Virtual Tour
USA California Sonoma County Sea Ranch Listing #7235

The Crows Nest - Sea Ranch, CA

81 reviews
Max occupancy: 6 1 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 4 Twin Bed 3 bedrooms  plus loft 2 bathrooms Dog-friendly  (50 lb weight limit) 
34988 Crows Nest Drive, Sea Ranch, CA 95497

Dog-friendly, hillside home w/ oceanview, private hot tub, & shared pools/saunas

Surround yourself with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and the Northern California Coast at this three-bedroom Sea Ranch home, a stunningly situated hillside retreat with a private hot tub, an ocean view deck, and wonderful access to shared swimming pools, saunas, and tennis courts.

Built in 1971 by Don Jacobs, one of the defining architects of the Sea Ranch community, this two-level home is perfectly secluded on the hillside just east of California Highway 1. You'll enjoy unrivaled ocean views only one mile from the Sea Ranch Lodge and Black Point (where you can access the beach via a few wooden stairs), two miles from Pebble Beach, and nine miles south of downtown Gualala.

Pass through the book-lined foyer to reach the great room, the heart of the home that offers 180-degree vistas of the ocean and coastline. Grab a few provided logs to make a fire in the wood-burning stove, sit down with a board game in one of the built-in window seats, and watch for whale spouts on the ocean horizon.

Begin each morning with freshly brewed coffee, fruit smoothies, and breakfast hot off the waffle iron in the full kitchen, which offers butcher block and Formica countertops, modern appliances, and even a dishwasher. The elevated dining space overlooks the great room and has a circular table for eight.

Spend your days one mile north at the Moonraker Recreation Center, where you can swim in the heated outdoor pool, relax in the sauna, or practice your serve on the tennis/pickleball court. When you return home, simply flip on the stereo system and watch your dog play in the enclosed garden courtyard (please note that a 50-lb. weight limit and a nightly fee apply).

As the sun begins to set over the Pacific, you'll have a prime seat on the ocean-facing deck or in the soothing waters of the private hot tub. A patio table, lounge chairs, and a gas grill are also provided for beautiful evenings under the stars.

Climb the spiral staircase from the foyer to reach the tower room, where you can sketch the magnificent views from your seat at the drawing desk. Back downstairs, spend the evening with friends and family, watching DVD and VHS favorites on the flatscreen cable TV and using the WiFi to plan the next day's adventures.

With three bedrooms and two bathrooms, The Crows Nest can accommodate as many as six guests. The master bedroom is quaint and rustic, with a queen bed, woodland views, and a private bath with a shower and tub. The wood-paneled guest room has a double bed, while the kids' room has two sets of twin bunk beds and a selection of stuffed animals. A washer/dryer are also provided.

Whether you're planning a couples' retreat, a quiet family getaway, or a vacation with nature-loving friends, you'll immediately feel at ease and at home in Sea Ranch. Take a long, leisurely walk to wander along the beautiful Bluff Trail, stop by the Sea Ranch Lodge for a delicious meal, or observe the local deer, harbor seals, and whales in their natural habitats.

Head eight miles north to play a scenic round of golf at the Sea Ranch Golf Links, pick up some wonderful lunch fixings at the Surf Market in Gualala, and take a breathtaking afternoon drive to the Point Arena Lighthouse 28 miles north.

Take this opportunity to discover true relaxation - book your stay at this gorgeous Sea Ranch home today! A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.

Property permit ID: 2973N



Children's games


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling


Space heater

Wood stove

Kitchen & dining






Water view





Wireless router

Blu-Ray player



Nearby activities & attractions

Board games

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Pool : Shared

Sauna : Shared

Tennis court : Shared


Gas grill : Private



Enclosed yard

81 reviews

Amy F. Feb 2020
We loved the sunken living room with the beautiful hillside views of the sea. Also, up the spiral staircase was a special reading nook and viewing area. It was perfectly located for long walks to the ocean, and enjoying the hot tub under the stars was sublime. I also took a yoga class and swam in the large pool nearby. If we had had more time, we would have played tennis too.
Jana V. Jan 2020
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Crows Nest. Such a beautiful unique home with a fantastic view.
Erin G. Aug 2019
Stunning spot with serious wow factor...perfect for our group! Would definitely go back.
Pamela Gay W. Jul 2019
the floor plan is great for a group
Jesse S. Jun 2019
Very beautiful home. Wonderful architecture and location. Kitchen well stocked with useful equipment. Felt comfortable and spectacular simultaneously. Loved being here and would absolutely return again.
Anthony R. Jun 2019
We loved this house. Had the best time. Maybe it was the hot tub overlooking the ocean, the wide view window, trips to the beach, or winning at Sequence. I’m looking forward to going back.
John B. May 2019
great view of the ocean.
Michael M. Mar 2019
This house is the best vacation rental I've ever had, and I've had a lot of them. The design and architecture of the Sea Ranch community is currently the topic of a wonderful exhibition at the SFMOMA, and this place is a museum-worthy example of the Sea Ranch philosophy. Spectacular view, very comfortable, well kept. My only gripe is with the the difference between the advertised price and the actual price, but that is mostly a reflection of HomeAway, and not this home. I would definitely stay there again.
Grace L. Jan 2019
The space and design is so beautiful but about half the lamps in the house did not work or the bulbs had died, even the ones in front of the house which made entering at night a little treacherous. Everything else was perfect, great view, hot tub was wonderful, kitchen had everything we needed. Exactly what we were looking for!
Manager response:
We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences faced during your stay! The Local Manager has since ordered solar lights for the stairs and the Maintenance Technician has replaced the lightbulbs inside the home. We do hope to house you in the future!
Nina P. Nov 2018
Love all the space and coziness. Window seats were a plus!
Peter S. Oct 2018
Crows Nest is a beautifully situated house in Sea Ranch with amazing views of the ocean. This was clearly someones dream vacation home and has all the little interesting quirks of a such a house (like a collection of Nat Geo back to 1951). The main deck, hot tub, and grill were amazing. The patio furniture is old but functional. The kitchen is dated and small but with excellent pots and pans. The dining room is equipped with huge round table, although the house does not include enough wine glasses for the number of people you could sleep in the house. The main living area focuses on the views, the TV is clearly a secondary addition. The AV system is dated and doesn't Bluetooth to your phone - bring CDs if you want to utilize it. Wifi is present but slow. Cell service is minimal. The bedrooms are small and the bathrooms are simple - the master suite has amazing views. The Crows Nest of the house is this really cool tower room with a desk for sitting and reading. At night, the house is generally dark and many of the light bulbs need replacing (Vacasa aware but did not have the man power to correct this during our 2day stay). The house is very private and separate from the neighbors. It is ideal for private relaxing Sonoma coast getaway. Overall an amazing property and with a little bit of updating and work would be world class. Certainly worth the rental rate currently.
Peter K. Oct 2018
Great views, older house, but clean and nice design
Zhigang M. Oct 2018
Great location, maganificent view, clean and cozy bedroom and hot tub.
Tim L. Oct 2018
incredible views, great architecture, lots of books and games, loved the fireplace and window seats
Valerie J. Sep 2018
The view is incredible. We had a great time. Loved the family room and dining room.
David R. Sep 2018
Architectural marvel. Great wood hot tub. Home feels like original spirit of The Sea Ranch.
Susan S. Jun 2018
Location, cleanliness,ease of check in, comfort, amenities....all terrific
Sherrie L. Jun 2018
The view was great! Very spacious.
Chris P. May 2018
the view was breathtaking. the house was clean but lacked many amenities. there was no oil or tin foil. and only two wine glasses. and at night you could see all the dirty hand smears from children all over the windows. and the beach towels were on the floor in the closet :/ other then that we had a wonderful stay
Manager response:
We have followed-up with housekeeping regarding the windows and towels. We do not provide oil or tin foil. Thanks!
Teresa C. Mar 2018
Great house with wonderful views. Very private and quiet. Lots of sleeping areas to accommodate a handful of people. The kitchen is small but functional. Large back deck and front patio area for outdoor relaxing.
Shelley S. Mar 2018
Excellent stay. The house was fabulous.
Krissi M. Mar 2018
Our group of 4 adored this place. We were there during the off season and it was so nice to wonder into the sleepy town and explore all of the coastal access paths in Sea Ranch. We saw whales and enjoyed the sunset beaming through the gorgeous living room. We made lots of plans to leave and cancelled most of them to just stay and soak in the relaxing nature of the home! The hot tub is a must with panoramic ocean views suspended over a rolling hill. Only complaint is that there were quite a few ants in the kitchen so don't leave your food open or easily accessible!
Manager response:
We have arranged an appointment with an exterminator to get rid of the ants. Thanks!
John B. Mar 2018
Perfect Oceanfront siting in an authentic vintage home. Accommodations could be updated for creature comforts but in general a great value. Challenging Seating in the sunken living room but views couldn’t be better. Heating was a bit inconsistent...
Beverly P. Jan 2018
The home is on the hillside with amazing views of the ocean from almost every room. The layout was perfect for our family and our dog - the perfect place to relax and enjoy the view!
Wendy B. Jan 2018
My sister and I couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful couple of days in Sea Ranch. We debated back and forth whether we wanted to stay on the west side of the highway, or up on the hill, and we were actually really happy with the decision to stay at Crow’s Nest. The house is definitely dated and could use some updating, but it included everything that we could possibly need - and the view!!!! It just so happened to be a beautiful, clear, sunny couple of days, and the view from the living room and the hot tub were just perfect.

The house is really unique. I only wish the living room had more comfortable furniture. It’s a little awkward, but I would absolutely stay again!
Renate O. Jan 2018
It felt like home, only the view was so spectacular - our real homes could not ever match this. Great to be so close to a big body of water. Weather ever changing, every day was different. The house was sunny through the whole day (when there was sun), the oven supporting a cozy and warm wellbeing. It's a family home and we appreciated the chance to reside in such in special place - even if only for a few days.

Patrick R. Dec 2017
Great location, awesome views & very private - good size as well. Great deck. A bit rustic but workable, especially if bringing a dog.
Tammy J. Oct 2017
This is a beautiful home with all the amenities you could ever want for a relaxing weekend. We only left the house to shop for food as we preferred to hang around the house to enjoy the scenery. Although we had an issue with the heat, it is an easy fix for future guests. The area is quiet, friendly and has everything you need for any activity, be it hiking, hanging out at the beach, watching tv or reading a book. We rented the house for a girls weekend and it was time well spent.
Aimee G. Oct 2017
loved the place. the pictures dont lie. would come back in a heartbeat.
Yu X. Oct 2017
Excellent place for a romantic get away vacation. It is such Beatiful ocean view from each edge of the rooms. It is very quite place.
Martha M. Oct 2017
We had an amazing girls trip and the house was beautiful. The views were incredible and watching the sunset while in the hot tub was priceless. We definitely plan on returning
Janina M. Sep 2017
My family stayed here for my mom's bday weekend. We had a great time! Sea Ranch is beautiful, and the house/property is a relaxing place to spend the weekend. We painted on the deck, played games by the fire, and enjoyed home cooked meals together at the large dining table. Enjoying a view of the stars and the ocean at night from the hot tub was a definite highlight.

The furnishings and amenities are all pretty basic and "rustic" - so don't go in expecting upgraded bathroom and kitchen amenities, etc. You will have everything you need for a comfortable stay, though. We would be happy to stay here again.
Kanji S. Sep 2017
The height of the house from the sea level is just right to observe the delicate change of the colors as well as the wind patterns of the ocean.
Vincent D. Sep 2017
Very relaxing with the ocean view and the hypnotizing sound of the waves. The back deck was both private and peaceful, and the hot tub was very relaxing. There is a full compliment of kitchen gadgets and utensils, so we fixed a nice romantic dinner one night of a shrimp and clam boil without a hitch. Twofish store is just down the road, and their pizza, pastries and sandwiches are very tasty as well. At dusk we watched the little bats chasing insects by the viewing windows, and in the mornings, the neighborhood turkey family passed through the back yard. During the day, we managed to walk down to all 5 of the public access beaches in Sea Ranch to build up our appetites. The anniversary retreat was just what we needed to make our special time fun and memorable.
Elisabeth B. Sep 2017
This house has an espetacular view of the ocean. It was very relaxing to watch the sunset from the jacuzzi. I didn't give it 5 stars because the house needs a deep cleaning; it seemed dusty to me. It also needs some maintenance; kitchen door wasn't shutting properly. You have to push it all the way before locking it. Anyways, I would still come back; this house has the most amazing view of the ocean.
Elisa M. Aug 2017
The house is absolutely beautiful and in a gorgeous secluded, area. My husband loved the hot tub and the view from the hot tub! The kitchen had everything we needed. The only minor dislike was the hot water in the shower seemed to run out quickly. Other than that, we loved our stay here and would return!
Maya E. Jul 2017
We loved our stay so much.
The photos are exactly correct here. We were so lucky to stay during a super sunny time and the sky was bright blue and it was a heavenly view.
We will definitely stay again-it was a perfect retreat.
Andrea E. Jul 2017
The house is amazing - especially the hot tub and living room – and I hope to return. What a perfect view! However as stated in other reviews the house is in need of TLC and a deep cleaning - I only offer these details because I think it would be pretty easy to make the house perfect. The comforters were musty, some of the furniture is quite dusty, and the floors edges are dirty. Some of the white towels are stained - could be easily replaced with darker towels so stains would not show. Most of the patio furniture is old and uncomfortable and could easily be replaced. Master bed is extremely squeaky and about a foot too low to see the ocean. Master bath shower head has too much pressure and is much too short for a 6-foot-tall guest, and the shower curtain gets sucked in against your legs when showering - again, easy to improve. Working with the staff at Vacasa was wonderful, and I look forward to a future visit for more time lying in the sun inside those wonderful living room windows, staring out at the ocean.
Manager response:
Housekeeping has been asked to be more thorough on their housekeeping between reservations; a deep clean will be scheduled in the fall once the busy summer season has ended. The stained towels have been replaced, and the owners plan on replacing the outdoor furniture this fall. Thank you!
Herbert A. Jun 2017
The home itself is beautiful. Great(!) views, and nicely designed house by Don Jacobs, a terrific architect of early Sea Ranch homes.
Pamela V. Jun 2017
The views from this home are breathtaking, you can unplug, relax in the hot tub and just let the world melt away for a few days.
Tiia S H. Jun 2017
Amazing views, peace, quiet and privacy is what our family enjoyed during our stay. The hot tub with a view was one of our favorite spots. The kitchen is well equipped. We didn't get a chance to try out the recreational complexes, but enjoyed the area's hiking trail very much.
Jamie D. Jun 2017
Quintessential Sea Ranch home. Expansive ocean views from almost every room. Deck and hot tub were the perfect retreat. Spacious enough for a group, yet cozy and private enough for a couple's getaway.
Jillian F. Jun 2017
We stayed here May 29th- June 1, 2017 and it was amazing. The views are absolutely breathtaking, and the hot tub overlooking them really is an added touch. The house itself it very nice, its cosy and more "rustic". It could use a deep clean, but overall I happy with it. I can't say enough about the view, and honestly that is what you are paying for. We would go back to this location!
Kathleen M. May 2017
I have stayed in dozens of Sea Ranch rentals over 35+ years - this is one of my 3 favorites.
Kendra T. May 2017
We loved staying at the Crow's Nest house during our last Sea Ranch trip in May 2017. The house is very large and can easily accommodate a large group. It also has a nice fenced-in patio area that is great for dogs. We lucked out with some amazing weather while were there, so got to take full advantage of the beautiful deck, but on a stormy day lounging by the fire and looking out the living room windows would have been just as great. We really loved the location, nestled into the trees so it seems like you don't have any neighbors. Many of the kitchen appliances are old, but they still work great.
Monika K. May 2017
Overall my family and I had a pleasantly wonderful weekend in this home. The views were spectacular, hot tub location is superb, and the weather wasn't hard to beat! Bring extra towels!
Kitchen was very nicely stocked with everyday supplies and cook ware.
Pleasantly surprised of the location, and definitely want to come back soon!
Michael L. May 2017
This is a great getaway house for a small group or up to a larger family. The location is very private and the views from throughout the house are spectacular.

Needed upgrades include; Regular pest control, the furnishings, better living room chairs , bedroom set , lamps and stereo receiver (Bluetooth). If you have CDs you'll be fine it no radio signal. If the above things are addressed correctly I would not hesitate to give this house 5 stars.
Bart W. May 2017
Walk into the living room with all the windows and look out over the Pacific Ocean. You'll be blown away. Enough said.
Abrah H. May 2017
Overall we had a Greta experience here at Crownsville Nest.
Pros: AMAZING views, quiet, private, sunroom.
we enjoyed hanging outside in the hot run taking in the views!

Cons: kitchen appliances (did not function properly or at all)
I would still come back! It was an enjoyable weekend minus kitchen hiccups.
Manager response:
The oven door hinges are due to be replaced in the next couple of weeks. Thanks!
Marlene B. Apr 2017
This home has the most beautiful view of any of the many, many homes we have stayed at in Sea Ranch. Hot tub though is a little strange though, no seating! Not relaxing to stand up or crouch down. I am 5'6" and water went over my mouth if I tried to sit on bottom...which doesn't work because you float.
Jordan W. Apr 2017
We loved the location. It offered a spectacular view of the ocean. Whether you were in the living room, kitchen, or sipping a drink from the hot tub!!
The house is roomy, and built around windows so you dont miss a thing.
PS: yes, the turkeys will gobble back at you!!
Meghan G. Apr 2017
I would stay here a 1,000 more times...magical!
Maia S. Apr 2017
The architecture and location is fantastic! The rental setup as well. The only disappointment was having the house lose power for a day and a half (and as we left again too). We heard lots of generators in the neighborhood and a neighbor says this is pretty common. The wood stove kept us warm and the view made up for it but it was a bummer to lose food in a defrosting fridge and time in the hot tub. We'd definitely come back!
Michael D. Apr 2017
Beautiful interior and deck! Views are outstanding. Area is quiet and peaceful.
Kitchen seems like an afterthought though especially for people that love to cook as there were issues with oven, d/w and cooking ware. BYO towels and picnic items.
Susie R. Mar 2017
The first impression of the house was that the view was incredible and we were very excited to be in this location. We saw whales every day that we were there and wished we had had binoculars. Sunsets were spectacular. We did have to drive to the bluff trails, but it was short and parking was no issue. Once you're on the trails, you can go miles and discover all of kinds of amazing areas - black sand beaches, driftwood beach, bluff trails and more.

We used the well-stocked kitchen to cook most nights. You do need to bring staples like salt and sugar, but there was plenty of cookware and utensils. The kitchen is small, but you have a great view of the ocean so cooking in it was enjoyable.

We were lucky enough to be there when there was some good weather and we enjoyed the deck and using the grill and being in the hot tub quite a bit. It would have been great if they had provided a few extra towels for those traveling from far away (we couldn't travel with beach towels). You only get one small bath towel, one hand towel and one wash cloth per person, which felt a little skimpy.

The fireplace was great and we used it every day. There was plenty of wood, but unfortunately no matches, so we had to drive up to Gualala (only about 12 minutes) to buy some.

We were slightly disappointed when we arrived to find that we didn't have enough towels and were missing a bath mat and kitchen towels, but within a day, all of it was brought to the house.

The washer/dryer is tiny, so you may want to plan to bring enough clothes that you don't need to rely on doing laundry.

I found the master bed to be comfortable, and the bedding was clean and soft.

The hot water heater didn't last long. After one shower, the water started to get luke warm and then chilly, so we had to spread our showers out.

Despite the above complaints, nothing was so bad that we wouldn't want to stay there again. The area was beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed reading, bird-watching and playing games in the main room.
Susan G. Mar 2017
The Crow's Nest is an amazing place! I thought there was no way the place could live up to its pictures, but it was actually better! Having a cocktail on the desk was like being at a resort! The hot tub was awesome, the furnishings were great and the kitchen has an ocean view!

The sunken living room with the great mid century furniture was perfect for relaxing the day away and for playing games at night. All the bedrooms were comfortable and very well situated. The home's location is perfect. Perched on the hill, overlooking the ocean, but no other homes, it felt like you could almost touch the sea. This house cannot be beat for the value. I will stay no where else in The Sea Ranch.
Matti E. Mar 2017
Home has nice view however, this home heats up very warm throughout the day and cools down quickly once sun sets. Heaters are ineffective in heating. The light bulb was burned out or broken in dining room and the lighting in living room is inadequate at night. We had to eat on our laps in the living room, while sitting on floor cushions because there was no sturdy furniture. What you see in booking add is what you get. Upon leaving, We found a pair of women's underwear under the queen bed and swept up lots of dog hair not belonging to our dog. Booking was simple and easy as was checking in and out. We will not be renting the Crows Nest again.
Danielle B. Mar 2017
We loved this spot! The views and living room are even more impressive in person. Location is great, it's up on the hill and we enjoyed roaming around the hiking trails nearby. The hot tub was hot and relaxing, especially at night the stars were amazing. We cooked a lot in the kitchen and that all worked out. I think our only complaint is that the mattress in the second (non-master) bedroom was pretty uncomfortable and soft, my guess is it's old. The bed was kind of small too, maybe it's the size that full was awhile ago. I went with friends and I slept in the bunk beds, I'm very short so it totally worked but they are definitely kid sized!
Max M. Feb 2017
The view is it. If that's all you care about then this one is gorgeous. We've stayed at other Vacasa places and they've been clean and well kept. This place needs seriously TLC. I'd be weary to recommend unless you are getting a really good deal.
Manager response:
We apologize that cleanliness was not up to par for this reservation; we have followed-up with housekeeping regarding our expectations.
Elizabeth S. Jan 2017
Gorgeous location overlooking the ocean. The house is a reflection of original and authentic Sea Ranch with its sunken living room and even the stacks of National Geographic magazines on the shelves. We enjoyed gorgeous sunsets from the hot tub, and views of the full moon setting in the early morning.
Kyle S. Jan 2017
We were really pleased with our stay at this house. The home is up on the hill, so it has some incredible unobstructed views of the ocean. The home itself is a little outdated, but that's really a minor complaint, it's a great value for the cost of the rental. The weekend we stayed was terrible weather, but the patio looked like it would be a great place to spend a nice day. We would certainly rent it again.
Colin M. Dec 2016
Overall one of the nicest retreats we have had anywhere.
Rhiannon L. Nov 2016
Awesome hot tub with beautiful view. Amazing sunset
Trianda K. Nov 2016
We loved our time at Crow's Nest and will definitely be back to stay in this gem! The house is warm and inviting and had everything needed for a comfortable, relaxing stay. We brought all of our own food and there was plenty of kitchen equipment to prepare meals and enjoy in the beautiful dining room. Also loved relaxing in the hot tub and outside deck. The location is ideal-in the hills with a huge expansive view of the ocean for the best of both worlds. Check-in was easy and the late check-out option was an extra bonus since we didn't want to leave! We'll definitely be coming back to Sea Ranch and Crow's Nest again and again.