USA Gulf Coast Florida Marathon Listing #8601

Million Dollar View - Marathon, FL

Take a Virtual Tour
58 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 2 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed 4 bedrooms 3 bathrooms No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Gulf-Front Retreat with Private Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Boat Ramp & New Dock

Enjoy endless open water views from anywhere on this acre-sized, Gulf-front estate. Coconut palms, private hot tub & pool, boat ramp, and a newly built private dock great for catching fish or spectacular sunsets. Like a resort, you can play giant chess on the beach, win at ping pong, take out a kayak, or paddle board or stroll through fabulous gardens.

This home is a private oasis but still part of Marathon. It hits you the moment you pass the discreet open gate into the long forest drive. The natural hardwood hammock ends in a stunning seascape. This elegant concrete stilt home stands on a 140 foot wide, private sand beach. You won't want to leave once you get here.

Even though it's a short walk to several quaint, Keys-style restaurants, and the Dolphin Research Center, this hidden gem feels like your own private resort. And best of all, theres no need to get up early to reserve a recliner!

Enter the house and be instantly mesmerized by the view of the gulf. The large open living area highlights the blue waters through a wall of glass doors to the massive balcony. The great room boasts elegant, white, top-grain leather seating, a wide flatscreen TV with DVD player, cable, Netflix, free WiFi, and indoor dining for eight. A portable bluetooth soundbox is provided for your enjoyment. Use it in house, by the pool, or in the lower level recreational area.

The fabulous gourmet kitchen keeps your chef in the conversation. Custom granite counters, a chic tiled backsplash, stainless appliances, and lots of gadgets add to the ambiance. Keeping it outside? You can grill your steaks on the high-end barbecue by the pool or over the beachside fire pit. This home was built for entertaining.

Four ample bedrooms, each with a tv, three with queen beds and ocean views, the fourth, with two extra long twin beds and large windows overlooking the tropical gardens. Three full bathrooms are finished with travertine stone or tile. This home sleeps eight easily. And of course, there's a new front load laundry in the hallway.

After a light breakfast on the balcony, (also seats eight easily) take your morning coffee and stroll through the young orchard full of exotic tropical fruit trees and plants like dragon fruit, sapodilla and carambola. Or, take your stroll down the 285 foot peer, a great time to spot sealife. Catch some sun on the beach, dip into the warm Gulf waters for a refreshing swim, or explore the marine life from the dock with provided mask and snorkel. Use the private boat ramp to launch your medium/small boat or jet skis during high tide, or use the kayaks or paddle boards for a little exercise. Boating and fishing enthusiasts will love the addition of a newly constructed long dock with dolphin piles for safe mooring.

Stiff muscles? Relax in the hot tub, then plunge into the pool. Or just relax on one of the many recliners or Adirondack chairs and be mesmerized by the sea (we counted more than 60 chairs or loungers). Enjoy a good book, watch the pelicans race for the best fish, or listen to the high-pitched call of the local osprey. When the water is still and you're quiet, you might spot a pod of dolphins moving gracefully just offshore or a manatee swimming under the dock.

The day ends in the hot tub, on the balcony, or at the beach with a cool drink as you watch the sunset paint the sky in its afterglow. This home features a seemingly endless array of amenities that includes a movie library, a book library, music, adult games, board games, ping pong table, children's toys, crib and bedding available, high
chair, 32-inch Roku TVs in three bedrooms, 32-inch TV and DVD player in the twin bedroom, beach bocce ball set, and even a Keurig coffee maker.

Book this home for your next Marathon getaway today!

Other permit number: VACA-21-491
County permit number: 25230-105799

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.





High chair



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Wood-burning fireplace

Kitchen & dining






Ocean view


Water view


Beach access

Gulf view



Internet : Comcast



DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router

Netflix streaming


Nearby activities & attractions


On-site activities

Pool : Private

Heated pool

Board games

Ping-pong table


Pool spa


Gas grill : Private



Beach chairs

Beach towels



58 reviews

Gary K. May 2022
The house is really nice and set up in a split plan with 2 bedrooms on each side of the house and kitchen and living room centrally located. We didn't spend alot of time inside because the outside patio, pool area was the best.
William H. Apr 2022
Million Dollar View is named correctly- Awesome Views and the house was great.
Only criticism is the pool and hot tub were a little disappointing for what the cost of the house was.
David B. Jan 2022
The eight of us loved our stay at the house. Very well equipped kitchen. Very clean baths. Very clean home. Views are amazing. Grassy Key Marina is conveniently located a couple of blocks away. Docked our 30’ center console for the week at the properties dock.

Four stars (not five) due to dock having no lines or fenders and a single cleat. Our boat is equipped with plenty of line and fenders to safely tie up and keep it off the dock.
Docking on bayside can be challenging (winds and tides) and considering the price point of the rental home I was disappointed with the bare dock. Nothing 4 mooring lines, three fenders and a few cleats wouldn’t fix!
All in all had a wonderful family vacation and would rent again.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, David. We are so glad you enjoyed the gorgeous views this home has to offer. We are so sorry to hear some aspects of the home did not meet your expectations. We appreciate you letting us know there is room for improvement and we will pass your feedback on to our local team. We hope to host you again very soon!
Jen M. Jan 2022
We had an amazing vacation at this beautiful house! There was so much to do between snorkeling, fishing, kayaking, ping pong, and the pool. We hardly left the house. We did go to the Dolphin Center and it was an easy walk from the house. Thank you for sharing your wonderful home! It was hard to leave,
christy f. Dec 2021
We had a great time at this home! There were (6) adults and there was plenty of room for us. The kitchen was adequately stocked with all the necessities and even a few items we wouldn’t expect. A cheese grater, yep it’s there:). Plenty of board games and puzzles are provided.
We all took advantage of the perfect weather and used the kayaks and snorkel equipment almost everyday. Pool and hot tub were great. The pool company comes out once a week and were not a bother; in and out in no time.
We grilled many meals on the outdoor grill (which looked almost brand new).
The beds were comfortable and my husband loved the pillows!
This is a great home with plenty of amenities and we hope to visit again!
Lori & Steve R. Nov 2021
The view was amazing as was the privacy that this house provided. We loved our week long stay here.
Mary S. Nov 2021
4 couples shared this property, and we had an absolutely fabulous time!! We enjoyed every activity provided, including kayaking, stand up paddle boards, snorkeling, chess on the beach, hot tub and swimming pool, ping pong, bocce ball, and fire pit. The home itself was clean and spacious. We ate most of our meals on the lovely screened-in balcony. The sunrises and sunsets were breathtaking. The pier was amazing and we spent lots of time watching the wildlife there. When we arrived we saw dolphins jumping, and my brother brought a little fishing pole and caught many different kinds of fish right off the pier. There's a bait store at the end of the drive, and he would walk there to get his bait. The pelicans flew over quite often and we even made friends with an egret that we named Bill. After barbecuing our first dinner (on the brand new grill!) we realized that the gas tank was almost empty. We reached out and received a reply that a new gas tank would be delivered the next day and it was.

It is hard to come up with negatives; here's a couple. The kitchen was well-stocked with utensils and such, but there was not so much as a salt and pepper shaker to be found. We also were given only one extra roll of toilet paper in each bathroom and when we reached out to ask for more, we were told that this was considered a starter kit and we would need to purchase toilet paper for the remainder of the week. I guess we felt for the amount of money that we paid, we shouldn't have to buy toilet paper. In addition to that, we also had to buy more trash bags and dish soap before the end of the week. The Publix is about a 10 minute drive.

We had an issue with the hot tub heater not working one evening. When we reached out, we were given instructions on how to USE the hot tub, which was not necessary since we'd been using it all week and already knew how to use it, which we told them. They made no mention of coming to look at it. It was disappointing because we had a special dinner planned that night and wanted to start our evening in the hot tub. We tried to fire it up the next morning and it worked then, but it was a little frustrating how it was handled by the management.

There were only 7 lounge chairs for 8 people.

The sheets were not very soft.

The positive far outweighed these negatives, and we were so pleased with our stay that we are planning to return to the same place! Can't wait!! Thank you for providing us with an exceptional vacation experience!!
Jennifer S. Aug 2021
Very private house with beautiful grounds and well maintained. So much to do on site and also close to restaurants and shopping.
Charles R. Aug 2021
The place was great but....the photos are not an accurate representation of its current appearance. The maintenance is lacking in numerous categories. The boat ramp is good for kayaks and paddle boards but not very useful for most boats. Thank being said. We would go back again.
Catherine D. May 2021
What’s not to love? The blue-green gulf full of life to snorkel, the dock to fish, the kayaks, the paddle boards, the relaxing lounge chairs with plenty of shade or sun, the chess set, the lizards!! It was our perfect family vacation!
Lawrence M. May 2021
This house and all that came with the property was amazing. We stayed there from May 1 to May 8 and each day was truly amazing. So where do I start? Well first, the view is truly breathtaking, the sunsets are beautiful. Also, the fact that we viewed it from our own private little beach and pier each day allowed to create our own little private oasis. The property came with a boat slip which made it easy for our son and niece to take the kayaks out every day, and they were on the water paddle each day 2 or 3 times. We fished from the pier throughout our stay often enjoying the sunset as we caught various types of fish. The house also has a wonderful private pool, which we enjoyed through out our stay. The house itself was amazing, 4 bedrooms was suitable for my family and my brother’s family 4 adults and 2 pre-teen children. 3 full baths with 2 showers and on with a tub/shower combo. Large open concept allowed to be in the kitchen cooking and watching tv, being engaged. We took advantage of eating at all 3 eating areas, the dining room table, there is a large table on the screen in-patio which also has a round table, then there was a nice table and outdoor living room on the bottom floor underneath the cover near the pool and ping pong table, the kids loved playing ping pong. The house had a very strong internet which allowed multiple laptops and cellphones all to active on the internet with no single issues. Having a washer and driver was great allowed to keep our clothes clean and bathing suits dry when needed. If asked would I stay there again, in a heart beat. Already missing those Million Dollar View!
Mark D. Apr 2021
My wife and I and our 9 year old daughter along with friends and their two boys had a wonderful vacation. The owners were great. We reached out to Roman and his wife Karen and they even invited us to tour their brand new property “Horizon” where they happened to be staying at the time. That house is about a mile down the road on the ocean side and is even more amazing with stunning views. We plan to stay at both properties in the future. Thanks so much for an amazing vacation!
Dennis H. Mar 2021
This property was a perfect fit for our family! We took advantage of every amenity except the fire pit (a bit too breezy) but loved everything about it. When the gas for the grill ran out a phone call was all it took to have a replacement delivered in time to use the grill that evening. Perfect little hideaway! Well named as The Million Dollar View!
Mindi C. Jan 2021
The location of this property made a perfect get-away for our family! Lots of outdoor amenities for us to enjoy together. Relaxing atmosphere watching the aquatic life and sunsets.
Randolph M. Dec 2020
Million Dollar View is the perfect name for this home. We loved everything about it - the location, the privacy, the view, the kitchen, the screened-in porch . . . All very, very nice. What a wonderful place to spend COVID Christmas with our little family! I hope we can return in more normal times. Thank you.
Hans H. Nov 2020
The home is fantastic, and we enjoyed our stay. The view is amazing, and the location of the home is excellent. It is a very secluded location, but also relatively close to many attractions in the keys. The home was big enough for two families to stay comfortably with a total of eight people. Nice kitchen and bathrooms that are modern and beautiful. The pool and hot tub were great. We absolutely took advantage of the kayaks and paddle boards (even though one kayak was cracked and filled with water). The dock went out forever and we snorkeled around the dock the first few days (then it got too windy) and we saw hundreds of fish and other ocean creatures. Check in and check out were easy and simple. The employees that came by for weekly maintenance were professional and friendly. My only issue was that with the amount that was charged for this place, we thought that it was lacking with in just a couple of areas. The property had an area that had a connex box trailer and trashcans that was unsightly. The plumbing beneath the living quarters leaked when someone took a shower. Paint was peeling from the ceiling in a few rooms. I know this is nitpicking, but it was a lot of money to spend for a week. I was impressed with VACASA and the ease of booking, paying, checking in and out. I do plan on using this company again in the future.
Manager response:
Hi, Hans! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The plumbing under the home does leak from condensation, but this is not a major concern. Thank you!
Tammy B. Nov 2020
We loved everything about this place! Pictured perfectly on site! Will definitely go back over and over!
Charity A. Oct 2020
Views are breathtaking from all angles of the home, sunrise or sunset. Our kids absolutely loved the dock and fishing from it. We saw nurse sharks, jelly fish, puffer fish, barracuda, blue grunt, tarpon, and several others we couldn’t identify. There were only a few downsides to this property. One, being that you have to drive through an RV park to reach the home. The other things were minor, being a yard guy came and stayed for 4-5 hours on our first day. It was a little awkward sitting by the pool having a man around you cutting trees. A few days later, the pool guys showed up and told my kids “get out.” Once they were done, they proceeded to tell us that we couldn’t use the pool for at least 1-2 hours. We were not told about either visit, which I felt was unprofessional. The home is gorgeous and had everything we needed for our stay. Over all the vacation was great and we would definitely visit again.
KATINA W. Oct 2020
The house was amazing, the view was beautiful,
We spent a lot of time outside area, lots of room, Kayaking and paddle boards were great to have there to use. Loved having the dock there to keep our boat. The only thing I would suggest is a better cleaning table for fish and a hose at the end of dock to clean off boat.
We would Definitely rent again!!
Kimberly J. Sep 2020
Absolutely loved everything about our stay in this beautiful home. Privacy, tranquility relaxation at its finest. We had the best time together as a group. There was something for everyone. Fantastic views, amazing marine life. We enjoyed the pool & hot tub as well as the screened in deck. The house was well stocked with everything we needed. The owners were very responsive and so very nice. We are already planning our next trip. Absolutely would recommended this property & this area. Loved it. Can’t wait to visit again.
Alicha B. Sep 2020
What an incredible experience! Gorgeous property with everything you could ask for. Incredible view, wildlife, the most impressive sunsets you could imagine... and enough space to create lasting memories with friends and family. The neighborhood is so much fun. We even ran into locals who shared breathtaking pics of the home’s dock in a storm. Dolphin rescue center up the street is a blast, the sea turtle hospital was a sad but beautiful experience, and we highly recommend the Key Lime Pie at the SS Wreck and Galley Grill practically next door. 90 min scenic drive in either direction to all the fun in Key West and Key Largo. So glad we picked this house!!
DIANELYS M. Aug 2020
We loved the view.... breathtaking........😍
Leila W. Aug 2020
The reviews I read before booking were mostly great so maybe this is too critical.. The view was spectacular but that’s about it. You had to drive through a trailer park to get to the property and the drive was so over grown my husband had to cut some limbs so they wouldn’t scratch the vehicles. The baking sheets in the kitchen are in desperate need of replacing, we lined with foil just to feel comfortable using. Cable is terrible, this isn’t a cheap property so a descent station or two would be nice. The pool is more like a plunge pool for two or three people. If you have 8 people you definitely are not drinking and having a good time in the pool! Every time you flush the toilet in any bathroom the kitchen sink makes this very loud odd noise. Basically more negatives then positives on this property.. Hope this helps others when booking, nice to know negatives as well as positives when booking something like this.
Manager response:
Hi Leila, we appreciate your feedback. We are sorrowed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We wish that you would have let us know during your visit. We spoke with you but none of these things were mentioned. We make every effort to present clear, accurate descriptions of our homes in order for guests to make informed decisions on their rental choices. We encourage guests to reach out with any questions or concerns prior to booking, as we are happy to help. We hope for the opportunity to impress you in the future.
Trina G. Jul 2020
Lots to do! Lots of room! Great dock! Very clean! One of the best we’ve stayed in in the keys. Make sure you bring wash cloths and dish towels bc they are limited or non existent.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Trina. We are glad you enjoyed this home and we appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. We'll be sure to stock adequate towels for future guests, and we hope to host you again soon!
Elisabeth J. Jun 2020
We had a great vacation. I was a little nervous with recent negative Vacasa reviews but all was great. House was as described and very clean. Kitchen was well equipped, beds comfortable and plenty of towels and linens. Minor issue with a ceiling fan but maintenance was quick to have it working again. We had a lot of fun watching fish from the pier and the kids snorkeled. Caught a Barracuda from the pier. We saw nurse sharks, puffer fish, crabs, lobsters, snappers, sea turtle, barracuda, horsehoe crab and bio-luminescent jelly fish glowing at night. We are hoping to come back to this house again. Thanks for a great stay.
Eric E. Jan 2020
Loved all there was to do on the property. The house was very clean and well stocked. Previous posts said not enough towels, but they must have gotten more and had beach towels, too. We had two families and the house configuration was perfect for us to be on separate sides of the house. Our trip was the beginning of January, so it was a bit windy. Temps were nice though. The boys rented a fishing boat and kept it at the marina that was right next door. Very convenient. The only negative thing that happened was half way through grilling our dinner we found out that both gas tanks were empty. Not too big of deal, but closest gas station is about 8 minutes away.
Manager response:
Hello Eric, We do hope you reached out to our 24/7 guest services so we could have the local team bring out more propane for the grill. We apologize for any frustrations or inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. We do hope you will give us another chance to host you in the future.
Marcy H. Nov 2019
House was awesome & location was perfect.
Christine H. Sep 2019
This home was perfect for our Keys vacation. The location was stunning! That view really is a million dollar virew. My family especially enjoyed the private dock. We saw sea turtles swimming nearly everyday and even a manatee once. Everything looked exactly like the photos. The home was very clean and everything was well stocked. There were PLENTY of towels but strangely no washcloths. The large kitchen was wonderful for cooking our catch every night. We had everything we needed to cook with except sharp knives, they were all dull. We also enjoyed the pool, kayaks and garden as well as the large chess set! I highly recommend Million Dollar View and we would love to return in the future!
Jeff J. Sep 2019
This home is one of the most amazing properties we have ever visited. So much for all of us to do and see. Just when we thought we have seen everything the property had to offer we were proved wrong. Wildlife was everything we could ask for & the garden was beautiful. Even during the quick storms the views were perfect to sip a drink to and just watch. Fishing, kayaking, Paddle boarding, Swimming, and Relaxing. The dock was awesome always having something for us to see and do including amazing views of the night sky while relaxing on the bench talking with our kids. Soaking in the hot tub at night was a perfect end to a fun adventure filled day. The house was well maintained and comfortable. The home owners were very nice and full of information. We will definitely be back.
Douglas N. Jul 2019
This is the place to stay. I had a great time and the place was great. Very clean. If your looking for a place you should consider this one for sure.
Karina S. Jun 2019
Our family had the most amazing stay at the Pelican House. The view is absolutely stunning - the pier provided wonderful fishing, great views of the sea life and the opportunity for snorkeling up and down the pier for our children. The owners supply kayaks and paddleboards which we used everyday. The pool was perfect for the kids and the lights for the pool were so much fun at night. We enjoyed a game of giant chess outside and we loved exploring the beautiful gardens the owners has cultivated with many types of different fruit trees and other tropical plants. The house itself was beautifully renovated and set up very nicely for a large family, well appointed for everything you might need including Roku TV and even a wireless speaker for music poolside. We can’t wait to go back!
Sharon M. Mar 2019
It was a great place for a family vacation. The grand kids loved being in the yard playing instead of in the house watching tv.
Nancy N. Mar 2019
This house does have an exceptional view and provides plenty of entertainment options. The kitchen has just about everything you could want. Our only suggestions would be room-darkening window coverings for privacy (especially off the back porch) and perhaps a new sliding glass door, as it was noisy. But I would definitely return, if given the opportunity again.
Cyndi N. Feb 2019
Loved the scenic serenity of this property. Wonderful activities provided inside and out. We used the paddle boards and kayaks as well as the pool and hot tub! The provided crib, high chair, kids swim toys and life jackets were much appreciated. The kids loved playing in the sand which was plenty deep for sand castles. We used games and put together the puzzle during a one day thunderstorm. The house was well equipped from the kitchen to the grill. It felt like home away from home. Great memories.
Ronnie Mary E. Feb 2019
The house was clean and well appointed. We went with two other couples and it was nice that the four bedrooms are in each corner of the house giving each couple ample privacy. It is quite secluded with plenty of fun things to do. We loved the kayaks, paddle boards, darts and ping pong!!! The SS Wreck is a great restaurant within walking distance. The grocery stores are 15-20 minutes away and not much other shopping nearby.
We really enjoyed our stay and the view is about the best you will find. Sunsets are spectacular !
William L. Nov 2018
Every glowing review you read is true. Even the poetic description is largely true. It really is THAT private, we never saw another soul while on the property. It is set back in the woods/vegetation along the gulf completely out of view of others. The home itself is in like new condition, clean and pristine. The kitchen is well stocked with amenities and utensils. The pool and hot tub are all yours. Amazing water, wildlife, and vegetation (flowers) views from the deck, the pool, the dock, the fire pit. Plenty of toys (kayaks, snorkels etc). Obsessive amount of seats/chairs/lounges (I believe there were 60 chairs outside alone, which if you think about it is sorta funny for a property that doesn't want you to ever have more than 8 people there). If I was judging on those things alone I would rate it a 10 out of five. We didn't even experience the bugs some mention (we went late October). And yes, there is a new, larger, TV.

So why do I wish I could give it 4 1/2 stars? Because there were a few peculiarities that I want to draw attention to that may or may not impact people. Forewarned is forearmed. I don't think much will change with my comments, the place is booked solid months in advance. But who knows?

The dissatisfaction I had was relatively minor and easily addressed for the most part. Some stems right from the start, the booking process. You indicate dates you would like to reserve, but then it gives you a place to ask questions. I did not get a reply for over a day, and then the reply was 'sorry it was rented.' No answers. Okay, I got scooped waiting for answers, but still why not answer me so I can rebook?

I did rebook, and I did have a few more questions. I really like to plan my trips. I never got the feeling the answers came from someone with specific knowledge of the property, certainly not the owners. And the answers were not that helpful and in one case, wrong. I was surprised on top of the rental per day was a rather large fee and expected some service to go with that.

But this is what I found. The description that you have your own sandy beach is not really accurate. The pictures are right, you have a rock/concrete wall for your beach front. Behind that wall is some hard surface (clay?) covered with a very light dusting of something between sand and gravel.. but definitely not what most of us would fantasize wiggling our toes in when we read sand beach. It does make for a very good bocci ball court though, and the kids loved that! So not all negative, if you have the right expectations, but wear sandals. And obviously sand or not, you still have the view!

Then there was the dock. Yep it goes out forever. It's relatively new, for the most part good condition, and is an excellent place to sit and look out over the water (interestingly you hear the most road noise here). But its more like a pier than a dock. There is no swimming platform. There is really no good way to reach the water from the end. It's too shallow to dive (at low tide its well below the waist). No good way to tie off small boats or jet skies (though I did ask, glad I did not rent them before checking it out). There IS a ladder down, but it does NOT reach to the water surface at low tide, and only just barely at high tide. For getting out of the water, it is recommended to plan for at least two rungs below water level. A couple of us that were less athletic found out the hard way we could not get back up once in the we had to wade to shore through some water grass. Seems like very poor planning after spending a lot of money on a dock. Likewise the boat fenders were placed high so as to be ineffective for small boats (the only thing that could be there with that low water level) One other thing about the dock, at the very end where the walkway meets the sitting area, the ropes tie off at two posts that are obviously loose, they swing back and forth a half foot. My guess is they came loose during the last storm. The dock is otherwise secure though.

Getting to the water from the 'beach' was also complicated. The boat ramp was covered with two foot high and 10 feet wide stacks of decaying sea grass that had washed up, and the stair case down was broken. A simple garden rake could have helped, and no doubt there is one locked away somewhere. In short the water is great to look at... difficult to enjoy otherwise. The sea grass issue may have been due to storms so may not be a problem normally.

Then there is the WIFI. Yep, there is coverage through out the house, and to the pool, but not much further. But the coverage in the house is not even and slow in some places. You get the feeling there is one node, and it's down below on the first floor (locked off from you), and sitting under a concrete slab floor (bad for transmission). For the most part this was okay, except if too many people wanted to access the web at the same time while watching tv (web streamed). But I have the feeling with some thought on node placement (second floor, mesh), the service could have been a LOT better and further out to the 'beach.' BTW, the house does NOT have cable, but uses ROKU (internet streaming) with the TV. If you like ROKU, this will thrill you, if you don't use it, its not that bad, but not the same as cable either.

Lets return to the issue of privacy... one of the major reasons to rent a house like this. And again, we loved that we never saw anyone else (well maybe a kayaker or two). But my wife was really upset when she realized there were exterior web cams on three corners of the house, including one with potentially a great view of the pool/hot tub/sunning area. There was no mention of this in any documentation we could find. It's not too surprising to want it for security, but do provide renters with some privacy notification on what those cameras see and do not see and who sees it when. They are in black domes so you can't really tell where they are pointed. Ideal case of course would put the URL on local network so people could see for themselves (but only when at the house), but otherwise, some privacy statement would help. Now as much as I complained about emailing questions and poor response, I have to give credit to Vacasa, there was a number to call and I used it. The person on the other end had no idea about the cameras (this was expected) but they relayed my concern to a local representative and that person promptly called me back within an hour to assure me that the poolside camera was NOT pointed at the pool but out to the dock, and the driveway, and the parking lot (to watch for intruders). So points for quick phone response.

Other things... the kitchen is well stocked for the most part, but NOT in cleaning supplies. With all that glass and marble we needed to buy extra paper towels and windex. Windex is great to spray on trash bags to keep animals out. Oh, btw, sure you pay a large fee, but you are still expected to haul your own trash to the road. We ended up buying paper towels, windex, and dish detergent. Problem solved.

Cloth towels were also at a premium. We were a party of six... they were maybe enough if all we wanted to do was shower, and if we wanted to wash them throughout the week. I would question eight people. But given there is a pool, hot tub, and 'beach' with an ocean, there just was no way near enough towels for that too. We ended up buying six beach towels from Kmart. Problem solved.

The problem of the really loud squeaking ceiling fan in the back bedroom we could not solve.

Finally, notes, notes, and more notes. Everywhere you turned was a note giving instructions. For the most part these were needed. For example, if you have not operated a hot tub/pool before with all these manual valves for the pump and heater, you REALLY need to read through those instructions quite a bit or risk breaking something. And even then takes some thinking. Btw, the labeling on the pool valves are starting to wear off so its not easy. Some of the notes... well.. I get that your water waste removal pump (toilets, sinks etc) is delicate, but did I really need to read a note every time I opened the refrigerator door cautioning me on using the sink? Okay, maybe I should do that at home so I don't use the refrigerator that much! And some of the notes were helpful, but some felt like my mom telling me to clean up all the time. But the problem was finding the right note at the right time was like a scavenger hunt. I found myself wishing there was some central book where I could read up on everything (especially the pool as we arrived at sunset and the outside notes were hard to spot in the dark). And guess what, we found such a book on the third day. Tucked away on the bottom shelf of a small book case. Please, put that book on the dinning room table so guests see it right away!

Btw, a 'local tips' section of the book might be nice. Not critical though given the internet. But sometimes, a local nudge helps. For example, we must have driven past the S.S. Wreck Gallery Grill sports bar at the end of our driveway a dozen times without stopping because.. well.. no water view, maybe a little simple looking, but turns out they had GREAT food. Highly recommended. The more flashy water front Island Fish Co? Turns out, not so great food even though good yelp reviews because of the view I guess. Likewise we wouldn't have stopped at 'castaway' except the local dive shop recommended it... great food and amazing beer selection. The locals are more than happy to tell you what they think.

It may seem I have more criticisms than accolades... but they are all 'first world problems.' Given you are on a premium property paying a premium fee, there is an expectation of a well rounded premium experience. And for most cases you get that! One can not argue with that view, the state of the house, the privacy (besides the web cams)... those are all above premium. It's an amazing place. I think with a bit more care in these few areas this would truly be a 10. And thats on a scale of 5.

Would I go here again? Most likely. I might shop around for a place that is more water friendly (swimming and boating), but my guess is for the value, and the privacy, and the convenience of Marathon... I would return right here to Million Dollar View.
John R. G. Oct 2018
Vacasa (Property Manager) was excellent, professional and responded ASAP to calls

Negative - AC does not cool the house - called owner 2nd day and his response was to spend more time outside in the heat so when you come inside it feels cooler - Serious? Finally threatened to leave property after 10 days (we booked for a month) and Vacasa called AC company and they cleaned condenser and made it toleerable - AC still needs repairs/upgrading - if temps are in the mid to hi 80's you will not be cool unless owner repairs AC issues. TV is not really TV - it's internet streaming (Roku/Xfinity) on flat screen tv's - no sports/national news channels - we purchased app to get these. Owner did try to add some channels but wasn't willing to rebundle his cable package - might be good in long run for future guests. Owner's response to our question of variety of channels - "go outside and enjoy the dock!" Very frustrating to click 3-5 times exiting one app and 3-5 more clicks to open another just to change a channel?

Positive - VIEW, kayaks/paddleboards, pool, hot tub (although not user friendly to have to change 3 pump settings every time you want to use hot tub and then change back after use), dock, screen porch, garden, privacy/seclusion, kitchen well equipped - excellent location on Grassy Key (sunsets) and location in relation to entire Florida Keys

We will book future houses from Vacasa and return to Florida Keys - however not to this house
JAY C. Aug 2018
Property and house is great for a family or couples sleeping up to 8 comfortably. Great layout as bedrooms are spread out into the 4 corners of the house
Cynthia A. Jul 2018
First the long pier and romantic sunsets were so amazing, the house had everything we needed, we had so much fun, this was an all adult vacation no kids but we sure acted like kids again, playing at the pool. Then going to bed in those most comfortable beds, they are queen size not kings but it didn't matter. We slept well from the first til the last night... Oh bring bug spray there are some no see ums that bite you up when your not looking, everyone had major bites on them...but who cares we had a great time. Oh its centrally located so key west is easy to get to and so is key largo....
David Scott Jones J. May 2018
We travel significantly and actually have two rental cabins in the North Carolina mountains along with our own. This house was the best prepared vacation home we have ever stayed in. Not only was is very clean but well stocked with appliances and equipment which was in great shape. The protected water made it a great place for young and old to play in the water. The pool and spa were easy to use and clean with plenty of chairs. The locations is extremely private, do not let the entrance fool you, typical keys, use google earth to look at the site. You can hear the dolphin talking from the Dolphin Research Center just next door. Should we return to the Keys again with our family this will be our base once more.
Teresa H. May 2018
Beautiful home and grounds. Loved the long dock and incredible sunsets!
Fred And Gail H. Nov 2017
Clean, Very good use instructions. Refrigerator had issues and broken pool pump was replaced within a day. Good weather kept us all happy
Patricia D. Nov 2017
We had a trip planned for months before the hurricane so decided to go. I’d like to revisit the area next year once they’ve recovered. A lot of debris still very visible. We did enjoy what the area had to offer & would encourage others to go.
Rachel G. Oct 2017
This property is as beautiful as the photos suggest, it is also really well equipped, with everything that you could possibly need to cook fantastic local food for your stay and 5 kayaks for those in your party who want to enjoy the local waters of the Gulf. I had a call within a few hours of arriving from the owner, who had arranged for the housekeeper to leave out a bottle of bubbly for our arrival - which was much appreciated and a very nice touch. This property offers complete privacy, enclosed in lovely gardens and with safe and shallow waters for children and adults alike to enjoy either by kayak or swimming. Keep an eye out for the baby nurse sharks, wild dolphins (we saw them at dawn and dusk 3 times) and other juvenile fish that like to hang out just off the beach here - this makes for great snorkelling too. We will be back for sure!
BERTA G. Aug 2017
The house is in good condition and great place, the view of the sea is incredible, the pool is well heated and clean, but the furniture in the bedrooms are horrible and uncomfortable, there are not enough TVs to share with the family, considering that children and adults have to share a single TV
Manager response:
We are appreciative of the guest's comments regarding the home's interior. The owners are excited to announce that they have made many improvements to an already amazing house. There are simply too many to list but among the additions are game & toys for the children, new TVs in the bedrooms, snorkel and bocci ball equipment. The interior has been given a wonderful facelift that adds charm and the mattress has been replaced. You have to see it in person to believe it! Thank you.