USA Coastal Georgia Georgia Tybee Island Listing #9583

Tybee Island Sunset - Tybee Island, GA

Take a Virtual Tour
33 reviews
Max. occupancy: 2 1 Queen Bed 1 bedroom 1 bathroom No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Vintage Cottage with Outdoor Shower and Unique Interior - Near North Beach

Experience coastal comfort with vintage charm at Tybee Island Sunset, a cottage featuring a unique reclaimed wood interior, an outdoor shower, and a shaded backyard.

Conveniently situated just a half-mile from North Beach (the nearest public beach) and only two miles from shops and eateries along Tybrisa Street, the home's location puts you near all of the island's best attractions. Plus, it's also close to historic landmarks, including Fort Screven and the Tybee Island Light Station and Museum.

If you have a larger group, consider renting both this house and the front cottage Tybee Island Sunrise.

Built in 1900, Tybee Island Sunset is a beautifully preserved cottage that will provide a memorable stay for couples and best friends. Enjoy some indoor time with a favorite cable series on the flatscreen TV, or relax on the back room love seat. On hot days, fix a chilled glass of sweet tea and take it onto the deck, where you'll sit underneath the shade of Live Oak trees. Or head back inside and settle in under the cool breeze of ceiling fans.

If you get hungry, whip up a light snack in the kitchenette (it has a small stovetop/oven and a mini fridge). You could even head out back and enjoy a simple al fresco meal on the deck where there's seating on an Adirondack lounger and padded chairs, plus a round table with an umbrella in the yard. Feeling like grilling out? Simply fire up the shared charcoal grill for a barbecue.

Wake with some morning coffee, then connect to the free WiFi to plan your adventures. Another day on the beach is always a great choice, but if you're looking to explore the city scene, head just 17 miles west to Savannah. There you'll find tidy parks with ornate fountains, plenty of historic landmarks, and even more shops and eateries in the City Market area. But if you want to stay closer to home, that's fine too - enjoy coastal activities like windsurfing, fishing, kayaking/canoeing, wildlife viewing, and more only minutes from this cottage.

Escape to one of Georgia's premier vacation destinations - book this charming coastal cottage today!

City/town permit number: STR2021-00089

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.




Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Space heater

Kitchen & dining





Beach access


Internet : Xfinity


Cable : Xfinity

Wireless router



Beach towels


Enclosed yard



33 reviews

Brant K. Jul 2022
Very nice cottage. It is small and cozy for sure. Very close to the beach. We chose not to rent a golf cart. We were able to drive and had no issue finding a place to park. My only warning, if you could call it that, is the Wi-Fi is not very strong. Not really able to stream anything. But if bad Wi-Fi is the worst that can be said about a nice beach house I think you’ll be in pretty good shape.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, Brant. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the home and apologize for any inconvenience that the Wifi caused you. The Wifi is run off a connector from the main home and we apologize for any delay this caused in speed. We have passed your feedback along to the local manager to review and consider for future update. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.
Mitchell D. Feb 2022
The house is cute and clean. everything is great except if you go when it's cold the heater can't keep the tempature up you end up freezing when you wake up. I had the heater as high as it could go it didn't touch the cold.
Manager response:
Hi, Mitchell! We're sorry you were so cold during your visit. The freezing temperatures during your visit were certainly uncomfortable. Space heaters have been provided in case they're needed again this winter. Thank you!
Gwen M. Jan 2022
I fell in love with this little cottage. It was perfect for my granddaughter and I. We enjoyed walks to the lighthouse and North beach. We had the Best meal at North side Grill! Everything was clean and cozy. The bed was super comfortable. Very quiet and beautiful neighborhood. Can't wait to go back to the Sunset cottage!
Shannon B. Sep 2021
The cottage was the perfect size for two people. The charm was adorable. If you want a fancy place to stay then it isn’t for you. You have to appreciate the old historic charm of it since it was built in 1900 so understand that it’s a 121 year old cottage on an island. If you appreciate old charm then you will love it like we did. We rented bikes feom zoom bike rental and it was only a 5 min bike ride to the beach. Tybee island is so small that we loved biking everywhere. Our stay was perfect.
Amy M. Apr 2021
This home was extremely charming, in my favorite part of Tybee, and all the windows were amazing...BUT, and I can't believe no one ever mentioned this in the reviews, because it was honestly shockingly bad--the BED. The bed needs to be updated like 20 years ago. The mattress is a spring mattress that had no give--it felt like a crib or a toddler bed. We were given only two bed pillows and the rest were outdoor throw pillows. Otherwise the bedding was nice enough. I would have loved a throw blanket for lounging around the house, though. My partner and I slept surprisingly well, perhaps because we were completely at peace in this quiet and beautiful area. But when we went to bed the first night, I literally uttered the word "oof," as I was crawling in. Also, the bed is tucked away in a little nook, so there's nowhere to put your drink or phone (come on, it's 2021). A small perch coming from the wall for my nightly tea would have been a great addition. It's the little things, ya know.

Everything else really made up for it, the outdoor shower and the beaded board interiors made me feel like I was in Cape Cod or Martha's Vineyard in like the 1920s. But the bed felt like I was at my grandma's house and she had kept her marital bed from the same period. It was bad yall!

Other notes: there are very limited supplies in the kitchen--I don't know why rentals are like this, but people stay in home rentals (not hotels) so that they can cook for themselves and not talk to strangers. That means they need more than one grown up spoon and a cutting board would also be swell. A real wine glass wouldn't hurt. Pan situation was decent, but there were no grill utensils, which shows on the grill scraper that everyone has clearly been using as a charcoal poker. Also, we didn't try very hard because we don't do a lot of TV, but we couldn't get the TV to connect to the internet, and the directions provided by the VACASA App were to call the internet servicer. Umm that's a hard pass--I'm on vacation, not trying to sit on hold with customer service, get real. Also, this isn't in the mix of Tybee's main tourist drag. It's walking distance (maybe 1/2 mile) to hucapoos and about a mile to the beach. I prefer this area over a big pier scene with kitschy shops and drunken kids, but if that aint you this aint your spot. There is a golf cart rental place around the corner and Tybee is very easily biked.

FYI there is an air conditioner and heater that aren't pictured--it kept us toasty in the low 50 degree late March nights and cool in the high 70 degree days (though we primarily just opened all the doors for the cross breeze during the day). There is also a normal-sized fridge these days, and the patio furniture is perfectly acceptable. These are just notes so others can be prepared. I haven't "counted off" for kitchen deficiencies, because it's nothing new. The bed gets a deduction though, because honestly it needed to be said.

Finally, this place has been "updated" so as to hide the pink of the couch and the floral print chair. It's still charming, but I hope they don't move too far in the "beach cottage" direction, and stay away from the TJ Max "art." The simplicity of the place is what attracted me to it.

I would stay here again, but I would be more prepared and I would realllllly hope they get a new mattress.
Manager response:
We are so glad you stayed with us and appreciate your feedback. The property manager has purchased a mattress pad, wine glasses, silverware, a cutting board, and grilling items that will be placed in the home right away. Thank you!
Wayne H. Oct 2020
Quaint and conveniently located for the lighthouse. Paint is peeling off the ceiling in the bathroom and the small frig froze our food. Curtain rods are almost falling off the windows but it is old and could use some attention.
Manager response:
Hi, Wayne! Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We have taken care of the paint and put the fridge on the correct setting. The curtain rods have been cleaned and repaired. We hope to see you again!
Annalise N. Sep 2020
This cottage was so perfect for 1 or 2. It was so cozy for the rain or sun, and a perfect distance from the beach. A little 15 min walk with cute houses on the way. The outdoor shower was heaven. I really enjoyed my stay. Although I didn’t cook, I think the kitchen could accommodate a little cooking if need be. Very easy /non confusing access to the cottage and I liked that I could park in the little driveway to walk directly into the home. I will definitely be staying here again.
Joseph T. Aug 2020
Close enough to the beach and everything. I got a little confused finding it so read the emails carefully on where to park. The beach was very quiet, plenty of room to stretch out! Thanks for sharing you me space!
Sharon K. Aug 2020
Location, location, location!
Merrell L. Jan 2020
We really enjoyed our short stay and wished it could have been longer. The location was great, nice quiet area yet just a short distance from restaurants and the touristy areas of Tybee. The dorm sized refrigerator worked for our short stay, but a larger one would be nice to have for longer stays.
We loved this adorable vintage cottage and will definitely add it to our list of places to return to!
Emily S. Dec 2019
I loved my stay in this cottage! It was beautiful and charming. Extremely comfortable with plenty of room for just me. I spent an afternoon reading on the hammock on the porch too. Highly recommend. I will hopefully return another time!
AMY B. Oct 2019
Charming little cottage located within walking distance to the beach and lighthouse. The lockbox was not difficult to get into as some have stated. There is construction next door but they did not work on the weekends. The shower is small and the hot water is where the cold water should be which I only knew from reading other reviews. I feel management should notify you of this. There is a coffee maker so take coffee if you want to make some there. We want to go back and stay in the sunrise cottage.
Garrett H. Aug 2019
Tybee Island Sunset is a gorgeous and cost effective way for couples to stay in the Tybee Island area. Within walking distance or a short drive from everything that you need!
Christopher G. Oct 2018
Girlfriend and I loved this spot. It was perfect for couples.
Lori T. Oct 2018
This was a cute cottage, good for 1-2 people. There is an oven, but only a dorm fridge, so not really set up for stocking groceries for your week. I was impressed by how clean this little place was. Not a bug or spider in site (except the mosquitos were bad when I was there). There is a memory foam mattress on the bed which was awesome.
Lisa H. Sep 2018
Lovely little cottage near the north beach. Cute as a button but no microwave! Also, bottom locks don't work with the key you are given! That was pretty stressful. The frig could stand to be a bit bigger and maybe a few cool waters could be waiting for the guests. But honestly I would stay there again due to the adorableness of it!
Tyler T. Jun 2018
Loved our mini vacation perfect location on the island and quiet community!!!
Robert K. Dec 2017
A lovely place to stay. Easy on the budget. Close to everything. Owner should include a microwave. It’s 2017! Shower control a bit backward; you’ll take a lukewarm shower until you figure it out. Otherwise, neat little cottage!
Timothy M. Nov 2017
We really enjoyed our little cabin for our stay on Tybee. It's at a great location, near the north end of the island where there are a lot of attractions and a spectacular, not overly developed beach. We went on glorious long beach walks setting out from our cabin and thus not paying any parking charges. There's also a great little restaurant very near the lighthouse. It's food is unexpectedly good for a casual beachside restaurant. The Chef's Salad was to die for, and I say that as a picky vegan.
PAUL P. Nov 2017
OK in hot weather not cold.
Crystle B. Oct 2017
We had a great time would love to come back. The only thing was the shower was a little small. The furnishings were cute and comfortable. Perfect for the two of us.
Robert P. Sep 2017
Great little cottage not too far from the beach. Fridge is a bit small. Even for 2 people just staying the weekend. But at the price I'd just bring a bigger cooler. Can't wait till next time.
Lamessia & Cody K. Sep 2017
Me and my boyfriend loved the location! There was plenty of towels and everything was very clean and neat. We enjoyed our first Tybee Island trip and would love return again in the future.
Jimmy T. Sep 2017
This was our 1st vacation & we were not disappointed at all!! The best part was having a small place to totally relax & thoroughly enjoy our time! I will most definitely be looking at booking a cottage again. Thank you for such a great blessing. And for helping me give my husband an experience of a life time!
Christopher P. Aug 2017
The location of the house was good. It was clean and well kept.

The only issue we had was when we first arrived we showed up at the main house. This rental is actually the house in back. Basically on bright street.

We enjoyed our stay and loved the island. And we definitely plan on returning.
April C. Jul 2017
Initially the address was a little confusing because the address I was given was actually the first house and we were on the backside.I also was looking forward to sitting out side under the cafe lights which never came on or any direction as to show to turn them on.All in all we had a great time and just improvised.