USA Gulf Coast Florida Key West Listing #10824

Tropical Village - Tropical Cottage - Key West, FL

Take a Virtual Tour
75 reviews
Max. occupancy: 6 1 King Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms Sleeps 5 comfortably  4 dog max  (30 lb weight limit) 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Tranquil Dog-friendly Getaway with Shared Pool, WiFi, & AC - Snowbirds Welcome

Slip into vacation mode as you explore Duval Street and dive into the beach scene when you book your trip to this dog-friendly Key West cottage. Featuring street parking, a relaxing shared pool, and a location that puts you right in the heart of the action, up to six guests and a canine companion (for a small nightly fee) can come and enjoy!

Located five blocks from Higgs Beach Pier, and a short walk to palette-pleasing dining spots on Duval Street, this home will make it easy to immerse yourself in the postcard-perfect beach scene.

Wake up with a stroll along the beach to a small cafe for a fresh seaside breakfast. Spend the day working on your tan by the crashing waves, or get out on the water with a stand-up paddleboard session or a deep sea fishing adventure. Unwind poolside at the shared pool, then use the community grill to put a sear on some fresh seafood. Connect to the free WiFi to stream some music as you lounge in the central A/C. Check out what's on cable while the shared washer/dryer takes care of the dirty clothes.

Treat yourself to a stress-free getaway when you book this beachside Florida cottage and vacation in style.

*Please note that last-minute bookings cannot be made online. Call Vacasa for details.*

Other permit number: 25230-70746

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Shared

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Internet : Comcast


Cable : Comcast

Wireless router

On-site activities

Pool : Shared


Gas grill : Private


Beach towels

Shared Charcoal Grill

Enclosed yard



75 reviews

Sandra W. Feb 2023
very comfortible
Kathleen W. Dec 2022
We loved our little tropical retreat! We had 5 adults and it was just perfect. The pool area was very nice and each cottage has it’s own little private patio area which we enjoyed. We will definitely stay here again.
Patrick D. Dec 2022
Location was great - walkable to many things but off the beaten path a bit so it was relatively quiet.
Denise Y. Nov 2022
Beautiful, clean, homey, great location, and supplied with all the comforts of home! Awesome mini vaca!!
Kathryn S. Nov 2022
Beautiful home, quiet location yet close to everything Key West has to offer. Would definitely rent again.
Antonio V. Aug 2022
This was one of the most memorable amazing vacations my family and I have ever had. Thank you Vacasa and team. Our cottage was impeccably clean organized and well maintained. My family and I will most definitely plan to revisit again
Thank you again and we'll see you soon
Tiffany R. Jul 2022
Great location, great Amenities
Lisa B. Jul 2022
This house was absolutely perfect for our family. The location was perfect and the house was very cozy. We loved the pool and the property!
Steve M. Jun 2022
We liked that we stayed at the quiet end of Duval street.
SUSAN H. Apr 2022
Just loved everything about this place. So close to southern most point. Close to upper Duvall st. Fantastic location. Safe neighborhood. Loved having one of the owners nearby. Clark made us feel welcome. Also kept the other people in the nearby houses in check. Warm and inviting feel to the cottage..loved staying there !
Neil B. Feb 2022
We arrived to find music blaring and very loud children and adults in the shared pool. The private outside area of the house is very small and there is little privacy from the other houses that share the pool. We left and stayed at a guesthouse.
Manager response:
Thanks for your review, Neil. Please know we strive to provide every guest with a relaxing stay and while surrounding noise is often out of our control, we always make an effort to remedy noise complaints when notified. We were unable to assist with this as we were not notified. Again, we apologize for the impact this had on your visit, and we appreciate this feedback as a means to continually improve.
Jenna W. Jan 2022
We loved the little cottage. The check in process was a breeze. The place was spotless!! The location was absolutely perfect. Close to everything, but quite and peaceful.

Only negatives is to get to the main part of the house you need to walk through the master bedroom. I was traveling with my senior parents. It was at times awkward. Also, the doors to the second bedroom and second bathrooms are slated so you can hear literally everything. Again, awkward when traveling with parents.

Overall, would definitely recommend and would stay here again!
Jaime W. Dec 2021
This house met our needs perfectly. We are a family of 4 with two young boys who both enjoyed the pool greatly. The location was superb. Was surprised that the fridge didn’t have an ice maker, that was the only real complaint. The bed was super comfy & I slept well each night with minimal outside noise.
Gabrielle P. Oct 2021
Loved the cute cottage rental, enough space for five adults. Had a wonderful time.
Annette B. Sep 2021
Great stay! Easy access in and out. We were fortunate to find plenty of parking. Easy walk to everything! We really enjoyed our stay!
Kim M. Aug 2021
This house is perfect! It’s in the perfect location, perfect layout and perfect grounds (great pool access). It was a great trip!
Judi A. Aug 2021
It was a great location. Close to Duval and many shops and restaurants. The plumbing was lacking. And the night before we left there was a sewer smell. I called and a person was sent to the house. He poured drain o down all the toilets and sinks and showers. He said sometimes this happens because of the tropical storm. But I live in south Florida and have never had that issue before. So unfortunately we had to endure that smell for the last evening and the morning of departure.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Judi. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our home! We sincerely apologize for the issues that you experienced with the sewer smell and we thank you for reaching out to us so that our local staff could promptly resolve this issue. We hope to have the chance to better impress you in the future!
tracey S. Jul 2021
Myself and two girlfriends arrived at this cute little cottage house to celebrate our 50th birthday. It was a great location and the pool was a plus, especially considering how hot and humid it was. The check in instructions were sent before we arrived for our check in at 4pm. We flew in to Key West and took an Uber to the house and arrived about 3:50pm, the cleaners were still there and we did not get to enter the house until 4:30pm. We noticed a mini fridge in the living space area and were pleased because we thought what a great idea to have a drink fridge. We got an Uber to the grocery store and then another Uber back. We unloaded the groceries and opened the fridge to learn that it was not cooling at all, same thing for the freezer (a fairly new fridge it seemed). I immediately called the Vacasa number and was told that someone would call be back and they would have this resolved in the next hour. Well no one ever called me back as of 12:30AM so i of course called them. It took me speaking to 4 people before anyone ever called back like they said they would. A HUGE THANK YOU to Tammy and the local office in Key West (which we visited) for following through with what she said she would do with a simple call back! If it were not for the local KEY WEST office being so nice and concerned then i would be on here blasting Vacasa and this rating would be a 0 but Tammy and the other two ladies there made it 3 stars. I am not sure why we were not told about the frig before we checked in since they obviously knew it did not work. Just make sure to call the morning of check in to make sure ALL appliances are working properly. Our back gate on our patio would not lock because the wood swelled and it would not close. some lights were out at the pool too. All in all a good house.
Manager response:
Hi, Tracey! Thank you so much for telling us about your stay. We apologize for the disappointments you encountered and have staff assigned to check various parts of the property to get everything in good order. Hopefully you'll return to see the improvements.
Tiffany C. Jun 2021
Everything was just perfect! Location. Cleanliness. Pool. Comfort. We were a group of 6 and we’d all happily stay here again. Thank you.
Jillian G. May 2021
The location and house was perfect for a girls trip! A few blocks away from the beach and the Southernmost Point, this house is wonderful for a relaxing weekend getaway. I would recommend renting bikes to go to Duval Street. We rented bikes, and had a wonderful time getting around the island. The shared pool was fantastic! Loved the kitchen layout, too. We had groceries delivered so we could cook breakfast at the house every day. This is perfect for a close group to hangout (the doors would not be sound proof for couples, but is perfectly fine for a friends getaway). I would highly recommend this house for a super fun girls trip!
Ria M. Apr 2021
Great cottage. 6 of us stayed here, 4 adults and 2 kids, totally enough space. Great facilities, especially the pool. Close to everything we walked everywhere!
Michelle B. Mar 2021
Perfect location for walking to historic sites. Loved the pool and sitting area around it. Great place to relax in private
Bruce S. Feb 2021
Great location off the main beat and quiet. Pool is clean and refreshing. nice yard to park bikes and good restaurants close by. only a few blocks from the public beach on Oceanside.
Julie M. Feb 2021
Nice property - good people.
House was updated and comfortable.
Chelsie F. Jan 2021
The pool was lovely and heated a bit. The master suite was nice. However the other beds were not comfy for adults. The pull out was super uncomfortable and our 5th person slept on the couch. Very little privacy as the doors had slats on them...and were not really doors. Also the pull out was in an annex off the master you would have to cross through the master bedroom to get into the house and/or use the bathroom. There was nothing in the kitchen for fool, salt, pepper, oil. Nothing. So just FYI.
Manager response:
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Chelsie. We are very sorry to hear the beds did not suit your preferences. The mattresses are in good working order, but each guest has their own unique preference. We sincerely hope for the opportunity to provide you with another truly special vacation in the future!
Stacey W. Dec 2020
We really enjoyed staying at the Tropical Cottage! It is located a few streets away from Duval. So it was a little away from the crowds. It was a quick walk to the Southernost Point.

It has been nicely updated with a beautiful kitchen that was perfectly stocked with cookware. Master bath was very nice too. Only negatives were the slatted bedroom doors which made for zero privacy. You could hear every sound made as if there were no doors. I would highly suggest the owners replace those doors with solid wood doors.

The pool was very nice but it was too cold during our stay for us to swim. The private outdoor patio was nice to sit and chat.

It was pretty chilly at night so we loved the space heaters. It would be great for the owners to provide a few blankets in the closet for the guest bedroom. All in all we would definitely stay here again!
Manager response:
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and everything the home had to offer, Stacey! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback, which has been passed along to local management so we can continue to improve this home for future guests. We look forward to hosting you again!
John P. Nov 2020
We loved everything. The location, the layout, the spaciousness. Great value!
Sandra S. Sep 2020
Beautiful place, located close to the southern most point, quick walk to everything, the property is very nice, the shared pool is great and you have a privacy. The beds were really comfy and everything was really nice and clean. The automated check in and check out system was very convenient and easy. Will definitely stay again.
Doug H. Sep 2020
The Vacasa team was great to work with and if anything was needed they were available and quick to respond. House is so nice, very to spend a week there and get lost and so convenient to anywhere in Key West. Thank you so much for making the trip amazing!
Michele G. Aug 2020
When my party of 4 arrived I was already given the gate code and house door code and it couldn’t be more perfect. It was spotless, such a great location providing privacy and short walk or bike ride to almost everything. We rented bikes and had a nice spot to keep them in the front house area that was protected by the gated area. Fully equipped kitchen with anything you need for meals and hosting so you don’t need to pack any utensils or other kitchen gadgets as they have it all. It was exactly as pictured online and the pool area is beautiful. The pool is warm so if you need a crisp dip it will be more like a bathtub. I would recommend bringing your own fan because the bathroom off the kitchen doesn’t have one built in and a shower in there gets pretty steamy. But if you are looking for a nice home that is exactly as promised and provides you a relaxed key west experience this is it!
Vincent O. Aug 2020
Loved cottage. Great location. One of minuses no parking on grounds. Weather was really bad made it easier to find street parking thought. Also room with two twin beds. If you dont like a hard bed these were not good. The other thing that could be done leave a welcome book with info. Don’t want to have to call to find washing machine. Other wise clean, nice location, all equipped kitchen. Would book again.
Tim K. Aug 2020
So, where to begin. Our first impression was that there were sugar ants in every room. Also, the guest bathroom smelled like sewage, so bad that the four of us used the master bath. The twin beds are on wheels, so anytime our daughters changed position, the bed would move. The pool is right outside, which in nice, unless of course you have neighbors that like to play loud music and party until late at night. Also, on two separate occasions, we had “staff” from Vacasa come into the house while we were there. When we came out and confronted them, they seemed surprised and left. I called Vacasa and they seemed indifferent. One thing the neighbors told us, which was concerning, was that Vacasa must not change the codes often. They checked out and then decided to use the pool and then go back into the property to shower before leaving that night. These houses are a great location and have huge potential, unfortunately I think that the owners need a new management company. We will look elsewhere on our next visit to Key West.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Tim. We are sorry to read your visit was not a more positive experience. Door codes are changed between each guests; we will look into this situation to see what might have happened. Sugar ants are inevitable in the area when food is left out, but we do our best to stay on top of them. Housekeeping will check for any smells and take care of the ants and the rollings beds. We hope to have a chance to impress you in the future!
Lissandra A. Jul 2020
This is a nice place to stay in Key West, it is clean, comfortable and near very near to Duval. I highly recommend it!
Dan K. Jul 2020
I had not been to KW in years. What a mistake. Even during Covid we had a blast. Some days on the water and others by the pool. This house is perfect for a couple or small group. Attention to detail! everything is so close, walk to eat or drink!
I give this place 5 stars - you will love it.
Smokey L. Jul 2020
We really enjoyed our stay
Valerie F. Mar 2020
This would have been a 5 star review except for the noisy neighbors who decided it would be a good idea to have a pool party at 4 am. The house was great, the location was close to everything, but the shared pool area at the back of the house, while nice, did not provide the quiet and privacy we would have preferred.
Manager response:
Hi Valerie, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We sincerely apologize for our neighbors not respecting our space and the quiet hours of the complex. We hope to host you again for a more enjoyable stay!
Eloise M. Mar 2020
Excellent location but be aware that there is no onsite management to deal with loud parties in cottages adjacent to you.
Manager response:
Thank you for your feedback, Eloise. We apologize for any nearby noise that may have disrupted your stay. It is relayed to guests in our check-in materials that while our local property manager is not on-site to greet guests, our professional, dedicated team is standing by should any need arise. We encourage guests to reach out to our property management team directly via the contact information provided in check-in instructions with any concerns. We hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Lisa P. Feb 2020
We enjoyed the cute cottage feel and ample room environment. perfect for two couples or family of four. Nice pool area and ideal for walking into the main drag of town.
Pascal P. Feb 2020
Downtown Key West you will have your own home. Great! Near all spots.
It was clean and complete.
Terry K. Feb 2020
walking distance to Duval street . nice pool clean neat house.
John P. Jan 2020
The house was perfect for our visit to key west. I would highly recommend the house.
Kristi W. Jan 2020
Great cottage for a girls trip! We had 6 in our group and we had plenty of room. Pool is mostly shade so if you're looking for a sunny pool this wont work for you. But everything else was great!
Maria Linda E. Dec 2019
We loved how clean the place is and how close it is to everything is. We did enjoy our stay. The only thing i didnt care for is the lay out of the place, wish the entrance does not have to pass thru our master bedroom. Aside from that everything is great. We will stay again
Christopher G. Nov 2019
Only a couple of blocks off Duval, this home was exactly what we wanted. Kitchen was well stocked and loved having our coffee on the back porch in the morning. Exterior needs some maintenance, but the inside was clean and up to date.
Manager response:
Hi Christopher, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay in our home. We appreciate your feedback as we continue to make improvements to our home. We hope to host you again soon!
Joseph C. Nov 2019
We loved the cleanliness and fresh scent. It was great for 4 people. Plenty of towels, soap and kitchen supplies. My daughter would have loved a water stopper for the bathtub though.
Anthony S. Nov 2019
We enjoyed staying here. Very convenient location, well kept, amazing kitchen area, the pool/patio setup was great. I think the only thing I would change is that there were quite a few ants in the bathrooms but I'm sure that's just part of being in a tropical locale. Would for sure go back.
Manager response:
We have asked Orkin to do an extra ant treatment at the home, and housekeeping has been advised to keep an eye out for ants as well. Thank you!
Mark F. Oct 2019
We could not believe how lucky we were when we arrived. We didn't study maps or have a guide for making the decision, and so to realize how perfectly located it was blew us away. We stayed as two couples and it worked out great. We pushed the two twin beds together in one room, each of us had our own bathroom, and the shared areas were fantastic. The pool was great, and we saw an iguana in the tree out back. We appreciated all the Vacasa touches: extra pool towels rolled up by the back door, some coffee pouches laid out for us by the machine, and lots of dish and kitchen wares. We had a great stay.
Jessica P. Sep 2019
We enjoyed our stay here, and found the cottage to be well appointed and well located. As other reviewers note, the layout is a little odd - you enter through the master bedroom. This wasn't a problem for us - there is a back door too if needed. I also found other reviewers' privacy complaints a little overblown. If you need more privacy than available here, I don't think you should be sharing a space with other people & should just stay in a hotel. We had a few minor problems during our stay, but the Vacasa team was responsive and quick to correct the situation. Our towels were replenished throughout the week, which I wasn't expecting.
Laszlo O. May 2019
Stayed here with a few buddies for a bachelor party. Great location, full kitchen for cooking, pool, comfy beds. Overall it was exactly what we were looking for and would book it again without hesitation.
Kent F. May 2019
Great accommodations. Pool was perfect for afternoon
Angela H. Mar 2019
Easy to access the rental, great location.
John H. Aug 2018
Great part of town, quiet with a great pool and outside area. The cottage needs some attention.
Carlos R. Aug 2018
I had a great stay loved the gift bag with all the recommendations and maps. I thought that was a nice touch.
Patti R. Jul 2018
The cottage was great. Perfect for my husband and I, our daughter and granddaughter. Very nice having a pool to cool off in after a long day. Cheap uber ride to Mallory square. Only complaint is the poor water pressure and the second bathroom was hot.
Sherry B. Jul 2018
Cottage was very nice. Plenty of room. Very clean. Maid service was very good. The employee was very nice and accommodating with fresh towels and an extra box of tissues. The only complaint were the ants that got into our pastries left on the counter but I know that ants are a common south Florida issue and should have know better.
Stephanie C. Jun 2018
Christie B. Jun 2018
Far enough from the hustle and bustle of Duval Str., but very convenient to walk most places. Very clean and kitchen was equipped with what you need. Will be back!
Shannon T. Apr 2018
Great location! Clean & quirky!
Raymond P. Apr 2018
We had a great stay! The location is excellent...close enough, but quiet!
Erin P. Mar 2018
Lovely place, great location but not sound proof at all!!!
Diane A. Mar 2018
The cottage is ideally located walking distance to Duval Street and area beaches and restaurants small pool very helpful when we were tired of the beach beautifully decorated plenty of towels great staff
Christina M. Jan 2018
We found a gift bag upon arrival including a few things that we didnt think to pack like a deck of cards, wine opener, dishwasher pods and liquid dish soap. We loved the beautiful open kitchen & livingroom floorplan. The bathrooms came with travel size soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion and even makeup remover wipes. Nice touch!

The second bedroom had two twin beds that we pushed together. A little European, but it worked for us. Mattresses are FIRM.

All doors are slatted so you can hear every conversation, laugh, cough, etc of everyone in the house. The compresser of the fridge was so loud at times it was almost comical. But luckily i always travel with foam earplugs. The slatted doors make for an interesting bathroom situation though, especially for the second bath which is just off the kitchen.

We visited in January during a cold spell. We searched but found only one *very* thin blanket in the house so we were happy we brought warm sweatshirts and long pants. Brrrr! Management said they would address the situation with housekeeping.

The heated pool was nice! There was a private grill on our private patio plus two more large grills in the common space next to the pool. We wished we had time to use the grills.

The property management staff was very pleasant to work with and very quick to reapond to emails. We felt as if they cared and wanted us to enjoy our time in Key West. Check in/out was simple. Thanks for a lovely stay at Tropical Cottage!
Michelle T. Nov 2017
This rental was the such a lovely price for a two-couple vacation and in a perfect location. Unfortunately the layout didn't really work. This rental has one ensuite bathroom, but the front door opens into the bedroom, so it lacks privacy. The second bedroom has two twin beds (which we didn't know from the pictures of description), and the bathroom is on the other side of the common area, so lacks privacy. The walls are paper thin throughout, thus rounding out the theme of ABSOLUTELY NO PRIVACY. Add that to the price point and it seems this place draws groups of young people who will make absurd amounts of noise at absurd hours of the night, which is great if you, too, are a young person prone to making absurd amounts of noise at absurd hours of the night. However if you're a married 30-something traveling with another couple of married 30-somethings means you end up outside at 3am trying to put on your Authoritative Adult Voice to get the young people to shut the fork up so you can have a proper night's sleep. And you might find yourself out there three times, because the walls are PAPER THIN and you can hear literally everything that happens in the entire village from your bed, no matter how asleep you were when they got back from the bars. Add to the sound and layout issued to nonfunctional wifi and various nonfunctional lights, I can't recommend this rental. To adults, anyway. If you're 22 and traveling with a bunch of friends, have at it! Enjoy. I won't be back.
Manager response:
Maintenance was able to fix the lights immediately following this guest's stay. We wish they had contacted us regarding the matter at the beginning of their reservation so we could have helped the guests have access to these lights during their visit. These units were very busy during this time, and we believe it was probably loud. We do provide a few contact numbers and ask that our guests call if they need assistance. We would have been able to assist in enforcing quiet hours had we been advised of the need. Thanks!
James G. Nov 2017
House was a couple blocks from Southernmost Cafe so close for a good breakfast and ducal street. Smaller home that's fits four people comfortbally but wouldn't try and fit more then that. Had a great experience overall.