USA Texas Galveston Bay Jamaica Beach Listing #2253

We Shell Sea - Jamaica Beach, TX

Take a Virtual Tour
91 reviews
Max. occupancy: 8 2 Queen Bed, 2 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 3 bedrooms 1.5 bathrooms 2 dog max  (25 lb weight limit) 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Upscale, dog-friendly, bayside retreat with private dock & shared pool

Heading out to sea has never been easier at this dog-friendly Jamaica Beach vacation rental that features its own private dock right on the canal leading out to the West Bay. With room for a 24-foot joy boat, fishing rig, or sail boat, there's no hassle with public boat docks. As an added bonus, you can walk out your door, kick off your shoes, and fish right from your back deck!

Located on Jamaica Beach, this three-bedroom, one-and-a-half-bathroom home is 15 minutes south of Galveston proper and all its best attractions. You get the best of both worlds here: close to the urban bustle, but in a quiet neighborhood not too close to the hubbub.

This newly renovated home is upscale and modern on the inside with a contrast of bright primary colors - pastel blue walls, bold red accents - with dark-toned floor and furnishings. After a long day of exploring the bay, guests can spread out on the royal blue sectional sofa, set up with a perfect view of the flatscreen TV. Pop some popcorn for epic movie nights with a DVD player, or watching sports or game shows via cable.

The lower level offers guests access to the dock-side patio with a dining table. Gather for lunch or an early breakfast before heading out for a day on the water, or spread out tackle and safety equipment or maps and brochures.

Upstairs is a full deck, perfect for cookouts, brunch, or watching the sun rise and set.

Inside, a full-service kitchen with an extra-long bar means home-cooked meals: Blend up smoothies with fresh fruit, or mix cocktails for afternoon happy hours. Perishables will stay extra fresh in the stainless steel fridge, and cleaning is a snap with the stainless steel dishwasher.

Spread out buffets at the breakfast bar, set for six, or dine at the table which is also set for six. The dining table is the perfect size for board games - check out the in-house selection - or checking last-minute emails or weather reports via WiFi.

You've sailed, you've dined, now it's time for sleep! Three bedrooms share one and a half bathrooms. Each room has its own flatscreen TV and closets for storage space plus two queens and two twin beds - plus a queen-size pull-out sofa in the living room - means that up to eight guests may sleep here. You can also bring two small dogs of up to 25 pounds, for an additional nightly fee. This is a great home for a family or a group of fishing buddies.

Additionally, there's a laundry room to help keep your packing light and your beach towels or sailing clothes fresh.

Aquatic recreation is a favorite pastime here in Jamaica Beach. Besides your own private dock and canal access to the bay, there's a public pool down the street - a highlight in the summertime. Kiddos will also enjoy the nearby park on Jolly Roger Road with all the essentials, including swings and slides galore! Take the dogs for a stroll through the neighborhood, and enjoy quick access to the public beach on the Gulf side of Jamaica Beach - a family-friendly place for sandcastle-building, surfing, kite-flying, and exploring.

This Texas vacation rental is a water lover's dream!

*Please note: this home resides in a noise-sensitive area and the owners participate in our Good Neighbor protection program. Our smart home technology will alert our team if excessive decibel or occupancy levels are detected, allowing us to reach out directly with a friendly reminder rather than risking a noise complaint from a neighbor. This technology is privacy compliant, and only monitors the presence of decibels and devices-not any personal conversation or information. Thank you for supporting our efforts to be good neighbors!*
A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.

Parking Notes: Please park only in the driveway underneath and in front of the house. There is no parking allowed on the street. Thank you.

Dock Details: To launch your boat 1.5 miles- At the Valero Gas Station on the Hwy turn right at Bob Smith Rd., then at Jolly Roger Rd. turn rt. , Turn left at Basin and ramp is on your left.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

Kitchen & dining






Water view


Gulf front

Gulf view


Internet : DirecTV


Cable : DirecTV

DVD player

Wireless router


Nearby activities & attractions


On-site activities

Pool : Shared

Basketball court : Private




Beach chairs


91 reviews

Kevin C. Oct 2021
Very clean!
Denise V. Oct 2021
We had great fun here. Management was very responsive. Good locale, easy driving to a public access to beach…right outside the community. Small convenience store at corner. Kitchen has everything needed, but you have to bring drip coffee and filters if you want coffee. No supplies. No kuerig. Bring your own ice, as ice maker doesn’t work. There’s a propane grill but local kids turn burners on so no propane. But there’s a coal grill, just bring your coal. And it cooks great! The beds are not comfy as mentioned in other reviews. At all…and the couches in LR sink in middle. Normal beach wear and tear! Beach towels are available and the cabin was well cleaned. If cooling is issue, I placed the fan in hallway to push cooler air to back bedroom. The half bath is a game changer. So nice to have. I give it a 4 rating because of mattress comfort, and inconvenience of going to get coffee, filters and ice. If I’d known, no problem. Small issue, just inconvenient. Great cabin. Loved easy access to fish off the cabin pier. You’ll enjoy your stay just come with supplies. Not sure what can help with mattresses other than being replaced. I just got in mine with a lot of noise from bed support and stayed in one place all night. Lol.
I repeat, it’s a great cabin.
Sean O. Aug 2021
The kids were all about fishing off the dock
Anna C. Jul 2021
Where to even begin. First, I read all previous reviews so the one from Mike in May of 2020 really shocked me because none of the stove burners worked and it’s July of 2021!!! The previous review before we arrived simply stated “needs maintenance bad” well that’s an understatement. It need at least a two week “safety shutdown” as we in aviation call it. Just shut it down and fix the problems. Here they are, no propane to grill, no toilet paper (Vacasa offered to reimburse us for cost) none of the burners worked on stove, no Ice maker tray so you have to buy ice entire time. No fishing lights work. Trips breaker every time you plug them in. No decent pots or pans to cook with. ALL of them were so scratched up and nasty. Only two or three coffee cups. Just overall in a sad state which is sad because the place has potential. Not sure if it’s the owner or the management but we’ve stayed in other rental companies homes here for the past 6 years and have always been happy. This is our first and last time using Vacasa. Make it right. Read the last years reviews and fix what people are saying is wrong.
Manager response:
Hello Anna, we apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We have forwarded the issues to the local management for follow up. We appreciate you taking the time to complete our review honestly.
Karen M. Jun 2021
Location is good, fresh paint. But so many issues… Beds are broken and horrible, stove does not work well, missing blinds in bathroom, lights do not work in living room, plugs do not work on boat dock, and so much more.
Manager response:
Hello Karen, we apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We are disappointed that we were not notified during your stay as our local team is available to assist you.
Shauna L. May 2021
We enjoyed our stay. We will most definitely return with the kids as there was plenty room.
Randel L. May 2021
place needs maintance bad .
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Randel. We sincerely apologize for the disappointment. We would have been happy to assist with any questions or concerns if we had been notified during your time with us. We take guest feedback seriously, and we have forwarded this information to the local staff so they can review and update the home as needed for future guests. We will be sure to follow up with the appropriate parties regarding your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future!
Susan Z. Mar 2021
Very spacious! Very clean! Extra half bathroom is a plus! Everything you would need away from home! Great location! House is very comfortable and large rooms!
Wendy Y. Dec 2020
It was fun staying in a canal home. We prefer it now to the busier beach homes.
Jane D. Dec 2020
It was my first time sleeping in a house on stilts
Mary R. Oct 2020
This house is a small canal house. We loved chilling out on the deck and relaxing. When the beach is crowded the canal is not.
Chris T. Sep 2020
We spent most of the time on the deck. At night it is cool to check out all the green lights in the water and see what is swimming in the canal. The kids loved fishing from the deck.
Ryan F. Sep 2020
Place is nice, clean, good location. The couches are old and uncomfortable and the AC couldn’t keep the temp below 80 during the day but cooled nicely at night. Overall it was a good time.
Erin L. Jul 2020
Being on the canal was a great experience! We brought our golf cart to go back and forth to the beach. The neighborhood is awesome! The house is smaller than it appears in the pictures, but it was perfect for our group. The kitchen is a little run-down and we had a little ant problem, but besides that the place is great. We also brought kayaks and it was really fun to go through the canals by boat. The coffee & wine shop in the neighborhood is great! So was the neighborhood park and pool. Great experience at We Shell Sea!
Manager response:
Erin, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the ant issue in the kitchen. We are so glad you experienced the canals with your kayaks. We look forward to hosting you again! Thank you for choosing Vacasa.
Jennifer S. Jul 2020
Nice balcony overlooking the canal for sunset. Great home for a small family.
Sandra T. Jul 2020
We really loved our stay at We Shell Sea. Great location on the canal. We would definitely stay there again.
Mike K. Jul 2020
The location is great. Store is not far and great breakfast burritos nearby. One of the queen beds is small and gets colder than the other rooms. Which is great for someone that likes it cold. Some of the stove burner doesn’t work correctly FYI.
Manager response:
Thank you for your review, Mike. We are glad you enjoyed this home and we appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. We will work with our local team to ensure these items are corrected for future guests, and we hope to host you again in the near future!
Valorie J. Jul 2020
It was fun to be on the water. Easy to put our kayak and paddle board in the water and paddle through the nearby canals.
Emile C. Jun 2020
The property was very clean and functional and we thoroughly enjoyed the canal slip and deck. The furniture could be updated but the rate was decent. The kitchen was functional but be prepared to bring all seasonings including coffee filters.
Edward D. Jun 2020
This is a small but really cute canal house. It is just right for a small family. The kids played on the dock, fished and really had fun.
Thomas B. May 2020
We had a good time.
Vicki B. Dec 2019
I had a wonderful time with my family. My only complaint is about the downstairs deck lights. They did not work at all. It is extremely dark under the porch and the boat dock was not lit at all. I called vacasa and spoke to a helpful representative who said they would have someone call me the next day. Unfortunately no one called and there were no lights which kept me from fishing at night.
Manager response:
Hello Vicki, thank you for your review! We apologize for any issues in communication that occurred during your stay. A technician has been scheduled to repair the lights as needed. We hope to host you again soon!
TANYA D. Oct 2019
Beautiful home didn't want to leave. We even tried to extend for 2 more days but was already booked
Dona S. Sep 2019
The canal
Guillermo T. Aug 2019
We had a great time.
Brandi R. Aug 2019
The kids had fun fishing off the deck.
Jennifer K. Aug 2019
Nice for just a few people. large deck
Wayne M. Jul 2019
A few minor maintenance issues, but they were resolved.
Denise W. Jul 2019
The house was great. The only problem we had was 1 shower for 7 people. The pool cost 5.00 a day that is not stated when you see the house or book. The yard needed to be mowed BAD
katelyn g. Jun 2019
Had just what we needed, close to the beach and town. Easy to find and mgmt was very helpful.
Nancy M. Jun 2019
This is a little canal home and nice to sit on the deck at night.
Cathy C. May 2019
We enjoyed the canal.
Amber G. Oct 2018
It was a very spacious place with upgraded has a great bar in kitchen to sit at and prepare meals. Comfy bed and very nice flooring...a downside was locking the Hurricane door every time we left because sliding doors didnt lock. Overall, the property is good for the price...we had a good week.
Jason A. Sep 2018
Kimberly K. Aug 2018
We had a great 4 days at We Shell Sea! The area is quiet, nice friendly neighborhood with great views and easy access to bay in our boat. The home is spacious, we all slept very well. We loved the games for the guests which we used at the big table. The kitchen is fully furnished and the staff leaves dish soap and detergent . The deck upstairs has great chairs to enjoy and down below is everything you need on a nice relaxing evening or day. Great breeze, swing, picnic table, cleaning sink, NICE pier and boat slip, big driveway with great space. We will be back as it was so nice. I do have one suggestion and I truly hope its considered, the couches need replacing. They are clean and look nice but so soft that you sink and cannot get comfortable or get out of them. Otherwise, this was truly one of our faves. Oh, and the shared pool is amazing!!!!
Lizabeth S. Jul 2018
We enjoyed our stay
Summer M. Jul 2018
We had a wonderful time staying in this house! Loved the location, it was very peaceful and relaxing. It had plenty of room for our group of 5 adults 2 teenagers and a baby! Great atmosphere all around! The board games provided were great for in the evenings after we got back from Moody Gardens and the beach! Our only complaints would be the door is very difficult to lock!!! That was kind of frustrating. Also the pillows were hard as rocks and flat as a board!! However if we ever plan on going back down to the Galveston area again I would definitely stay at We Shell Sea!! I will just make sure we take our own pillows!
Paula S. Jul 2018
House was very clean and had everything you need.
Desiree C. Jun 2018
Clean and beautiful
Alisha P. Apr 2018
The location was quiet and beautiful. Easy access to everything! Everything was so comfortable and made me feel at home!!!
Baron U. Jan 2018
Overall we had no real complaints. The kitchen is well stocked with pots, pans and utensils. The house was very clean and we had plenty of towels and necessities. I would recommend the mattresses in the rooms be upgraded.
Susan A. Jan 2018
Very nice place. The second queen is turned sideways in the room & it was kind of tight but I slept very well.
Bruce T. Nov 2017
The house was a great get away. The doors need to be replaced since they do not lock well.
Curtis B. Oct 2017
This house worked out great for our family. We have a boat and the dock was perfect for quick fishing excursion’s in West Galveston Bay. The cleanliness of the home was outstanding.
Jenifer V. Sep 2017
This home was the perfect getaway beach retreat for us, we truly loved the interior settings and the views from all the windows of the canal and the bay are perfect. It was the perfect location to spend time with family and enjoy some much needed relaxation. I would highly recommend this home to anyone looking for the perfect place to call home while on vacation. Take a swing on the porch swing overlooking the canal was my go to spot for coffee every morning.
Sam T. Sep 2017
Really enjoyed the house. It was clean, quite, and close enough to everything without being on top of everything. Perfect decompression place.
Susan S. Aug 2017
This was a great space on the canal. Plenty of room for everyone, nicely decorated, clean and accommodating. I would definitely come back. There are only a few critiques: Not enough lighting outside. It was difficult grilling at night and then when coming home late at night, it would have been nice to have more light. There were also storm shutters on many of the windows, which were difficult to maneuver and kept natural light from coming in, and then no curtains or blinds on the glass doors facing the canal, leaving little privacy at night and no way to regulate light coming in during the hottest and brightest parts of the day. Other than these minor details, this is a great place and I would definitely recommend!
Charles T. Jul 2017
had a great time enjoyed it very much it was clean and quite. fish from there or go to the beach not that far from all the other things to do go to the Strand , shop , eat, the duck tour was fun . and just hanging at the house playing board games or fishing. was treated very well. thank you for the use of you'r home we had fun and will do it again.
Bill E. Jun 2017
The house was just right for our family. It was very clean and had everything to make for a great weekend. It was so convenient to just use the key lockbox to check in and out. At other rentals, I have had to go into town to pick up and drop off a key. I will stay here again. Thanks for everything.
Jennifer W. Jun 2017
Great Galveston Getaway! Jamaica Beach is just enough away from the Seawall to relax from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy fishing on the dock below or going to the beach right up the street. You can launch your boat right from the new dock. Quiet nice neighborhood. Our kids had a great time and we loved having morning coffee watching the Sun rise over the bay and drinking wine at night. We will rent this house again.
Barbara M. Jun 2017
The view was not good and was not as it was portrayed on the website.
Manager response:
We are disappointed to see this guest was disappointed with their views. The Property Manager has reviewed all pictures posted for this home and found them to be accurate. The only pictures that are not of the home or of the view from the home are of the community pool and park. Thank you!
Elaine S. Apr 2017
Very family friendly place to stay. Kids fished off deck. Had a great time
James L. Mar 2017
I give 2 thumbs up
Steven D. Jan 2017
Nice area, nice condo and overall an easy process with booking.
Ursula R. Dec 2016
Our Quiet Family Christmas getaway was fabulous. The accommodations were great for our family. My parents are 72 and I was a bit concerned, but it was great. Thank you Vacasa and Happy Holidays 2016.
Koridawn Y. Oct 2016
Love the whole place would go back again and again.
Callum R. Oct 2016
Nice place fishing was good great views and quite comunity
Kevin L. Aug 2016
Great house on the water. Could have used a few more seating options in living room. Recliners... We took kayaks and paddled around and had a good time. Would recommend this house if you have a boat. You can launch and park it right at the house for easy access to the bay. Cooked on bbq pit most of the time. Store very close if you don't want to go back into town.
Cara M. Aug 2016
Great place for our family . Loved the house . We really enjoyed being right in the water . Spent every evening on the deck !
We will be Back!
Sean L. Jul 2016
Overall good property. Didn't seem as clean as we had hoped and AC went out for 12 hrs one day. Vacasa's Galveston staff was as responsive as they could be and communicated promptly.
Margaret A. Jul 2016
This was a trip with our grandchildren. The house was delightful - lovely decor, clean & crisp. Fishing in the canal was great for little ones (we did catch & release). There is a lot to do in Galveston, and we did visit Moody Gardens, and went out to eat, but both children just wanted to get back to "our house" so they could fish. They also had a little paddle boat that they used in the canal. Great neighbors, delightful walking paths. They have already asked if we can do this again next year.
Katie V. Jun 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at We Shell Sea! We look forward to booking again.
Suzanne G. Jun 2016
I would definitely come year !
Carmen C. Jun 2016
The house worked out great for us. We had our grandson with us. The pool and playground helped to keep him busy. The house was only seven minutes from the beach where the wedding took place. The kitchen was well stocked with all of the pans and dishes that we needed. It was very pleasant by the water when we grilled our supper. I really enjoyed being at the house. I felt as comforted there as I do at home.
Hyon K. May 2016
It was reasonably priced especially compared to similar rental homes on the canal. Had everything we needed.
Kimberly A. May 2016
Every thing was great. However, it would have been helpful to know a head of time that the keys on the key ring did NOT belong to the front door. Only access was the upstairs patio door. It took us about 15 minutes to figure that out.
Ashlee G. Apr 2016
Had a wonderfully peaceful weekend at this property. It was not too hard to find and came equipped with everything needed for a relaxing weekend. Everyone in my party thoroughly enjoyed themselves. From the Smart TVs in each room to the fully equipped kitchen, the place had everything we could have missed. We were surprised by the small size of the grill listed in the description. However, there were plenty of pots and pans to cook the meat we brought.

Another surprise we received was the pet hair everywhere. Pet hair was on the couch, ottoman, in the bed in the queen guest bedroom, and all over the floor. So sneeze attacks were frequent.
Manager response:
We apologize that the pet hair was a problem and will do our best to remove what we can.
Emma C. Mar 2016
We were nervous After reading reviews that mentioned problems with roaches as well as issues getting a hold of management. However, we had an excellent experience with the management company and had no problems with insects or cleanliness of the house. Located in a quiet neighborhood right on the water, the house had all the amenities we were looking for. Even has huge screen TVS with cable in every room. We brought our dogs and had a great time. Would highly recommend.
Kimberly M. Mar 2016
7 of us rented out this house for a long weekend trip. We had a fantastic time and even though the house is really only set up to sleep 6 it was a wonderful stay and the couch was comfortable enough for one of our guests to sleep on. Whenever we had to call for anything the staff was quick to respond and we really enjoyed the location of the home because it was not to close to all the vacationers. Great time had by all.
Michelle S. Mar 2016
Great house!!
Kevin M. Mar 2016
House was in a great location and being on the water was a big plus for us. We brought our boat and kayak so it made it more enjoyable. House was well appointed and had everything we needed. In my opinion they should find better mattress covers so you don't feel like your sleeping on a rubber pool float.
Manager response:
We appreciate your suggestion and will look into it.
Mark W. Feb 2016
The house was nice with a quiet waterside location. But it is a realistic 6 person stay, unless some are small children.
Justin G. Oct 2015
The house is nice, though the pictures make it seem a bit nicer. There are HDTVs in all the rooms but they don't offer HD broadcasting(kinda defeats the purpose of HDTVs) but then again we didn't get a beach house to watch TV. The AC system is mounted outside one of the bedrooms and the bed frame is bolted to the wall so whenever the unit kicks on, it causes that whole wall to vibrate and makes it hard to sleep in there. I was able to somewhat remedy the issue by shoving a towel between the bed frame and the wall. They have a basketball goal available for the kids on the lot, but the backboard is broken out of it so it kind of makes it hard to actually play. The biggest issue was the roaches. They weren't everywhere but its not fun going on vacation and having to deal with bugs. I called to let management know the issues including the power being switched off on the dock(How are you supposed to night fish with no power and you can't turn it on because the breaker for that area is in the locked downstairs room) and they were very polite, but the only thing the guy did when he came out was turn on the breaker and then leave without asking me about the AC or roaches. Overall, we still enjoyed the house, but for the price you are having to pay, I feel they should be able to get those few issues worked out.
Manager response:
Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize that the home was anything short of perfect and really appreciate you giving detailed feedback that we can use to make future guests even more comfortable. We hope you have a chance to come stay with us again and appreciate you choosing Vacasa.
Terrell B. Sep 2015
My wife and I were looking for a peaceful little get away for the weekend and received SO MUCH more. This place is AWESOME. We will definitely be back for a longer stay.
Jon S. Jul 2015
Quiet neighbors, nice neighborhood, completely renovated interior house. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back.
Patrick L. Jul 2015
Great house, had everything we needed for a weekend fishing trip.
William O. May 2015
very enjoyable stay. property in a very quiet location with friendly neighbors. Would definitely consider staying here again.