This cabine is amazing, cozy, and welcoming. Views are stunning. Everything inside was well set and clean. Very quiet area and super convenient to get to Leavenworth and Stevens Pass ski resort. Property management was attentive and responsive We will definitely return!
Located in a peaceful & quiet area. Hot tub was nice. Scenery was beautiful as was the home.
Absolutely gorgeous views, the cabin is comfortable for 6 people and very cozy.
The hot tub is a plus. Everything about our stay was great, can’t wait to be back for more!
The new house, the views, the snow falling, the proximity to Leavenworth made this trip amazing. Thanksgiving with the newly merged family was amazing. We will be back!!!
Upon our arrival we found we were locked out. The code for entry was wrong and the second point of entry was bolted. There was no hot water and the water smelled of sewage and tasted of sewage as well. We were told a maintenance repair man could come out at 11:00 PM which was 4 hours later. I didn’t want a stranger coming out at that hour so I declined. It didn’t really matter, the water smelled so horrible we couldn’t use it anyway. Bathing, cooking, drinking. We had to boil water to wash our dishes from dinner. There were no extra blankets and only one small wall heater in the living area. The WIFI was none existent. We stayed one night because it was too late to pack everything up and leave that night. I was told I would be getting a refund for two nights we did not stay. Out of a cost over 1,000.00 I am told I’m receiving 500.00. I am very disappointed in the whole situation. If you are thinking of booking this, do not. I’ve never given a bad review except for this. I’ve stayed with Vacasa a few times and they have been wonderful.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, Becci. We apologize if the code gave you any grief and are glad to see the problem appears to have resolved itself. The well water in the area has a strong sulfur smell, but we are looking into filtration system options with the homeowner to help with the odor. Please accept our apologies for the delay in assisting you with the hot water since our available staff was several hours away working on another rental. This, and the internet, have been addressed. Hopefully we can host you for a better stay in the future.
Upstairs bed is very very squeaky
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Nick, we hope that you had a great stay! We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and will follow up with our local staff to tighten the bed. We hope you'll choose us again!
Perfect for our weekend getaway.
We loved the Hillside Hideaway! It was perfect for our family of 5, very clean and tastefully decorated. The kids and adults appreciated the hot tub. Even though it's close to the road, there isn't a lot of traffic and it still feels very private. We'll definitely consider coming back.
Views, has everything you need, hot tub, beds. Trouble with the cable or roku.
This house was perfect for our weekend celebrating our bride-to-be! The location was amazing.. tucked away for privacy, yet close to downtown Plain & Leavenworth. All 7 of us slept comfortably. Our favorite part was sipping coffee & cocktails on the covered deck! Thank you!
The house is a nice quiet little get away. Perfect for a couple or small family.
Great time getting away with the kids. Surprised with heavy snow in mid April but the home was prepared to help with that situation. Very clean and quiet. Beautiful home to stay at!
Beautiful home located in a beautiful forested area on a hill. Definitely 4WD or All-WD in winter with snow. Private and quiet. Road below but very little traffic and no road noise. Interior very open and bright. Everything was clean and comfortable. Kitchen well equipped, except can openers were both broken. Dishwasher door worn out but manageable, hot tub was nice except water level was really low, needed maintenance. TV control was confusing (needed some directions) and would cut out sporadically. These were minor issues, but over all a great place and would definitely book it again.
Had such a great relaxing weekend away in your beautiful home! ☺️
This was our second time staying and Hillside Hideaway and we had another great trip! We noticed that the smell of the sulfur water had gotten better (not gone completely), but we weren’t gagging at the smell like we were last time.
Upon arrival, we noticed that the master bedroom downstairs had no power to the lights or TV. I texted our Vacasa rep and she was very responsive and sent out someone to repair it in just an hour.
I must say that the steps to the front of the cabin is VERY dangerous. There was a thick buildup of ice from the roof melt. The owners do not have any deicer anywhere to be found. Just a giant barrel of sand at the bottom of the driveway. Sand would not be a fix for the thick ice accumulation. Just a suggestion for the future to have some deicer for the stairs for your guests :) The driveway was pretty slippery too. It had been plowed and sanded but there was yet another thick accumulation of ice that needed some serious deicer on it near the top of the driveway. My husband (who is a very experienced driver) was driving our 4WD SUV down the driveway and the car slid pretty good. Some deicer would help a lot here at the top of the driveway. Sand wouldn’t do it alone and having your guests haul sand all the way from the bottom of the driveway to the top isn’t very nice anyways. It would be nice to have Vacasa handle the driveway maintenance if that’s allowed! We only knew of the conditions it would be in as we had been there before. Anyone new staying at the cabin might be a little shocked at the driveway situation.
Anyways, another great trip in the books! No big complaints! Hope to stay again :)
We loved the view and hot hot tub, the very clean and cozy furnishings. Thank you for sharing your home with us
Great setting, well furnished cabin and loved the hot tub for a quick warm-up after being in the snow. Wish the internet service was better, but other than that, a wonderful retreat.
We had a wonderful time at the cabin! When we arrived it was very clean and ready for us to enjoy. Comfy beds, soft towels and a great size for our family. The snow was a perfect addition too! I would recommend brining your own food to cook in the well stocked kitchen. And maybe drinking water if you aren't used to the taste of well water. This was our 3rd time staying at the cabin and we will continue the tradition of going every winter! We always have a fantastic time.
Great views , very private and clean the driveway is not for the faint of heart if they have a lot of snow
This was a great place to spend a cozy couple of days to have some early Christmas fun. Close enough to enjoy Leavenworth. We got to enjoy playing in the snow!
Gorgeous house in the hills. Perfect for a fall reservation. Very cozy and private.
The house is very clean and quiet, and the location is good.
Great view. Comfortable. Jacuzzi was nice
This was a very nice home for our family vacation. Our four Grandkids are all under 7 years of age and the home was safe for all of them. The loft area upstairs was a great place for the kids to play. Stairs are carpeted and the railing/slope was kid friendly. Outside between the house and Jacuzzi, the hillside is a pretty steep drop-off so I think railing there would be a good idea. All the beds are extremely comfortable "5 star," except the pull out bed in the loft area. It maybe ok for younger kids but not teens or adults. The bunk room is tight but the beds are "both" double sized and again are extremely comfortable. The other two bedrooms are pretty spacious with King sized beds. Everything was very clean! Fridge/freezer kept things very cold. Kitchen provides most everything you will need for cooking and dinning. I never could find hot pads, extra kitchen towels or a dust pan. Plenty of bathrooms for 10 people! Decor was modern and homey. Furniture, very comfy but white fabric on chairs is not a good choice for a rental, they had stains. The open concept of this house made it easy for everyone to feel altogether! It was forecasted to be over 100 degrees for our entire visit so I reached out twice to ask if there was an AC and fans. Both responses said no AC "BUT" there was an AC unit in the window of the Livingroom that worked great! The one fan provided had a horrible vibration but it didn't matter because we brought fans for all the rooms. I have found when asking questions to VRBO, (we have rented a few times), they don't read your entire message, (so you have to ask multiple times) and you may still not get an accurate answer. I was told "NO" AC the first time but because one of the reviews had mentioned AC, I asked a second time, they said "no" again. I decided not to bring our dogs because of the this. Honestly, I was almost dreading this trip because of the heat but had I known there was AC, I would have looked more forward to this trip, (which is part of the fun of going on vacation)! Plenty of towels, soap, shampoo, blankets! Wifi is very poor for computer/phones. The remotes for the TV's are very confusing. The Roku remote for Netflex, Hulu, etc. does not work. The "Dish" remote is the one that works. There was no information provided so because we tried the Roku remote first we thought there was no TV for two days. I would encourage people to bring binoculars. We saw a black bear, turkey vulture, a family of frogs, numerous chipmunks, squirrels and beautiful butterflies! All in all, I would highly recommend this home for a vacation!
I hope the information I provided helps other potential renters!
Loved this house! It is modern, spacious and clean. The hot tub was a treat!
This house is just 5 minutes from the market and about a 15 min drive to the beach access at the lake. It was surrounded by beauty. I highly recommend
Was clean and neat. Lots of extras such as towels, crayons, seasonings, and dog crates. Jacuzzi worked amazing and had a great view. Kitchen was fully stocked with appliances and baking pans. Close to trails and parks but not too close.
This is the second time we stayed here - some stuff was the same others were different. Overall, I love the place but look forward to some improvements.
-the house is super cute and is decorated nicely- obviously loved by the owners.
-location is great. Lots of stuff to do and still feeling remote
-love the hot tub- always a great thing when not wanting to go out
-plenty of paper towels, dishwashing detergent and toilet paper. (Improvement from last time)
-lots of nature to appreciate right at the cabin. We saw some incredible moths and beetles
-Wi-Fi didn’t work at all and seemed to effect the TV.
-Hot tub was at 105 degrees when we arrived. I’m sure this was an oversight but please check when you arrive.
-MUCH dirtier than the first time we went. Within minutes of walking in, I was scrubbing the kitchen to remove stuck on food and grease from doors and stove. Some dishes that were put away were also dirty.
-Every pan is covered in caked on grease. I cleaned one pan and left it cleaner than when I got it, but it still had a way to go. If there was bar keepers friend or something to clean it better, I would have done them all.
-the smell of the water was unbearable this time around. Not sure what changed, but any beverage we put in cups washed in the dishwater would take on the smell. We brushed our teeth with bottled water. My hair sucked in the smell as well. When I went to straighten it, the smell was amplified. We opted to come back a night early so we could take a shower at home.
-the trash and recycling was full out back.
-Master bathroom door does not shut all the way or lock. Fun times for people with kids.
-there was/is a broken glass out back from previous guests. I didn’t realize it until the very end and at that point, I was in a rush and left it there since I wouldn’t be able to guarantee cleaning it completely and it’s easier to see if I left it there.
-the grill may be a fire hazard. Ok, so we use a grill mat when we go places and only do something easy- like hot dogs. At first my husband couldn’t light it and thought it was because there was low propane. We learned later the grease has clogged the burner holes. We left it on a bit thinking we could burn it off. Eventually enough of the burners popped on to get the hot dogs going (with the grill mat). At some point I noticed flames coming from the underside of the grill- bigger than the top of the grill. We decided to turn it off. (This is when we learned that it was grease). The grill wouldn’t turn off. The flames were just as big when it was running. We had to close the grill to smother the flames.
-there was a sink/tub drainage problem in the kitchen and bathrooms (maybe not the half bath).
-spotlight fixture is falling off the ceiling. Unlikely to fall on someone, just something the owners should know.
I still love this place and with a few simple improvements, I would love for our family to visit again.
FYI - to any guest at any residence: please be more respectful of people’s properties. Paying a rental fee does not give you the right to leave a pan or grill dirty and leave the house like a slob. If you can’t clean it, don’t use it. These are people’s homes (primary or otherwise), if you want a nice place to stay, please leave things clean for the next guest.
Hello Theresa,Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, ______ . We strive for a standard of excellence in ensuring the home is clean and accommodating for our guests. If there are any concerns or areas in need of additional attention, we hope to be notified so we can make sure any issues are addressed. We look forward to hosting you for a great stay in the future.
The house is newer construction and has been well kept. We ran out of garbage bags and dishwasher detergent, but Vacasa was quick to get some delivered within hours. They even brought a spare propane tank for the BBQ! Not needed or requested, but a nice thought.
The hot tub was dirty, but one phone call to the hot tub maintenance company (number listed by the tub) and they cleaned it the next day. I wish it would have been clean on arrival, but that relies a lot on the previous renter(s).
I enjoyed the unfinished pine millwork, loft, and overall aesthetic of the house. The kitchen was well equipped with an array of pots/pans/utensils etc, and a good BBQ; enough to keep my crew of 6 (plus dog) well fed.
* Multiple previous people staying there didn't bother picking up doggie land mines. Watch your step!
* House is carved into a hillside. If you have little ones or a puppy, keep in mind there is a sharp drop-off
* Water is sulfurous; not terrible, but just enough to be noticeable. Bring drinking water
Overall, I'd stay there again. A great location for day tripping to Leavenworth or Lake Wenatchee.
Hello, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to have quickly assisted in bringing additional amenities to you. We are grateful for the opportunity to learn from your stay and will be working with housekeeping and maintenance to ensure the hot tub and yard are fully prepared for every new arrival.
Amazing home that is a quick get a way! Close to Leavenworth and super quiet. The house is so beyond beautiful and perfectly decorated that you feel right at home. I always feel so at peace when I’m there. No stress and no worries!!!
Great new place with great location. Lovely new finishes and a lot of bonuses like extra pillows, blankets, and towels. Well stocked. Beautiful view and comfortable beds.
Let me preface this review with the fact that I highly recommend this vacation spot! We had a wonderful time and would go back should we choose to. Below are a list of things that we believe could improve future guests stay:
-Driveway: The cabin is located at the top of a very steep and somewhat windy driveway. This will be difficult to climb up without a 4 wheel drive vehicle. There are big blue bins filled with sand along the driveway to help with traction, but I think the owners need to clarify that in the listing. No one would know that prior to arrival. The owners do have a small book located on a buffet table inside by the door with information about the cabin including the driveway, but you wouldn’t know any of that information until you actually get into the cabin. I would recommend maybe that book be set out on the kitchen counter when guests arrive so they can read up on the cabin then? Just a thought :)
-Cleanliness: Upon arrival we noticed that the cabin appeared somewhat dirty still. There was hair in the sinks and showers. Towels (looked used) under a bed in the bunk bed room and someone’s black pants hanging out from under the nightstand in the master bedroom.
Smelly Water: The water smells absolutely awful. Like sulfur. The owners mentioned this in that small book that I mentioned above, but said it only smelled occasionally. This was not the case for us. It was for the whole stay. Thankfully, we brought bottled water to cook with and to drink. Bathing wasn’t fun, but we managed!
Hot Tub Cleaning: A day prior to our departure, a random car backed up the driveway and a man got out with some cleaning supplies. My husband went outside to see who it was and it was a man who cleans and maintains the hot tub at the cabin. It would have been nice to have a warning or to have that cleaning done prior to or after our arrival instead of during. It’s kind of an invasion of our privacy.
Misc: It would be nice to have some hooks to hang coats/clothing around the cabin. Also, we were left with no dishwasher detergent so we had to go into town and buy our own. And they only left us with one roll of paper towels which was not enough for our stay.
Again, this cabin was a great place to spend with my family for the weekend. The kids had a great time playing in the snow and my husband and I enjoyed the relaxing and quietness of it.
We appreciate your feedback, Michelle! We have updated our listing to include sand barrels and 4WD are recommended for reaching the home, and we are also looking at the possibility of having the driveway paved. The property manager has addressed the smell of the sulfur and will be looking into your other comments for improvement. We hope to see you again!
The setting was beautiful, the cabin was well-equipped and very functional., loved the jacuzzi. The driveway was a little daunting in the snow but manageable with sand available. The only minor negatives were lack of hooks for hanging apparel and not great internet service. We can't wait to return, it was a great get away.
This cabin was quite nice and had a great view but that was all undermined by the fact that we could not get our car up the very steep driveway which was iced over. We had to haul all our belongings up an extremely steep, long hill - and slide them back down which was treacherous. Thank god we didn't have anyone in a wheelchair. We do have a 7 year old who slipped and fell on the way down and so we ended our vacation in tears.
Hi Lynn, thank you for staying with us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the home. Regretfully, this is an alpine area, and ice - and snow - can occur quickly and repeatedly. We do caution that guests come prepared with chains and 4WD as appropriate, and if their vehicles become stuck, it is the guest's responsibility to contact a tow truck as needed. We're so sorry for the inconvenience and hope you are well. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again, in the future, for a more enjoyable stay.
The house is beautiful so I hesitate leaving such a low rating but this was a very stressful trip for us. The home is beautiful and comfortable and has top of the line kitchen appliances and everything you need to cook in. It was not as clean as it should be, there were dirty dishes and someone else's leftover coffee in the machine when we arrived and the hot tub cover was not on.
The property description says the property is in a "gentle hillside". It needs to state there is a very steep driveway and a 4 wheel drive vehicle is necessary to get up the hill. The check-in instructions should also state this and let you know that there are barrels of sand along the driveway if needed. We did not know any of these things, and found our 4 wheel drive vehicle stuck on the steep driveway the evening we arrived. We could not see the barrels of sand buried in the snow in the dark, otherwise we may have been able to get the car unstuck that evening. We ended up having to leave the car and walk the kids and all of our luggage and gear up the steep hill, making several trips in the dark. We tried to get the car out that evening which ended up just making it worse. It took the better part of the second day to get the car unstuck (and involved having to hitch a ride into town to buy a hand operated winch). At one point the car was dangerously close to a drop-off on the side of the driveway.
When we were finally able to relax towards the end of the second and only full day there, the wifi was not working. We called Vacasa and was told to reset the router although it took us quite a while to find it and there were no instructions where it could be found. Resetting the router only gave spotty service that did not work for the most part. The hot tub was in "econ" mode and would not heat up. Upon googling, we found out how to get it out of that mode, but it took most of the day for it to heat up to above 100 degrees, even with the cover on (although we had promptly covered it). Once we went to use it on our last evening, we found the hot tub was dirty and foamy and the floater with chlorine tabs were empty.
We had asked for a later checkout than the standard 10am, which we were denied and can understand because of Covid, but we were not happy when the cleaners showed up at 9:45am the next morning. The bright spot was Bill from the local Vacasa office, who was very friendly and response and tried his best to help with all of these issues as they arose. In the end, these issues should have been prevented by Vacasa before they even happened.
Overall, the beauty of the house could not save this weekend and we were beyond dissapointed that instead of a much needed relaxing escape, it ended up being a very expensive stressful weekend. Hopefully at the very least Vacasa will update the property description about the driveway so this does not happen to anyone else, or worse, have someone accidently go off the embankment. I have contacted Vacasa twice now and was told someone would contact me back, but I have yet to be contacted.
My family had such a wonderful time staying at Greg and Kelsey's "cabin." We loved sledding down the driveway, watching the snow fall on the trees, lounging in the hot tub, cooking and eating together, and playing games. It was the perfect opportunity to get away and just be together.
The house & surrounding area was beautiful! We had 6 people which worked great. More than 6 would be somewhat crowded.
Add a few more "hanging hooks" to hang clothing after skiing etc. to air dry.
We loved skiing in Plain and in Leavenworth!
We had such a great time at this house! It was a perfect place to spend Christmas, plus we were pleasantly surprised to find it decorated for Christmas complete with a tree. We loved watching the snow while relaxing in the hot tub. It was an excellent stay at a beautiful home!
Such a great place to relax and enjoy. Watching the snowfall from all the windows and wrap around deck was absolutely beautiful. The house was very clean and comfortable. Kids loved the bunk beds and enjoyed having the loft area for their own living room. Perfect table to gather around and play games in the dining area. They even had games there! Too many wonderful features to express! We will be back! Do yourself a favor and book a stay!
Beautiful and so private! great place to hang and cook and soak in the hot tub.
Great light, huge windows, great layout.
would for sure book again. Only downside is the wifi is not that strong.
Wonderful home! Had a great stay and enjoyed light snow and amazing view!
We loved every bit of our stay. The views, the cozy home, to the hot tub. We loved that is was SO close to Leavenworth and so many hiking places. We will be back fore sure!!
We enjoyed this place alot!! The view from the cabin and all the accommodations. We would definitely come back again.
There were a few issues, when we had arrived, we weren't able to get in right away and had to call to get the issue resolved. Also the cabin wasn't as clean as other reviews had said. There was some leftover hair in the bathroom. Also, there was no notice of the construction happening on the property, which was disappointing because we had come to get away for some quiet. The construction crew also ended up tripping the breaker, so part of the house lost power for a little and the wifi didn't end up working the rest of the time. Hope this reviews isn't a negative one but just ways to improve because we loved the cabin and would love to come back one day!!
New home, could have been cleaner. Would have also liked not to have been disturbed by construction twice while in the hot tub. Once it’s sorted out it’ll be really nice.
We appreciate your feedback following your stay, Cliff. While we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our home, we are so sorry to hear about the cleanliness issues and the unexpected visit from construction workers. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so our local manager can follow up with the housekeepers and maintenance staff to ensure that we are in communication with our guests regarding any home visits. We hope we can host you again!
We loved the hot tub and the layout of the home. It was stocked and clean. When we had a question the owner responded immediately which was very helpful.
Close to lakes. 22 min from Leavenworth .We enjoyed spending time with family. The hot tub was amazing.
My husband and I visited the Hillside Hideaway right after our wedding and it was perfect!! The views were incredible and the hot tub was a perfect touch to end each day. We brought our corgi and went on nearby hikes as there were so many in the area! We’ll definitely rebook this property in the near future!
The home was welcoming and you could feel the love poured into every detail.
Photos do not do this place justice.
Perfect retreat to unplug and spend quality time with loved ones.
We will be back for sure!
The house has great views and everything we needed. We brought our own mini Keurig (just in case) but they had a full size coffee maker. The chipmunks kept my kiddos entertained which was an unexpected surprise. It is a bit far from the main stores, but I preferred that since the whole point was to get away from it all and socially distance. We went to lake Wenatchee, hiked a ton and had the best time. This was our very first time renting a place instead of a hotel but COVID changed the way we do things. They are adding a fire pit which will be pretty cool! We brought extra paper towels (which came in handy) and I disinfected the whole place when we got there (COVID paranoid) but honestly, it was incredibly clean. I couldn’t have asked for a better intro to the rental world! Thank you so much for a great experience.
The home and setting are beautiful! It is an easy drive to both Leavenworth and Lake Wenatchee. We went during a week of 90+ degree heat and the home was very hot despite opening windows in the morning and evening. I recommend bringing fans if it will be hot as there aren't any in the home. Apparently window shades are coming in the fall which will greatly help. Also, bring paper towels as there aren't any of those either. We plan on returning and will likely give it a 5 star rating once the planned upgrades are completed.
Situated perfectly between Leavenworth and Lake Wenatchee Hillside Hideaway was the perfect location for our recent hiking adventure!
Perfectly furnished and positioned in the picturesque setting 🌲 The Garka’s have created a peaceful getaway!
We will definitely be back !
Thanks for sharing your little slice of heaven!
The home was fantastic. It’s a new home and so there is still some construction outside. But home is clean with most amenities. It is about 30 min from Leavenworth. Closer to lake Wenatchee.
We really enjoyed our stay here. The cabin itself is adorable with a lot of cute, rustic touches. The setting is private and quiet, surrounded by trees. The cabin also has good amenities like wifi, cable, and surround sound you can connect your phone to for music. A great place for a family, or a couples getaway.
Everything about this home if top notch. It's very new with a perfect combination of contemporary and cabin-cozy design. We loved the finishes and amenities. The kitchen had all the appliances and cookware we needed, and we even made use of th bbq one evening. The view is spectacular, even better than in the photos. The ample deck space and the hot tub were highlights. There was a small hiccup with checking in; we arrived right on time for the 4:00 check-in but the one woman cleaning crew still had a lot of cleaning to finish (prior guests left quite a mess, and she did not receive the extra help she was expecting). I notified Vacasa and they kindly made amends for the delay we experienced. I absolutely recommend this lovely property and look forward to returning
We needed just a little break from the day to day schedule. Being a little far from town and with no service it was a great unplugged weekend! (wifi was there when we needed though!)
The home was clean and had the basics needed to cook, shower, games and TV! The hot-tub was a great extra - a glass of wine, you man and an incredible view made the perfect Saturday night! Would definitely recommend for a group, as there is multiple rooms and home is a great size, or for a quiet cozy romantic weekend away!
Beautiful comfortable cabin! We loved the hot tub and multiple rooms that fit us all! Close to Lake Wenatche for sledding and skiing at Stevens!
This house is gorgeous. Sitting in the hot tub overlooking the trees with snow on the ground is such a wonderful way to spend a weekend. I would highly recommend this home.
A beautiful view, a warm and inviting home, we thoroughly enjoyed our girl's weekend getaway and look forward to our next trip to Hillside Hideaway. Completely professional and highly recommended!
Beautiful area and house is so comfortable. Home was well stocked with most everything you could need, although our first night with 10 people, 2 of the three bathrooms were pretty much out of TP, so be sure to pack your own. We did have a great weekend, so thank you for sharing your home with us.
We really enjoyed our stay. I would definitely recommend 4 wheel drive in the winter as our AWD car didn’t make it up the driveway. The hone is very clean and beautiful. Very hospitable.
It was great! Only thing keeping it from 5 stars was the sulfer smell in the water