USA Texas Galveston Sunny Beach - Galveston Listing #12451

Vista al Mar - Galveston, TX

Take a Virtual Tour
49 reviews
Max. occupancy: 4 2 Queen Bed 2 bedrooms 1 bathroom 2 dog max  (40 lb weight limit) 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Dog-friendly home with ocean views, peaceful location, and spacious shaded deck!

Sea breezes, rustling palms, and lazy days await at this delightful Galveston vacation home. Located just a few steps from the white sand and warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico, this classic beach house boasts lovely views and a dog-friendly attitude, so you can bring along the whole family! After a day in the sand and surf, head back to this charming retreat to dry off and relax. A giant, shady mezzanine deck offers the perfect place to cool off while admiring the view of the Gulf. Upstairs, fix yourself a snack or homemade meal in the fully-equipped kitchen, then kick back in the living room for a cozy night in! Watch a movie together on TV, catch up with friends back home with the free WiFi, or head over to the beach for a peaceful moonlight stroll.

What's nearby:
This vacation rental lies just southwest of Galveston proper, providing the perfect mix of quiet getaway and close proximity to the city's many restaurants and amusement parks. The beach lies just a stone's throw from your front door, making it easy to wander over for a game of frisbee or walk on the beach with your dog whenever you want. (A small nightly pet fee applies.) Then, delight the kids - and your inner kid! - with a day trip to Schlitterbahn Water Park (four miles) or the waterfront rides of Pleasure Pier (seven miles). With superb views, comfortable furnishings, and incredible access to the surf and sand, this beautiful home is the perfect choice for your next Galveston getaway. Book your reservation today!

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen (with dishwasher)
Snowbird-friendly - contact Vacasa to inquire about special rates!
*During the month of March, all guests staying must be at least 25 years of age or older.

*Please note: this home resides in a noise-sensitive area and the owners participate in our Good Neighbor protection program. Our smart home technology will alert our team if excessive decibel or occupancy levels are detected, allowing us to reach out directly with a friendly reminder rather than risking a noise complaint from a neighbor. This technology is privacy-compliant, and only monitors the presence of decibels and devices-not any personal conversation or information. Thank you for supporting our efforts to be good neighbors!*

A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: 2 vehicles can fit in the driveway. Please do not park on the street.

Guest Entry Instructions: This rental utilizes an E-lock, a digital lock that requires an unique code to enter. This code is reset after each guest's stay.

City/town permit number: GVR04325

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Kitchen & dining






Water view

Gulf view





Wireless router






49 reviews

Takesha R. Oct 2021
I enjoyed the ocean view, I love the quietness at night. The house was very comfortable.
Lisa E. Sep 2021
The house is nice. Not new, has imperfections, cozy, home feel. Vacasa worked well with us to be safe and get refund when we had to vacate early due to storm
Erin T. Aug 2021
The neighborhood is pretty quiet. Love the upgrades to the streets and drainage. It used to be a dirt road.
Karen C. May 2021
The quality here was not up to par. Cracks and water stains on walls. Sofa and pillows were worn to the point of being unclean. Beds marginal in comfort. Low water pressure, drinking glasses had an odd smell. Outdoor furniture worn and dirty. Tar puddled from wood pilings. Nice location, but house is overpriced for its age, quality and comfort level.
Manager response:
Hi ! Thank you for submitting your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered with low water pressure, an odd smell, and dirty furniture during your stay. We are so sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your time with us. We will follow up with the appropriate parties regarding your experience. We hope for another opportunity to host you again soon, for a much more enjoyable stay!
Megan W. Apr 2021
It was nice to rent for the weekend. Good view of the ocean and not a long walk to the beach. April was a grate time to visit Galveston. Cute little 2 bed house. Will definitely be back again soon! I loved the deck as well with the tall chairs and table.
Joe N. Apr 2021
It is close to the beach and in a quiet area close to town.
C Chad B. Mar 2021
This was a great basic home! The location to Sunny Beach is nice, you can walk or drive. You can see and hear the waves from the house from one side of the porch. We loved being able to drive onto Sunny Beach with all of our beach stuff. It’s a quiet neighborhood. The home and area are pet friendly. Two issues that were not resolved while we were there, but did not affect our trip much - microwave is broken and TV in the main room only shows one channel.

Overall, keep your expectations reasonable and you’ll have a great time!
Manager response:
Hi, Chad! The property manager has checked the microwave and TV to ensure both are working for our guests. Thank you for staying with us!
Eduardo C. Feb 2021
Loved that we can see the beach from the balcony! But the house is not in good shape!
With the windy weekend the house was rocking like a boat on the ocean! It was pretty scary! We thought house was going to collapse! The other big thing was the microwave is not heating things at all!
The ceiling in the living room is coming down!
For $300 a night like we paid NOT worth it!
Very dissatisfied!!
Manager response:
We appreciate your feedback, Eduardo. It is normal for a house on stilts to rock when it is as windy as it was during your stay; the home and stilts are secure and will not collapse. There is a spot on the ceiling that needs a touch-up from where settling has cracked it, but the ceiling is not falling down. The microwave will be taken care of. Thank you!
cathryn w. Jan 2021
It is pretty small, but ok for two or four people.
Christoper W. Dec 2020
It is a small space but it was all we needed.
Stephanie M. Oct 2020
The layout was really nice and I enjoyed the house very much. It was just a very short walk to the beach and there was a very beautiful view of the water from the upper deck. The flaws were more cosmetic than anything. The bathroom sink cabinet looks like it was separating from the wall and the bathtub would take forever to drain, but I'm sure the drainage issue is probably a simple fix. On the lower deck, the last two inches of the table leg for the glass table had rusted so bad and had fallen by the time we got there. In my bedroom, the futon looked like it may have been broken on the right side as the mattress part on that side leaned down lower than the left. Other than that, I thought the place was great! I might stay again. There were some bees there, but me and my dog just kinda walked around them to get to the stairs to the house and they didn't bother us.
Manager response:
Hi, Stephanie! We are so glad you stayed with us. The tub has been unclogged, and the broken table has been removed. Thank you!
Rodney W. Oct 2020
The home was as described, all the way down to the bee colony that lives nearby on the property. While they were not a nuisance, the amount of mosquitos on the property during our stay was extremely high. The bathroom drain on the shower was quite slow and one of the dining room chairs had a fracture at the top of the leg. The neighbors also had someone using a jackhammer LHR first day of arrival for a few hours straight (which understood is out of this owners control).

Besides the minor downfalls, the spot was conveniently located to beach access, had everything we could’ve needed for our stay, a beautiful view of the beach from a distance on the balcony, properly stocked dishwater and utensils, and the interior was clean through our time there (no insects on the interior of the building that I could see).
Annette M. Sep 2020
Overall, we had a really great time. Loved having access to laundry. The house is beautiful and was clean. My only complaint was the shower. The shower curtain was very dirty especially at the bottom (possibly moldy), which is an easy fix. I didn’t mind taking a shower but was not comfortable giving my daughter a bath. We would stay here again.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you had a good time. Thank you for making mention of items in the home that need some TLC. We take this feedback seriously and please know that local staff is available to assist with any issues you encounter while in the home. We hope to have the chance to host you again. Thank you!
Nick V. Aug 2020
We had an excellent weekend stay at the house, and really enjoyed the close proximity to the beach. The house is located in a quiet community, so if you’re looking for a relaxing, affordable vacation, look no further.
Chris M. Aug 2020
Close in to the Seawall couple of miles. Needs work minor but noticeable. Got there at about 2:30 was told check in was 4 no one there drove by did not see any one come or go until we opened the door at 5 till 4.. other than that had a nice short stay.3 days. So glad we could book for less than a full week.
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with Vacasa! Due to COVID-19, our housekeeping staff is implementing their Premium Clean procedure so they may need more time to clean each home. Because of this, we cannot allow guests to check-in early for their safety. We appreciate your understanding, and we hope you choose to book with us again!
Jennifer B. Jul 2020
Loved the house and location! Will be back!
Elizabeth Z. Jun 2020
My family of 4 just stayed at Vista al Mar and would absolutely go back! We had a relaxing and fun trip where we swam in the waves all day then retreated for a nap in the late afternoon. Our 4 and 9 year old kiddos begged us not to leave. We promised we’d be back soon, and we certainly will!

Special thanks & shout out to Christina W. with Vacasa for all of her help.
Bradley C. May 2020
Had a weekend getaway with my fiancé and this place was not only affordable, but very nice Too! 1 minute walk to the beach. WE SAW NO BEES our entire stay in the house. No mosquitos either. Place is very well kept up with. Storage on deck had sand toys and body boards! Decks are huge, 1 offers views of the beach and other offers almost complete privacy. Would have been nice to have toilet paper provided (atleast 1 roll) as I found out the hard way lol. Just bring your own before you arrive! But definitely didn’t hurt my opinion of the place and I’ll certainly be returning and referring my friends and family!
Manager response:
Bradley, it's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your getaway at the home! We typically provide a starter supply of toilet paper, we're so sorry that it was not properly stocked for your arrival. We are always willing to assist if we are notified of any oversights. We look forward to your next visit!
Shelley G. May 2020
We wanted a place to enjoy some quiet beach time, and this was it. The beach is close -- just a few flip-flop steps away -- but the breezy, shady decks and tall wood chairs were also wonderful. The AC works great, the wifi works great, the kitchen's fully stocked, the furniture is comfortable and everything is clean. Only two issues, which I'm sure will be addressed quickly: the oversink lights in the bathroom didn't work and the starters to the main area of the outdoor grill didn't work (we had to light a paper plate with the side burner to light the main burners). Would definitely come back when we need to relax...
William M. Feb 2020
This unit was nicely accommodated. It was clean and only a block from the beach.
The deck had a great view of the gulf.
We would love to come back here again.
This place is a must.
Andrew H. Feb 2020
It was a good time, short trip though.
Anita J. Dec 2019
Nice location, very clean, & was well equipped and cozy
Amanda D. Oct 2019
We loved our stay at Vista al Mar!! It was windy the night we arrived, so we could feel the house swaying underneath us, which was actually very interesting. Thankfully, the rest of our trip was blessed with good weather and was thoroughly enjoyable. The house had everything we could have needed, and the view was great!! Of course, the best part was the close proximity to the beach. We loved taking moonlit strolls on the beach every night. We can't wait to book another vacation here soon!
Elizabeth G. Oct 2019
Great early October weather
Deborah F. Sep 2019
This worked well for us. We enjoyed the beach.
Marianne E. Sep 2019
The view, sitting on the porch looking to the beach.
Clean and good athmosphere.
Douglas H. Aug 2019
Very cute and comfortable with gorgeous, relaxing views. Water pressure in bathroom was weak but no complaints at all.
Gena M. Jul 2019
Everything was as described & it was a short walk to the beach.
Kelvin S. Jul 2019
The whole experience was great! We be back very soon!!!
Matthew W G. Jul 2019
Our friends stayed in the same area so we had fun going back and forth and to the beach.
Jessica J. S. Jun 2019
This was a perfect house for my sister and I and kiddos. Close to the beach, all the needed amenities, clean, neat and they were even helpful when my kids drained my car battery!! We’re going to be back next year!!!
Dawna M. Jun 2019
Quiet neighborhood
Richard B. Dec 2018
It had a great view. We enjoyed the quite neighborhood. Everything was nice, the colors beach and even the detail to the penny tabletop.
Lisa F. Nov 2018
Great view and short walk to beach! Cute house and comfy beds . Distance to seawall can't be beat for a private beach house !
Tracie W. Sep 2018
Cute little house! Clean and updated! Ocean view only steps to the beach.
Katia P. Aug 2018
We loved the deck under the house! plenty of room to relax and enjoy the breeze, the water views were great too!
Patricia H. Jul 2018
Cute little house! It was the perfect 5 day beach house rental. The house is adequately furnished for relaxing and cooking and spending time on the beach. The open kitchen dining and living area are very accommodating. Ocean views from both decks are awesome and it’s just a short walk from the beach. We will definitely be back.
Marilyn A. Jul 2018
This was a nice two bedroom home with a short walk to the beach. There was a nice breeze on the porch that was very enjoyable, Could use a out door shower and good pots and pans. Nice yard with grass if you have kids, Everything you needed was provided. Pack light, lots of stairs.
Ryan B. May 2018
We loved how close to the beach we were. The bed were very comfortable, the decks were great for just sitting or eating, the ocean breeze was wonderful! We will definitely be back!
Maria S. Mar 2018
The beach house is is nicely decorated, comfortable, and clean. It has everything you need for your stay. We really enjoyed the ocean view from both decks. You can hear the surf and feel the breeze. It only takes a minute to walk down to the beach and you're close enough to go back to the house easily for meals or whatever. Very near the seawall - you can actually walk or ride a bike to the seawall along the beach. But, far enough away that you have some quiet and privacy.