USA Yellowstone National Park Montana West Yellowstone Listing #20148

Forest Edge Home - West Yellowstone, MT

Take a Virtual Tour
24 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 3 Queen Bed, 1 Double Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Futon 3 bedrooms 3.5 bathrooms No pets  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Spacious cabin w/ fireplace - less than eight miles to Yellowstone

This beautiful home provides everything you need to be comfortable during your mountain escape. The gas fireplace, wood accents, and rustic decor give the home a cozy feel to help you unwind, and the surrounding forest provides a stunning backdrop to your home-away-from-home. The two covered porches provide quiet places to enjoy the peaceful surroundings, and there is a large front
yard and parking area for multiple vehicles and/or snowmobiles.

What's nearby:
This beautiful cabin is in a great location just under eight miles from the west entrance of Yellowstone National Park. It is ringed by a large grassy meadow adjacent to the Targhee National Forest with a spectacular view of Lionshead Peak. Hiking and miles of groomed snowmobile trails begin right in the front yard. The area is regularly frequented by Yellowstone wildlife. You can drive a half-mile north to reach Slushers Point right on Hebgen Lake, serving as the perfect spot to swim, boat, and more.

Winter in West Yellowstone and the surrounding area is known for excellent snow conditions. Forest Edge backs up to miles of groomed snowmobile trails with easy access to Two Tops Peak in the 'snowmobile capitol of the world'. And finally, the town of West Yellowstone offers numerous restaurants and shops, a visitors center, an Imax theater, The Museum of West Yellowstone, a live summer theater, a zipline park, and The Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center that offers childrens programs. There's something for everyone here to make for the vacation of a lifetime.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen

Properties are managed by Patrice Tompkins of Vacasa Vacation Rentals of Montana LLC, license #RRE-RPM-LIC-78933.

Parking Notes: There is parking for snowmobiles in the front yard area. Vehicles should park in front of the house/garage driveway.

You must be 18 years or older to rent this property.




Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

Kitchen & dining









DVD library

DVD player

Wireless router


Gas grill : Private



24 reviews

Matthew T. Aug 2021
This was a great place to stay with three couples to explore Yellowstone for a week (including Grand Teton for a day). It's a nice house with a very good kitchen, sitting areas, and a bathroom for each bedroom (plus a ground floor half bath). It's in a great location at the end of a short road, with a peaceful rural feel and nice setting.

The drive to West Yellowstone is 10 or so minutes, so the park is very accessible. The rodeo, practically next door, was a fun outing one evening.

So, generally quite enjoyable and functional for our group. We'd stay there again. Minor negatives:

As many have commented, the internet is very sketchy, so don't plan on it too much. Similarly, the water temperature in the master bathroom shower fluctuates a lot, although I didn't find it too problematic.

Although advertised with 3 queen beds, I'm pretty sure one of them is smaller (probably a full). Also advertised is 4 other beds (double, 2 twins, futon), but I think there were only 3.

The pictures should be updated (along with the bed statistics) - they show two small bedrooms on one side upstairs, across from the master, but now there is one larger bedroom there. Some other things have changed since the pictures - e.g., bedside tables, lamps, and living room furniture; no bunkbed.

All in all, a great place for our group of six.
Christyn R. Jul 2021
We really enjoyed our time at Forest Edge! The location was perfect for getting into Yellowstone. The house was very clean, comfortable and well stocked. We loved the outdoor spaces and grill. Very relaxing place to come back to after a day in the park.
Jennifer T. Jul 2021
My family of 6 (3 generations) all loved this house! It's one of the best rentals we've stayed at! The furniture was comfortable, we had everything we needed for the kitchen, and there was plenty of space for everyone (the dining room table is evidence of that!). We especially liked the coolers, picnic basket, and lawn chairs that helped with our trips into the park. We would definitely recommend this to anyone!
Jane L. Jun 2021
Very spacious and clean cabin. Perfect location from Yellowstone National Park entrance. Truly a great cabin/house except for water issue. Fluctuating water temps from extremely hot to very cold when showering. Had to help my 10 and 11 year old sons shower so that they would not get burned. Used the tub shower with the hand held sprayer for all our showers. It was easier to move away from the water when it got too hot or too cold and using the hand held made it safer. Also, could not get internet to work even though we turned off and on the router like directions said. We used cellular data on our phones and did not reach out to the owner. Internet usage was not that big of a deal for us.
Sydney C. Jun 2021
Everything was very clean and the house was well equipped with most of everything you need. It was a great location from Yellowstone. We would stay here again!
Sharon P. May 2021
Really liked the cabin, roomy, well stocked kitchen. Was difficult to balance temperature with heating system, only one ceiling fan and upstairs. No t.v in bedrooms, poor wifi. We would rent again, beautiful setting, good location
Jessica g. May 2021
Great location just 15 min from the Yellowstone West Gate.
Stair railings are not to code and little ones can easily fall through. We had to block the stairway with the coffee table for safety.
The cold water would unpredictably turn off scalding those in the shower including our infant!
Open shelving with chemicals and glassware all at infant and toddler height in the kitchen.
Manager response:
Hi, Jessica! We are sorry to read you had any concerns with your stay. We have mentioned your concerns with the railing to the homeowner. Maintenance has checked the hot water and been unable to replicate the issues you had; however, we will certainly keep an eye on it. Thank you for choosing Vacasa!
marta l. May 2021
La cabana es muy linda, agradable y tiene TODO para sentirte como en casa
Victoria O. Apr 2021
The home was beautiful! Comfortable and exciting! We had a wonderful experience! We look forward to returning.
PERE V. Sep 2020
Beautiful house to be isolated but very near to West Yellowstone and the park entrance. House is super comfortable with everything as expected.
Paul D. Aug 2020
This house was a wonderful getaway as our family explored The Yellowstone area. Spacious, rustic, and very clean. The kitchen had everything we needed and there was a huge yard and short trail where the kids could play. The porch swing was a highlight. I definitely recommend.
David b. Jul 2020
Clean. Very clean. Close to everything. Yellowstone, fishing, shopping and more. Great place.
Brian B. Jun 2020
This was a perfect place for our family of 8 to stay near Yellowstone. It is only a few minutes from the park and had all the amenities we needed for a family with teenagers and younger kids. Definitely will see if we can stay here again if we come back to the area.
Jeff p. Jun 2020
The location and size of the house. It was great being 9 miles away from Yellowstone.
SU C. Oct 2019
We all like almost everything about this house.
Tracy J. Sep 2019
We loved the beautiful view from the cabin looking out over the mountain range. Nice quiet and cozy cabin that we would love to stay at on our future visits to West Yellowstone and Yellowstone National Park.
Cynthia T. Sep 2019
We enjoyed both the access to hiking and Yellowstone.
scott p. Sep 2019
would be good for a group that is hunting / snowmobiling etc. but not a lot of frills. chairs broken, grill falling apart and railing on porch broken.
Manager response:
Hi, Scott! Maintenance inspected your concerns and found that a guest had pulled the grill apart and not reassembled it correctly. This has been taken care of. We are discussing the porch railing with the owner. Thank you!
Sheryl T. Aug 2019
It was a great place to stay while visiting Yellowstone as was only about 10 miles to the entrance. We had 12 in our family and it slept that many with no problems. It was clean and well stocked with dishes, towels, etc. the grill on the back porch was fantastic. It had 3 1/2 bathrooms which was great for so many people and the water was always hot.
Elizabeth O. Jul 2019
This cabin was really well suited for our group overall. We enjoyed being outside the town of West Yellowstone, the kitchen has all the essentials, and the check in/check out process went smoothly. Two problems: the roof in the master bedroom leaked after a big storm; also, the other rooms upstairs are essentially fully taken up by the beds, leaving negligible space for moving around the bed or storing suitcases. The roof thing I am sure will be addressed by the homeowner. The bedroom situation upstairs was not ideal but there is plenty of room elsewhere in the house and we were able to make it work-- it was just unclear of the size of the rooms based on the photos online.
Manager response:
Thank you for leaving your review with us! The homeowner is addressing the roof leak, and we are looking to see where we might be able to create more space for our guests. We hope to see you again!
Carol L. May 2019
Wonderful home matching the nature feel. House is fully equipped with cooking utensils and clean.
MaRita S. Feb 2019
The location was conveniently located to West Yellowstone as well as snowmobile trails.
Kyle D. Jan 2019
The location is ideal for us with the trail being only about 500 feet away and close to the mountains that we typically ride. It was also roomy enough that 7 guys with lots of snowmobile gear didn’t seem crowded.