USA Blue Ridge Mountains North Carolina Sugar Mountain Listing #25134

The Portabella - Sugar Mountain, NC

Take a Virtual Tour
27 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 2 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Pet friendly Mushroom Park roundhouse w/updated kitchen and wraparound deck

You won't find anyone saying that there's not "mush room" in this classic roundhouse nestled in the Mushroom Park area. Located in the heart of Sugar Mountain, this cabin-like home has been update for your comfort. Featuring current technology in almost every room, you'll be able to feel right at home after a day of adventures on the slopes. You can also cozy up to the wood-burning fireplace or stretch out on the wraparound deck. In any season, this home definitely does its best to grow on you.

What's nearby:
Sugar Mountain Resort is just steps away from this condo, where you'll find an outdoor skating rink, snow tubing, mountain bike tours and a full golf course. There are plenty of restaurants close by, including The Pedalin’ Pig and Elevations Restaurant. Sightseeing is plentiful in this area as well, such as the Foggy Mountain Gem Mine, Mile High Swinging Bridge and Grandfather State Park.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Dog friendly for a nightly pet fee.
No A/C
Full Kitchen (dishwasher)
4WD or AWD is highly recommended in the winter months

This property is managed by Vacasa North Carolina LLC

Parking Notes: This driveway is a pull-through driveway and it is recommended that the lower part of the drive is used. The upper part is steep and may require a 4x4 vehicle.
Vehicle number count is enforced per property. There are no additional public parking lots on Sugar Mountain for multi day use. Park on Sugar Mountain at your own risk.
Public lot near the base of the mountain in the Food Lion parking lot (1 mile from the base of the mountain) and Lowes Hardware (2 miles from the base of the mountain).

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

House rules

Wedding venue

Kitchen & dining






Mountain View


Internet : Charter



Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Golf on-site

Downhill Skiing

Golf Nearby

On-site activities

Tennis court : Shared




Shared Charcoal Grill



27 reviews

Robert J T. Sep 2021
House was fine but not enough silverware or glasses. Driveway was impossible to get up from the lowest point without AWD. Should let possible renters know this, not just in winter months, but summer as well. Our cousin had to be towed up to get out without AWD.
Manager response:
Hello Robert, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We passed your comments along to our local manager to review and we appreciate guest’s preferences as a means to continually improve. We look forward to hosting your next stay!
Dan K. Jul 2021
Nice comfortable home for 5 of us and our small dog. Great location, close to stores and restaurants. No AC didn't cause an issue for us, but it never got over 75 degrees outside. Consider bringing a couple fans if temps over 80 or so expected. House was clean and one time we needed management they came within a couple hours. FYI grill is charcoal not gas.
Sarah K. Apr 2021
We had a great time visiting this cozy cottage in the woods. We enjoyed using the wood fireplace and drinking coffee every morning on the porch. This place had everything you could need!
Tu H. Apr 2021
The house is okay! Kitchen is clean and was recently updated. The mattresses need to replace, they make a lot of noise. No deck furniture.
Stephan v. Mar 2021
The cabin itself was very roomy and had a big kitchen and nice rooms, great location. The bad parts were the little things: two garbage bags and three dishwasher pods won't last a family of 6 for 5 days. No firewood. One comfortable sofa, the rest was small and hard to sit on. Stains on the bedding.
Manager response:
Hello Stephan, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the spacious condo. Our apologies that your experience in the home was not the pleasant and relaxing vacation we wish to facilitate for our guests. We are sorry for any miscommunications regarding the number of paper products that were in the unit upon your arrival. We do provide starter packs of paper products and detergents, and anything required beyond what is provided is the responsibility of the guests. We truly hope we can host you for a more comfortable stay in the future, thank you.
Alaina N. Feb 2021
Loved the house! Super clean upon arrival and the only downside is having to take your trash when you leave (we just found a nearby dumpster since the dump was closed). Most reviews say driveway was too steep...I disagree! All three of our Cars fit on the lower side of the driveway (back-in) and no one in our group has AWD or FWD and we had no difficulty. Would definitely stay again.
Christopher H. Jan 2021
Upon arrival we had to battle snowy driveway on an already steep driveway. Very icy stairs leading down to a very icy deck leading to a pile of trash to the front door. In these times with the pandemic, the trash piled up outside lead us to believe the placed wasn’t properly cleaned and disinfected. So we spent our first 1.5 hours of a mini vacation cleaning this home. Property management company is not local so getting the trash removed was a very lengthy process and when they came to get the trash, they came to get only half. We gave up because the process wasn’t very easy.
Most furnishing are very worn out and fireplace was full of ash. So we didn’t use the fireplace, at one point we had to stop cleaning the place and try to be on vacation. We were plugging in lights so we could see. Batteries were worn out in half the remotes ( alot of remotes to make each electronic work)
We were expected to carry our trash to a trash/recycling site when we checked out. We checked out on a Wednesday and the trash site was closed on Wednesday! So needless to say the trash came all the home with us. It just seems out of all the fees we were charged, one of them could of covered trash removal?
It could be a very unique place to stay if a few hospitality items could get buttoned up....
Manager response:
We appreciate you sharing your feedback regarding The Portabella with us, Christopher. We sincerely apologize we were not able to assist you in a more adequate and timely manner during your visit. We greatly appreciate you taking your trash with you and will be working with maintenance to remove garbage for guests on days when the trash site is closed. The batteries in the remotes have been replaced, and the driveway will be regraded and graveled after the snowy season. Thank you!
Brenda L. Jan 2021
We really enjoyed our stay at the Portabella. The house was clearly updated and very clean. Beds were very comfortable. Kitchen was fully equipped. The view and outdoor lighting was beautiful. The living area could use new furniture.
Tabitha E. Oct 2020
We loved our time at the Portabello and took advantage of the wood fireplace every evening! A quite spot on Sugar Mountain convenient to everything.

We would note- It is a steep driveway and the grill is charcoal not gas.
Summer R. Oct 2020
This place was so beautiful and clean and I had the best time ever with my family!!
Dan and Holly C. Oct 2020
Loved our stay at this cute and spacious cabin. Very easy drives to downtown banner elk, boone and blowing rock. Neighborhood is quiet and easy to access.
Barbara A. Sep 2020
Very comfortable home! Kitchen remodel well done and had everything you needed. We came to play golf and course just moments away!
Mary B. Jul 2020
Beautiful area, easy access to several great places in the area for hiking and sightseeing. Driveway is a challenge, be prepared for a steep drop coming in. Lost points due to electric was tripped upon arrival. Leak around the toilet in second bathroom. No garbage pail outside for disposal. Used google for information about pickup garbage day. Should have contact information for emergency easily available.
Manager response:
Hello, Mary! Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the area during your stay. We value your feedback regarding the utilities of the home and the maintenance issues you faced and welcome this as an opportunity to improve our homes for future guests. We have worked with our local staff to address these issues. We hope to host you again!
Anna K. Jul 2020
Location, pet accommodations and board games were the only positives for us. Unfortunately, the property has no A/C and 1 fan for the whole house. The advertising picture with A/C is appear rly false advertisement as it does not exist. Extremely hot and muggy in the afternoon and difficult to sleep at night ( even with all windows open). Bedding and mattresses are old and uncomfortable. No trash bin outside to leave garbage in and therefore had to constantly drive trash it a waste facility but it’s closed twice a week. Not worth the money with so many options around.
Manager response:
Hello, Anna! We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to say there is no A/C at this unit. Our team is available 24-hours a day to help find homes for any guests that need this feature - or any other! We do not encourage our guests to leave trash outside at this home due to wildlife. While we acknowledge that the beds will not suit everyone specifically, we regret that they were not suitable for your party. We appreciate your feedback, and hope to host you again in the near future!
Angeline C. Jun 2020
We rented this house, as we were attending a wedding at a local venue. The house is cute overall but the driveway... Holy Cow! Fortunately, everyone from our group had a truck, as my car would NEVER have made it! The driveway is treacherous and scary as heck (even in the summer). There is no AC so the windows have to be left open to keep the temperature somewhat acceptable. My kids all walked in and said, "it smells like old people in here," due to the damp, stale smell (or maybe the sofa- circa 1979). Overall the place seemed clean and had everything we needed, for the weekend. We weren't there much so it worked for the weekend but I'm glad I didn't do a long term rental.
Manager response:
Angeline, thank you for staying with us and providing us with your feedback. The listing states that 4WD or AWD is highly recommended in the winter months. This information is also provided and emphasized within the confirmation and check-in emails. We are glad you enjoyed the home and we hope to get another chance to impress you in the future!
Corie G. Jun 2020
Convenient location - wonderful kitchen - has everything that you could need and more. Thoughtful touches throughout. We loved our stay!
Lyn D. Mar 2020
Very convenient location and comfortable home. Everything we needed for a getaway.
Leslie S. Mar 2020
The location was perfect. Lots of great restaurants close by.
Steve C. Feb 2020
Our family of 5 loved this Mountian getaway! Location Was amazing right next to Sugar! Very clean! We will be back!
Steven H. Feb 2020
Great kitchen and bathrooms. Driveway was a bit of a challenge but everyone had a great time. Would definitely stay here again for a nice weekend getaway. Very convenient to Sugar Mountain skiing.
Barbara C. Jan 2020
It was a very lovely home with all the things needed to enjoy our stay.. The only thing that we didn't like is that it wasn't closer to the slopes.. When it said withing walking distance, we thought it was closer.. But other than that it was great..
Patricia M. Nov 2019
The rental was clean, linens fresh and everything worked. We really enjoyed our stay and the price was great.....which is why we stay 4 extra days. ;).
Amanda H. Oct 2019
Great location, close to a lot of fun places. The house was clean, had everything we needed, including a grill and charcoal. The maintenance guy came by the first day to check and make sure everything was good. Very pet friendly, had dog bowls under the sink to use! Wifi and cable TV worked great. I emailed asking for clarification about where to drop our trash bags and they got right back to me. I'll definitely use Vacasa again and also would book this particular house again.
Chris S. Oct 2019
Loved our stay. Kitchen was well stocked with utensils. Layout was great
James D. Sep 2019
The Portabella... great place to rest and relax after a full day of golf with friends. Kitchen upgrades very nice, just drive way entrance a little tricky to navigate.