USA Maine Maine Coast York Listing #30576

Sandy Feet Retreat - Beach House - York, ME

Take a Virtual Tour
17 reviews
Max. occupancy: 11 2 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed, 1 Twin Bed, 1 Sofa Bed 4 bedrooms 2 bathrooms 1 dog max  (100 lb weight limit) 
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Charming dog-friendly home w/private grill and ocean views from the street

Come for a relaxing, fun-filled stay at this charming, dog-friendly home in York. You'll be treated to a sprawling patio with ample space to entertain, your very own private gas grill, and a convenient outdoor dining area. Sit around the firepit and roast some s'mores with your friends as you all share hilarious stories or plan tomorrow's adventures. Take the short stroll down to Long Sands Beach for a day of sandcastle building, beachcombing or just unwinding!

What's nearby:
Located in a great spot, just a couple blocks to the beach, you'll be just a short walk away from getting your toes in the sand and from the Long Sand Bathhouse, multiple general stores, and delicious restaurants. You'll also find both golfing and playgrounds nearby. Visit the Nubble Lighthouse, just two and a half miles away and learn about the rich history of the area. This beautiful beach town hosts many great events like York Days, which takes place annually in August and features a sandcastle building contest, a craft fair, and fireworks or join us another fun one, Harvestfest in October!

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
One dog under 100 lbs. is welcome!
* There is a narrow spiral staircase to access the second floor where the master bedroom and bath are located. It may not be suitable for everyone.

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Children's games


Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC

Partial AC

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Internet : Time Warner



Netflix streaming

On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private


Beach towels


17 reviews

Peter and Arlene S. Sep 2022
Very comfortable and accommodating!
Naomi B. Jul 2022
Not cleaned in the beds. Ugh
Manager response:
Naomi, thank you for your review. We apologize for the house not being cleaned as thoroughly as is our standard. Please know that local staff is available to assist with any cleanliness issues guests encounter while in the home, and we recommend that they reach out as soon as possible. We have passed your valuable feedback along to our housekeeping team so they are aware of your concerns. We hope to have the opportunity to impress you in the future!
Pennie S. Mar 2022
Loved the location
Tonya C. Dec 2021
Great stay. Short distance to beach. Very homey. Be aware of spiral staircase to master bedroom as they are a bit cumbersome, but can be accessed from outside stairs if necessary. Would definitely stay again.
Sue G. Oct 2021
A cute well appointed little cottage in a good location. As the previous reviews have stated, the address will confuse your GPS so if you are checking in at night make sure you have mapped out the location. Previous reviews have also noted that there is a fun master bedroom on the upper level that is accessed with a very tight very vertical spiral staircase. This level would not be for everyone and definitely not for young children.
We stayed during a storm and the cottage was a little cold, esp the upper level. We lost power in the night and it became even more chilly. There was no generator or back up source for heat, water, or lights which could pose a problem in the colder seasons. The night we lost power, the fire alarm in the bedroom began sounding with the low battery beeps which lasted all night. I did not call until the next morning when I was in a space with electricity for charging my phone battery. We paid 760 for two nights check in was 4pm and check out was 10am so it was a short expensive visit with the 2nd night being cold and then uncomfortable with the noise from the alarm. No apologies offered and no money was deducted so not quite worth the price we paid but still cute.
Amanda B. Aug 2021
It was a older house but had a lot of pans and things to cook with which was great. It could use some updates, the outside needed to be tided up and the American flag needed to be replaced. Good location a few minutes from the main strip and the beach. Good place to bring a dog, even though it’s not fully fenced in, the dog had a decent space to hang
Gail M. Aug 2021
Our family was lucky enough to grab this house after one we had canceled at the last minute.
It was a great spot within walking distance to long sands and plenty of room.
All you could want in a rental was there from dishes to trash bags, paper towels, dish detergent, linens, towels etc….
In prior reviews people complained about the staircase to get upstairs, while it is very tight it happens to be a huge bedroom with its own bath and portable ac.
Very nice!
The other 3 bedrooms and another bathroom downstairs were perfect for the family.
Nice living area and a large wood dining table.
We had a blast!!!
Tonya L. Jul 2021
Great access to the beach: 10 minute walk to Long Sands Beach. We couldn’t find the beach towels and I texted the host and received them within 20 minutes. Very clean and nice house. Patio and grill area was amazing, as well as the pet area. Took a star away because the spiral staircase is VERY tight to get up and hidden in a closet. Also took a star away because it was 90+ degrees and the air conditioner wasn’t able to effectively cool the house. Also lacked ceiling fans, but found a window fan in the closet to use.

Great place, clean, and great access to the beach. If going in SUPER hot weather, would recommend they get box fans or other window units to help cool the house down. If normal Maine temps, then it would be an amazing place to stay and would stay there again.
Melanie V. May 2021
As one of my Maine relatives said, who came to visit, "this is a typical Maine cottage." If you're looking for splendor this may not be it but we had everything we needed and then some. Lots of linens, good starter supplies of everything (except saran wrap lol) lots of dishes and utensils, comfortable furniture, and lots of outdoor seating with a firepit which we didn't use.

A major caveat is that the spiral staircase to the master suite is not only difficult to find! but very narrow with very dirty carpet and one carpet tread missing. The stairs are located inside what appears to be a bedroom closet. Once you are up there, it's a beautiful space where my young adult daughter was happy to be.
We could not locate a key to open the door to the basement laundry but since we weren't there long, it didn't matter. Few of the light switches are where you would expect them to be but once you figure it out, it's fine.

I do recommend this vacation home to those who understand the quirks and especially want a large entertainment area outdoors. And oh, it's a short walk to the beach!
Manager response:
Hi, Melanie! Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are discussing replacing the carpet pads on the stairs and will locate the basement key. We hope to see you again!
Nancy K. May 2021
We absolutely loved our stay at this house. It was a perfect location just far enough off the main road to be a quiet retreat but close enough to make it a quick walk to the beach or deli. We had everything we needed and it was seamless to settle in quickly and relax.
Lindsay K. Nov 2020
Quirky, fun comfortable cottage with loads of nice touches. Beach an easy walk and off season a human and doggie heaven!! Kitchen really well equipped - most appreciated since we were cooking a Thanksgiving feast. Nice yard with fire pit and picnic table. Close to Portsmouth NH and Portland ME. Loads to do although due to COVID we stayed close to home and just enjoyed family, food and long walks. If I had a beach cottage, I’d do it up the same way- owners must be kindred spirits:)
Katie R. Oct 2020
This is a nice property and great for a girls weekend away. The spiral staircase is a bit difficult but that’s the only negative. We loved the fire pit and will be back!
Z. L. Sep 2020
Well kept home with enough room for a couple families of four. Upstairs was nice albeit a narrow staircase to get to but was spacious and had a full bath which was great. Fully stocked with towels and bathing needs. Short walk to beach, nice fire pit and outdoor eating area. Great location! Would stay again!
Karen R. Aug 2020
Great location w firepit! Walk easy to beach about 2 blocks. Plenty of bathroom towels. Could use more light/lamps. Upstairs suite w ac but very difficult stairs to go up(spiral)...not for elderly. No info book about how to use remotes for TV, no info about garbage or recycling, needs more saucepans for cooking. We brought folding chairs so we had more seating in family room and at pit...we were family of 8.