Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.
Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.
Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.
Serene, dog-friendly log cabin surrounded by trees w/ a private hot tub
When the hustle and bustle of life is making you feel like you need to get away from it all, it just might be the perfect time to make your way to Whittier Cabin. This warm and cozy log cabin offers the perfect blend of rustic charm and comfortable furnishings. This rental comes with a wood stove to warm up to on those cold winter days, while the dining area is surrounded by windows and is a great spot for enjoying your morning coffee and gazing out at the pines and aspens. Out back you will find a covered patio and a private hot tub to enjoy.
What's nearby: This home is located just four miles from La Pine State Park which offers miles of trails for hiking and mountain biking, plus access to the Deschutes River for fishing and kayaking. Mt. Bachelor, with its many exciting winter and summer activities, is less than 30 miles north of this rental.
Things to know: Free WiFi Full kitchen (no dishwasher) Dogs welcome with a nightly fee A 4x4 vehicle is recommended in winter
Please be aware that the Sunriver SHARC center has implemented new rules and regulations regarding occupancy, amenities, and access. Please see their website for more details.
A damage waiver, covering up to $2,000 of accidental damage to the property or its contents, is included in the cost of your reservation.
Deschutes County Tax Certificate #77
Parking Notes: There is free parking available in the circular driveway.
You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.
Hot tub (Private)
Washer/dryer : Private
Heating & cooling
Kitchen & dining
Internet : Yellow Knife
Nearby activities & attractions
Hot tub : Private
Jennifer K.May 2021
We loved our stay at the Whittier cabin. The hot tub was delightful. We did find the shower a bit small but completely doable 😊. Thank you!
Kristie S.Feb 2021
Rustic is what we were going for so that's great, and there are a few things this place could use to be worth the price, such as a light over the kitchen sink and some basic supplies like all purpose cleaner for counters. It would also be nice if there was some art on the walls.
The place was clean and comfortable enough. Bed was super comfy. There is one bathroom with one teeny tiny shower. The hot tub is in the back and the deck is tiny compared to the photo, but that's fine with me as I don't want that far of a walk in the freezing weather between the house & hot tub. The property is large and sparsely wooded, and at a corner so you almost feel you're out in the woods rather than a neighborhood.
One reason we selected this place is it said it allowed multiple dogs. Apparently that changed between booking and our trip, and there was quite a hassle to add a second dog. I called to pay the nightly fee and was told the listing only said 1 dog was allowed and there were no notes about any changes. I spent a very frustrating hour trying to email Vacasa screenshots of the listing that showed 4 dogs max before they finally got a supervisor on the phone with me who explained their emails were backed up 3 days (whatever that means and why didn't the agent know that if so?) and gave me her cell number so I could text her photos. In the end they honored it, and allowed the dog, but still charged me for one of the two nights of dog fees, plus tax. Personally I would have waived the fees after such a hassle. I've had issues from renting through an agency before, such as the access code not working and nobody I could get a hold of could get a hold of anyone who could resolve the issue, meanwhile I'm standing out in the cold because there's no cell reception in the parking garage. I will count renting directly from the owner highly among other attributes when selecting homes in the future!
Hi Kristie, thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay. We appreciate you working with us so that we could add on the additional pup. We apologize if it was not resolved more quickly. We are sorry that you had concerns in the past with different rental agencies. We hope you'll visit again soon.
Mary P.Sep 2020
We loved most of all the quiet area, set back off the road, but 20 minutes from Newberry National Monument for day hiking, followed by evenings in the hot tub.
Morgan S.Sep 2020
We were disappointed that the dishes in the cupboards were not clean. We trusted they were clean but had to wash dishes and utensils before using them as they were soiled with food.
We purchased ingredients that needed to be chopped on the cutting board but our food ended up tasting like fish even though we weren’t having fish. My girlfriend wouldn’t eat the food after seeing all the dirty dishes we took out of the cupboard and our stay was ruined because of the time loss of extra dish and kitchen cleaning.
Further disappointment set in with needing to flip the breaker and swap plugs when transitioning from using the hot tub to the washing machine.
After seeing how dirty the dishes were we weren’t comfortable trusting the hot tub was clean.
Getting a dishwasher would be a smart upgrade but we won’t be staying again at your properties.
My girlfriend wanted to leave before our stay was over and we both agree that this is not a suitable vacation rental.
Thank you for staying in our home, Morgan! We are sorry to hear of the disappointing experience you had while staying with us. We have worked closely with our local staff to address these concerns thoroughly and to ensure that our future cleanings live up to the Vacasa standard. Our local manager will work with the homeowner on the electrical outlet used for the hot tub and washer. We hope for a chance to impress you in the future!
Michael M.Jul 2020
Not nearly as nice as the pictures. This is not secluded, you are surrounded by neighbors with barking dogs. The electrical is not to code so you have to mess with breakers to make the water heater work properly. It's just on a dirt road with many other properties. The house was full of mosquitoes when we arrived, and any products supplied (spices, oils, etc) were 2-6 years old.
Hello Michael, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our local manager has confirmed the electric is up to date and the hot water heater is tankless and only works when the water is being used. They are having our housekeeping team make sure any old spices have been removed from the home. We apologize for the inconvenience and do hope we have the chance to host you again.
Joel A.Jul 2020
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cabin. The kitchen was great, the hot tub was very relaxing, and the setting was lovely. We spent a lot of time relaxing on the patio soaking in the quiet. The shower is on the small side, but absolutely not a deal breaker. We will definitely stay there again!
Ashlyn L.Jul 2020
This cabin is just what we needed for a peaceful weekend getaway. The grill, hot tub, and patio were perfect for handing out outside. The kitchen had everything we needed.
Joseph K.Apr 2020
We loved this place. WiFi worked great Hot tub was nice. Had everything we needed to sit back stay home and relax. Only thing I’d say we wish it had was access to a vacuum cleaner. Looked like all the cleaning supply’s got locked up. We wanted to keep the floors clean. Maybe a broom or next time we will bring our own.
Hi Joseph, we're so glad you had a great stay! We'll look into getting a vacuum for our home. We hope you'll stay with us again!
Troy S.Mar 2020
In the midst of all that is happening in the world, a weekend away was perfect. Cabin is amazing, setting is gorgeous and we had everything we needed. Would HIGHLY recommend the Whittier Cabin!
Courtney S.Feb 2020
This cabin is surrounded by trees and offers a secluded and lovely getaway. Relax in the hot tub and enjoy the views of nature all around you! The kitchen should have everything you need. The kids loved exploring the property. We hope to come back:)
Bradley .Feb 2020
Me and my wife loved this cabin, loved the area. It was private and secluded. We can't wait for another trip.
Jenean I.Feb 2020
We loved how spacious yet cozy the cabin was. wonderful fire place and the perfect hot tub! looking forward to coming back with the kids next time.
Jade P.Feb 2020
This was such a perfect little cabin! So secluded and very private. Not too far outside of Bend. The road in could use a little work as we were hauling an enclosed trailer and had to go very slow. Lots of potholes on a long gravel road. Other than that, I would stay again. Thank you so much for the hospitality!
Lauren F.Jan 2020
We loved the space and privacy, but still located about 30 minutes from Bend. It was perfect for dogs to romp around in the snow with the spacious yard. Super clean and easy to check-in and check-out.
Maggie H.Jan 2020
We loved this home! Well stocked kitchen, comfy homey interior, plenty of space for the dogs to run around and a hot tub that gets going up to 104!! Couple of notes to know before you rent: the upstairs bed makes a lot of noise when you shift your weight on it and the location is outside of the ‘resort homes/walking paths’ that I’ve typically rented from- the location turned out to be beneficial with pups running around enjoying the property and the hot tub with a view of nature. Truly a special spot!!
Amy S.Dec 2019
Loved this pine cabin. You enter and it smells clean like pine. The beds were comfy, location was nice. We felt safe and secure. Couldn't get the TV to work though. Shower is small but sufficient.
Yvonne G.Oct 2019
We enjoyed a lovely quiet getaway for our anniversary at this cabin. It was perfect for what we wanted: a quiet, relaxing place to unwind and just take some time away. Thank you for allowing us to stay!
Shelley B.Oct 2019
Secluded and quiet! You could listen to the aspen leaves singing in the breeze. No traffic, so peaceful. The cabin is beautiful !
Tammy B.Aug 2019
This log cabin was so perfect for a family getaway! We loved the warmth of the rustic wood throughout, the modern touches of the lighting, very clean, kitchen was great, and the hot tub was amazing!! The beds were comfortable, with plenty of towels, even a grill on the deck! Only a 15 min drive from Sunriver, 30 mins to Bend.
Mary R.Jul 2019
The perfect cabin for a family getaway. Only 15-20 minutes to Bend. Completely fenced so you can let kids run free! The hot tub was a total hit with my kids. The beds were comfy and the cabin was so adorable. My only two complaints- window coverings were lacking (we like to have it dark when we sleep) and shower was small (hard to bathe little ones).
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Mary! We're so delighted this cozy log cabin provided well for an excellent family gathering place. We've passed your comments about adding additional window coverings onto our management team for consideration, and we hope to have another chance to impress you in the future!
Mitchell C.Jul 2019
Great stay out in nature and fun location to attractions in central Oregon!
Tiffany T.Jun 2019
We loved the outside area best!! Nothing like a great deck and a hot tub to unwind in!
Taira M.May 2019
My family loved the character this house had. Beautiful neighborhood and close to everything!
Trevor B.Apr 2019
This cabin is a little south of Bend in Sun River but was really nice. We arrived late in the evening and the lights were on and the heat was set comfortably. The hot tub was clean as was the rest of the home. There were all the essentials in the cabin as well. The place is fairly private too. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.
Marie J.Apr 2019
Clean and well appointed! The property was beautiful and our dog loved it there. I would definitely return.