USA Maine Central Maine Bethel Listing #32024

Contemporary Maine Retreat - Bethel, ME

Take a Virtual Tour
21 reviews
Max. occupancy: 10 3 Queen Bed, 2 Double Bed 4 bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms 2 dog max  4WD/traction may be required in winter
Address provided after booking

Worry-free booking

Enjoy peace of mind with simple cancellation and optional travel insurance. Learn more >

Expert cleaning

Pro housekeepers clean thoroughly and provide fresh linens before every stay.

Local support

Count on 24/7 guest care and local teams everywhere we operate.


Smart locks or lockboxes at many homes offer smooth, contactless check-in.

Secluded modern home w/ jetted tub, fireplaces, & beautiful views!

This peaceful, woodsy escape is perfect for a sizable group to both entertain and relax. The bottom floor is your nighttime escape when it's time for some shut-eye while the upper floor is dedicated entirely to gathering everyone together. Whether you're watching movies in front of the fire, making home-cooked meals in the kitchen, or lounging out on the balcony enjoying the beautiful sights and sounds of the surrounding forest, you will feel right at home at this contemporary mountain property. Plus, the whole family can come along, as this home is dog-friendly!

What's nearby:
Despite being tucked away in the trees away from town, there is a long list of things to do in the area. Just over three miles west is downtown Bethel with plenty of restaurants and shops, as well as access to the Androscoggin River for swimming and kayaking. In the winter you have not one, but two ski resorts to explore: Mt. Abram Resort at about five and a half miles south, and Sunday River Resort just over nine miles north. The immediate area surrounding the property also hosts lots of trails for snowmobiling, hiking, and mountain biking.

Things to know:
Free WiFi
Full kitchen
Private gas grill
Dog-friendly (two max)
4WD may be required during winter months
* Please note that there are exterior security cameras on the home pointed towards the entryway and garage

You must be 21 years or older to rent this property.



Jetted tub


Baby gates



Washer/dryer : Private

Heating & cooling

Central AC


Partial AC

Gas fireplace

Space heater

House rules


Kitchen & dining






Mountain view





Wireless router

Nearby activities & attractions

Downhill Skiing


Golf nearby

On-site activities

Board games


Gas grill : Private




21 reviews

Jeremie G. Jul 2022
Very nice home perfect for an off the beaten path get away. Very clean and with all the amenities you need to hunker down and relax.
Barry W. Jun 2022
Very quiet, very comfortable modern home in the woods.
Frederick T. Mar 2022
This house is very bright and spacious with open concept living area on second floor. There is a nice, large deck that faces southwest for sunset views. Bedrooms on first floor are fine and beds were comfortable.
Kara L. Mar 2022
Conveniently located right of Route 26. Easy drive to Sunday River Resort. Beds are super comfortable and there is ample space for sleeping. Upstairs is the main living floor which is perfect for large group as there are seating areas throughout the kitchen/open living area. Views are beautiful especially at sunset. Very clean. Would definitely rent again for a ski weekend!
Claire M. Feb 2022
This was a great location for all sorts of winter outdoor activities - downhill and cross-country skiing, snowshoeing and hiking opportunities all close by. We also loved the open floor plan of the living room, dining room kitchen area and all of the windows that let you feel surrounded by forest. The house was very clean and was equipped with everything we needed for a comfortable and cozy stay. We also appreciated the fast response when we had trouble lighting the gas fireplaces, and the thorough plowing job after 16 inches of snow!
Marta T. Jan 2022
Had a great stay at this property. Clean and spacious and an easy 15 minute drive to Sunday River. Had everything we needed for 7 people - towels, toiletries.
Michele D. Jan 2022
The house was great space wise for our 4 couples. However, the heat wasn’t working at 7:30 a.m. (it was -8 outside) and wasn’t turned back on until 12. I had to be persistent ( 6 phone calls to both Vacasa and a woman who had just stayed at the house.) Also, there was an extremely foul odor coming from the basement that seeped upstairs because of the open floor plan. I reached out with no response. It was a clean house that was fully equipped but a lot of things went wrong ultimately interfering with our weekend away.
Manager response:
Thank you, Michele, for your feedback as we use this to improve for our guests. We sincerely apologize for the poor correspondence during your stay and any inconvenience this had caused. We will ensure our team is notified for immediate review to address these matters. We hope for another chance to host you for a more enjoyable stay!
janice G. Jan 2022
We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful mountain home. Enough space for everyone, cozy fireplaces, quiet neighborhood, minutes to downtown Bethel. Would recommend!
Jerome F. Dec 2021
+ Good location, 15/20 minutes from Sunday River south base
+ Great space, comfortable house
+ Very nice living space upstairs, big windows
- House maintenance could be improved
- Reported bad smell on lower floor (as in sewage) but never heard back during our stay
- Not as well equipped in terms of glassware or tableware as you would expect.
- No access to garage and no ski storage

Pretty nice overall and well located but seems more suited for a golfing weekend in the summer than a ski week.

Manager response:
Hi Jerome! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, as it helps us to improve, implementing our standards. We are sorry for the odor experienced, as this is not a commonplace occurrence. Thank you for notifying us, allowing our local staff to address the matter, rectifying the issue. We will pass your comments to our property manager for review and proper updates. We hope to gain another opportunity to host you, ensuring the Premium standards we intend to set for every guest!
Mini J. Aug 2021
such a beautiful home, we really enjoyed staying there this week! it was very clean, lots to do nearby, and we’re looking forward to staying there again. 10/10 would recommend!
ANAND S. Jun 2021
The house is vast and stocked with all utensil for cooking.

There is a fire pit outside but lots of ants around there unfortunately.

Check in was easy and communication was timely.
Manager response:
Hi, Anand! Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback on your recent stay at Contemporary Maine Retreat! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed this spacious home, though we are sorry that you encountered some ants around the fire pit. We have passed this information to the local manager so they can work to get rid of them. We hope to host you agian soon for another memorable stay!
Nicole R. Jan 2021
Perfect home! Clean and very spacious. Great location for a ski getaway.
Jennifer P. Jan 2021
We had a very comfortable stay here. The Open concept living space is bright and spacious. Great kitchen with everything you need. Comfortable bedrooms with plenty of space and privacy. I recommend this home for a ski trip to Sunday River.
Dana S. Dec 2020
Clean, uncluttered modern layout. Great for a weekend getaway.
Krystin N. Sep 2020
The house is really nice, updated and is really nice having all the bedrooms downstairs and the upstairs open for entertaining. The only thing to complain about is how far away everything is. The closest restaurant and walmart is half hour to an hour away. House is in a quiet area, very peaceful.
Chon K. Aug 2020
great place. Lots of room. We had 4 adults and 5 kids and didnt feel claustrophobic. Only problem was the dish washer and laundry. Dishwasher didnt work but they tried to send someone but he came and left because there wasnt a door bell and we didnt hear the knocking. The laundry machine stopped in mid wash. Had to use rinse cycle to finish laundry. But uf these two issues are corrected, its a awesome place.
Manager response:
We appreciate your feedback and patience as we worked on repairs for those amenities. We hope to see you again!
Caitlyn . Feb 2020
I booked this stay as a Christmas gift for my parents with plans to visit on the weekends. This home exceeded our expectations in so many ways. We felt right at home in the cozy living room - so much so that we skipped skiing a few days to just relax! They had it well stocked with basic amenities as well as fully functional kitchen with all the serving ware and utensils old you could ever need. Great proximity to town and Sunday River. Will absolutely be back if we return to this area!
Matt . Jan 2020
A great place to stay! We did a little skiing and a lot of relaxing. Very clean modern home. The main living room is huge and comfortable. Loved it.
Timothy . Nov 2019
Hands down the nicest air B&B I've stayed in!On par with a 5-star hotel.