to tons of water-themed activities. It's also within walking distance of the tranquil sugar sand shores at Sombrero Beach, while shopping, dining, and entertainment sit north and south on the Overseas Highway.

Kick off your sandals as you step inside and feel stress drift away in the home's comfortable interior. Each room is exquisitely appointed with Florida accents, including tiled floors, ceiling fans, light colors, and premium furniture. Rest easy on plush couches in the spacious living area, where you can flip on the flatscreen and settle in with a favorite cable series under the refreshing breeze of an overhead fan.

Make sure to bring along your swimsuit so you don't miss out on glorious days in the screened-in pool, which sits on the back patio. Also on the back patio is a Tiki hut - a perfect place to enjoy frosty cocktails and great conversation. You might also want to spend some time in the ocean while you're here, and with a dock that you can drive a boat right up to, you'll be able to do just that! Fishermen - this is the home for you! In addition to a 100-foot dock, there's is a fish-cleaning station, a deep freezer, a smoker, and a vacuum-sealer (in case you want to take your catch home!).

Come home from a sun-soaked day on the high seas to whip up a Florida-inspired feast in the open concept kitchen. You'll find all the necessary cooking accessories for homemade breakfast, lunch, and dinner, plus granite countertops for laying out snacks and a dishwasher for quick cleanup. Dine together at nearby indoor tables, which include a wooden table, a café table, and a wicker table on a screened-in porch. For a little sunshine while you eat, take your meal onto the upstairs sundeck, where you'll also find loungers for suntanning.

Afterward, challenge your group to a tournament on the pool table, freshen up your beach wardrobe in the washer/dryer, or connect to the WiFi for updating friends and family back home over social media.

Retire at the end of the day for a great night's sleep in any of five bedrooms. There are king-size beds in two bedrooms, one bedroom with a queen and double beds, a fourth bedroom with a queen bed, and a fifth bedroom that's perfect for your kids with a twin bed bunk set and electric green walls adorned with tropical fish. Wind down with a refreshing soak in the walk-in, stone shower in the master suite, or leash up your dog (with a small nightly fee, two dogs can come along) and walk around the tropical neighborhood.

Wake up with a fresh-brewed cup of coffee in the kitchen, then start planning a new day of adventures. Ready for some fun-filled day trips? Take your whole family to get up close and personal with local sea life at the Dolphin Research Center, or lace up some sturdy shoes for a nature hike around Curry Hammock State Park. You could also book a charter fishing adventure and head out for a day of world-class sport fishing, or rent scuba diving gear and explore the underwater reefs offshore. If you have a bit of time, drive south to Key West for boutique shops, historic landmarks, and world-famous nightlife along Duval Street.

Get ready for a Florida Keys vacation you won't soon forget - reserve your dates at this amazing home today!

*Please contact Vacasa for our special Snowbird pricing!

City of Marathon Permit # - PLR2018-00450

Read more Read less 



Board Games

Child Games


Game Room

Pool Table : Private



Baby Gates

High Chair


Washer Dryer : Private

Central AC

Partial AC

Pool : Private

Propane/Gas Home : Propane







Internet : Comcast

Cable : Comcast

DVD Library

DVD Player



Wireless Router


Snowbird Friendly



Gas Grill : Private




Water View

19 Reviews

John C. Oct 2018
This place had everything that we needed for our group trip. The place can sleep 12 comfortably, and has plenty of space. We were able to do group yoga every morning before our diving trips. The dock is incredibly large to accommodate two large boats for larger crews like us . In addition, the cleaning station and ice machine made our trips so much easier. Did I mention that there are mangrove snapper loaded under the dock? We fed ourselves for the first 4 days off of snapper and lobster. Truly incredible place that will now be my number once house to rent in the future. Can't wait to do another trip to this wonderful house!
Joann & Charlie E. Sep 2018
you limit and block accurate accounts of the house, it's cleanliness, response to issues that took up 4 days of our
week long trip, even though you have been given over 3 weeks
to respond before I posted a rating - trying to give you the benefit of the doubt. Torn screens on three doors allowing iguanas to gain entrance and swim in the pool, scorpion inside
the house, dirty beds (complete with long black hair and red
pubic hair) on the sheets when we went to go to bed the first
night, towels hung neatly in the bathrooms - but when we went to dry off - the t owels were in fact dirty on the inside
(mascara, make up etc). Trash cans full in the kitchen for us
to empty ourselves upon arrival. clean linens were dropped at
the door for one bed in a white trash bag for us to change the
nasty linen ourselves, We changed and washed the linens
ourselves in order to have clean beds to sleep in. I waited to
post this review - to give vacasa a chance to respond - because
we have been renting from VRBO and ownersdirectly for over
20 years and have never experienced this type of situation.
Things have occured during our stays at other locations (one
for 14 years in a row) but they were dealt with immediately
and we have never filed a complaint against anyone. But no
apology or effort to somehow compensate us for the many
issues we experienced during our family vacation -has left
a bad taste in my mouth. We own our own businesss (est.
in 1895) we would not still be in business if this was our level
of customer service. The things mentioned above - along with
others not listed - and the lack of concern or response to
serious issues- leaves me to strongly say to anyone else looking
at this house....We paid over $6,000 to stay in a home that
had been trashed the week before us, and was still dirty and
nothing was done to compensate us in any way . We never
asked for any amount of money, etc. only someone to call
and discuss our issues. It hasn't happened - let that speak for
itself. Do you really want to have the same experience we have
had? It saddens me that what was our first famlyvacation ln
two years (due to the unexpected loss of an immediate family
member) we went to try and spend quality time with each'
other - instead of dealing with such a lack of professionalism
on all levels. I do not recommend you spend the money on
what could be a fabulous place for families.
Manager Response:
We sincerely apologize for any lack of cleanliness this guest encountered during their visit. They arrived early before housekeeping had a chance to finish cleaning the home that had indeed been left in bad shape by the previous renters. We are to sorry to see if there were some oversights due to housekeeping attempting to get out of our guest's way as quickly as possible. Our property manager responded as promptly as possible to each request this guest made, and maintenance has taken care of the screens. Thank you!
Matthew T. Aug 2018
this house has lots of extras.. pool, pool table, very nice fillet table(huge). enjoyed our stay very roomy with lots of views
Mike M. Jul 2018
Great stay. The property management and team they had were outstanding and made sure every need we had was met. Great home and outstanding dock. We easily had our 27 ft offshore boat through the canals and we watched several much bigger boats go through with no issues.
Darci D. Jul 2018
This home lived up to everything that was listed in the description and more! There was 3 families and the bedroom setup and areas for the kids to hang out was perfect. The interior of the home is beautiful and we loved the pool and dock. We rented a boat and went out on the ocean every day. The management is also very responsive. The pool was very cloudy on the 2nd day. I called the property management at 3pm and a pool guy was there by 6pm. We really appreciated the response time. We will definitely be back next year!
Jill R. Jun 2018
The house was amazing! Well equipped, lots of space for our croud. We found the upstairs sunroom an extra bonus. At any given time you would find someone chilling, reading or napping in there. We had kayaks and paddle boards delivered for the week. It was an enjoyable paddle to sombrero beach or to the bay. My nephew brought his boat and was easily into open water in 15 minutes. He went 5 miles out and was on Mahi. We would not hesitate renting this house again. Thanks for your help in creating wonderful memories!
James G. Jun 2018
Great house. Best place we’ve stayed at in the Keys! Lots of space for 10-12! Very well-equipped and up to date. No problems at all with air-conditioning. Will be coming back.
Rebecca M. Jun 2018
Our family had a great time despite the weather :). The house has many amenities and lots to do. Lots of room for a large family to spread and relax. We will be back.
Mary F. May 2018
I loved the space that this house offered
Earl T. Jan 2018
I've rented many houses in the Keys this one is TOPS we had 5 couples and it was very comfortable all was Class AAA
Tamara H. Nov 2017
This house offers lots of room. The location is great. Walking distance to Sombrero Beach, short drive to grocery store and restaurants. The sunroom overlooking the canal is a great place for morning coffee. Kitchen is well equipped. The pool heater was broken while we were there but I’m sure the owners/ management company will be getting it fixed as quickly as they can. Just be sure to ask about it. Bob, with Vacasa, was very kind and tried his hardest to get it fixed for us. I think I can speak for my entire party of eight and say that we enjoyed the house and would stay there again.
Manager Response:
We apologize for the inconvenience with the pool heater. We had it repaired, but it turns out it was not done correctly. The company that serviced the heater is working on it once more and should have it up and running quickly. We have refunded this guest for the inconvenience. Thanks!
Janice W. Nov 2017
The house was great and accommodated a large family very well but standard items were lacking and the loss of food due to the frig not working was an awful experience
Manager Response:
We apologize for the issue with the fridge during this stay and wish the guest had contacted us. There is an additional fridge and freezer in the home they would have been welcome to use that we could have guided them to. The fridge has since been fixed.
Michelle M. Aug 2017
We stayed in The Ocean Is Calling for 9 nights with 9 adults and 3 kids. The house is spacious and we didn't feel like we were on top of each other at all! The kitchen was large and easy to maneuver, and the dining room table had 10 chairs so everyone can enjoy a meal together. The pool was so refreshing (the ocean water was pretty warm at that time). The dock was large enough to have two smaller boats (21') docked and extra room left. Also, the home description said there was a high chair available but it was no where to be found. I contacted the property manager and he had a new one to us the next day!

The only real complaints we had were: (1) the air conditioning vents in the living room were BLACK with blackness surrounding them on the wall. One person said they felt stuffed up after sleeping in the house for a night or two. Otherwise, the house was very cleanly. (2) There were some loose bricks on the pool patio that pinched some toddler feet, leading to tears. As an adult, you could also forget they were there and have to catch yourself if it was wet at all, which it almost always was being directly next to the pool.

Overall we had a great time and would look into this house again if we have such a large group again.
Linda H. Jul 2017
The house is very nice, the bedroom setup is great for large families or more than one family. However, there are several problems that should be addressed. There were ants in the upstairs kitchen and everywhere downstairs, loose tiles around the pool, the air conditioner upstairs did not cool properly, the sunroom was too hot to use most of the day, the gas grill was out of propane and the igniter did not work, the ceiling fan in the tiki hut did not work and was very dirty, several of the electrical receptacles did not work
Manager Response:
We are sorry to see there were a few inconveniences with this stay. The owner has started pest control with Terminex, loose tiles have been repaired and reset, and the fan and outlets were not working due to a tripped breaker. The propane tanks have been refilled and could have been taken care of during the guest's stay had they notified us. The air conditioner will take time to repair as the owner investigates their options. In the meantime a high velocity fan has been placed in the home to help with air circulation. Thanks!
Judy N. Apr 2017
We loved the house! It was very spacious for a lot of people! Everyone was comfortable!
FSU N. Jun 2016
June 2016 2 families combined to spend a week in this wonderful home. Everything from the location, pool, and ocean access made this the best week of the year. The dock accommodated a 29ft boat easily with a wide enough canal to make turning/docking a breeze. Access to the ocean allowed quick offshore fishing in the morning, then a 3 minute boat ride in the evening to fish next to the mangroves with the kids. The set up of the house allowed the kids to have their time downstairs and gave the adults their relaxing time upstairs. The pool table was a great addition to keep the kids busy when they weren't fishing off the dock or swimming in the pool. The location allowed the kids a short walk to the beach to get a few games of sand volleyball in after dinner. It was nice having Publix and K Mart at the entrance to Sombrero for groceries and miscellaneous needs. Very little driving after you park your car, except for groceries and bait. There's no reason to leave 'paradise'. Multiple years vacationing in Marathon and this by far was the best home we have rented.
Linda R. May 2016
Recently we stayed at this amazing property. We had a large group of 10 from young to old. The spaciousness of the house was perfect for everyone. With kitchen and social areas on both floors it gave everyone the ability to gather as they liked. The upstairs was a wonderful large space when all of us gathered at one time. The bedrooms and bathrooms were great, along with an outdoor porch and awesome roof seating for sunbathing, sunsets and star gazing. The pool was over the top and as it was screened in just added to our enjoyment, bug and lizard free. We all enjoyed it several times a day! The dock on the canal was beautiful anytime and we had Iguana's and an occasion white Crane check us out. The homes' surrounding landscape made us feel as if we were the only place in a small jungle. This is a very nice and quiet neighborhood and only a few blocks from a fantastic beach where we spent many hours enjoying the warm water and white sands. The houses' location is very close to stores and restaurants for easy access. We would love to come and stay again........and hopefully we will!
Lexy D. Oct 2015
Our family recently rented this house for a multigenerational, multinational family trip. We couldn't have been happier with it. The house is spacious, with large bedrooms and larger living areas. The spacious kitchen was a blessing for the chef in the house (that being me!). Our young boys loved having a pool in the house, and it's location close to the bathroom to facilitate showers afterward was pleasing for Mom. All the amenities for the week were there. The house is actually walking distance to Sombrero beach. This is a big plus, as it can be hard to find significant stretches of sandy beach in the Keys. This also means that you can get to the beach quickly when the sun is out, and escape during an afternoon shower. The house is also directly on a canal. This gave us our most magical encounter of the trip. While standing on the Widow's walk upstairs one day, I saw some large animals surfacing on the water in back of the house. I ran down and found that there were Manatees playing in the water. The kids came down and they came right up to us, allowing us to stroke their faces. They were such beautiful and gentle creatures. A lot of people pay a lot of money to have this experience, but we had it in the wild and for free. That is priceless. I would recommend this house to anyone wanting a relaxing vacation with the kids.