USA Tennessee Gatlinburg Cherokee Orchard Listing #30178

The Big Poplar Retreat - Gatlinburg, TN

Take a Virtual Tour
47 reviews
Max. occupancy: 68 10 King Bed, 11 Queen Bed, 3 Twin Bed, 10 Futon 13 bedrooms 13.5 bathrooms Sleeps 65 comfortably  No pets 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Large cabin w/private hot tub, shared pool, game room, & home theater!

A profusion of luxury fills the Big Poplar Retreat, a large mountain retreat that is ready to host your next family getaway! In the great room, relax in the mountain-lodge inspired space harmonized with stone fireplaces, cedar plan walls, and vaulted ceilings. Lounge in the inviting seating with leather and cozy accents. At night, take advantage of the remarkable great room while relaxing by the fire and admiring the craftsmanship of details. In the gourmet kitchen, cook up dishes for your family and friends, seated around the striking locally-sourced log dining tables. If you happen to travel with a large party, you won't have to worry at all! The great room features five comfortable sofas and, believe it or not, four dining tables and even an island in the middle of the kitchen. Head outside to the large deck equipped with several rocking chairs and even an outdoor dining area in case any of you fancy eating with a view. The first floor features an entertaining theatre room with plenty of seating for everyone, a private pool table, and even a kitchenette (full-size fridge, microwave, and sink). You'll have direct access to the deck, which features an outdoor dining area and a hot tub!

What’s nearby:
Gatlinburg’s Arts and Crafts community is only minutes away and is full of locally made pottery, wood carvings, and paintings. Just a touch further down the road is Pigeon Forge where you spend the day at Dollywood or grab a bite to eat at The Old Mill and afterward shop at the General store. This prime location is unbeatable. You'll have plenty of dining options, convenience stores, you'll be near the Ober Gatlinburg Ski Area and Amusement Park and the Gatlinburg SkyLift Park.

Things to know:
Full kitchen
Free WiFi
No RVs or trailers

Cancellation for this cabin must be 60 days prior to arrival.

City/town permit number: 2679

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property.


Common areas

Game room



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

House rules

Meeting and events allowed

Wedding venue

Kitchen & dining









DVD player

Wireless router

Blu-Ray player

HBO streaming

Netflix streaming

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing

Golf nearby

On-site activities

Hot tub : Private

Pool : Shared

Heated pool

Indoor pool

Board games

Pool table : Private



Safety & accessibility

Limited mobility access

47 reviews

Rostislav T. Nov 2022
Great layout of rooms to fit many families with privacy for everyone, while keeping the common area well open and Grey for fellowship.
Shamus S. Oct 2022
This house was amazing. It was super clean and check-in was easy for everyone. It is in a great location where you can actually walk to the center of town but it also offers some great forest views as well as mountains/surrounding hills. The kitchen is very well stocked to cook any/every meal you want. We will definitely try to book this place or one of the others in the same complex if we come as a large group again.
Loretta M. Jul 2022
We loved the big popular retreat an made many family memories . Very close to shops an all rides up to the mountains. First thing we seemed when we got ther was a bear in the back of our house , just wat the children wer dreaming of .. would definitely go back ther with a big family
Nihar G. Jul 2022
It’s a great home with a fantastic layout and ideal for large parties. It looks as advertised. The kids loved the bunk beds, the video games, and the movie room. We all loved the living room and backyard deck for the families to hang out. We saw a bear cub walk between cabins to the backyard on our first night!

However, it is not without some small flaws, which you don’t expect at these price points.

The row of cabins are packed a bit tight and we had a very loud group neighboring us drinking and yelling (not exaggerating) until 2:30am. It was impossible for the 2 or 3 rooms facing that house to get any sleep until the neighbors went to bed late. I recognize this might be our own 1-off experience, but it really did impact our stay. The room walls also don’t provide a great barrier to sound so you can hear more than you should be able to.

The floors are very dirty. I noticed others complain about this in previous reviews but hoped those were 1-off scenarios. They weren’t. Our feet were black on the bottom after the first night. We wore sandals thereafter.

We ran out of paper towels on day 4 of 5 (we had almost 30 people eating daily at the house). We were told they don’t provide additional supplies. I find that to be very disappointing, again given how much we are paying.

Lastly, 2 coffee machines in the property, neither worked. To their credit, someone quickly came out with a paper clip to fix both of them (some small component needed to be cleaned out - guess it was a known problem). Another annoyance on our first morning there which forced a Starbucks run.

Little things for the most part, but you expect flawlessness when paying 5 figures.
Manager response:
Nihar, thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you all loved the living room and backyard deck! We sincerely apologize for any disruption the neighbors may have caused during your visit. Guests are welcome to call about noise complaints during quiet hours so we can assist them. Furthermore, we value cleanliness very highly, and we have passed your comments about the condition of the floors to our housekeeping staff so they are aware of your concerns. To clarify, we provide our guests with a starter kit of supplies. This includes cleaning supplies, toiletries, and paper products. Once these supplies run out it is the responsibility of our guests to provide any additional supplies throughout the remainder of their stay. We hope to have the opportunity to host you for a worry-free getaway in the future.
Altamease H. Jul 2022
The cabin was amazing. Clean,Everything we needed was there. All the Rooms were very comfortable. The cabin is beautiful.
Amy K. May 2022
Beautiful cabin, very spacious! Our senior class had a blast in this cabin!
Kandy W. Mar 2022
The cabin was wonderful and very clean. Parking could be better as other parked in our spaces. ben did come and ask them to move the cars and that was great. Parking could be labeled better, Maybe house name?? Still loved all of it and will rent again!!
Bob K. Feb 2022
Wonderful house for a large group. Great location.
Kimberly B. Jan 2022
Very nice property, however, the unit was dusty and poorly cleaned (found hair in most bathrooms, patio areas, stove and refrigerator were dirty). Tables, countertops were dusty. Sheets were stained. Didn’t call it in because we brought cleaning products with us anyway and there were plenty of extra sheets. Upset that we weren’t given the option to check out a couple of hours late. It was snowing and we were traveling with small children, but overall, it was nice.
Manager response:
We're so sorry the home wasn't properly cleaned, Kimberly, and do wish you had called for assistance. We will discuss your findings with our cleaning staff. Thank you!
Jonathan G. Jan 2022
Amazing Cabin with fantastic views of downtown Gatlinburg.
Adrien S. Nov 2021
Our family truly enjoyed this amazing cabin. We did see a bear and cub out back of the property but we followed instructions left to not feed bears and other information. The parking spaces are labels for guest not be to confused where to park. The house offered great space for entertainment, cooking and relaxation. I will definitely be staying here again in the future.
Michelle W. Nov 2021
Great layout with plenty of space for large family gatherings. Ample bedrooms and kitchen family room space and nice furnishings. Great bear sightings! Would love to have a path to town but it's still walkable for most.
Chandler B. Oct 2021
The beds were amazing the house was super cozy. But it was just a little dirty. My feet got dirty from walking on the floor and the baseboards needed some TLC. But the overall stay was great. Would definitely come again!
Manager response:
Thank you for staying with us, Chandler! We apologize if the floors were not well mopped. A deep clean is scheduled for the fall, and we will be sure the floors are thoroughly done.
Karen M. Aug 2021
When we arrived, both decks needed cleaning. Housekeeping came with dry towels, no cleaning solution or sanitizer. When asked, she said she had to go to the car and get it but she actually had to leave and come back.
The fruit flies were horrible. We checked-in on Wednesday. Reported them Wednesday and Thursday. It's now Monday and as of check-out on Sunday, no one showed to handle this issue.
The supplies in the kitchen needs to be replaced. There was a griddle with no electrical cord and some of the cookware needs to be replaced.
The air on the second floor did not work on Wednesday. Maintenance came on Thursday and said one of the outdoor fans didn't work and he had to call someone else. He said he would be back to assist them. When they arrived, the maintenence man did not.
The customer service representatives that you get when you call is AWESOME. The local follow-up is disappointing.
These cabins are far too nice to have simple issues
Manager response:
Hello Karen, we apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. the local management actually called an exterminator to see what can be done for the knats, which unfortunately they have to schedule and could not be scheduled during your stay. The AC tech has replaced the filters and the units are working fine now. We hope to impress you during a future stay soon.
Donya J. Jul 2021
The lodge was nice the neighbors was very friendly. But the bear was very exciting to see. Very nice stay.
LaToya V. Jun 2021
It was very spacious and cleaner than expected. My family loved everything about it with the exception of the beds. Most of the beds did not have the proper support beams underneath. King size beds need proper crossing boards like 4x4's and support to support the 4x4.
Jason S. Jun 2021
We loved the big living/dining room & kitchen. Everyone loved seeing the neighborhood bear our first night there.
Denise S. Jun 2021
The home comfortably accommodated our 12 different family subsets. The property was centrally located to attractions. The scenery was superb especially a bear's morning and nightly visits to our backyard.
Tasha H. May 2021
We loved it we will be back great location
Tracy T. Apr 2021
The cabin was great!! Our group was very comfortable and we all had a lovely time. Can’t wait to return.
Tina D. Apr 2021
Great views from patio. Heated pool was awesome, very spacious, great location.
Jevon R. Feb 2021
Very beautiful Cabins and everything in this home was on point. We will be back.
Frank B. Feb 2021
Wow This house is awesome! Couldnt have asked for better location. The best part was the seeing the bears at night. It was the highlight of the kids trip! House is just as it looks in the pictures and was extremely spacious for our group! We would DEFINITELY come back!
Jamie H. Jan 2021
We loved our stay at the Big Poplar. It's a beautiful home, well furnished, well stocked, and in an amazing location! We would have every intention to stay there again, with one big exception. A house that claims to sleep 68 people (and it feasibly could) only has parking for 8 cars! That would mean that everyone driving in would have to arrive in a 9 passenger vehicle. Unfortunately, that wasn't the case with our crew of 40 driving in from all around the country and we ended up with 10 cars. Vacasa's solution: you can pay to park down the street. Due to this HUGE logistical headache, we probably won't stay again, even though the house was wonderful.
The First Baptist Church of McConnel J. Jan 2021
Lots of room and very nice!
Christopher P. Nov 2020
The house is large with bathrooms in almost every bedroom. Large kitchen and dining area. Close to shopping and restaurants. The leasing company is very responsive.
Stephanie A. Nov 2020
I had a group of 34 people and it was very accommodating for our family. We enjoyed the bear sightings every night. It was nice that we could walk to the Gatlinburg strip. I will definitely return and rebook this cabin.
Rachel C. Nov 2020
The house had even more room than it looks like in the picture. Great for big groups with plenty of room to sleep
Livvia T. Sep 2020
The cabin was absolutely beautiful! There was plenty of space for my group of 26 and we didn’t all know each other... The grounds were kept. Even the neighbors were nice. Check in using access codes were a breeze. I honestly have no complaints.
Gladys S. Sep 2020
We had a family retreat which consisted of 40 of us. The house was perfect for us! Had everything we needed! The kids had a great time! Thanks!
Mark T. Jul 2020
The home was very spacious and within walking distance to downtown Gatlinburg. We all had places to choose from whether we wanted to relax, or enjoy the outdoor decks, or keep busy with tv or video games. A plus was having bathrooms in almost every room. Kitchen was nice size. All the rooms had blinds to keep out the sunlight for the day sleepers. Water pressure was great even when multiple showers were running. Plenty of light throughout. Easy access for wheelchairs too. Many happy memories made here. One side note - you are close to your neighbors, so if you are sensitive to sound, you may want to prepare with a white noise machine or such for night time. However, as beautiful as this house shows online, we had expectations and were slightly disappointed in what we received. Having spent quite a bit of money on renting such a large and beautiful house for the week, there were a few things missing/broken that became an inconvenience. The Movie Theatre TV was not connecting and would not turn on, despite multiple attempts throughout the week. (The theatre was one of the major deciding factors in renting this house.) Instructions on how to work all the electronics could have been provided in a house folder for all to refer to, with an added bonus of internet codes, Beware of Bear info restated (we saw 4 bears in the matter of 2 days walk right through our property), local info such as groceries and gas and activities. The coffee makers did hold carafes and K-cups! Bonus! However, one of the coffee carafes was replaced with a "universal" pot that did not fit and had to be held by hand in place while brewing (could have been disastrous if not caught in time). The kitchen was a nice size for multiple chefs, and adequate plates, glasses and silverware, however, there should have been a knife sharpener, mixing and serving bowls, and a tall stock pot to cook in-especially if families or functions of more than 10 people are serving meals. The refrigerator and freezer are nice and large, yet the ice maker did not make enough to accommodate the amount of occupants for our party (less than 15) for the size of house. An additional ice maker would have been a huge plus! The spa outside is really only big enough for 4 large adults, or six smaller ones, and was not big enough for the amount of people advertised to sleep in the home. The pool table's rack was broken and taped back together, all of the pool cues were missing tips but one, and three of the pool table pockets were detached from the table. The decor was welcoming and nice, however, one of the kitchen table legs (made from trees) was jagged and cut one of our family member's legs. It also was not as clean and kept up as it should have been: The floors were broom swept, but did not seem to be steam mopped as immediate spills wiped up turned the paper towels completely black; one king bed in the basement bedroom had a quarter-sized flat rock between the fitted sheet and mattress; all the air intake grates around the house were completely dusty and the air conditioner filter in the laundry room was dirty and exposed as it seemed not to fit in the proper slot - it should be replaced every 3 months and sealed and put up to code; a blanket taken out of the second floor drawer in one of the bunk bed rooms was dirty with a 'pasta sauce' looking splash on it; that same room also had a non-working flat screen tv; some of the bathroom doors had a hard time fully closing; smoke detector batteries should be replaced as the laundry room and living room detectors kept beeping randomly at night; some of the lighting outside had been replaced, however one of the light covers was missing; so many thick spider webs should have been wiped down prior to renting as they were located all over the back deck and the front and side of the house; the cleaning crew should note and ensure all outlets are properly working in kitchen before they leave, as one GFI breaker was already tripped the first morning. We did not contact the rental agency to remediate these items immediately, as we were all busy doing various activities throughout the week and did not feel it was the proper time for a handyman (handymen) to enter the house during our stay. However, the house was a very nice size and we all left happy.
Vicki M. Jul 2020
The Big Polar Retreat offered a very spacious yet welcoming environment for our family gathering. The amenities were great with the home offering everything that we needed for a fun filled visit.
Ali A. Jul 2020
The house was very clean, location is very close to all attractions. Things I didn’t like is the 2 bedrooms in the main floor, not a good spot for bedroom. I would say only 8 families, couples, could be comfortably staying in this house, all others room are for singles and kids.
Samia C. Jun 2020
Great location, amenities were exactly what my family needed. Home was a nice size to accommodate a large group.
Cynthia W. Mar 2020
This is a nice property but they need to keep up pest control at least once a month and then every 3 months till they are under control
Manager response:
Hi, Cynthia! Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. This home is on an active pest control program that will treat aggressively if we can confirm pest activity in the home; we have scheduled an inspection for this. We hope to see you again!
Valley VIew V. Nov 2019
Great experience except for the breaker kept kicking in kitchen which made difficult to cook for large group. We were running an hour late due to a child being sick and we were told we would be charged extra when we called and explained beforehand.
Manager response:
We're very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. This issue occurred under a previous management company. Our local teams are working with that company to learn from feedback and fix any issues. We just started managing this unit and would love for you to try staying with Vacasa in the future to experience our world class service.
Bob Judy J. Sep 2019
Clean, well appointed, good location,comfortable.
Diane M. Sep 2019
Everything was well put together for us!!! My family and friends enjoyed the whole stay everything was so beautiful!!!!
Liberty Temple L. Aug 2019
The accommodations were excellent, great location, clean, well equipped kitchen, loved the fact that each bedroom was equipped with it's own bathroom
Doug O. Jul 2019
Very good and home was illustrated very well as web site indicated
Angela G. Jul 2019
Just beautiful. Clean. New.
Ayo O. Jul 2019
Great place. Responsive team
Belinda S. Jun 2019
I am answering on behalf of a large family.